BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2012

Jack Phelan Dodge Suzuki

Phone: (708) 352-5300Fax: (708) 352-29845859 S. Lagrange Rd., CountrysideIL 60525-4065 Send email to Jack Phelan Dodge Suzuki

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2012

BBB has determined that Jack Phelan Dodge Suzuki meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Jack Phelan Dodge Suzuki's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Jack Phelan Dodge Suzuki

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
10/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went in to get the 30,000 mile service to be in compliance with my warranty. The service advisor sold me additional items that were not in the user guide, and left out services that were supposed to be completed at this time. They made an adjustment on my invoice,after I showed them their mistake. But, it was still an extra $190.00 on items not in the maintence check list. Which is on page 106 of the user guide that comes with the car. I expressed my issue with the Chryster coperation, but they failed to get my money back because the dealer created their own menu.

Desired Settlement
Items needed oil change 29.95, ac filter 60.00, tire rotation 22.95 and air filter 24.95 the numbers listed were given to me by the service rep. The 190.59 is for all other services performed but did not need to be in complience. Sorry a break is not provided because some of the services are grouped together. The total invoice was 328.44

Business Response
I called Mr. ****** X XXX-XXX-XXXX, Mr,****** requested $190.59

I agrred to pay Mr. ****** $190.59 for all missunderstandings. He will pick up a check at the Dealership this week.

I further advised that he was an excellent customer and we hope that he will return to our Dealership.

****** *******
Customer Relations Manager
XXX-XXX-XXXX

02/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Jack Phelan sold me a vehicle that I have nothing but problems with. My complaint is that they said they go through a thorough multi-point inspection on the vehicle and fix any issues found. Literally driving it off of the lot after purchasing the vehicle, I had several issues. My brake light was out, horn did not work, radiator had a leak, windshield fluid pump did not work, I had a power steering leak and the tires had a slow leak and no tread. Several days later my vehicle would not start and I had to mess with it several times to get it to start each time. My brakes and rotors had to be replaced within a month of purchase. Two months later, my dual climate control heater does not work and blows out cold air on the passenger side and I am getting very weak compression on my engine. This car was a complete lemon. I bought a car that I could afford, 2009 Dodge Journey with only 42,000 miles. A car with mileage this low should not have these problems as well as I should have not had the initial problems directly after purchase. I went to Jack Phelan because I heard they do good business and wont sell you a junk car. I gave them $12,500 of hard earned savings and they took my money and gave me a car worth a lot less. After several attempts to have some kind of assistance or to resolve some issues, Jack Phelan gave me the old, "sold as is" talk. I am by no means a man that can afford to fix just the main issues so I can drive a car that I am paying a loan for. I have 3 kids that I cant take to school because my car don't work. A car I bought only a few months ago. I am very upset and frustrated with the quality of a vehicle Jack Phelan has sold to me. I understand they are sold as is but over 1,500.00 worth of repairs hours after driving off of the lot, especially when they state they do a full car, multi-point inspection, I am upset that I have been swindled for my money I broke my back to earn.

Desired Settlement
I just want my car to work like it is supposed to. I served this country in war and they money I was paid went to this car. It was everything I had. I invested it all into this car thinking I would have a reliable means of transportation for years to come. I only got 3 months of that dream.

Business Response

To: ****** ****

From; ****** *******
Customer Relations Mgr.
Jack Phelan Chevrolet
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Re: Case# ******** : **** *******



I reviewed both the Sales and Service records at Jack Phelan Dodge, as far as I can determine Mr. ******* has not been in the Dealership to discuss any problems or issues that he may have with anyone at the Dealership.

The Service Dept. has no record of Mr. ******* ever coming in for any type of service since he bought the vehicle on 7/18/2013.

The Finance Mgr. ******* ****** as well as his salesman, ***, have never seen or heard from Mr. ******* since he purchased the vehicle on 7/18/2013.

I called Mr. *******`s phone XXX-XXX-XXXX on numerous occasions and left a message for him to call me.

I would ask that Mr.******* call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX x 227 so that we can attempt to resolve the problem.

Sincerely,

****** *******
Customer relations Manager

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Services, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/11/2009Business started: 03/16/2005
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Phelan (Managing Member/Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Services, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Jack Phelan Suzuki
Industry Tips
Lemon Law Facts
BBB Teams with J.D. Power and Associates to Boost Value of Information Available to Car Buyers
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Know the Facts about Auto Service Contracts
Millions Expected to Heat up the Holiday Season with Auto Purchases
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Jack Phelan Dodge Suzuki

5859 S. Lagrange Rd.

Countryside, IL 60525-4065

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5859 S. Lagrange Rd. 

    Countryside, IL 60525-4065(708) 352-5300

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Jack Phelan Dodge Suzuki is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.