Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Advantage Chevrolet

Phone: (708) 352-2400 Fax: (708) 352-2417 View Additional Phone Numbers 9510 Joliet Rd, Hodgkins, IL 60525 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.advantagechev.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Advantage Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Advantage Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Advantage Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 10, 1999 Business started: 09/07/1999 Business started locally: 09/07/1999
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Krystal Roberts Mr. Desmond Roberts, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Krystal Roberts
Related Businesses
Advantage Kia of Palatine
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Advantage Chevy of Hodgkins
Additional Information

Advantage Chevrolet has requested that before filing a BBB complaint, consumers contact Jason Roberts via e-mail at jroberts@advantagechev.com or on his cell phone at 708-372-0372.

Please understand that you can file a complaint with the BBB now or at any time during this process. It is our hope that Advantage Chevrolet will resolve the matter for you in an expedient manner.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Advantage Chevrolet has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 9510 Joliet Rd

    Hodgkins, IL 60525 (708) 218-9408

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ******* I purchased a new Equinox from this dealer (VIN Ending XXXXX). At the time of the purchase I held a valid active GMCard credit card with positive earnings to be applied against the purchase price. On ******* I did NOT have the GMCard with me, however, on 11FEB15 my son returned to the dealer and provided the account number etc to my sales person Mr. **************** On 5MAR15 I faxed a letter to Mr. ********* indicating that I received my GMCard statement and the earnings balance was NOT use. I noted in my letter that I spoke with a June at the GM Card Service Center, who indicated that the dealier could process an "after sale redemption." She also noted that my account would be eligible for the "top off" promotion ($3,000.00)that was in effect on the date of sale. She added that the dealer knows the process to make such a request. Not receiving a response, I mailed a letter dated 22MAR15 to Mr.*********** (Finance Mgr) which included a copy of my 5MAR15. On 27APR15 after NO response from Advantage, I visited the BBB website. Advantage has posted a request that a consumer contact ***** ******* via email before filing a complaint. This was done and I attached a copy of my letters of 5MAR15 & 22 MAR15. In response to this email, I spoke with a***** ********* at Advantage. I recapped the situation to him and in response he said that he would call "tomorrow" with an update and that it would take 4 to 6 weeks to get the money. I did NOT receive an update from him. And now EIGHT weeks have passed *** I have not received the money nor any kind of communication from Advantage since my conversation with M. *********.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the FULL amount that GM Card Service Center indicated that I would be eligible for at the time of the purchase, e.g. $3,000.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/06) */ Contact Name and Title:************** GM Mr.************ purchased a vehicle and did not have his GM card with him at the time of delivery nor did he mention it as a condition of the sale. The subsequent day his son brought in the GM card and asked us to apply for his points and reimburse him the money. We have applied for the monies through GM and once we receive payment we will issue the customer a check. We sincerely apologize for the delay and for the inconvenience it may have caused. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I cannot accept the response from Advantage without receiving the money. Comparing the response from********** through the BBB and the phone response of************ (29APR15) they are saying the same thing: I will get the money after Advantage gets the money from the GMCard program. The failure to receive the money eight weeks AFTER my conversation with************ is the reason I filed a complaint with the BBB. However, in fairness to Advantage Chevrolet, I will change my response to "accepted" as soon as I receive full amount that June from the GMCard Service stated that I was eligible to receive as noted in my complaint. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/07/31) */ On July 21st we received a notification that the GM Card money had been deposited into our open account. On July 31st we issued a check to Mr.************. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2015/08/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently went to advantage Chevrolet of ******** dealership on march 21,2015. Looking to finance a car. ******* was my sales rep. I got approved for the car. Signed all the paperwork drove home with the car that day. Two weeks of me getting the car someone hit my car(april 3rd 2015) we both have insurance & we did do a police report. I filed a claim  with his insurance company,but now (april 9th ******* text me saying the bank wants me to get a co signer because I don't make enough money. I told her about the car been in a accident but the sales man **** **** left me a voice mail april 10th saying I quote bring him his car in his lot today. So I returned it that night. I went to the dealership the next day to see about getting my down payment back since I do not have a co signer, but they refuse to give me anything until the car is fixed. Also my insurance company is telling me not to tell the guy who hit me insurance company that I no longer have the car because if they find out the car is no longer mine they won't pay for the damages. I was thinking about canceling my insurance because its no point in paying for it when I no longer have a car, but the man I believe his name was *** or ***** at the dealership said I shouldn't cancel it yet because the guy who hit me insurance company American Heartland might see that I canceled it & feel they don't have to pay for the damages & then since my insurance would be canceled my insurance company won't pay for it which would leave the dealership with having to pay for the damages & they will take it out of my down payment that they refuse to refund me. Now the car is back on the lot with the price of how much they want for it (I was told by law they can't do that since they still owe me money) & they refuse to cancel my contract until the car is fixed but won't give me the car to at least it.

Desired Settlement: I would like my 2000 down payment back. I did everything they asked. I wasn't given a chance to get the car to a assigned inspection facility at ** **** ***** XXXXX * ******** RIVERDALE IL because I was waiting on the ******** ********* paperwork to arrive in the mail. Which I told ******* on april 9th which she said she would let **** *** know. But **** **** left the voice mail knowing the car had damages & still told me to bring it back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/17) */ Ms. ******* **** purchased a vehicle on 3/21. We submitted a credit application that the customer signed based on her making $1,890/ month. When the bank called her job to verify her income they found that she had three weeks paid vacation included in her stated income and she only actually made $1,500/ month, resulting in them to decline financing. In the interim the customer was involved in an accident on 4/3. We are awaiting the contract to be returned from the bank and repairs to be completed. We brought said vehicle to the insurance companies preferred body shop today. We sincerely apologize for the extenuating circumstances that were out of our control causing the customer to be inconvenienced. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The business response is still not telling me when I will receive my 2000 dollars back. As for the 1890 I never said I make that a month. I was told from an employer their that the way the dealership came up with that amout was they just took my pay divided it by my year too date income on my paystub. Thats the amount they got not me saying I make 1890. But my main question again is when will I get my down payment back? Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/05/08) */ We have been in communication with the customer throughout the process. The vehicle is scheduled to go to her insurance companies body shop on 5/11. Once we are in possession of the vehicle in the same condition that it was in when we delivered it to her, we will cancel the original contract and return any obligations to the customer.

5/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This January 2015,I paid for my a/c to be repaired at Advantage Chevrolet in Hodgkins. Before leaving it appeared that the a/c was still not working so I questioned a service worker about this , issue. I was giving a printout stating that the a/c will not work in weather below 32 degrees. Once the outside temperature was about 60 degrees I tried to use the a/c and still it did not work. Upon returning to the dealership, the service shop wanted to charge an additional charge of $130 to diagnose the issue. Once the problem was found I was informed that the problem was a corroded wire. The service shop was adament about having me pay for the that day's service. I told them I didn't believe it was repaired properly. I was January, I do not have a heated garage so I had to wait until April to check the a/c. I do not believe my a/c was repaired in January and I paid for repairs that may not have been necessary. Product_Or_Service: auto repair

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I believe that I should be have the cost of the a/c repair refunded minus the charge for the initial service check for the problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/01) */ Contact Name and Title: **************- Service D Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@advantagechevbb.com The repairs made on January 2015 of this year addressed several items including Mr. *******'s air-conditioning not working. As we indicated on his receipt, we replaced an a/c line that had a hole in it and was leaking and leaked out all the "freon" from the system. As Mr. ******* states, he returned on April 10th, 2015 for his "compressor" not coming on. We found a broken and corroded wire that we repaired at no-charge to him, thus absorbing the $130 charge. The repairs in January had no bearing on his recent wiring concern. Restitution for the part replaced that was defective in January cannot be made on a failed part. We acknowledged his concern and issue in good faith by repairing the wire to him at no-charge. Thank you.

3/24/2015 Delivery Issues
3/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gave me repair quote of appx.$600 for front brakes. I declined service-*** (service rep) then offered to do it for appx $450 to quote "make it safe for me". If the car was unsafe, they should have stated that when they gave me the $600. Paid $140 for estimate-no details we given to me so I could compare rates. When I requested the detailed information for which I paid for, the service manager ****** was very abrasive and rude. In addition was charged $12.25 disposal fee that I was not informed prior to signing. Car was in there less than 45 minutes, no work was done, why did I get charge for a disposal fee - disposal of what. Additionally, I was there in December and they informed me that I needed new tires when I specifically told them I had just purchase new tires they quickly changed their mind and said I did not need them. They are scam artists.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my $140 dollars. If that is not possible I want a refund of the $12.25 disposal fee.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@advantagechevbb.com Contacted customer and explained diagnostic charges that she paid for to determine what the vehicle would need to repair. The reduction in the price which she was told about was a removal of the brake flush which essentially reduced the price of the repair to $450. There is a standard disposal/shop and environmental charge that is calculated on all repairs which is what the $12.25 charge to Ms. ******* was. Dealership is sending customer a $100 maintenance certificate that can be used at any GM dealership. Ms. ******* accepted the certificate and will use as such.

10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In early April, the oil pressure gauge and speedometer stopped working on our 2005 C70 dump truck. This truck is a front line support truck that transports supplies to job sites and runs to the tree nursery's to get stock. It is vital to our company's efficiency that we have working trucks. I had our local mechanic replace the oil sending unit and a vehicle speed sensor but that didn't solve the problem. He suggest taking the truck to a Chevrolet dealer to scan the truck and find the problem. He was thinking it was the dash board cluster. One May 5th, I contacted your dealership and spoke with ***** ******* (service consultant) and told her about our problem. She said they have a shop for large trucks and have a scanner and computer. Additionally, the horn didn't work on the truck and we had a hard time engaging the PTO to get the dump box up. She said the mechanics could get the truck in Thursday, May 7th. I asked her if I could drop it off the truck on Wednesday, May 6th and she said yes. I should have realized there was a problem ahead the day I dropped it off. When I got to the service shop there was NO supervision. No one knew that I was bringing the truck in or what was going to be done. I told a mechanic I was dropping a truck off to get service tomorrow and he said that it most likely wouldn't get looked at until the following week. He said that they were backed up. I told the mechanic that ***** said it would be worked on tomorrow and that I needed the truck back as soon as possible. I didn't think twice. I didn't hear from anyone for four days so I followed up the beginning of the next week. This is when the run-around started. I was told that it was a bad cluster and they had to OVERNIGHT the part that took TWO days to get. Then several days later I was told that we could get the truck but the lens was cracked on the new cluster and they we going to OVERNIGHT another one. It was only going to take an hour or 2 to install it. Instead of driving it back and forth, I told your staff I would just pick it up the following day when it was done. Two days later there was another delay. A supposed second defective cluster. The new story was they would order another one but I could drive the truck. So I picked up the truck so we could use it for a couple of days to try and get caught up. ***** said that all I had to do is call and we could bring it by and wait an hour or two and she would get it done as soon as possible. The horn was supposedly fixed at that time and the PTO did engage fine. We did use it for two days and after the second time using the PTO the cable slipped, so at that point we could hardly get it to engage. We decided to get the truck back to Advantage Chevrolet so we wouldn't get stuck with a full load on it. We were told we could wait an hour or two, but we decided to return at noon. At noon, my two support drivers went to get the truck and it wasn't done. Another bad cluster and no one looked at the PTO (again NO supervision apparently NO internal company communication). So we left the truck again and I was told it would be Top Priority! I didn't hear anything for another 2 days. I decided to stop by unannounced and needless to say the truck was sitting outside. I was very upset and I let everyone in your shop know this. I asked why the truck was outside. The guys acted dumb and said they would pull the truck in and get working on it. Additionally, nothing was done at that time on the PTO. Then I went to the main office and let Deena know my thoughts. I was extremely upset. She assured me that she would see that it would be Top Priority.....AGAIN. They told me they put the new cluster in and said they adjusted the PTO. I went with my support drive to pick the truck up. We ended taking the truck to Coffman Truck sales to repair the truck. The cluster was not the issue. It was another part that needed replacing.

Desired Settlement: Advantage Chevrolet had our truck for a month. The horn is the only thing that was fixed. We ended up fixing the PTO ourselves. We have NO WORKING GUAGES at all now! For $ 1,585.58 we had our horn fixed. At the least, this is total incompetence and at the worst outright theft. We would like $1,200 returned to us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/01) */ We sincerely apologize for any issues that have taken place during your recent service visit at Advantage Chevrolet. We are truly committed to customer satisfaction and we thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. When you brought your 2005 C70 Dump Truck in to our service department our technician diagnosed a faulty instrument cluster and ordered one to address the oil pressure gauge not working. This took some time for our Parts Department to receive the part for several reasons including; the age of the vehicle being 9 years old, and the availability of the part which can only be purchased from an authorized AC Delco sublet supplier. The first instrument cluster that arrived had a "cracked" lens and the part was returned and reordered causing another delay. The second cluster we received, the right turn signal did not work. We reordered yet another cluster and the third cluster was installed and everything worked properly at that time. To ensure that this resolved the customers complaint the technician road tested the vehicle for over 10 miles and intentionally went over bumps in the road, to make sure the cluster was working properly. When purchasing items such as a cluster for a 9 year old vehicle, the clusters are only sold as a rebuilt/ remanufactured item. Unfortunately it is not uncommon to have to wait for a remanufactured part and when it arrives, the only way to assure everything is working properly, is to install it and test it. The Technician experienced no poor connections during diagnosis of the last cluster we installed nor did he after his 10 mile road test. Mr. ****** felt there was never an issue with his instrument cluster being faulty; however our Technician disagreed and stated all his tests and diagnosis pointed to a faulty instrument cluster based upon a GM recommended "sweep" test that he performed. Recognizing the length of time this all took (about a month) and empathizing with the issues that occurred, we contacted ***** ****** and agreed to reimburse them for the repairs that were performed at ******* Truck Sales in Aurora in the amount of $591.52. Mr. Mendyk declined the offer and demanded a settlement in the amount of $1,200. We again contacted Mr. ****** and told him our position in the matter and again offered to reimburse the ******* Truck repair bill in the amount of $591.52. Mr. ****** again declined the offer stating the only amount he would agree to is $1,200. We are not willing to agree to those terms; however we will honor our final offer as one time gesture of customer goodwill.

10/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been having problems with the vehicle since I purchased the vehicle 11/13. I have been to the dealership numerous times and called the used car managers numerous times. Neither manager has got back to me.My vehicle shakes very bad when the brakes are applied and move the steering wheel side to side. My engine light has been on 4 times and I have taken it back every time in about a weeks span. It comes back on a couple days later. The vehicle trunk is not working and has not been working since two weeks after the vehicle was purchased. and the wheel alignment doesn't look like it was did correctly because I have uneven tread wear on every tire. Both fog lights are loose and on the driver side lower panel by the rear wheel someone applied some touch up paint and tried to cover up the scrape to the panel. My electrical system on my steering wheel is not properly working. If I go to turn the volume up it changes the station and if I mute the volume it turns the volume up.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want everything that I mentioned about the vehicle to be replaced or repaired. Or I would like an even exchange for another vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/02) */ We sincerely apologize for any issues that have taken place and the inconvenience it may have caused you regarding your Chevy Malibu. At Advantage Chevrolet we are committed to Customer Satisfaction and are constantly evaluating our staff and process to make them better. Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. To my understanding you are experiencing some service issues with your vehicle. We would like an opportunity to look at your vehicle in our service department and see what items would be covered under your GM Certified warranty. We left you a message today to try and schedule an appointment to visit our service department. Your certified warranty will expire on 11/07/2014 or 49,123 miles. Below is a list of service dates when the vehicle was brought in to our service department for repairs. We checked the vehicles history and the vehicle has not been brought to any other GM dealerships for repairs. Above is attached copies of all the service repair orders done at our dealership. We were not aware of some of the other issues listed in your complaint. *1. RO#XXXXXX. 01/29/2014. Miles 41,238. Vehicle brought in for certified oil change and tire rotation. *2.RO#XXXXXX. 05/08/2014. Miles 45,038. Vehicle brought in for certified oil change and tire rotation. *3.RO#XXXXXX. 05/17/2014. Miles 45,173. Vehicle brought in for check engine light. Replaced faulty fuel pressure sensor. Covered under certified warranty. *4.RO#XXXXXX. 07/22/2014. Miles 47,633. Vehicle brought in for SES light on. Found loose connection. No charge. *5.RO#XXXXXX. 08/15/2014. Miles 48,470. Vehicle leaking oil. Tighten oil filter and added oil. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I spoke with *** from this company and they are still missing a part that should be in and installed by 9/12. I wait until then to let you know if I would accept the response. Thanks Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/10/02) */ The customer responded that they are waiting to see how the vehicle performs after we installed the part. This is not a rebuttal from the customer. We have contacted the customer and are trying to schedule an appointment with her the ordered parts have arrived.

10/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A $30.00 fix we found out. Blaming vehicles age, miles etc. If the case ....deny servicing vehicle...uh duh! why would they do that. This dealership is a TOTAL DISGRACE TO THE AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR INDUSTRY. If we had reviewed the comments on "yelp" etc. we would have steered clear!!! BEWARE!!! THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT THE CUSTOMER!!!!

Desired Settlement: Refund of all $$$.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/08) */ At Advantage Chevrolet we truly are committed to customer satisfaction and are constantly evaluating our staff to make them better. Thank you for the taking the time to share your concerns. The vehicle in question is a 1998 Silverado with 185,411 miles on the vehicle. The customer's complaint was for a no-start condition. When we performed a diagnostic on the vehicle it had a code for a crankshaft sensor failure which we replaced and the vehicle started and the customer drove it home. He later stated that he had the same concern and his friend replaced his ignition coil and the vehicle worked fine subsequently. There are a multitude of components that can fail on a 16 year old vehicle with close to 200,000 miles. Although it is not our fault that another component was faulty, as a one time gesture of customer goodwill we are willing to offer the customer a $25 gas card. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/07/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It has become well known that those "diagnostics" are the auto dealships "way out" when under performing. If they couldn't fix my vehicle they just needed to say so. Quit blaming age, miles etc...the vehicle has run fine since our simple fix. Shame on Advantage...they can give me all labor $$$ back. Then I'll be satisfied. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/07/21) */ We respectfully must decline **** ******'s proposed resolution to this matter as did his credit card company when he disputed the charges. The vehicle was not running properly when he drove the vehicle into the dealership after our diagnostic and repairs he drove the vehicle home. As a one time gesture of customer goodwill we are willing to offer the customer a $25 gas card for his inconvenience. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/07/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The "diagnostic" performed was not accurate. There have been reports that those systems aren't reliable. Car didn't start once AGAIN when I arrived home. As you can tell by the online YELP reviews, this dealership doesn't care about customer satisfaction. I will never refer anyone to this dealership. I will never take any vehicle there for any type of service.

7/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I bought tires at the dealership years ago I complained that I thought my rear caliper was malfunctioning because it felt like the brake was grabbing even though I wasn't touching it. It was a violent wheel-locking experience. I was told nothing was wrong with the caliper. The problem continued and I continued to complain. Even though the vehicle was under warranty, I had one of my mechanics check my truck. He explained that the axle was off slightly and was probably locking up as I described. I forwarded this info to Deena and was told "Nothing is wrong. They took it for a test drive." My truck continues to lock up. I took matters into my own hands again and had Jiffy Lube do a differential service. The amount of metal, including a chunk of a gear, obtained from my rear axle was ridiculous. I kept the metal. I called Detroit for the second time this year to complain; especially loud since I now had proof of my axle problem and of the complete uselessness of the Hodgkins service department. Of course I was told a resolution would be forthcoming within 48 hours. I have called ******* daily for a week. No one has contacted me. It has been 9 days. ****** (in ******** doesn't take or return my calls though I leave messages. My vehicle has been at this dealership for service more than 5 times in the last year yet my "Check Engine" light has been on every day but 3 over the last 14 months. They have returned my vehicle damaged. They have returned my vehicle with the tail lights unplugged. They have returned my vehicle without even attempting to explain why the check engine light is on. They have asked and received additional opportunities to "get it right" and have failed on all accounts. The final insult came when I was lied to after my last visit. This dealership's inability to do warranty work on my commercial vehicle has cost me thousands of dollars. I have let my feelings be known on their surveys. I have complained to Detroit, my commercial salesman ***** ********** and Hodgkins Chevrolet. I have owned and maintained more than a dozen Chevy trucks. I will be ignored no longer. We can upload all of my service reports and I can document the number of times I have called both Hodgkins Chevrolet and Detroit to discuss these matters. I also have electronic copy of complaints I sent to Hodgkins Chevrolet last year regarding this matter.

Desired Settlement: I want my vehicle repaired completely. I want to be reimbursed for all additional expenses incurred as a result of this Dealership's incompetence. I want to be compensated for my lost wages. And I want Chevrolet to extend my vehicle warranty since my vehicle has endured additional stress resulting from the rear axle not being repaired for years.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/29) */ In reference to Mr. ********'s complaint regarding a rear axle concern, the matter was brought to our attention on February 16, 2014. Our Technician road tested the vehicle and could not experience or duplicate his concern. The specific complaint states the problem only occurs when going up a hill. Our records indicate that was the only time this matter was brought to our attention. Mr. ********'s other concern and service visits were pertaining to a fuel gauge and level sensor issue being inoperative, which were covered under his warranty. Our records indicate that he did pay for an evaporator solenoid and "2" faulty gas caps to address a Service Engine light concern on June 11, 2013 that repair was not covered under his factory warranty. On his last visit on February 6, 2014, there was no mention of a check engine light being on. Prior to his visit in February 2014, there is also no mention (in his file) of a caliper locking up. Maintenance done to Mr. ********'s vehicle, has recently not been performed at our facility. The last oil change being on July 16,2012 at 49,769 miles. Based on his last visit in February 2014, the vehicle had 82,500 miles at that time. This vehicle is a "food catering truck" and currently has no warranty remaining on it. We are willing to inspect Mr. ********'s truck at no charge for the diagnostic to the customer, in an attempt to identify the source of the problem. A check engine light can come on for a multitude of reasons and not addressing it promptly can lead to further engine problems. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We look forward to resolving and working toward a solution to rectify the situation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is shameful that the person responsible for responding to my complaint has even less motivation and ability than the Advantage technicians. I didn't think it possible. A single mention of a June 11 visit in 2013 and nothing else? No mention of all of my other visits, phone calls,and letters of complaint? An ordinary person reading your response might think I have only visited your dealership once since 2012. Maybe you should interview my service writer, ****** or the porters tasked with shuttling me back and forth to ******** fitness. Maybe you can ask ***** or ******* for a copy of my September 25 letter of complaint. And if they didn't keep it, you can request a copy from ***** ********* at ******* Chevrolet. He sold me the truck and I have kept him in the loop for the last 10 months. And if he doesn't have one, I can forward it again. And then there are my phone records. Do your porters call me for fun? ***** too? Or maybe I was calling your service department to hear the automated message? And the people who have picked me up or dropped me off as part of service visits? I can give you their names too. I love how you reference my February 2014 visit by saying there was no mention of the check engine light being on. The purpose of my visit was to correct a fuel filling issue, which was supposed to eliminate the check engine light. And of course a complaint was made again about my wheel locking issue. The technicians claimed they resolved the fuel issue by unkinking a line that they kinked when putting the tank back in September. They also claimed they test drove my vehicle about the wheel issue. If they did actually test drive the vehicle, how could they not see the check engine light on? And why wouldn't anyone offer service to resolve the matter if they saw the light on? And when I called ****** she said the technicians didn't tell her anything but she would call them. She later told me my light "had something to do with the throttlebody." This was a lie. The Service Air Bag display was in clear English. This lie infuriated me enough to make my first complaint to Chevy on their toll free number. I am sure there is record of it because when I made my second complaint, ****** (xXXXXX)referenced the first complaint. This is the only time I have ever had a truck with a check engine light on returned to me without someone making a recommendation for future repair work or service. But this wasn't the first time Advantage Chevrolet returned a truck to me without addressing reported mechanical issues. On my first 2013 visit, Advantage attempted to return my truck without addressing issue #1. The electrical issue that caused me to be stranded and replace a battery. After I questioned them about it, they checked my truck and told me it was drawing 7x the normal load. But they were willing to let me leave without even checked the matter which was listed on their customer sheet as #1. I have stated it to ****** *****, *******, and Chevy many times in the last year: Advantage technicians suck. I wouldn't let them sweep my garage. It's a shame the warranty policy doesn't allow our company mechanic to service our newer vehicles. And thank God for phone records, email records, and the multitude of uninterested witnesses who have witnessed me go through this brutal service ordeal. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/06/18) */ We sincerely apologize for any issues that have taken place and the inconvenience it may have caused you regarding your service visits at Advantage Chevrolet. At Advantage Chevrolet, we truly are committed to customer satisfaction and are constantly evaluating our process and staff to make them better. I left a message for Mr. ***** ******** asking him to personally contact me on my cell phone. I would like to meet with him and invite him to bring his vehicle to our service department for a free diagnostic. Although his vehicle is out of factory warranty Advantage Chevrolet is willing to participate in the costs to repair his vehicle. We are eager to resolve this matter amicably and to his satisfaction; however we cannot rectify the situation without the vehicle being brought to our service department. Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Advantage Chevrolet is once again going through the motions, not doing their homework, and not accepting responsibility for anything. On the evening of June 18, my phone rang. I could not retrieve the message. I did call the number back and leave messages several times. The line was a message machine at Advantage Chevrolet. I still have not heard from them. By coincidence,less than an hour before this phone call, I arrived home with my REPAIRED Truck. First, "How did it get repaired?" As I stated before, I kept my commercial truck salesman, (***** Yassinger-******* Chevrolet), in the loop regarding my horrible experiences at Advantage Chevrolet since last year. After more than 10 days passed and I still had not heard from GM, though I was told I would hear from them within 48 hours of my complaint, ***** took action. He called his boss/GM Rep. I then spoke with Rich Moore who assisted me in setting up an appointment to get my truck looked at. I brought my truck to **** ****** Chevrolet in ****** on June 10 to be checked.I then returned there on June 16 for repair work which concluded on June 18. I believe my truck would still be in disrepair had it not been for the efforts of ***** ********** **** ****** and the good people at **** ****** ****** Though my family has bought trucks from ***** for over 20 years, his efforts were still commendable. He is a salesman you can trust. "What did the technicians at **** ****** find?" and "What did I learn there?" My truck wasn't just inspected by a technician. My service adviser, ****** and his boss, *****, both accompanied me to inspect and discuss the findings of their technician. I don't recall the technician's name but he was a star. First they found metal on the magnet. Then they found metal in the fluid as well as a broken differential gear. And water in the Axle believed to be caused by the leaking/dripping yoke seal. Advantage claimed they test drove my vehicle. But they were obviously too busy to put my truck on a rack and see the leaking yoke seal or remove the differential magnet. GM covered all costs to repair these issues since they have existed for years. "What else?" TPS sensor failure, vent solenoid leaking codes, throttlebody position sensor, fuel tank pressure sensor, and impact sensor. GM covered all related costs, charging me only for the impact sensor. I learned Advantage was too busy to do a proper diagnostic on my truck though they knew the check engine light was on and they failed to discuss any part of my truck's issues with me before returning it to me. They must not have wanted to do the repairs or service my vehicle. This statement is 100% true since they had my vehicle on at least 6 previous occasions relating to fuel sensor issues and 13 months later it still was not fixed. "Any other repairs?" Leaking oil coolant lines and 2 worn tires. I opted to replace tires and lines. "More?" I also opted and paid for a transmission service, radiator coolant service and oil change. I viewed all services as needed and timely. None of these services were offered or discussed at Advantage Chevrolet. For the 3 days **** ****** ***** had my truck, I was provided with a new car free of charge. Their technicians and staff treated me like a valued customer. Too bad the last new car I bought was purchased at Advantage. That will never happen again. ***** ********* of Raymond Chevrolet and **** ****** ***** will be the two Chevy institutions I can refer friends, family, and clients to. The only things left for Advantage to do are: Pay for my Catering Box repair. They broke it. They should pay for it-$900. Compensate me for no less than 5 days of shutting my business down-$750. ***** **** ******* to prove axle issue-$90. Truck Repair Resolution Costs-$800. The total due is $2540. Advantage Chevrolet can choose not to reimburse me. I will not take them to court. I will simply continue to raise the public's awareness of the lack of care I experienced at Advantage Chevrolet. As I said earlier in this process: Thank God for emails, text messages, phone bills, and invoices. My 6 page invoice from **** ****** ********* will be made available upon request.

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ****** ******; on January 11, 2014 I purchased a 2013 Chevrolet Sparks from your Advantage Chevrolet dealership in ********* IL. On April XX XXXX I took my vehicle into Advantage Chevrolet for servicing due to the vehicle stalling and cutting off. I was told that an improper code was displaying, after having the car a few hours I was informed the Service Department would need to keep my car for a few days. Below you will find a list for conversations from the Manager/Supervisor in the Service Department of Advantage Chevrolet in ******** and me: April 28: I received a call from ****** stating the "drive barren" was "shot" and needed replacing. ****** stated the part was on back order and would take about a week to be delivered. May 1st: I spoke with ****** and as of that day the part hadn't come in. May 6th & 9th: I spoke to Felipe and again they hadn't received the part. May 13th: I spoke to **** and was advised that two parts were received and that they were still waiting on the third. This was the first time I was made aware that three parts were needed. May 16th: I spoke to **** and the third part hadn't arrived. May 20th I called **** and again the part hadn't arrived. From April 24th - May 3rd I was given a loaner car (Chevy Malibu) which cost me $75.00 in gas. A $40.00 difference of what I would normally pay for gas. On May 12th I was given a Chevy Captiva, this rental has exceeded my gas expense by $45.00 so far. As of today my vehicle's still in the possession of Advantage Chevrolet and I don't know when it'll be repaired. I've lost time and money with dealing with this situation. I've been given the run around since day one. I purchased this Chevy Spark because the car is Fuel efficient and being only a year old it would be a low maintenance vehicle. I was wrong on both accounts. At this point I don't trust it will be repaired properly. I've only hade this car for a little over 4 months and it's been in the Service Department of Advantage for nearly a month. I can't believe that General Motors operates in this fashion. This has been a horrible experience. I'm paying for a car that I don't have and I don't have a clue as to when I will. I've exhausted all my possible options on a local level. I would appreciate if someone would reach out to me in regards to this matter after all this is your product. Today 05/23/14 I was told I will need a new transmission for the car. The transmission is the life of the car. At this time I would like a new car due to the defective car I was sold on 01/11/14.

Desired Settlement: A new car

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@advantagechevbb.com Good afternoon. Ms. ****** was experiencing a parts delay on her vehicle. The part required to fix her 2013 Spark is on a national backorder and is manufactured in another country- specifically Korea. However, Ms. ****** has traded this vehicle in and purchased a 2014 Sonic.

12/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Today, Saturday October 19, 2013 I went to Advantage Chevrolet with my wife and Stepson to purchase a used car. We met with *********** ******* the sales person at around 11:00 am, he showed us a 2010 Ford ***** which had the price of $6,995 advertised on the windshield (VIN# **********WXXXXXX). I looked the car over and took it for a test drive. I told *********** we wanted to go ahead and purchase the car. He took us inside to start the process, I told him I wanted him to give us a few minutes to call my insurance agent and secure insurance before they closed at noon. After purchasing insurance for this car, *********** came back with some papers in his hand and began telling us that the price on the car was not $6,995 that it was $9,971. I asked him why, he looked in the computer and showed us their internet website page showing a 2010 Ford ***** for $9,971. I told him that could not be because the car has a price of $6,995 advertised on the windshield, he said he would get his Manager. A gentleman came and sat down in front of us, introduced himself as ******************* (Pre-Owned Manager; he said the price on the 2010 Ford Focus car was $9,971, I told him their advertising it as $6,995 and he said that was not the price of this car that it was $9,971. He went on to explain that it had been a mistake made by a porter boy that he put the wrong price on that car but that he would have a talk with him about it. I told him this was false advertisement, he said this a simple mistake, my wife told him that the price of the car is clearly advertised as $6,995 on the windshield of the car, he said he could not sell the car for that price, my wife told him we came in good faith to buy a car and their selling this one for $6,995 so we want to buy it, he said he would not sell this car for that price but he would sell us something else, my wife told him we did not want to do business with a Company who has this kind of practices. My stepson asked him if he would split the disputable difference and he said no to that also. My wife told him this was false advertisement, he said it wasn't, my wife asked him if he thought what he was doing was legal, he said yes it was and we could go and consult with an attorney if we wanted to. my wife asked to talk to somebody else higher than him, he said there was nobody higher than him, my wife asked him who he reports to, he said there is nobody else above him but the owner of the Company. We were apalled and very disappointed that they could do this to us and get away with it, we wasted a lot of time and showed nothing for it except frustation.

Desired Settlement: The Manager made it very clear there was nobody else above him and he would not sell the car for any less than $9,971 so the only thing left would be to lower their BBB status rating to allow other customers to know their practices are not 100% honorable

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/05) */ The customer wanted to purchase a vehicle that the porter had transposed numbers when placing the merchandising stickers on the vehicle's windshield. He placed a "6" in lieu of the "9" that he was instructed to place on the windshield. When we were made aware of the mistake we immediately changed the pricing and explained to the customer that the employee had mistakingly placed the wrong sticker on the vehicle and showed them our online price. The customer did not accept our explanation and offered a price for the vehicle that at that time was below the current market value. Due to our mistake, as a one time gesture of customer goodwill we are willing to offer the customer a discounted purchase price of $8,571. In the event that they are not willing to purchase the vehicle for that price we will offer them $50 gas cards, in lieu of the discount, for their inconvenience. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2013/11/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Nothing else can be done . . . . Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/11/07) */ We sincerely apologize for the issues that took place and the inconvenience it may have caused you during your recent visit to Advantage Chevrolet. At Advantage Chevrolet, we truly are committed to Customer Satisfaction and are constantly evaluating our process and staff to make them better. Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. As a token of our apology we would like to establish an in store credit for $50 that you can utilize in our service department. I would like the opportunity to discuss the circumstances at your earliest convenience. Thank you for your continued business. I look forward to speaking with you.

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on july 24th of this year i put a down payment of a vehicle down in the amount of $150.00 and a post dated check for the 5th of august for $1000.00 which the placed to a gaurentee company of ****** payment systems the first finance signing deal fell thru so on aug 5th i came back in with several denials in financing and was told it was approved ironicly by *********** the same day recieving a second denial letter from them matching the same approval numbers i didnt like it so i returned the vehicle knowing i still had an outstanding check which i allowed to be returned by my bank and signed paperwork stating the deal went dead the check was returned by my bank on te 6th of august approxamately 7 days later i returned and spoke with **** **** at advantage i was refunded my 150 deposit and he called ****** to ask why the check was proccessed again my bank returned it then 4 days later it was processed and honored by my bank at this point it was out of control after numerous talks with dealer on aug 24th i called ***** and they stated the deal was dead the money should of been refunded it was eventually on sept 6th however the damage to my account and credit score was done i was charged 125 in fees due to the dealers slow process i have statements from my account to show the fees my checking account spent three weeks in the negative it took a sit down with ************** of ******** and me and a call to ****** at advantage to get the initaial 1000 refunded after being sent a copy of my account statement in my prescense on sept 6th all fees accurd was sent as well and still was not reimbused for the fees they racked up on my account

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) i would like advantage chevorlet to refund me the fees that racked up in my account to replace the money that was available in my account at the time the check got honored

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/10) */ Mr. ******** came in on 7/24/13 to purchase a vehicle. When Mr. ******** purchased the car, he put $150 down on a credit card and $1,000 down on a hold check that was guaranteed thru ****** payments check guarantee service to be paid electronically on 8/5/13.Advantage Chevrolet submitted applications, on Mr. ********'s behalf, to several different lenders. Once financing was secured we contacted the customer to schedule a time that was conducive with his schedule for him to resign a contract and Mr. ******** decided upon 8/5/13. When the customer arrived he was very upset that we had submitted his application to several different lenders to obtain financing for him, and stated at that time that he no longer wanted to do business with us and wanted a refund of his down payment. We tried to contact ****** payments to have them attempt to cancel his scheduled payment but it was already processed. The customer was fully aware on 7/24/13 that his check was to be cashed on 8/5/13; therefore we are not responsible for any bounced check fees or any other obligations the customer incurred due to the check being cashed on said date. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/10/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) again i am attaching a scanned documnet showing all three transactions of 1000 us dollars not pesos my account was posative on 8/13/2013 in the amount of $220.38 i was charged $36.00 by my bank for returned item on 8/13/2013 on 8/15/2013 my account was still posative $163.71 tilll 8/16/2013 i ackknowledge the$1025.00 refund but look at the date of the check 9/9/2013 i already lost my posative balance of $163.71 on the 15th not to mention lossing that and the fees that incurred due to advantage chevys ineptability to refund my money sooner cost me not only my balance before the check hit but i ended up lossing more money due to there inepability totaling another 86.00 us dollars Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/22) */ Mr. ******** signed a form designating that the check would be clear his account on 8/5/13 (see attached). After we received verification from his bank that his check did indeed clear his account we refunded him his down payment of $1,000. As a one time gesture of customer goodwill we gave Mr. ******** an additional $25 for any inconvenience he felt he incurred while attempting to do business with Advantage Chevrolet.

10/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from said company. The company quoted me an email price but charged me a price that was 900 more than the internet price. I decided to purchase the vehicle and before leaving the dealership, I was told that I would have to have insurance on the vehicle. I purchased insurance from ******** ******* Insurance, full coverage. I signed the paperwork for financing and I was given the keys to the vehicle. Several days later, the dealership called to say that they needed the insurance deductible to be $500 and not $1000. This was not explained to me at the dealership when I signed up for the insurance and the paperwork was faxed to the dealership in order to take possession of the vehicle. I then went to ******** ******* Insurance to change the deductible from $1000 to $500 which costs me more money, however the dealership and the finance company continued to call saying that they wanted their vehicle back. On October 7, 2013, the dealership call and left a voice message calling me stupid and to return their vehicle.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of down payment and repairs and cosmetic changes performed on the vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/10) */ Mr. ******** purchased a vehicle from ********* Chevrolet at the agreed upon price. Due to the customer's derogatory credit history the loan was provided by a subprime lender, ********* financial. One of the banks requirements was that Mr. ******** had to provide proof of full coverage insurance with the deductible being $500 and not the $1000 that the customer currently had. We informed Mr. ******** of these requirements and gave him several days to meet their terms. After several attempts he finally provided the bank with the required upon $500 deductible and they approved his loan.

8/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/8/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Advantage Chevrolet
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart