Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Anthony Buick, GMC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Anthony Buick, GMC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Anthony Buick, GMC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1991 Business started locally: 01/01/1991
Business Management
Mr. Anthony Augelli, President Mr. Jim Sledz, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Augelli, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Services New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Anthony Auto Group Anthony Pontiac-GMC-Buick, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Anthony Buick, GMC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/25/2015 I purchased a 2007 Toyota Solara (VIN# ************XXXXX; Stock# XXXXXA; Mileage XXXXXX) from Sales Associate ******* ********* and Manager ** ******. I purchased the vehicle, no co-signer, with $1000.00 down payment though my personal debit card. I "had" financing from *********** Finance. ******* called on 4/28 stating there was issue with my income, based on my pay stub provided at the time of purchase. I sent Capital One a more recent pay stub, in addition to a letter with proof of a monthly stipend I receive, on 4/29. On 5/2, ** ****** called verifying my income again. I'd also started a new job and offered to send proof of that income as well. He states that wasn't needed and asked if I would consider another vehicle because the bank did not want to finance a car that old. I stated I would consider, but I was not sure when I could get back to Gurnee. I was called on 5/4, by ******* asking could I find a co-signer because the bank had issue with my income amount. I clarified asking if it was income, or did the bank not want to finance a car that old, and he stated both. I asked what my options were because I did not see any vehicles in their inventory I was interested in, and I was not going to use a co-signer. ******* stated we would see what the bank says. On 5/13/2015, I returned a call from ** from 5/12, at which point he stated they would need me to return the vehicle. I stated I would be there Saturday, 5/16/2015. Upon returning the vehicle as promised, no damage, odometer reading XXXXXX. I was told by *** "There is no way I can get you a check today. I can overnight it to you on Monday, or you can come back." I stated he could overnight the check (I do not live in the area, nor now have a vehicle to drive back to Gurnee). After not receiving the check, I called on 5/21, leaving a message. On 5/22 I spoke with ** and he stated he put in the request, and would "get it out" to me. I asked him to keep me posted and if I needed to come out there, I could. On 5/29 I called again and left a message checking on the status. I have not had a returned call, and have not received the payment, as of 5/30.

Desired Settlement: I would like to obtain my refund before I leave the country on 6/14 (which, the dealer was aware of my travel because they asked for a higher down payment, which I declined).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@gmail.com ******* Buick GMC was under the impression that ******** ******* was coming up Saturday 5/30/2015 to pick up her refund. After a phone conversation @ 2:10 6/1/2015 with ******** ******* ******* Buick GMC will Fed Ex the check to ******** today. Just one more Happy Customer from ******* Buick Gmc Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/06/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I obtained the refund 6/2/2015.

4/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/23/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Absolutely the worst car buying experience ever. Whole time I felt like they were trying to take advantage of me and they flat out lied to me. I got so ****** off, that I walked out. They called me back in after I left by offering me a "better" deal. I turned around and went back, but nobody was there to meet me when i just got off the phone with them and after 20 min of sitting there I left again. Then I got another call apologizing. I went back and brought proof of their lies and deceit. Finally I got the price I knew was fair, or so at least I thought. I signed the contract, left with the vehicle and went up north for Christmas. For the week that I was up there, I was harassed by several messages asking me to provide proof of income after I already signed the contract. When I returned home, I returned the calls and was told the bank backed out of the deal, but not to worry because they found another bank with better interest, but I needed to come back in. (Forgot to mention that I live in another state). Went back and signed the second contract. I thought that wouldve been it. Almost two months later I'm still receiving phone calls harassing me about surveys and telling me how to rate them. I also discovered they charged me to transfer my plates and never did so. two days ago I received a call that they would reimburse me. Let's see if that happens. Now the new thing is that they are asking me for proof of my***** membership, even though I provided it to them at the time of the first contract signing. Finally yesterday I Iet them have it. I'm beyond fed up with them and all their harassing calls. I told them to take this **** truck back, reimburse me for every dollar I put into it and to get my old truck back. I made it clear just exactly how I rated them on the several surveys they harassed me to do and how this is the absolute worst car buying experience ever. Little do they know, but we buy several vehicles often and will never consider them ever again. The last month I've actually been looking to get rid of this truck, because of all their bs. Never thought I could absolutely hate a new vehicle because of a dealership. Today I received a threatening message from *** the sales manager, telling me that he will be sending me to collections for $750, the discount i received for being a***** member. Who the **** does he think he is? I have not only signed one contract, but two and all information was provided to them prior to signing. Their screw ups are not my problem and the deal is already done. If anything shows up on my credit, I will sue the **** out of this dealership. Bottom line, I want my old vehicle back now so that i can take my business elsewhere. Im beyond fed up and no more. Im sick of being harassed day in and day out for information they have already been provided

Desired Settlement: I want my truck back and they can take this POS back after they reimburse me the $600 i put into the bedliner

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/11) */ **** ******** is some what confused. **** did purchase a 2014 GMC sierra from Anthony Buick GMC 12/22/2014. **** was able to take advantage of several manufacture rebate, some required proof of eligibility. The rebate in question is a USAA incentive of $750.00. Anthony Buick GMC has no proof of membership on file witch will result in a charge back to the dealership of $750.00. *** our sales manager called **** and asked for proof of eligibility ( copy of an ID ). **** some what upset became belligerent with *** and has threatened the dealership on several web sites. ***** issues with Anthony Buick GMC are really self inflicted, ***** prior credit issues and variety of incomes sources have the banks doing their due diligence and asked for proof of Income, not Anthony Buick GMC. In reference to the collection statement, yes Anthony Buick will turn this matter over to a collection agency if need be. In reference to the I live in a different state, yes **** lives in ******* ** Anthony Buick GMC is in Gurnee, IL door to door 19.73 miles really not to far to resolve an issue either with the Truck of the contract. If **** wants to return the Truck he would need to get a hold of **** *** *** as they are the lien holder of the vehicle. Anthony Buick GMC will be patience and wait for a response.

5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought our 2003 Buick LeSabre to Anthony Buick on the recommendation of *** **** in Round Lake. The car had failed to start on a Sunday and *** **** was the reasonable choice given the difficulty of finding a mechanic on Sunday. On Tuesday (03/25/14) the car was towed in to Anthony Buick. I spoke to ***** *********** I explained to him I just wanted to start the car and get it back in service as quickly as possible. The car has 162,000 miles and is worth about $2000. The first call I received from ***** confirmed what *** **** had said and the price of repair was given to me at $775.00 on a rebuilt fuel pump to which I added an oil change. I believe ***** and I spoke again on Thursday (03/27/14) and in this conversation I was informed that the mechanic could not get the car started and a fuel injector problem had also surfaced. The cost of repair would then be about an additional $445.00. I agreed to the fee as long as my car would be repaired. By Friday I had called ***** to pick up my car and was told the mechanic was having difficulty with the computer system and the car was not starting. This was a matter of serious concern to us since Pep Boys had the same problem. ***** offered us a loaner for the weekend since we had been without the service of our car for close to a week. We accepted. I received a call on Monday (03/31/14) informing our auto had been repaired and was ready. My son paid for the service rendered and drove the car home. Once home my son informed me of a hesitation tendency the Buick was experiencing. We agreed he should call the Buick dealership. The following day my son called Anthony Buick Service Dept. and was told to buy a throttle cleaner and use it on the carburetor. My son is not a mechanic and does not understand the workings of a carburetor. The next day would prove to me that our car had only been started and not test-driven. This is a standard procedure of quality control for safety reasons. When my son used the car on the expressway he experienced serious hesitation problems while driving and attempting to switch lanes. The car almost shut-off on him on several occasions but he managed to exit the expressway and arrive at his destination safely. Before we could call Anthony Buick Service Dept. I received a call from a polite and personable individual from Anthony Buick' Sales, offering us the market value of our 03'Buick/Lesabre plus an additional $1000, if we would trade our car in. I politely declined, and wondered why Anthony Buick would have the Sales dept. call after my car had been repaired instead of the follow-up call by their service dept. When this young lady from the sales dept. called me again I explained to her the situation we had experienced after the auto had been allegedly repaired and released to us. She informed me she would relay my message. I then received a call from a man from the service dept. on my cell phone identifying himself as the service manager. During the course of our conversation I discovered that our car had not been road tested. Once again, Anthony Buick made an offer to repair the vehicle, which I now declined. After this call Mr. ****** and another individual called during my work hours leaving messages on my voice mail. Due to the lack of quality control (road test) for our vehicle we chose not to return our car to your service. Because of the incident previously mentioned our son could have been seriously injured on the expressway. We have resolved our transportation problem. However, we are disputing the amount charged to us by ******* Buick for their attempts to service our vehicle. We are reasonable people and understand that occasionally bad service happens. Nevertheless, we will not pay for faulty workmanship. We have informed American Express to withhold payment for aforementioned reasons. We are willing to resolve this situation in an appropriate manner at a reasonable cost.

Desired Settlement: We lost two days of wages due to the faulty repair of our vehicle. The follow-up advice given after my son made Anthony Buick aware of the faulty repair problem was very unprofessional. We are willing to pay for hardware replaced and a discounted amount for labor performed. The amount originally requested is not reasonable given the set of circumstances presented.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ** ***** Service Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@anthonyautogroup.com We did make repairs on this customer's vehicle. It was dropped off here on March 25th and did not start. The customer explained that he knew the vehicle had other issues, but he just wanted it to start and run. He even declined a free multi-point inspection. The diagnosis of this vehicle was complex. We called the GM Technical Assistance Center to help us figure it out. It did involve multiple repairs. We contacted the customer, advised them of the repairs, gave him estimates and secured approval from the customer before making any repairs. Contrary the to the customer's letter, the vehicle was test driven 4 miles, although not on the expressway. When the vehicle left here, it started and ran. That is what the customer asked us to do as stated in his letter. We did hear, from the sales department, that the customer was unhappy with the repair. The service director and the dealership vice-president both called the customer and left voicemails offering to readdress any issues. Our consultant ***** made a similar offer during his conversation with the customer. No phone calls were returned by the customer. The vehicle was not returned to us. We only got a letter stating the vehicle was worse than when they left it with us. In summary, we repaired what the customer asked us to repair. Even though the diagnosis was complex and the technician had over 9 hrs clocked on the vehicle, the customer was only charged for 4 hrs of repairs. We supplied the customer a rental car for 3 days, which we paid for. We applied a 15% discount to the parts and labor. When we found out that the customer was unhappy, we attempted to contact them, find out what the issue was, and see if we could correct it. Our work is guaranteed for 1yr/12,000 miles and one of the parts purchased has a lifetime warranty. We stand behind our work and the products we sell. We would gladly replace any warranted part or resolve any poor workmanship issues but we have not been afforded that opportunity. We do not feel this case warrants any discount or compensation other than what we originally offered the customer at the time of repair and we consider this case closed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This response is cramed with formality and lacks the authenticity of sincerity. The truth is this dealership lost my confidence when the following events took place. > Turning the vehicle over when they knew it was not properly fixed. Failure to test drive the vehicle goes a long way in jepordizing the safety of the driver and passengers ** a vehicle. Not to mention any other party which could be affected once the car is on the road. > Their lack of concern when my son contacted the service dept and was told to purchase Gumout carburetor cleaner and essentially take matters into his own hands. > Finally, the coup de grace, having their sales dept. call us in an effort to make a sales out of our weakened position. Sorry, in lieu of what I have experienced, this is not the way to gain the confidence of your customers. We choose not to return for the reasons mentioned. The fixing of the car is a moot issue now. The real issue is the manner in which this dealership is now attempting to present itself with responsible language. The actions performed does not match the front now being presented. Again, we are reasonable people, but we will not be taken advantage of. I will make an offer of $700.00 to simply close this case and move on. Thank you so much, ****** ********* Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/05) */ Anthony Buick GMC's position on this case has not changed. We consider this case closed. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/05/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is very disconcerting the lack of concern in the statement expressed by the person representing Anthony Buick in their response. "We consider this case closed," is a unilateral statement in which unfair business practices are oftentimes masked. We are holding payment to Anthony Buick on our American Express account. We will continue to insist on withholding of payment until a reasonable settlement is made. I am open to meeting with a representative of Anthony Buick or GM representative to bring this to a fair conclusion. In fairness to Anthony Buick I don't feel disregard of customer complaints on the quality of their repairs is their official company policy - I feel this is the response of an errant representative. This organization is licensed to do business in this state and is subject to the fair business practices of the State of Illinois. We hope to bring this matter to a satisfactory conclusion by direct meeting or through the Better Business Burea. Thank you for your reasonable attention to this matter. We await your response. Sincerely, ****** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Anthony Buick, GMC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart