BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2003

Al Piemonte Ford Sales

Fax: (847) 288-9776View Additional Phone Numbers2500 W North Ave, Melrose ParkIL 60160-1130 Send email to Al Piemonte Ford Sales

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2003

BBB has determined that Al Piemonte Ford Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Al Piemonte Ford Sales' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Al Piemonte Ford Sales

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
06/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Initial payment of $1000 was made on 4-27-15 to Al Piemonte Ford at 19:54:54. Invoice number is XXXXX. Signature of the Bill of Sale occurred on 4-27-15. **** ********* is the salesman. The bank check for $47,618.43 arrived on 5-4-15. According to email communication, as soon as the bill of sale was received, the van was to be picked up from the other dealership, and paperwork overnighted to us for registration. On 5-21-15, we first heard this had not happened. The email informed us the van was sold from the other dealership. Our check has been promised to be returned to us, but nothing else is being done. Our deposit has not even been reinstated. We initially bought plane tickets for the family to pick up this vehicle. Our trip was contingent upon this purchase. The cost of our tickets was $1,374.60.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking one of three options:
1. Find us an acceptable 2015 Transit and reimburse air fare from Chicago to that location or have it in Chicago when we arrive.
2. we would be okay purchasing a used 12 passenger van under $5000. This would have to be a roadworthy van with some years of use remaining.
3. Refund us the amount that we spent on our tickets as well as the $1000 deposit that we had paid.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********** VP
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***********@***.com
We have located an acceptable 2015 Transit per ***** ******'s request. The original vehicle was sold and we have secured one that satisfies her. She will be coming in on Tuesday, June 2, 2015 to pick up the vehicle.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Al Piemonte Ford has made great effort to rectify this situation. I am pleased with the response and service.

07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On May 16, 2014 I ******* ****** took my 2001 Lincoln Navigator to Al ******** Ford at 2500 N. Ave. Melrose Park, IL for an oil & filter change, multi-point inspection, and a full vehicle tune up. As a result my truck was damaged: parts were not put back in the proper place (they were damaged), the vehicle did a lot of jerking and pulling as if it was going to shut down, four days later I returned to the facility and they stated that they could fix it for $330 after I already paid $791.31. After there was no resolution with that situation, I called and spoke with the manager ******* in which I told him I would bring the truck in to show him the problems that were caused. ***** came with me to my truck and I popped the hood, then I showed him what was not put back in the proper place and he stated that the work was unacceptable and didn't offer to fix it, he just wanted more money. Then he said he spoke with the mechanic and the mechanic stated that he looked at the vehicle but another mechanic did the actual work. After that, ***** told me to bring the truck back so that he can scan it. He also said that his mechanic's pay rate is expensive. After that he went on to say that if I could not afford the mechanics he was going to give me a discount on all of the parts that were needed, which is the basis of my complaint.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a full refund of $791.31 because they did not do the proper work that was needed for the truck. I will not feel comfortable with them working on my truck ever again in life, even though I bought the truck from their facility four years prior. Instead of making me feel as a valued customer, they left me feeling as though my service was no good.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** **** Parts and Servi
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x 609
Contact Email: *****@apford.com
This response is from *** **** the Parts and Service Director at Al ******** Ford. I did not wait on Mr. ****** but i have had multiple meetings with our employees who came in contact with Mr. ****** and his vehicle.
We feel that we did what we said we would do for this customer.
The vehicle has 220,000 miles on it and has a four valve engine that can be very sesitive to time and miles on the unit for drivibility concerns. Mr. ****** asked us to perform a tune up on his vehicle. He did not say he had a check engine kight on nor was the light on at time of our business. the word 'Tune up" can mean alot of items possible or few depending on the time and miles and the way the vehicle has been maintained. our history with Mr. ****** has been all oil changes only and no tune up items like a fuel filter, air filter, injector cleaning etc. We were asked to replace the plugs and we did so. The vehicle has one ignition coil per cylinder that does not have to be replaced in a "tune up" unless they are in a failed condition. To replace all the coils is over $800.00. We only replace them when they fail. They were not in a failed position when we replaced the spark plugs. Sometimes when the plugs are replace and they are up to full potential they stress the coils if they are old and then the new plug strength can hurt them. agian, 220,000 miles this vehicle should have had 4 sets of plugs replaced. The plugs we took out were old and badly worn. My Service Manager talked to Mr. ****** and offered to check his vehicle at no charge for the now "Check Engine light" and found 2 coils have failed. we offered to replace these at a discount to the customer do to the timing of the previous repair to the new repair needed. The customer declined and the next time we new he was still having this cincern was when we got the BBB notice. Now with 220,000 miles on this vehicle many hands have been under the hood. Some items are not the way they should be but the time on this vehicle has caused what Mr. ****** Says is damage not Al Piemonte Ford. The repair cost Mr. ****** wants back also includes an oil and filter change and we feel this repair does not belong with the request of of Mr. ****** for refund. now, again we feel that we did what we said we would do and did so, and we are not responsible for other things that can happen on a 220,000 mile vehicle. Our offer still stands to do the necessary coil repair at a discount as Mr. ****** has been a customer of Al Piemonte Ford. We already paid a technician to check why the 'Check Engine " Light is on and we have obsrbed that cost. We want Mr. ****** to be haapy but feel that refunding the cost to replace the spark plugs and oil and filter is not fair to us. We did nothing wrong. We want to help fix the vehicle. As time goes on there will probably be more of these coils failing due to age factor. there are 8 total coils. At time of inspection the second time in only 2 showed bad. I have left my number attached if additional info needed. Thank You

12/02/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/05/1993Business started: 01/01/1963
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1980, IL

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Nicole Dunn Mr. Robert Barca (Secretary)Mr. Todd O'reilly (Vice President)Mr. Alex Piemonte (President)
Related Businesses
Al Piemonte Ford, Inc. - 2500 W North Ave, Melrose Park, IL Same principal contact
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Contracts
Lemon Law Facts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Al Piemonte Ford Sales

2500 W North Ave

Melrose Park, IL 60160-1130

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2500 W North Ave 

    Melrose Park, IL 60160-1130Fax: (847) 288-9776

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Al Piemonte Ford Sales is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (708) 345-9300
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Contracts
Lemon Law Facts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.