Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Arlington Toyota, Scion

Phone: (847) 485-1200 Fax: (847) 485-1466 2095 N Rand Rd, Palatine, IL 60074 http://www.ToyotaArlington.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Arlington Toyota, Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Arlington Toyota, Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Arlington Toyota, Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1983 Business started: 04/01/1983 Business started locally: 04/01/1983
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Vicari, President Ms. Sandra Pierce, Customer Relations Manager Mr. Scott Vicari, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Sandra Pierce, Customer Relations Manager
Principal: Mr. Gary Vicari, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Arlington Automotive Group, Inc.-The

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Arlington Toyota, Scion has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2095 N Rand Rd

    Palatine, IL 60074 (847) 485-1200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted the dealership on Nov. 13, 2015 to try and resolve a safety/repair issue that we noticed immediately after we brought our vehicle home. We noticed severe leaking of fluid from underneath the vehicle. Because this issue could potentially have made it unsafe (for us or our teenage daughter) to drive the vehicle and because the dealership was closed on the day we discovered the issue (on a Sunday), we brought the vehicle to a nearby auto repair shop so that it could be looked at first thing the following business day. We were notified upon inspection of the vehicle that gaskets were leaking as well as leaking coming from the radiator. The mechanic indicated that there was no way that these issues developed "overnight" and were most definitely existing issues that were not fixed prior to our purchase. We notified the dealership of this and we were told that prior to our purchase on 10/31/15 another party that was interested in this vehicle had an opportunity to take the vehicle to a repair shop of their choice and have it further inspected just two weeks prior to our purchase. We believe that inspection revealed the issues with the leaks and radiator, which the dealership did not indicate on their service report and thus why they did not proceed with the purchase. When we asked the dealership for a copy of that report, we were told by the salesperson that "The ********* inspection invoice was not mine so the customer who was looking at that car took it with him". We were also told by the sales rep that "If there was something wrong with that car I would run it by my service and authorize the work. If you had a broken hose or radiator problem you should contacted me right away so I would correct it to your satisfaction."

Desired Settlement: We are seeking compensation to cover the cost of the repairs in the amount of $813 (to replace the radiator, replace leaked anti-freeze coolant, replace two crossover pipe gaskets, replace o-ring gasket seal). We feel that this was an issue that needed immediate attention due to it being potentially unsafe to drive and thus why we brought the vehicle directly to a nearby repair shop.

Business Response: We here at Arlington Toyota take customer service very seriously and are pleased that this situation is now rectified.  Mr. & Mrs. ******* are loyal customers and we are disappointed they experienced this situation with their newly purchased vehicle.  After reviewing the case we at Arlington Toyota came to the resolution with Mr. & Mrs. ******* that refunding them the $800.00 in expenses that they endured on repairing their vehicle was the only fair and just decision.  Mr. & Mrs. ******* are satisfied and so is Arlington Toyota they we can continue to earn their business on future visits. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

We have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10961019, and find that this resolution is fair and we plan to remain loyal customers of Arlington Toyota Scion. The matter was resolved promptly with the utmost professionalism and we appreciate managements prompt and thorough attention to this matter. 
Sincerely,

Joseph And Dawn *******

11/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2014 Toyota Corolla from Arlington Toyota on 04/11/15 - Vin ****************** (Sales Associate - ******* ********** All was fine until I realized how expensive it would be to insure the vehicle since this was my first car. I received an email from Toyota on 04/12 acknowledging my purchase and welcoming me to the Toyota family. Since I know it would be costly to insure the vehicle, I decided to return it for a less expensive car or just request a refund. I replied to the email on 04/12 advising that I may need to return the vehicle. On Monday, 04/13 I called the dealership and spoke with the Sales Manager (*****), explained the situation to him and he advised to bring the car back and they could work something out. I brought the car back within the hour and ***** referred me to the Sales Associate (*******). I explained to ******* that I would like to return the car for a less exp one. ******* then proceed to take me to the lot and I remembered the first time it took an couple of hours to pick a car and complete the sale so I advised that I could just get a refund since I didn't have that much time and could get another car down the line. HE REPLIED "WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT". It seemed like when he heard the word REFUND he just freaked out! He then stated that everything was done electronically and I could only trade in the car for another one. I then asked if this was in writing because I read all of the documents and did not see this anywhere. Well, he could not show me anything in writing and went to speak with a manager to see what could be done. He came back and asked if I knew who filled out the financial paperwork ie, tax forms, contract etc. At this time, I'm thinking you should have all of this info. He still said he had nothing in writing so I said there must be something in writing so he went to the financial area and came back with an article from the Illinois Attorney General regarding a Three Day right to cancel. I'm looking like why are you giving me this shouldn't Toyota have this info on the contract, website etc. He went away again and came back with Senior Management (******). This man said we can not refund this and the only choices were to trade in the car or sell it as a private owner. Again, he states there is nothing in writing and REFUSED to put anything in writing. Well, now I'm really upset and I asked if there was anyone higher that I could speak to (****** replied "I'm at the top and there is no one over me". I then asked for the phone number to Toyota's Corporate Office and he replied "I don't know it" and suggested I google it on my phone. I would think if he is Senior Management, he would have this info. This man was so arrogant and unprofessional that I decided to go in the lot to see if there was something that I could purchase, get the difference in a refund and get as far away from this dealer as possible. When I went to the lot to see the inexpensive cars, they were pure JUNK. They were overpriced, dirty and just not worth anything. Also, ******* kept saying you need to be on your mother's insurance or go with a different insurance company because they are over charging you. This whole experience was a NIGHTMARE and I hope they don't treat all of the customers like this. I also felt a little discrimination because I'm a African American woman. I would not recommend this dealership to anyone and would never purchase another Toyota vehicle.

Desired Settlement: This type of behavior should not be tolerated and Senior Management along with the owners (The ****** Family) need to be aware of this situation. Also, I would prefer a refund because I don't even what to visit a Toyota service department because it my be an unprofessional experience as well. Please advise. Thanks.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/16) */ We contacted Ms. ******* and offered to her to return her vehicle which she did. The vehicle was returned with some visible damage on it that was not there prior. We did not pursue the damage with customer. Ms. ******* has received a full refund.

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I purchased the car in 2011 first thing I told them is I don't want to purchased any extended warranty. The car salesman told me that I didn't have to pay and it cover everything from bumper to bumper. Last year in October I wanted to trade the vehicle their salesmen informed that I'm paying for an extended warranty and it was included in the car payment that is something that I have never agreed to. The car had and issue that it was burning engine oil and every 1200 mile I would have to bring in to the dealer so they can run diagnostics on the vehicle. In December of 2014 after taking that car in for the fourth time because it kept burning oil every 1200 miles Toyota decides to lower the engine and change the pistons to fix the problem of the oil consumption. 2 months after that supposed fix the car breaks in the snow storm that we had on February 2nd. When they towed the car back to the dealer to repair it, the extended warranty called me and told me that they were not going to cover any of the cost because it was not consider an accident. So they sold me a warranty that I didn't want in the first place and lied about the charge of the warranty and the warranty didn't cover anything that the salesman said it was going to cover. Isn't bumper to bumper consider everything in the vehicle? This is very upsetting

Desired Settlement: I want a reimbursement of everything I paid for the repairs of the vehicle plus the charge of a warranty that I didn't want in the first place.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** CRM Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX x9801 Customer purchased Toyota Extra Care Platinum warranty at time of vehicle purchase, which is indicated on the bill of sale and signed by the customer. Customer's warranty claim for Feb 3rd service visit at another dealership was denied because it was determined by Toyota warranty dept that the issue with the car was due to abuse of the motor while attempting to extricate his car from a snow bank. The warranty does not cover accidents or issues that occur as a result of such. Customer has used his warranty for other repairs before the event on Feb 3rd and the costs were covered by his warranty. In conclusion, the extra care warranty the customer purchased has covered and paid for what it was supposed to. It does not cover issues as a result of an accident.

3/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3/19 - Met ** in dealership parking lot and informed him that I was looking at the Corolla. ** asked what I was looking to spend, gave him a number and he said it was too low and ** asked how much I wanted to pay per month. I informed him and mentioned looking elsewhere and possibly returning later. ** ran my parents and I through a number of Corollas and asked which one I liked most. Chose LE Plus but noted it was too much. ** mentioned he would try to get me a good deal for it and hastily rushed me inside after only viewing car for a brief moment. Over the next couple hours, things happened so fast and I was asked to sign so many things after only a brief explanation that I was not always fully informed of what exactly was happening. While inside bartering with *** I attempted to leave multiple times but each time was told to wait and ** would come with a slightly renumbered deal until ** and I were able to come to an agreed upon rate ($332/mo) at a 60 month term for 0.9% APR, but when I met with financial services, somehow it was heavily pushed that I take a Pack A option and an 8 year warranty. After some more bartering, I was given choices between $350/month 60 months 0.9% for car and Pack A OR $350/month 72 months 3.99% APR for car + Pack A + warranty, OR $305/month for 72 months with Pack A and 3.99% APR, or the previous $332/mo for 60 months. *******, the person from Financial Services, informed me in one of the only clearly stated moments that I can cancel the warranty at any time and the payments would go down. After more pressure from *******, I agreed to the $350/month for 72 months option (at this point, I was pretty clearly mentally fatigued but felt that I couldn't leave). I then met with ****, another Financial Services rep. He had me sign a ton of documents after very brief descriptions of each. It should be noted that I was only shown where to sign or initial. **** said that he was going to ask an outside lender about my loan the following day as they had to fully approve the APR of 3.99%. Eventually, I left with the car after putting $1,500 down. That night, I saw car at a lower rate on their website and elsewhere and gradually became more aware of what I feel that I had been tricked and coerced into. I emailed **** (they were closed) asking that he not go forward with the lender the next day and for a refund. 3/17 - Im at work + have father call about update regarding last night. I had never gotten a response from ****, but found 7 HARD INQUIRIES on my credit from multiple lenders. Father spoke with *** who said he would call me. ** spoke with me after work and mentioned that the website price was for certain circumstances but offered to match if I get a quote from elsewhere with the same car at a lower rate. I received such from ****** ($18,158 0.9% for 60 months), acknowledging that certain lower rates were for certain circumstances, but still had a lower rate and emailed this and the KBB fair price to *** ****, and *******. Asked for refund or match if possible. 3/18 - ** says that this is not for the same car because the one I purchased had extra something or another that I was never made aware of at all on 3/17 nor do I see described anywhere where the two were different. RJ was then informed by me of the final deal made and he stated that **** would call tomorrow to go back to original $332 deal. 3/19 - **** never responds. I go to dealership and **** is not there. Meet w/*******. He says it is ILLEGAL to return my car OR to go back to $332 deal, and if I cancel the warranty my rate won't go down just the term back to 60 mo. I ask for lender as I was never given this information. Basically, he said I can legally do nothing and they can legally do nothing and never were able to after deal was made. (more but no room). 3/20 - Lender is *** Bank. Will call tomorrow to see if they can close account or see what can be done, as they have not received any payments.

Desired Settlement: One of the following (listed in order of desirability): A) Full refund of vehicle and down payment - vehicle was driven no more than 30-40 miles, staying mostly in the garage for the entire duration of time between now and purchase date. B) Go back to $332/mo, 60 mo, 0.9% APR with Pack A no 8 year warranty. C) Reworking of loan altogether which I know is fully legal and possible. Also - this should go in a section above but there was no room. ** did not wish to take all of my employment earning information even though I mentioned that what he put in was not fully accurate, so the information that *** Bank possesses is not accurate. AND on all documentation where my name is typed in - it is spelled incorrectly in case that invalidates the documentation from being legally binding.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/20) */ Today I read Mr. ******'s complaint for the first time. The Customer Relations Manager and our General Manager of Arlington Toyota are meeting to review the complaint and will respond promptly. **** ******, President

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 2, 2014, my husband and I purchased a PRECERTIFIED 2014 Toyota 4RUNNER. We called prior and was told a seasoned sales agent by the name of ***** would help us. Once getting there we were given a rookie agent who was hard to understand. We requested a different sales agents and were given someone new. With each person we spoke to, we asked multiple times about the TOYOTA PRECERTIFICATION and were reassured that the car was FULLY covered under TOYOTAS WARRANTY FROM BUMPER TO BUMPER. The sales agent said the SUV was better coverage than a new car. After having the car for just over 1 month we noticed the fabric on the ceiling of the car was stretching apart and the ceiling was drooping. My husband said, no need to worry, we bought the PRECERTIFIED CAR, just take it in to the nearby Toyota. I did, which was the Toyota in Crystal Lake, they looked at the car and seemed puzzled, so they compared our car to another 2014, same model, and noticed they were not the same. They looked up the history of the vehicle and informed me that the Arlington Toyota added in the Sunroof, Leather, and Running boards, just prior to selling it, and none of those things would be covered under the Toyota PRECERTIFCATION OR THE EXTENDED WARRANTY we bought. Upon calling the dealership, they stated the above is under warranty, but not Toyota's and we would have to go to their dealership for any repairs now or in the future. My complaint is, at no time did any of the people we spoke to including managers or at the time of purchase, disclose that the sunroof, running boards, and leather seats were not included in the TOYOTA PRECERTIFICATION. Had Toyota been honest about the AFTERMARKET ADDITIONS, my husband and I would have never purchased the vehicle. We asked many times over, questions regarding the TOYOTA PRECERTIFICATION, in fact my husband stated how he thinks people putting in SUNROOFS AFTER, IS NEVER A GOOD IDEA. The seasoned sales agents KEPT REASSURING US HOW THE CAR WAS FULLY COVERED UNDER TOYOTA PRECERT. Product_Or_Service: TOYOTA 4RUNNER

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We expect to return the 4RUNNER to the dealership, and get a full refund of any money we put towards the car, including our $4,000 down payment. We tried to work it out with the dealership, but all they were willing to do is, have us do another transaction, where we traded in the 4RUNNER for roughly $5,500 less than what we bought the car for, and then buy a new car from them. I said that seems unethical, he said he is in the business of selling cars, no reason he cannot make money off of both.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/21) */ I called and left ****** ******* a voice mail stating "Arlington Toyota will give ****** ******* the full purchase price towards her trade in of her Toyota 4Runner and will sell her the new Toyota vehicle of her choice excluding the AWD Sienna". I asked that she return my call so I may set up an appt with our General Manager **** ******* and General Sales Manager ***** ******** I gave my phone and ******* to assist her in doing so.

12/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The 15k service was scheduled on November 4, 2014. The service is to rotate tires and to top off fluids, then to wash the car. The car was perfectly fine when it went in for the car wash because there was a service rep outside who wash down the car before entering the car wash and he didn't mention anything about the bumper being off the car(neither did the rep who rotated the tires) the car went into the car wash and came out with the back bumper hanging off the car and a cracked/ hole in the bumper. When shown to service rep manager he said it's not there fault, the car was like this before it went into the car wash.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to be fair and just, and to take the blame. I purchased the vehicle from them seven months prior to this incident. All I want from them is to fix my car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/19) */ I have called the customre and left a voicemail as I am seeking his assistance. Arlington Toyota has no records of this customer ever returning for any maintance since he bought the car. He has a 2yr-25k maintance and there are no records in Toyota National service history of him taking it to any Toyota dealership for since 9/5/14 for a remote start and protection package installation.

10/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had my 2012 Sienna in the dealership to repair the drivers seat motor that moves the seat forward and backward. The diagnosis and repair of the seat required dis-assembly of the seat trim to get at the motor. After the repair we noticed that the front plastic trim around the bottom of the seat was badly chipped off and cracked at the seam where the side and front panels connect together. I brought the car back in to show them the damage. After 45 mins the service manager **** came out to tell me that the damage was already there before the car was brought in. I told him that I spent a fair amount of time with my head down there in front of that same spot looking for loose wires before bringing the vehicle in. The damage would have been obvious to me then and it wasn't there. **** then told me that he was offended that I was essentially calling their honest into question. He said that the best he could was to have me pay the roughly $140 cost of the parts and they would not charge for labor. They damaged my vehicle. It is not a coincidence that we found the damage right after the repair was made requiring the trim to be removed and re-installed. **** said that his technician noted the damage during the estimate and said that it was already there. Again, it wasn't damaged beforehand as I would have seen it when I was down there looking for a loose wire. It is extensive and in multiple places, from the top of the seam to the bottom, the kind of damage that could only have occurred while trying to pull it apart.

Desired Settlement: The trim should be restored to the way it was before I brought it into the shop. The dealership should eat all of the costs involved with the damage that they caused.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/15) */ Arlington Toyota is sorry the customer feel that their car was damaged while in our shop. Unfortunatly I have 2 repair orders stating differently. The 1st is from 8/2/14 ROXXXXXX clearly states on back "seat damaged near switch". The 2nd RO dated 8/19/14 also states "note: outter seat trim(w/switch assy.) Damaged prior to seat tract replacement". As the damage appears to be there when the Sienna 1st comes in on 8/2/14 Arlington Toyota will not pay for the complete repair. But we will however stand by the Service Managers offer of paying for the labor 2hrs to replace the damaged parts if the customer wishes to work with us? Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I spent an hour under the front of that seat looking for loose wires the day before bringing it into the shop. It wasn't damaged. Look at the picture of the front seat trim that I attached to this response. My eyes were inches away from this plastic trim and this damage would have been obvious. It is also obvious that the only way this kind of damage could have occured is when it was taken apart and reassembled. I have 2 comments with respect to the dealer's repair order: 1) The 1st one states "Seat damaged near switch". This damage in question is not near the switch which is on the side of the seat. It is in the front. There is no damage near the switch that is visible from the outside. Perhaps he was referring to something on the inside of the trim. 2) These comments don't meant anything in the grand scheme of things. They don't prove that the damage didn't occur during the estimate visit or the subsequent repair visit. Both visits required removal of the trim and comments are written up by the same person that took it apart, not some person in advance that never laid hands on it. In short, I appreciate the offer of paying for the 2 hours of labor, however they are still asking me to pay for parts that they broke. I understand that their mechanic is saying that it was damaged BEFORE they started working on it and it is my word against his, but ask yourself the obvious question. How many 2011 Toyota Sienna vans (that weren't involved in an accident or pulled apart for repairs) have come into this dealership with this kind of damage to the seat trim in the past 3 years? I am guessing very few to none out of the thousands that were sold. The odds of BOTH of these things (the required disassembly of the seat trim and the damage to the seat trim) occurring in the same car in the same time period without being related are slim and none. I am not asking anyone to admit fault or wrongdoing here but to believe that these 2 issues are not related requires the willing suspension of disbelief. Again, consider the odds against this happening like the dealer is suggesting. I understand that they are supporting their employee vs the client. I respect that, and have been in the same position with my employees, but you needs to consider the circomstances and look at the damage. This happened when it was pulled apart and the only time that occurred was during the estimate/repair. There is no other plausible explanation. If there were I would happily accept the dealership's offer and move on but there simply isn't. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/10/03) */ Even with clearly documented history on this Sienna's damaged seat trim panel, Arlington Toyota wishes to make a happy Toyota customer. We are willing to goodwill this repair at no expence to the customer as long as he is willing to sign a "goodwill release" form. PLease have the customer call and make an appt if this is somethine he is interested in doing. Again a release form must be signed before any goodwill work can be completed.

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Problem date: 6/30/2014 Purchase date: 5/24/2014 (deposit of $1,000) Toyota employees involved: ******** ******* *****, ***** ******* **** ********* I originally purchased a new 2014 Toyota Highlander LE that needed to be ordered. It was expected to take approximately 6 weeks. When the vehicle was delivered to the dealership, they called me and informed me that they had made a mistake and ordered an upgraded version (LE Plus instead of LE) and that they wanted to split the difference in cost. I had originally informed them that I needed the vehicle no later than 6 weeks after the order because I was having another child and we needed the larger vehicle. I believe they used this fact against me when they made this "mistake". When I told them I didn't understand why I was being expected to pay half of the bill for their mistake, they told me the only other two options were to wait an additional 6 weeks for the correct vehicle to be ordered (knowing full well I couldn't do this) or refund my deposit. After receiving no other resolutions and extremely slow response call times, I requested to speak to the customer service department (**** *********). Throughout this process I never said that I didn't want the vehicle they ordered, just that I shouldn't be expected to pay for their mistake. While waiting overnight for a response with a resolution from customer service (who needed to talk to the general manager), they sold the vehicle they ordered for me, even further limiting my options. The customer service representative was very nice but was unable to help at all, leading me to the BBB. Their practices have been very questionable and now I am without a larger vehicle when I will need it within the coming week or two. I just took a refund of my deposit today because I cannot let this process drag on any longer and, based on their customer relations to date, can't imagine purchasing a vehicle from them at this point.

Desired Settlement: When I was first informed of the "mistake", my original settlement offers to them was: (1) Provide me the LE Plus they ordered by "mistake" at no additional cost to me. (2) Provide me additional money off the total purchase price since I now need to wait an additional 6 weeks for the vehicle to be built. Once they sold the vehicle they ordered for me without my consent, I update my settlement offer to be either: (1) Provide me additional money off the total purchase price since I now need to wait an additional 6 weeks for the vehicle to be built. (2) Order the upgraded LE Plus again and provide it to me at no additional cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/01) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *********, CRM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ex9801 Yes, Arlington Toyota made a mistake/human error when ordereing the 2014 Highlander LE. It was ordered as an LE PLUS. Changing the over all cost by over $700.00. Once Sales Manager ***** was informed of the problem he offered to split the difference with the customer. The customer wanted nothing of this. He wanted the total difference as compensation for the error. Sorry the customer did not appriciate the efforts of the customer service rep. but its difficult to work towards a solution when one party is not willing to also make some concessions towards a mutual sale and purchase of a new Highlander. As the customer stated that he "can't imagine purchasing a vehicle with them at this point". Arlington Toyota agrees with the customers comment and since Arlington Toyota has already refunded his $1000.00 deposit we consider the case closed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Just to be clear, I was not the one that wasn't willing to work towards a solution originally, it was Arlington Toyota. There was no willingness to work with me and the only two options ever presented to me were to pay $350 or wait 4-6 weeks for a new vehicle to be built, even after multiple requests for alternative solutions. After 4 days of requesting alternative solutions with Arlington Toyota and them "dragging their feet" on response time, they sold the vehicle without even informing me of the situation until after it was sold. Only at that time did I start firming up my position and making my own demands for them to cover the entire difference since they were unwilling to move at all from their original stance and also sold the vehicle without my knowledge. To recap the incident to make sure it is not construed incorrectly: When the Sales Manager ***** originally called and indicated there was an error and asked to split the difference, I asked for an explanation as to why I should be expected to pay for a mistake to which they openly admitted. I am shocked that a business would try to make a customer pay for the mistake they made. I said I couldn't pay an additional $350 for the mistake and asked him for any alternative solutions (with no demands at that time), besides waiting another 4-6 weeks for a new car to be built since that would not work for my situation. He never called me back. I even called back later that day and never received a response from him. The following day the original salesperson called me back and made no attempt to work towards a solution, only offering their original deal. I asked to speak with ***** again and was passed ** a different manager. I was later told by the customer relations representative that ***** doesn't like confrontation (I'll point out that I never raised my voice with ***** and only asked for alternative solutions). The other sales manager only had the documentation in front of him and, based on our conversation, he wasn't in a position to even offer alternative solutions so I'm unsure why I was passed ** him. Only at that time did I ask to speak with the customer relations representative. That evening, the customer relations representative responded to me within the hour (approximately 5PM) and said he would have to get back to me the next day. However, he didn't inform me that Arlington Toyota was trying to sell the vehicle to another customer and, in fact, he even told me we were going to work towards a solution as he'd speak with his general manager the next day. When he called back the next day, he informed me that they sold the vehicle. I asked again for alternative solutions since now, without my consent, they had removed the option for which there could have been a potential solution. I again had to wait another entire day for a response for him to coordinate with his general manager. So 4 days after incident was originally reported to me with no alternative solutions provided, I finally offered my own alternative solutions: 1) Receive additional money off the agreed upon purchase price to compensate for having to now wait an additional 4-6 weeks for the Highlander LE. 2) Wait 4-6 weeks to receive a Highlander LE Plus at no additional cost to the agreed upon purchase price for the LE. I had to wait an entire weekend for this response, for which they agreed to neither solution but also did not offer any alternatives. They indicated that no solution was possible and wanted to refund my $1,000 so I said okay as I was not going to leave my money sitting on their books while this dispute had already dragged out over a week. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/03) */ The customer has his $1000.00 deposit and again stated he would not wish to work/return to Arlington Toyota. We wish the customer nothing but the best and consider the matter closed.

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11-18-11 Arlington Toyota agreed through a BBB complaint (Case # XXXXXXXX) to extend vehicle warranty 5 years/100,000 miles. On 6-23-14 vehicle had a service engine light(ABS) come on. We brought to dealership for diagnosis and repair. Was told by **** ********* that no extended warranty exists. In spite of the fact it showed on their own computer. The extended warranty issue was an agreed on, November of 2010 and presumed resolved. This vehicle should remained covered by this original agreement.

Desired Settlement: The vehicle is being repaired today 6-23-14, because there is a safety issue. I want the warranty extended as agreed upon, as well as any other expenses involved because of the ridiculous error by Arlington Toyota.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/23) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** CRM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ex 9801 Contact Email: **********@toyotaarlington .com I have spoken with ***** and appologized for the confusion. He will be receiving the correct warranty paperwork when he picks up the Highlander tomorrow 6/24/14. This will be the agreed upon extended warranty that Mr. ****** offered back in 11/9/10. All seems good with ***** as I just confirm ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Situation resolved. Thanks to the BBB

4/21/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Toyota sold me a defective vehicle that was recalled and when I brought it in to my local dealer for service they refused to repair the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I want Toyota to repair or purchase the defective vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/07) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* CRM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ex **** Contact Email: **********@ToyotaArlington.com The customer has had 2 vehicles serviced with Arlington Toyota in the past. A 2011 Rav4 which was last serviced 4/29/12. And a 2007 Camry with a last service visit 4/12/13. I have run both VIN's against Toyota's ******** ******* ******* and both cars are showing "no open recalls" as of today 4/7/14.The customer may have received an interim notice(letting the customer a recall correction is in the works). If this is the case Arlington Toyota will gladly repair a vehicle once a correction has been released. The customer did not state what is wrong with either of the vehicles so it's difficult to assume what his concerns may be. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It doesn't surprise me that Arlington Toyota can't find a record of servicing my truck. It took them a half hour to find it when I went to picked it up this morning. I received an email from Arlington Toyota's customer relations manager late this afternoon requesting additional information. I provided him with the information requested which he indicated will be shared with Toyota Corporate. I eagerly await their response. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/08) */ I have contacted Toyota Corp. on behalf of this customer. I will be forwarding all information and give Toyota my full assistance on any additional information they might need. Arlington Toyota was always willing to work on customers Tacoma. We just didnt see any open recalls from Toyota's National Service History. Therefore we were unable to proceed with any repairs fro the frame concerns.

3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I gave a deposit for $500 for ***** ****** to locate a car. This was on ******** I was to hear from him by ******** the latest if the car was available. I did not hear from him and called on ******* and was told the car they were locating was sold and they did not have a vehicle for me. I did not want to try to locate another vehicle as I was not happy with the service and attitude of ****** He was rude and incompetent. I called on ******* two times, ******** ******* two times and left messages to please credit my account. No calls were returned. I spoke to finance and they informed me they would get in touch with the correct parties and have the refund processed. It is still not credited to my account. On ****** I spoke to ***** (sales manager) and he said I needed to come in to process the refund. No one said that before and I live an hours drive away and do not have the time to take off work to drive there. I then left a message for the general manager, **** and did not receive a call back. They have no right to keep my money as they did not provide me a service. I did not receive a car. They did not have a car to sell me. Product_Or_Service: Locate ****** ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like my credit card credited for the amount of $500.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/10) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* CRM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ex **** Contact Email: **********@toyotaarlington.com Sales Manager ***** ******* is correct. Any customer seeking a refund on a credit card MUST return in person and have the same/matching credit card. This helps protect the customer incase of identity theft. Arlington Toyota appogolizes for any inconvience with having the customer return but we do this for their and our protection. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2014/03/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/03/11) */ I have spoken with General Manager **** ******* and he has given his "ok" to go ahead and proceed with the refund without ***** having to return to Arlington Toyota. I did call and leave her a voicemail on the phone #XXX-XXX-XXXX asking ***** for her complete card information as we do not have that information on file. She may contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX ex ***** if that is an incorrect contact number.

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I don't know why it was so difficult to look up my appointment, I gave both names, one name that the vehicle belong to, and my own name, to the older man at desk 8 and to the blond woman at the end of the line of desks and both give me two different stories. One said I never made an appointment and the other said I did, (had I known how the inner workings of this company was I would have asked to double check any other software that they have, although as a customer I'm not sure why I would have to do this). However during the entire process of making the appointment on the phone, the only information I was repeatedly asked for my appointment was my telephone number, and the older man at desk 8 was telling me that, phone numbers don't do anything in his system. The older man is telling me that because I don't have an appointment, what they can do for my recall (this is the second recall for the RAV 4 in 2 years mind you) is to just check my car to see if it even needs the parts. This is when I try to find someone else to talk to, and I find the blond woman at the end of the desks, and I ask her if she can look up my appointment and lo and behold she is able to. It is at this point she guarantees me that my appointment was made, and the parts are there reserved for me. I then wait the 4 hours that it take to do this recall, and then leave thinking my car is safe to drive, and that the brake arm has been fixed. Fast forward to today February 5th, and now someone calls me from Arlington Toyota, and now I hear that I can "complete my recall" now because they have the parts. I asked her didn't I already do this January 8th, and her reply was that they just checked it for what parts I needed, and now the parts are in and they can complete the recall. Now this is when I start getting a little worried because now I don't know what they did to my car for the 4 hours during January 8th. When I expressed that I had made an appointment at January 8th only because that's when they said they had the parts available. She then said oh then that means your car's recall was completed. My car when from in risk of brake arm failing to completely safe to drive because I caught a mistake someone did and you're covering up for that? She then begins to blame me for giving two names, (the owner's name and my name mind you, so it's not completely out of the ordinary to give those names) and then gives excuses that they have two difference systems of keeping appointments. Well that's all good for them I guess, but I don't know if my car is safe to drive anymore thanks you to guys.

Desired Settlement: I want them to pay for another mechanic of our choosing to do the recall.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/05) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *********, CRM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ex9801 Contact Email: **********@toyotaarlington.com Arlington Toyota appologizes to ***** **** for any inconviences he may have endured here at Arlington Toyota. But, customer ***** **** has no history here. We do however have information on a customer ***** **** Min and a **** **** with the vin ending with #XXXXXX with XXXXX miles as being here on ******** 10:29am RO# XXXXXX. Had the customer not hung up on the lady assisting him, a manager was there to assist him in finding the correct information and assure him that all had been completed on ********s he is already aware of. No. Arlington Toyota will not pay for another mechanic of their choosing to inspect the work completed. We will however welcome ***** back to Arlington Toyota so he may go under the Rav4 with a certified Toyota mechanic to re-inspect the work already completed. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/02/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) IS it "name calling" to just point out what my experiences were when I visited you guys? Incompetent: You guys couldn't keep an appointment for me. One that you guys called me for saying you had parts for my recall. When I arrive, and I spoke to the gentleman helping me, he replied he couldn't find my name nor *************** and for whatever reason he couldn't/ wouidn't look it up by my phone number. He also informed me that there are no more parts to do my recall for me. Disorganized: When I then spoke to the woman at the end of the rows of desks she stated that I indeed had a appointment, under the name **********. There are also parts available to complete my recall. This is where the gentleman first helping me gets very defensive, however the woman states to me that the car will be fixed.(by the way no one apologizes for anything, everyone just blames another person or your guys' two appointment keeping system). Fast forward to ******* 5 where I get a call saying that the parts for my recall are now in and you guys can complete my recall. How is this a sign that your organization is organized? Dishonest: One person tells me there was no appointment, another person tells me there is, on person tells me there are parts, another person tells me there aren't parts, one person tells me the recall can be complete, and then later one person tells me that the recall can be completed. All of those can't be true for your organization to be honest. Listen I'm not asking for much, now that I took the car to Grossinger Toyota, they told me that you did the control arm recall, but not the computer program recall, which Toyota tells me not every dealer ship has the ability to do which maybe why you didn't tell me about that when I went January 8th or in your phone call to me ******* 5th. I have peace of mind now that I know this car is safe to drive. However at no point in any of my conversations with you or anyone at your organization has anyone apologized to me without immediately blaming me for providing exactly two names. For instance you said that : "Arlington Toyota appologizes to ********** for any inconviences he may have endured here at Arlington Toyota. But, customer ********** has no history here." That is a cop out apology because your not: 1. Taking ownership of your mistake, you don't apologize for messing up my appointment and for causing undue stress. 2. You shift the blame to me by saying that I provided two names, but I always provided those two names to everyone that asked for my appointment information. There should have been no confusion. 3. Either you are lying about the fact that you don't have any records of having "**********" in you record or the woman at the end of the table was lying when she confirmed that it was for *****, and not for **************. You have made no sincere apology for any of the stresses you caused me and everyone who depends on that car to get around. You had many opportunities, such as replying even once to the email that I sent, or replying to the voice mail I left, or in these BBB filings, or when I filed a complaint with Toyota customer connect, and they requested you get in contact with me and all you basically said was to go to another dealership. You've had so many opportunities to apologize and own up to your mistakes, but you didn't. If you honestly feel like you shouldn't have to apologize, then obviously don't. If you honestly feel like everything I stated is how your company should behave like in similar situations then by all means continue doing what you're doing. But you should know that a lot of this didn't have to happen the way it did. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/02/06) */ We will not stoop to ********** level of name calling of "incompetent, disorganized and dishonest". We are sorry Mr. **** is not willing to work with Arlington Toyota by using the invite to have a Toyota certified mechanic escort him under the Rav4 to show him the work completed. That is his choice. I'm sure I will make this offer to him again as he has opened a "customer connect" case with Toyota Corp. I will also offer a chance for him to take **************** Rav4 to any other of the local Toyota dealerships for the same inspection. Arlington Toyota considers Mr. ***** BBB case closed as no further offers will be made as in Mr ****' own words he cannot trust Arlington Toyota.

1/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle in to Arlington Toyota at 2095 North Rand Road in Palatine, IL for a key replacement on ********* After receiving a quote on the key replacement and also being suggested to replace my front breaks and do an oil change I accepted. I returned to Arlington Toyota in the afternoon after everything was completed and paid the amount owed on the receipt. At around 4 pm I began receiving harassing phone calls from "****" who works in the service department that there was an emergency. Additionally, he began calling other family members on their cell phones. Upon returning his phone calls he told me that that the amount billed was in error and that we owed an additional 400 dollars. Having paid the exact amount on the receipt we tried to explain that we don't understand the additional changes. At this point he threatened to put the vehicle on a "mechanical lien". Being in fear of what may occur to the vehicle we called Arlington Toyota. We discussed the charges on the receipt and any potential discrepencies and were able to negotiate a deal for paying an additional 200 dollars. I expect nothing from Arlington Toyota in return, but would deeply caution any potential consumer from bringing their vehicle into this dealership to recieve service. I have never been treatly so poorly in my entire life. This is beyond unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: No settlement requested - for Nothing, just be careful. Felt beyond threatened as a paying consumer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/06) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* CRM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ex 9801 Contact Email: **********@ToyotaArlington.com Arlington Toyota Service Dept. has had a long working relationship with the **********'s and their 3 Toyota's. I do not beleive anything but an honest mistake happened when not totaling the final bill, forgeting to add in the labor cost. As it was listed for a estimate of $685.00 for parts and labor under our "customer comments" screen. With a customer "OK" for the repairs. As soon as the mistake came to light, the service writer **** made a call to ******( name on file) and explained what happened and she promptly gave her credit card over the phone. The service writer thought all was OK. As Customer Relations Manager I have spoken with our service writer on what to do in these situations to help make sure this does not happen again. I appologize to the ********** family and hope to earn their trust and business again in the future.

9/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday 8/23/13 I went to Arlington Toyota Scion to look at a 2010 Toyota Sequoia that was advertised on their website having 27,000 miles. Upon entering the vehicle for a test drive I noticed the odometer was over 59,000 miles. I was told it was a mistake on their website and would be corrected immediately (as of ******* at 3 pm, it was not fixed, here is the link: http://toyotaarlington.com/Certified-PreOwned.aspx#ajax_t=XXXXXXXXXXXXX&make=Toyota&page=certified-preowned&hyperlinkargument=page&style=4WD+LV8+6-Spd+AT+Platinum¤tpage=1&pagesize=25&virtualpageindex=0&numberofvisiblepages=10&sortitem=0&model=Sequoia&sortdirection=True ) Still willing to negotiate, I brought up their advertised rate of 1.9% that is listed on the same web page for Certified Pre-Owned Vehicles. I was told that it does not apply to Sequoias. When I showed the manager the webpage where the rate is listed right above the car, the manager proceded to pull out a binder and turn to a page that appeared to be created in Microsoft Word that listed the cars eligible for the 1.9% rate. When pressed about why there is nothing on the webpage that would indicate that, the manager dismissed the issue and said they pay a company to do their website and they take no responsibility for what is on there.

Desired Settlement: I am not seeking any sort of settlement, I would just like their deceptive business practices to be documented so other consumers are aware of the type of business they are.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/06) */ We appologize for any inconvience the customer may have experienced. Arlington Toyota has corrected the mileage for that particular 2010 Toyota Sequoia stk # *****A and have included all cars that are eligable (Camry, Corolla, Prius and Rav4 for the 1.9% finance). In addition there is a disclaimer on the bottom of the "cert used page.

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Arlington Toyota, Scion
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart