Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Audi Hoffman Estates

Phone: (847) 843-9900 Fax: (847) 843-9982 1200 W Golf Rd, Hoffman Estates, IL 60169 http://www.audihoffmanestates.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Audi Hoffman Estates meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Audi Hoffman Estates include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Audi Hoffman Estates
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1990 Business started: 02/14/1990 in IL Business started locally: 02/14/1990 Business incorporated 02/14/1990 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Hall, General Manager Mr. Kris Colella, Office Manager Mr. Michael Hall, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Hall, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Audi Hoffman Estates sells the following brand(s): Audi, Audi new and Used

Method(s) of Payment
all major credit cards
Alternate Business Names
Hall Enterprises Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1200 W Golf Rd

    Hoffman Estates, IL 60169

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my car towed to Audi in late June because the oil pressure light had come on. They allege that they did an inspection (cost $150) and found pieces of ball bearing in my oil. They (**** ******** told me my engine was completely blown and that they would take it as a trade-in, as is. The alternative they offered was to sell me a new engine for $12,000 (including labor) or sell me a used engine for $8,500 (including labor). I spoke with **** and asked on two subsequent occasions, "are you sure the engine is blown? Is there anything else you can look at?" He assured me that it was "inevitable" that my engine was done. I then had my car towed to my local mechanic for a second opinion and he found that the engine was totally fine! The sensor needed to be replaced, that's it, cost $300 + $100 for tow. The following week I went back to the dealer and talked with **** ********, Service Manager. He claims that the technician's notes did not specifically say that the engine was blown but I have voice messages from **** - and **** admitted he told me that. **** claims the technician told him it was blown.

Desired Settlement: I want my $150.00 inspection cost refunded; I want Audi to pay for my $100.00 unnecessary tow, plus $300.00 for the actual repair. I'd also like an additional $1,000.00 for the hassle and stress of the whole ordeal. My car (convertible) sat for weeks while I could have been enjoying it during the month of July. I also want an apology since I think they tried to take advantage of me as a single female customer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/16) */ Pertaining to Ms. ****** *****'s 2005 Audi S4, she had her vehicle towed in to us in the evening of June 25th for a concern of the low oil pressure warning light coming on and flashing as the vehicle warms up and also having the check engine warning light illuminated, we inspected the vehicle on the 26th and verified the concern as soon as we started revving the engine before it even was able to get warmed up. We found the oil level low and decided to check the oil filter to see what type of condition it was in since we have seen some aftermarket filters collapse and cause an oil pressure issue. Upon removal of the housing, we found metal material in the housing, which was verified by both the technician working on the vehicle and by our shop foreman (two technicians with a combined 35 years experience with Audi), we also noted that the coolant/antifreeze in the vehicle was dirty and scanned the vehicle for any diagnostic trouble codes pertaining to the check engine light and the oil pressure, we did find faults for sporadic misfires from the engine. At this point we recommended doing more diagnosis on the vehicle to do an oil pressure test and see if we could determine where the metal particles were coming from. Ms. ***** declined doing any other work on the vehicle and paid for the diagnosis on it on June 27th (not sure why the car would have been left sitting in our lot after that for three weeks). During the conversation Ms. ***** had with our Service Consultant ***** the possibility for a worst case scenario was brought up that the vehicle could end up needing an engine based on the metal material found in the oil filter housing, but we could not know for sure till further diagnosis was performed on the vehicle to determine the actual cause of failure. This is the point where I believe Ms. *****'s misunderstanding of the vehicle needing to have the engine replaced came in, and once the idea of a possible engine replacement came in to play the primary focus ended up leading to that end instead of just following the normal diagnostic procedures to determine a cause of failure. We try to let our clients know in advance when there is the possibility that the repairs needed may outweigh the value of the car. On a vehicle this age with close to 100,000 miles on it, it would not be worth the price of a new engine to repair it, but when asked we will provide that information and we do like to prepare our clients for a worst case scenario when we come across it, this is why we let her know that the possibility of trading in the vehicle was an option as well (which if she had, we would have most likely wholesaled the vehicle to an outside source as we do not typically choose to sell older vehicles like this to our clientele). When Ms. ***** came in to speak with me, I did apologize for the misunderstanding and I also told her that I would gladly take care of the $100.00 that she paid to have the vehicle towed from our facility. All I would need is a copy of the invoice to process the payment. To this date, I still have not recieved that invoice from the client to do so. My apology for the misunderstanding still stands, I am truly sorry that things went in the direction they did instead of us being able to satisfy one of our clients, and for any grief that Ms. ***** may have experienced. But we cannot refund any money for the initial diagnosis on the vehicle as I do stand behind the findings of our two technicians who looked at the vehicle and for the recommendations they made to determine the cause of failure (I have attached a copy of the technician's notes from the back side of our repair order). We also cannot pay for any repairs performed at a facility outside of our own, so we cannot reimburse Ms. ***** for the repairs that were actually required on her vehicle. As far as the towing charge goes, my offer still stands, all Ms. ***** has to do is provide me with an invoice for the towing either via fax at XXX-XXX-XXXX or by regular mail to **** ** **** ***** ******* ******** *** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Audi states that they recommended doing more diagnosis; this is not true. I was told that there was another test that they could do but that it was "inevitable" that my engine was blown. **** ******* basically told me that I would be wasting $400 on another test and that they were sure my engine was blown. I left the car sitting for the next three weeks as I was trying to figure out what to do since I was facing a situation that was going to cost me thousands of dollars. Also during the three weeks, I called **** on two separate occasions asking if there was ANYTHING ELSE they could check? Were they absolutely sure my engine was done? He assured me again and again that my engine was blown. This was not at all positioned as a "possible worst case scenario". That is completely false and I'm offended that Audi continues to be deceitful about this situation. IF I was told that there were additional steps in the "normal diagnostic procedure", of course I would have taken those steps. If Audi was really not sure that my engine was blown, and they recommended more testing, who would ignore that?? Audi's argument here does not pass *** sniff test - it is simply not logical. Any sane human being would pursue further testing if there was uncertainty about the fate of their engine. What consumer would ignore recommended testing and jump to their own conclusion that the engine was blown?? I was facing repairs in excess of $8,000 ... believe me, I listened very closely to them. This was NOT a misunderstanding; Audi was very clear with me about the fate of my engine. And now they are telling a different story. My mechanic put in a new oil pressure sensor and the car is fine; how did Audi miss something that simple?? They were negligent, incompetent, untrustworthy and are still not owning up to their "mistakes". I want Audi to pay for my $100 tow and I demand that my $150 "diagnostic" fee be refunded as they completely failed to diagnose anything correctly. Audi can also pay for my actual repairs. They claim they can't refund me or pay for repairs done elsewhere? Again, this is total bologna - Audi can (and should) cut me a check for the appropriate amount. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/29) */ At this point in time, we still stand behind our initial diagnosis on Ms. *****'s vehicle from our two technicians that metal material was found in the oil filter housing and that further testing of the engine and oil system would be required to properly diagnose where the metal shavings are coming from and that testing would have also led to the diagnosis of the failed oil pressure sensor. We will not be reimbursing her for a repair that was required to repair the vehicle, regardless of who did the repair as it would have been needed no matter what. As stated before, if Ms. ***** will provide me with a copy of her tow bill for the $100.00, I will reimburse her for that, and in the interests of goodwill toward the client I will also reimburse her for the $149.10 she paid for the diagnosis. All Ms. ***** has to do is provide me with an invoice for the towing either via fax at XXX-XXX-XXXX or by regular mail to **** ** **** ***** ******* ******** IL XXXXX, and I will have a check cut and mailed out to her. Consumer Response /* (3000, 18, 2014/11/17) */ I had "accepted" the resolution that was proposed but I have not received any money from the Audi dealer. They owe me $250 and have failed to pay up as agreed. I'd like to re-open this complaint. Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/11/24) */ I had not recieved a response from anyone or a copy of the tow bill till today, November 25th, 2014. Now that I have the copy of the tow bill, I will have a check cut and mailed to Mrs. *****. She should recieve it no later than December 5th, 2014.

7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Yesterday ( 6.26.2014 ) i was exchange engine oil in my car Audi AX XXXX in Audi Hoffman estates service and after one hour they give me back my car with do this service ,but PLUS TWO ADDITIONAL THINGS BROKEN IN MY CAR , 4 sensors failed from tire pressure monitoring system Fuel gauge sensor They back my car from service with this two defects without say anything to ME . I was go to a manager immediatelly ,what they doing during this service but he was give me just estimate for fix this , 700 $ . He said thats just happened , that wasnt their fault ,but i was come in to this service with nothing broke and they now about it becouse they was take a look to y car before they start to exchange oil. I will not pay for fix this car becouse they do it this , both of this defect happened during one hour of their service . Manager dosnt want to help me ,he just give me estimate .So I come just for oil exchange and now my car show up symbol Tyre pressure system malfunction, every time when i start my car . Also im their costumer from few years ,but they dosnt care about it . Product_Or_Service: Audi

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement Fix of sensors tire pressure monitoring without any cost from me ,and also fuel gauge sensor too . They broke this during engine oil exchange .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/08) */ The client brought her vehicle in on the 26th of June for an oil change, which we performed and reset the maintenance light. We do top off fluids and set the tire pressures as part of this maintenance as a courtesy to the clients. When she came to me regarding the fuel guage and the tire pressure light, we immediately brought the vehicle back into the shop to inspect the cause(s). As far as the fuel guage goes, we could not detect any issues with it, we performed a guage sweep which is test of the guages in the instrument cluster and they were working as designed. As far as the tire pressure light goes, each of the wheels has a sensor inside the wheel that sends a signal to a control module in the vehicle to monitor the tire pressures. These sensors generally last anywhere from six to eight years. One of the functions of the tire pressure control module is to monitor the battery life left in the sensors, if I remember correctly the battery life on all four sensors was between 16-18 months left. When they get to that point the system will cause the warning light to come on as a notice that the battery life in the sensors is coming to an end. This is the case with this particular vehicle, we showed this to the client and provided a print out to her showing the battery life left in the sensors. There is no way to physically do anything to the tire pressure sensors without completely removing the tires from the wheels of the vehicle. Same with the fuel guage, the only thing that has any affect on the guage is the guage itself and the sensor in the fuel tank that sends a signal to the cluster, the only way to access the sending unit is to remove the back seat and then remove the fuel pump, again just no way or any reason to do this when someone is just in for an oil change. If the client so wishes, we would be happy to take another look at the vehicle with our shop foreman and confirm the diagnosis provided to the client just to be on the safe side and confirm that there was nothing that could have happened while the client was waiting for her oil change. She will just need to call me to set up a time to come by. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The fuel gauge is defecting becouse its stop on the some place , after last exchange oil its never move even i was fuel gas , Now i must watch on miles becouse i dont now how many gas i still have It was evrything Ok, when i left car in Audi dealer ,but after service the gauge stop ,and never move for today . Im not belive that two defects happen in the some time without Mechanic fault . Im not going anymore for any check up , i need fix this by dealer Audi Hoffman Estates , without any cost from me ,becouse they was take it my car good and left me with two serious defect ,and they doesnt say anything what happened.Its not fair , becouse if they dosnt do this , why nobody say me anything about this defects. they just left my car and say BY . I was thinking they are serious business , but now i see they dosnt care about client. I was pay almost 120 $ for oil exchange and now my fule gauge its not move , so they are wrong if they said thats was OK . Its not working from last oil exchange .This two defects shoudby fix it by dealer Audi . Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/21) */ As I stated in my last response, all we need the client to do is call us to set up a time to come by here so we can look at the vehicle again. If by some chance we did cause an issue with the vehicle, we will gladly repair it at no cost to the client. If it is found that it is not something caused by the dealership, we will work with the client to get her some assistance towards the cost of repairs. None of this can be accomplished though till the client brings in the vehicle for us to re-evaluate it.

4/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an **** X XXXX from this dealer five years ago. While traveling the battery was having trouble and I needed to have it replaced in order to complete my trip. An automotive place replaced my battery but could not get my radio restarted as I did not have a code. I searched my files/records and information in my glove compartment to find no card with a radio code on it from the dealer. I called to ask for the code and a person named **** told my $70 which was appalling. Then my daughter called the following day at was told $140 which was ridiculous. She asked to speak with someone and **** came on the phone. We explained the situation and he said he would look up my information and call us back. It is now a day later and Eric never came back. While on hold the music and advertising play was how they pride themselves on customer service which is definitely not what they showed me. My son in-law searched the internet and all the sites states that Audi is a big scam charging for this code. I believe this to be unethical on Audi's part. My son also owns the same make and model and on the back of his radio card, it says the if this card is lost Audi will REPLACE it for FREE. So explain to me where Audi of Schaumburg/Hoffman Estates finds that they are customer service oriented when they want to charge me for something that is supposed to be free. **** was not friendly and I feel completely tried to pacify us by saying he would look it up and probably never did anything with it.

Desired Settlement: I would like Audi to provide the radio card with the proper code for my make and model Audi X XXXX with no cost. As they should have provided it in the first place.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/11/27) */ We have left a message for Mrs. ****** regarding her radio code, while we do not have replacement cards that we can give her, we can get her radio code. This is not normally a free service regardless of what the card may say (if she were to call Audi of America they may give her the radio code for free if they have it, but dealerships are not required to perform this service free of charge as there is time, effort and special tools required to perform this service, so we do charge $140.00 normally to perform this service). That being said, as a one time good will guesture we would be willing to provide her with the radio code at no charge since she purchased the vehicle from us. **** called and left her a message on Friday, we have not heard back yet, all she needs to do is return ****'s call and ask for **** so he can schedule an appointment for her to come in and wait for us to do it, it should take approx an hour and a half to do so.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Audi Hoffman Estates
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)