Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jack Phelan Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep & RAM

Phone: (708) 352-5300 Fax: (708) 352-2984 5859 S. Lagrange Rd., Countryside, IL 60525 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.jackphelan.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jack Phelan Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep & RAM meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Jack Phelan Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep & RAM include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jack Phelan Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep & RAM
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 11, 2009 Business started: 03/16/2005 Business started locally: 03/16/2005 Business incorporated 03/16/2005 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Rick Hiller Mr. Jack Phelan, Managing Member/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Rick Hiller
Principal: Mr. Jack Phelan, Managing Member/Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Services New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Jack Phelan Suzuki

Additional Locations

  • 5859 S. Lagrange Rd.

    Countryside, IL 60525 (708) 352-5300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2013 *** ****** SXL from this dealership and there are some issues I had with this experience. The first issue is a crack I found on the front bumper. This crack goes from the bottom part of the grill to the bottom of the bumper (6 inches at least). The crack was hard to see because it was glued, not professionally fixed, together. When it got wet the glue ran onto the front bumper. This leads me to believe that there was a front end collision which was undocumented by the ****** or the salesperson. The second issue is when the vents are turned on without the A/C the air coming out smells like wet cigarettes and urine. The final issue is that when I go over 55mph the car drifts to the left. This only occurs at higher speeds and I was not able to test drive on the high way. The next problem is the monthly payment scheme. The numbers that they were returning to me were extremely high (close to 400 a month). My calculations put me closer to 280 and so I asked about the APR. The sales person refused to give me the APR he used to get my monthly payment estimate. It wasn't until I said I was leaving that he brought me to see the finance manager who then told me my APR was 4.4%. The previous APR they wanted to charge me was closer to 15%. When I was talking with the finance manager he tried to upsell me the extended warranty which I politely declined. After declining he was responded rudely with "What!? What kind of person doesn't want to protect their car?" He tried a few more times which I declined each time. He then told me about the Gap insurance for $800. I asked if this was purchasable from my insurance company and he said only at the time of purchase which I later found out was a lie. I would advise other customers to not purchase or deal with this dealership. They will manipulate and try to take advantage of you.

Desired Settlement: I want part of this purchase refunded for the front end damage, headlight, disgusting smell and drifting issue. I will not accept a "free repair" because I do not trust this dealership to genuinely fix these problems without intentionally causing other problems.

Business Response:

id  ********

 

The sales mgr from Jack Phelan Dodge called Mr. ********* at *************  We set up an appointment for the Customer to come into the Dealership after 6pm on Friday 6/17/2016.

 

We advised Mr. ********* that we would do our very best to make him a satisfied Customer, We offered to take the the vehicle back and give him a 100% refund of his down payment. He can than buy any other vehicle that he wants from any Dealership that he wants.

We hope that we can resolve the problem.

sincerely

****** *******

 

 

6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had transmission replaced in July 2014 - on November 11th of the same year I brought the car back and said that the transmission was slipping again - they charged me $128.95 for the assessment of the car and said that they found nothing wrong. In May I brought my car to the emission control and my car did not pass. I again brought the car on May 14, 2015 to Jack Phelan where they said that I need a new transmission again and that it would cost $3500.00. When asking about the warranty of the transmission - Phelan said that because Suzuki is no longer in business and that they will not cover it. It was still under the 12 month warranty and I had put less than 1000 on the car since the new transmission. I don't feel that it should be my responsibility to replace something that is still under the warranty. I spoke to Phelan and they are not interested in helping me what so ever. Phelan (***********) has verified that this transmission is less than 12 months old and there has been less than 12000 miles placed on it but refuses to replace it and Suzuki will not return my phone calls or respond to my written complaint. Please help me

Desired Settlement: Since this transmission is still under warranty it should be replaced at no charge to me - I personally don't care who pays for the new transmission whether it be Jack Phelan or Suzuki Car Company - I just know that it should not be my responsibility to replace what is obviously a defective transmission in the first place.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/10) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@aol.com Jack Phelan Suzuki replaced the transmission assembly on June 12,2012.This repair came with a 12,000 mile or 12 month warranty whichever occurs first. Unfortunately the factory warranty expired on June 12,2013.Customer came in May 5,2015 with a trans concern, after diagnoses the trans does need to be replace again. Dealer did contact Suzuki on the customers behalf and Suzuki declined assistance due to the warranty expired 2 years ago. Dealer offered cust. assiatance but cust declined.

10/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to get the 30,000 mile service to be in compliance with my warranty. The service advisor sold me additional items that were not in the user guide, and left out services that were supposed to be completed at this time. They made an adjustment on my invoice,after I showed them their mistake. But, it was still an extra $190.00 on items not in the maintence check list. Which is on page 106 of the user guide that comes with the car. I expressed my issue with the Chryster coperation, but they failed to get my money back because the dealer created their own menu.

Desired Settlement: Items needed oil change 29.95, ac filter 60.00, tire rotation 22.95 and air filter 24.95 the numbers listed were given to me by the service rep. The 190.59 is for all other services performed but did not need to be in complience. Sorry a break is not provided because some of the services are grouped together. The total invoice was 328.44

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/21) */ I called Mr. ****** X XXX-XXX-XXXX, Mr,****** requested $190.59 I agrred to pay Mr. ****** $190.59 for all missunderstandings. He will pick up a check at the Dealership this week. I further advised that he was an excellent customer and we hope that he will return to our Dealership. ****** ******* Customer Relations Manager XXX-XXX-XXXX

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Jack Phelan sold me a vehicle that I have nothing but problems with. My complaint is that they said they go through a thorough multi-point inspection on the vehicle and fix any issues found. Literally driving it off of the lot after purchasing the vehicle, I had several issues. My brake light was out, horn did not work, radiator had a leak, windshield fluid pump did not work, I had a power steering leak and the tires had a slow leak and no tread. Several days later my vehicle would not start and I had to mess with it several times to get it to start each time. My brakes and rotors had to be replaced within a month of purchase. Two months later, my dual climate control heater does not work and blows out cold air on the passenger side and I am getting very weak compression on my engine. This car was a complete lemon. I bought a car that I could afford, 2009 Dodge Journey with only 42,000 miles. A car with mileage this low should not have these problems as well as I should have not had the initial problems directly after purchase. I went to Jack Phelan because I heard they do good business and wont sell you a junk car. I gave them $12,500 of hard earned savings and they took my money and gave me a car worth a lot less. After several attempts to have some kind of assistance or to resolve some issues, Jack Phelan gave me the old, "sold as is" talk. I am by no means a man that can afford to fix just the main issues so I can drive a car that I am paying a loan for. I have 3 kids that I cant take to school because my car don't work. A car I bought only a few months ago. I am very upset and frustrated with the quality of a vehicle Jack Phelan has sold to me. I understand they are sold as is but over 1,500.00 worth of repairs hours after driving off of the lot, especially when they state they do a full car, multi-point inspection, I am upset that I have been swindled for my money I broke my back to earn.

Desired Settlement: I just want my car to work like it is supposed to. I served this country in war and they money I was paid went to this car. It was everything I had. I invested it all into this car thinking I would have a reliable means of transportation for years to come. I only got 3 months of that dream.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/29) */ To: ****** **** From; ****** ******* Customer Relations Mgr. Jack Phelan Chevrolet XXX-XXX-XXXX Re: Case# ******** : **** ******* I reviewed both the Sales and Service records at Jack Phelan Dodge, as far as I can determine Mr. ******* has not been in the Dealership to discuss any problems or issues that he may have with anyone at the Dealership. The Service Dept. has no record of Mr. ******* ever coming in for any type of service since he bought the vehicle on 7/18/2013. The Finance Mgr. ******* ****** as well as his salesman, ***, have never seen or heard from Mr. ******* since he purchased the vehicle on 7/18/2013. I called Mr. *******`s phone XXX-XXX-XXXX on numerous occasions and left a message for him to call me. I would ask that Mr.******* call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX x 227 so that we can attempt to resolve the problem. Sincerely, ****** ******* Customer relations Manager


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jack Phelan Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep & RAM
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)