Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Apple Chevrolet

Phone: (708) 429-3000 Fax: (708) 429-7009 8585 159th St, Tinley Park, IL 60487 http://www.applechevy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Apple Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Apple Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Apple Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 19, 1991 Business started: 10/01/1975 in IL Business started locally: 10/01/1975 Business incorporated 02/21/1963 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David O'Donnell, General Mgr. Mr. Joe Alfirevich, President Mr. John Alfirevich, Dealer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David O'Donnell, General Mgr.
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Services Auto Parts & Supplies - Custom Wheels/Rims New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/17/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/29/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my Vehicle in to the Dealership in July of 2015 when it was in warranty for an issue with the engine knocking. Upon review with the service team, their foreman, and one of their most experienced techs they all agreed that the sound that I was hearing was normal. They concluded and said GM motors all make some noise at startup. I explained that I have had the car for a couple of years with all maintenance done and I hadn't heard this particular noise. They convinced me that they would put all of my information in their system and if anything comes about then we would be able to reference this matter and that they would take care of it. So fast forward to current. I took the vehicle back in to the dealer (Apple Chevy) and had the same team of people look at it and they concluded that there is something wrong. Now the vehicle is 3800 miles out side of its warranty period. They said there is nothing that they can do being that the vehicle is outside its warranty. Although they did offer to "take care of me" but they gave no indication on what that means. Also when I called the GM he said that he would have the service manager get back with me in which case he did but immediately got irate and hung the phone up on me. This was not professional!

Desired Settlement: If the dealership and or its representatives had explained to the warranty company the issues that GM was having with these motors and there was a chance that there was an issue. The dealer should have correctly diagnosed the problem initially. At that point there would not have been a question as to if there is something wrong. They should perform the repairs as if the warranty was still in place. I will pay all applicable deductibles.

Business Response:

Mr. ********* vehicle was in on July 15th 2015, and the vehicle had 129,885 miles at the time. Complaint was "engine making a knocking noise on cold start up's and continues when it warms up". One of our seasoned Journeymen Technician's listened and inspected the vehicle and didn't hear any unusual noise from the engine. The technician road-tested vehicle several times and our Shop Foreman also drove wtih him for verification. He heard only slight piston noise on startups and in our professional opinion, was not anything abnormal. We did phone our findings in to the customers A.S.C. vehicle protection plan. We told them this was the customers concern, and we didn't feel it was an abnormal condition while in our possesion. Upon customer picking the vehicle up, the customer raod tested with our Shop Foreman and again told Mr. ******* we didn't feel that the noise we heard was anything out of the ordinary on a vehicle with 129,000 miles.

Customer returned on March 23rd 2016 with 142,335 miles, and the noise was considerably louder than it was back in July. Customer stated that the noise just got louder all of a sudden. Our Service Advisor contacted A.S.C. Warranty Company and explained the situation. A.S.C. declined to help the customer out because policy lapsed by 3,837 miles but 14 months under the expiration date.

The customer is returning for a similiar concern 8 months later, and had put on 12,450 miles since his last visit to Apple. Apple Chevrolet does not feel responsible for the chain of events that has occured. The customer had the right to have another Chevrolet Dealer inspect his vehicle and get a second opinion, or he could have brought it back to us and ask us to reevaluate the noise. The customer did neither!

This is a misfortuante situation. I offered that we proceed with a repair that I would offer him a discount. Unfortunately, we couldn't offer a discount until we knew the extent of the damage. Once taken apart, we may find the engine unrepeatable and needing a replacement. So we would not be able to offer an assistance dollar amount until we have the engine taken out of the vehicle and disassembled. Customer decided not to go any further and pick up his vehicle and return our loaner car we issued him.

In our opinion, the customer is responsible for the repair.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

******* ******

2/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After discussion with dealer that the truck I bought did not have bluetooth as promised, $300 was offered, and I purchased the truck. On the drive home I found it does not have remote start, parking assist, power adjustable pedals, or remote garage door opener that were advertised. The dealer produced a build sheet, but did not give me a copy. I had found a similar truck that was $1,700 cheaper, and had all these missing options that were falsely advertised on this one. Plus the other truck had the Z71 package, and a bed liner. I flew from *** ***** to buy this truck on the dealers promise that it had the options advertised. I have saved copies of their web advertisements, and options listed as included on this vehicle.

Desired Settlement: Since I live about 250 miles from Apple Chevrolet, I would either like Apple Chevrolet to pay to have these options installed at my local dealer, or I would like the price of these options refunded so I can have them installed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/05) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *********** GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@applechevy.com We are happy that we have been able to resolve this issue to the satisfaction of all concerned. We are assisted with our vehicle descriptions by an outside source and we are working with them to prevent any future errors. Even though we do have a disclaimer regarding the listed equipment, our good reputation is important to us. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I feel the advertised features were far from what I received. The dealer did pay to get the remote start and bluetooth installed. Looking at the build sheet I noticed there were a few other features and options mentioned in the advertisement that were not on this truck. To start, under "Featured Equipment" the advertisement says the truck has 4:10 gears. Instead the build sheet says it has 3:73 axles. I'm not pointing this out to be irritating, but they need to realize a purchase financed for 6 years it is a big deal for my family. I'm not sure who replied to the BBB complaint, but I found the statement "We are assisted with our vehicle descriptions by an outside source and we are working with them to prevent any future errors. Even though we do have a disclaimer regarding the listed equipment" to be more than a little insulting. The sales manager told me he writes the ads personally... It sounds as though the dealership takes no responsibility for truth in advertising, or they aren't contractually obligated to deliver what they promise! I like the truck a lot, but my overall experience was far less than satisfactory. I feel that the parking sensors, adjustable pedals, and garage remote were a write off at my expense, along with anything else that was inaccurately represented. The other truck I was considering was more than $1,000 less, and had all these options and quite a few more. During our conversation I understood I would receive a CD with the build sheet in the package that was sent. I did receive a paper copy, but would like to have the CD if it's available. thank you for addressing some of my concerns. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/02/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ***** ******* from Apple Chevrolet offered to take care of one more of the missing options (The next least expensive). I am grateful for this, but did not say it is a satisfactory resolution. Again the reply seems to state that they are not responsible for false advertising. If they had been honest up front I would have bought a different truck, got the options I wanted, and saved another $1,400 Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/16) */ We are concerned that Mr. ******** did not accept our earlier response since he indicated over the phone that he was satisfied with our remedy. Our response was completely accurate and we certainly had no intention to insult Mr. ********. Although our pre-owned manager does write the descriptions, the vehicle specifications Mr. ******** mentions regarding the "Featured Equipment" tab is placed there by our website company. That information is provided to the website company by a respected 3rd party, Chrome Systems Corporation and there is indeed a disclaimer as follows: "The features and options listed are for a New Year Vehicle and may not apply to this specific vehicle." (c) XXXX-XXXX Chrome Systems Corporation" As we stated in our original response, our reputation is important to us and we feel we have taken good faith steps to resolve this issue.

10/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/22/14 while pulling into my driveway my car lost all power and I almost ran into the back of my neighbor's car. It started right back up. On 9/23/14 on a major freeway in Chicago the car did the same thing but the work Power Steering showed in the dash. I call the 3 different Chevy places and was told that they wouldn't be able to get to my car for days. I wasn't going to drive the car in fear of my safety. I called the recall # and was giving assistance (case # *************) for towing to a dealership that would take the car. My car was towed to ***** Chevrolet and I received a called from **** who informed me that my parts for the recall would have to be ordered and it would take two week and I wouldn't receive a loaner car and also told me that they need to see what is wrong with my car because it might not be the recall. He stated that this would cost me $125.00. I asked him why because we already know that there is something wrong. I told him to just do the recall. On 9/26/14 him called me at 7:30am and said that he talked to someone at GM and they said I need to have the test done to determine what is wrong. I told him to do it but I was going to call GM because I shouldn't have to pay. Neither the less, I received a call from **** that said..He didn't find anything wrong with the car and I have to pay the $125 and that they did do the recall. He also said that because of the mileage he recommended an Induction service. I asked what that was and he said a cleaning of the engine. I told him that I had a new engine and there isn't anything wrong with it and that it has nothing to do with the power steering light. I also asked where did the parts come from and was told from another vehicle. I am not sure why I didn't get new part but I told him not to do anything to the car. I called the recall 800 # again and got a very nice representative who called **** to try to get the $125 waived. He told her that my car stopped because of I had a new engine and he couldn't waive the fee. This angers me because he just lied. He didn't know I had a new engine until I told him. I feel I was just ripped off and I still do not know what is wrong with the car or if I am going to drive and I have an accident or be killed like the other. I am not sure if I got used parts or not. I just don't feel that I should have to pay the $125 when we already knew that the car had a recall on it.

Desired Settlement: I want a reimbursement of my $125.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/29) */ This case has already been resolved. It was a misunderstanding between our service advisor and the customer. We waived the charges and ******** has picked the vehicle up.

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was brought to Apple Chevrolet in Tinley Park for repair because the heat was not working, it was blowing cold air. The car was under the extended warranty and this was told to the cashier when dropping car off. My husband even told the mechanic what was covered and he replied "we did our homework". Once they took a look at it, I got a call and was told that it was not under warranty and I would be charged for the repair. I told them to go ahead and fix the car. However, I knew this was covered by just taking a look at my warranty. I paid for the repairs totaling $279.33 out of my pocket. After I picked up the car and received the invoice, I called the warranty company and they checked on the warranty and confirmed that the recent repair was covered under warranty and Apple Chevrolet should not have charged me and contacted them for payment. If I would not have followed up, I would have been out $300 and paid for a repair that was covered under a warranty that I already paid for. This is very poor customer service and I can't believe this business rips off customers like this. They probably do this all the time and customers don't follow up. This issue needs to be resolved and this company should not be operating like this.

Desired Settlement: Refund for their "shop supplies" and "labor" need to be refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ** *********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x 112 Contact Email: ************@applechevy.com Customer was contacted by dealer Service Manager on may XX XXXX. reviewed situation with customer. I strongtly feel that this was a mis understanding on our Service Advisors part. He was under the impression that the customer was seeking repair under the factory warranty which has expired. It was unclear and our misundserstanding that the customer had a valid extended warranty through Fedelity group. This was the customers first visit to Apple chevrolet and we had no documentation that the customer had this extended warranty. I asked the customer if I could assist in helping her get a reiumbursement frim fedelity. However customer already submitted information to them. I asked the customer to call me if there was any dispute in a full reiumbursement for work that we performed. Customer was agreeable with this. I explained that we maybe didn't listen to the customer as we should of when they used the term "Warranty". ** *********** Service Manager Apple Chevrolet


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Apple Chevrolet
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)