Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AutoNation Toyota Scion Libertyville

Phone: (847) 362-1500 View Additional Phone Numbers 1180 S. Milwaukee Ave., Libertyville, IL 60048 http://www.autonation.com/chicago/toyota-scion/libertyville


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AutoNation Toyota Scion Libertyville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AutoNation Toyota Scion Libertyville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on AutoNation Toyota Scion Libertyville
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1997 Business started locally: 01/01/1997
Business Management
Mr. Robert Majesky, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Majesky, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Autonation Inc. Libertyville Toyota

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AutoNation Toyota Scion Libertyville has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1180 S. Milwaukee Ave.

    Libertyville, IL 60048

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted the dealership on January 2nd, 2015 re: a new 2014 Toyota Tundra CrewMax Limited VIN: **********XXXXXXX. At that time I spoke with Josie Gieser on the phone. She answered several questions I had and sent me a link to value my trade which is a 2011 Toyota Tundra CrewMax. Josie took my VIN number and specifics on my trade and talked to ***** about the value. After completing the dealers trade valuation online they said my vehicle was worth between 25,540 and 27,317 if it was in very good condition and possibly more if in excellent condition. Several phone calls and emails to Josie then went unanswered so I called the dealership again on January 7th, 2015 and was told ***** was fired. I began working with ***** ******** She answered more of my question and texted me several photos of the interior and exterior of the truck I was interested in. She went into the truck to confirm that it had an electric trailer brake controller, which it turns out is not present on the vehicle. ***** was surprised at the lack of information ***** had documented, but said that is one of the reasons she was fired. The advertised price online, and via email for the truck was $37,450. ***** also took my VIN and specifics on my trade and was going to have her manager call me to discuss the value prior to me driving 2 hours to get to the dealership. ****** ********* called me and we discussed my trade. He confirmed the VIN, mileage, etc.. and wanted to know what I needed on the trade to drive down and complete the deal. I told him $27,000 and assured him the truck was in very good-excellent condition with no accidents, or mechanical or cosmetic blemishes and that the truck had brand new tires on it. He called me back to say they would have to confirm the condition of the vehicle, obviously, but $27,000 would be fine. I agreed to meet him at the dealership in 2 hours (6:00 pm) that same day. When I arrived to the dealership he had me work with **** ******* While we test drove the new truck they looked over my trade. When we got back from the test drive I told **** I wanted the new truck and to write up the deal. When the purchase agreement was presented to me it was $1600 different than what was discussed on the phone a few hours prior. There was $299 protection package and $200 Theft protection package that were both "already on the vehicle." I told **** and ****** I didn't want either and they told me that every car on their lots has those two packages and that is how they "make up for their lower prices" even though they don't tell you in their online, email or verbal quotes these are mandatory add-ons. Furthermore, they told me my trade was worth 26,000. Even though the truck was in excellent condition they didn't realize it had a 4.6L engine as opposed to the 5.7L. However, that information would have been included with the VIN that was provided on multiple occasions. ****** was surprised I didn't think the offer was a good one even though he knew it was $1600 more than the deal we had agreed upon over the phone just hours prior. Ultimately, 7 hours of my time was wasted (4 hours of driving and 3 hours at the dealership) over dishonest sales and pricing practices.

Desired Settlement: There are two ways to settle: 1. If every car on your lot is equipped with the mandatory packages the price you quote online, via email and over the phone should include those $299 options. 2. Honor your quoted price of $37,450 and $27000 on the trade in.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/19) */ I received a complaint from the BBB on a customer ****** ******. His complaint is we gave him a quote online of $37500 and when he arrived we charged him an additional $600 for accessories. He's also alleging we told him we would give him $27000 for his trade and we gave him $26000. We did send him a quote which I'm including for $37449 which the disclaimer states all prices exclude tax, tag, government, and dealer fees. Dealer fees would be accessories. After the customer stated he was unhappy with the extra charges for the accessories we offered not to charge him for them. He fails to mention that in his complaint. Prior to the customer coming to the dealership he told my sales manager he wanted $27000 for his trade and my sales manager told him he couldn't give him a firm value without seeing the vehicle first. When the customer came in we appraised his vehicle for $26000. When he wasn't happy with the value and demanded the value of $27000 that he alleges we told him we would give him the sales manager that spoke with him sat down with him and showed him that we were selling our new vehicle for less than comparable used vehicles were selling at the auction for and also showed him we were offering him more for his trade than they were selling for at the auction. He told my sales manager it's a great deal that he was just being stubborn so prior to him leaving we tried to offer him $26200 for his trade which he refused and left. The bottom line is when the customer was unhappy with accessories we added to the vehicle just like most dealers do we offered not to charge him and he was looking for more for his trade than it was worth.

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: VIN# ***************XX On September 9, 2014 at about 8:30 pm, we purchased a black 2015 Toyota Highlander for about $43,000. The next day, I called my ***** **** agent to add this vehicle to my insurance, provided him with the VIN number and was told the VIN number was not correct. I returned to Toyota on September 11, 2014 and was told that the wrong vehicle had been sold to me and new paperwork was processed. No other information was exchanged. I took the updated paperwork and got the vehicle insured. The same day, I made an appointment with the service department to have a remote starter installed on Saturday September 13, 2014. I dropped the car off with my family that day and was told to pick up the vehicle on Monday September 15, 2014. On that Monday, I received a call from the service department that they have not received the parts yet and that the vehicle could be picked up the next day. I went to pick up the vehicle on Wednesday September 17, 2014 with my brother in the evening at about 6 pm. One of the Manager's (I apologize that I cannot recall the names of the various managers I dealt with) approached me and said that the vehicle could not be delivered to me. That the wrong vehicle was sold and the car and keys are not in the lot. A second Manager came out and in front of customers and staff stated that I was sick in the head and unethical for knowingly taking a car that was sold at a incorrect price. He said to take my money back. I informed him that I was in fact the person that came back to the dealership on Sept 11 to notify them the VIN number was wrong, why was there no communication taken place then. Since it seemed they were adamant about not returning my vehicle to me, I called the police which came and sided withy me. Stated that legally the vehicle belongs to me, but it is in their lot and if they don't return it it is a civil matter. I called my lawyer who said that I have a legitimate case but did I really want to proceed legally for $4000. At first I thought yes, if anything for the principles involved with doing business ethically, but decided against it. I have a toddler and a baby on the way, this is the reason I was getting a larger vehicle, I don't want to spend unnecessary time away from my family and decided not to pursue the legal route. I asked them to call the General Manager thinking I would be able to rationalize with him/her, they stated he was on an anniversary dinner and could not be bothered. One of the manager's said to me "you have a 7-eleven what if you sold something at a lower price than you were supposed to", to which I replied that this happens very frequently and we honor the price due to our mistake. To which he then responded that this is not $25 dollars it is a $4000 error. . I handed the papers to the manager and said that it was fine I won't take the vehicle, he immediately took the papers and shredded them, thereby leaving me with no evidence. I stated I had my personal belongings in the car and want to take them out, he brought the car over to me (initially they had said the car was not in the lot, they don't have the keys). I called them liars and unethical. I went home and gave my Wife the news to which she was equally disappointed. Then said that we had gone through so much, getting financed, picking out the car etc, she wanted me to just pay the extra money and get the car. I called them that night and said I would still get the car. I went to sign the papers and pick up the car on Saturday Sept 20 and was told the entire purchase price went from 43k to 47k give or take and that I was required to buy the extended warranty, to which I said I do not want that but they said the deadeal was made with that in mind so at this point it was take it or leave it. I have mailed a letter to the ceo, and someone called me stating pretty much they can do nothing about this.

Desired Settlement: Looking back, I think they should have honored their price mistake and buying the additional warranty should not have been mandatory. I am filing a complaint because they need to learn from their mistakes and consumers should be aware at how they are practicing business. The original price of 43k is what I should end up paying and I should receive a refunf ro the extended warranty as well.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/20) */ Prior to Mr. ****** purchasing a vehicle from AutoNation Toyota Scion Libertyville he contacted our GSM. Mr. ****** said he was at another Toyota dealer and had a bad experience. Mr. ****** asked us to beat their deal on a 2014 Toyota Highlander AWD limited. Our GSM sent Mr. ****** a bill of sale for the exact vehicle including a model number and vin number that Mr. ****** requested which had an MSRP of $42410 and a discount of $3991 and a selling price of $38419 plus tax, title, license, doc fee and accessories. Mr. ****** agreed and came into purchase. Upon Mr. ******'s arrival our salesperson completed all paperwork on the vehicle Mr. ****** agreed to purchase when he spoke to our GSM. When the salesperson went to deliver the vehicle he gave Mr. ****** a 2014 Toyota Highlander AWD limited platinum edition which has an MSRP of $46426. After it was discovered that the salesperson gave Mr. ****** the wrong vehicle we tried to contact Mr. ****** for several days. While trying to get in contact with Mr. ****** it was discovered the vehicle was here in our service department. When Mr. ****** came to pick up the vehicle the issue of the wrong vehicle was brought to his attention. It became a heated discussion and Mr. ****** decided he didn't want any vehicle. The next day Mr. ****** came in to discuss what had occurred with me. He told me he agreed it was a mistake and he was an ethical man and decided not to purchase a vehicle because of the heated discussion the night before. After some negotiations with Mr. ****** and showing that the wrong vehicle that he had received was $4016 more than the actual vehicle he negotiated on, I offered to give the more expensive vehicle to Mr. ****** for $2500 plus tax more. Mr. ****** decided not to purchase anything because he thought he could do better at another Toyota dealer. The next day Mr. ****** called and agreed to purchase the more expensive vehicle for the additional $2500 plus tax. Mr. ****** came in the following day and purchased and picked up his new vehicle. When Mr. ****** purchased the first vehicle he was offered a vehicle service agreement which he agreed to purchase and when he came in to purchase the second vehicle he was offered a vehicle service agreement which he agreed to purchase. At no time was Mr. ****** told he had to purchase a vehicle service agreement to purchase a vehicle. If Mr. ****** doesn't want the vehicle service agreement all he has to do is contact us and authorize cancellation.

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear BBB, In early June, we gave ***** ******* a $1,000 for a 2014 Toyota Highlander AWD Platinum in Silver. She told us that the car would arrive in 8 weeks. We were ecstatic when timeline unexpectedly changed to a production date of July 5 with delivery shortly thereafter. At this point, everything went downhill. ***** provided two different VIN numbers in a matter of 2 weeks. I did not question; in retrospect I should have. In any event, my wife and I insured vehicle, secured a bank loan, and even scheduled to give away our vehicle to my niece. On July 10, **** ******* indicated that vehicle had arrived in Pre-dawn gray Mica when we had ordered Silver. Extremely unapologetic; apathetic, at best, **** indicated that ordering manager ******* **** must have made a mistake during order. In an apathetic fashion, **** said, 'I'll just have to look for another vehicle.' No sorry, nothing given the fact that we had been waiting since early June. I called Gary the next day and told him that I was taking my business elsewhere as I strongly felt that they were not taking my business seriously. **** responded with a simple, 'sorry for the mix-up' in a very indifferent fashion. We now not have a car, since we gave our car to my niece. Our secured bank loan is about to expire. Finally, we are having trouble cancelling the car insurance we had already purchased. This dealer engages in unethical business practices. We were lead to believe we had placed a legit order. The different VINs supplied should have raised a red flag. No one else should go through what my wife and I went through. Here are the two VINs which were provided: ************XXXXX ***************** Thanks, *****

Desired Settlement: Prevent others from experiencing what my wife and I experienced

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@autonation.com When our associate wrote down the color of the vehicle Mr. ****** ordered she wrote down the wrong color code. When our ordering manager ordered the vehicle he ordered the color she wrote down. When the vehicle was due to come in we informed Mr. ****** and sent him confirmation. It was then that it was discovered to be the wrong color. When I found out about the issue I purchased a vehicle for Mr.****** from 241 miles away. Once the vehicle was here I called Mr. ****** and emailed him. Mr. ****** responded to my email thinking we did something unethical. I let him know I purchased him a vehicle and we did nothing unethical it was human error and he never responded after that.

7/14/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since April 15 2014, I have been trying to cancell this contract. The company finally sent me the ******* Cancellation Worksheet on 06/04/2014. This dealer was suppose to send this cancellation notice to the company responsible of the contract, ********* for cancellation. As of ******************* has not received the cancellation. Several phone calls to Libertyville Toyota

Desired Settlement: On April 15,2014 I contacted Libertyville Toyota for the cancellation of a Paintless Dent Repair Service Agreement purchased through Libertyville Toyota. After numerous attempts, were they insisted that I take my car for their inspection, and explaining to various persons that I am a cancer patient undergoing chemotherapy, unable to drive, they e-mail me a Product Cancellation Worksheet dated 06/04/2014. I immediately return the sign form via e-mail. I contacted **** ***** Company, on 06/17/2014, and was notified that they have not received the cancellation form from the dealership. I attempted to contact the company (Libertyville Toyota) BUT MY CALLS WENT TO VOICE MAIL,AND NEVER RECEIVED A CALL BACK.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@autonation.com Mr. ******** contacted our Finance dept. in May 2014 to cancel his dent care that he purchased on 4/17/13. Finance told him he would have to come in to do the cancellation paperwork for us to do the proper verifications. Mrs. ******** called back and said Mr. ******** was very sick can we email the cancellation paperwork. We emailed the paperwork and received it back on 6/4/14. The cancellation was completed on 6/6/14. The average time to receive a check back from the warranty company is 4 weeks. The ********'s should receive their refund approximately 7/7/14. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I called ********* company on 06/25/2014, and they have not received any cancellation notice from Libertyville Toyota. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/26) */ AutoNation contacted **** **** today 6/26/14 and they said they had no cancellation paper work. AutoNation resent the cancellation paper work today 6/26/14. ********* will process the paper work as quick as possible. They said the customer's refund will be sent to their lending institution in 2 to 3 weeks.

6/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase date: 5/24/2014 Purchase contract #XXXXXX Purchased car: Toyota Avalon Total amount paid: 30499.99 Sales tax charged on purchase agreement was $2047.92,ST556 sales tax shows only $969. I have requested to clarify this issue to Financial manager Mr ****** ********* his explanation was there will be revised ST556 which will show $2047.92 will be issued from IL Dept of Revenue(IDR) in a few months. Contacted IDR and explained the story I was told from *********** but IDR says there will be only one ST556 and tax showed in the form is tax I paid in this purchase and there will not be revised ST556 issued from IDR because ST556 is a form to be prepared by Auto seller and not by IDR. Where is balance of $1078.92 went? If tax was overcharged I should be entitled to a refund.

Desired Settlement: I expected Autonation to be more honest and straight forward dealership. Lack of explanation and telling lie to customer is not acceptable. I expect explanation of fact with documents and if Autonation can not prove correct tax amount showed on ST556 I would expect refund for any over charged anount.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* General Ma Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@autonation.com Mr. ****** traded a lease vehicle in on a purchase and didn't qualify for a tax credit on his trade. AutoNation Toyota Scion Libertyville collected the correct taxes from Mr. ******. Unfortunately our office paid the taxes incorrectly. AutoNation Toyota Scion is doing an ammended tax payment on Mr. ******'s purchase. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There are lack of information and documents why my leased car does not qualify for tax credit as most manufacture backed leases are purchase lease and do qualify for tax credit. It is very unlikely to happen as my case was a simple error because hundreds of similar transactions are handled by Autonation monthly. If I did not file complaint, ********** could have profited additional tax charged to me. I believe if there was an error in transaction Autonation should refund me the tax difference. Please prove the error with documents not by a few lines of excuses. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/16) */ I'm attaching a copy of the ammended tax transaction return and a copy of the second check to pay additional taxes on Mr. ******'s purchase. I'm also attaching a copy of IDOR guide for reporting sales that states a lease trade in can't be used for a tax credit on a purchase.

4/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealer has failed to pay our previous lender the balance owed on our trade-in, 17 days from point of sale. That loan is now being levied late charges. We have repeatedly contacted them to get this done. We are concerned about our credit rating and the integrity of Auto Nation's financial practices.

Desired Settlement: Pay off the trade-in loan, including the late fees, and make sure that bank does not damage our credit rating.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Controller Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@autonation.com We apologize, the payoff was sent to a PO Box in error. When the bank was unable to locate the check we went through the stop payment process. We issued a new check for the current balance due and physically took it to the local branch and had it receipted in our presence. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As of 3/28, 20 days after the date of our trade-in, we have received no documentation from either Auto Nation or ** **** documenting that Auto Nation has closed the trade-in loan. Auto Nation did *not* send us a copy of the transaction receipt they mention in their response to this complaint, despite our numerous communications to them about this problem. When we have documentation from either Auto Nation or ** **** that establishes that Auto Nation did indeed close the trade-in loan, we will remove the complaint. Final Consumer Response /* (450, 9, 2014/04/03) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Auto Nation send proof of trade-in payment on April 3rd.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on AutoNation Toyota Scion Libertyville
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart