Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

South Loop Auto Service Inc.-23rd St.

Additional Locations

Phone: (312) 225-1535 Fax: (312) 225-1537 60 East 23rd St., Chicago, IL 60616 http://www.southloopautobody.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that South Loop Auto Service Inc.-23rd St. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for South Loop Auto Service Inc.-23rd St. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on South Loop Auto Service Inc.-23rd St.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 06, 1998 Business started: 07/01/1968 Business started locally: 07/01/1968 Business incorporated 03/02/1993 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. George Wells, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Wells, CEO
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Automotive Body, Paint, and Interior Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811121)


Additional Locations

  • 60 East 23rd St.

    Chicago, IL 60616

  • PO Box 16850

    Chicago, IL 60616

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was encouraged by the online reviews for this shop, which is why I looked forward to a positive experience. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. Why? Well, an estimated 7-day repair turned into a 17-day saga. First, when they called me to pick up my car the first time, when I arrived they had lost my car key and needed several extra days to have it replaced. Things happen, so I did not make a big deal about having to return to the rental car place to get into a rental for another 5 days. Additionally, my insurance company check and out-of-pocket portion had already been paid to the shop. So, I thought, it'll work out. Second, when they called me to pick up my car again; turns out the original work was not complete. They had missed damage listed on the initial estimate. They needed another 2 days to complete that work. Admittedly, my patience started to waiver at this point. Third, you would think “third time is a charm.” Well so did I. But, when they delivered my car (since I was tired of running back and forth to the shop), the new key would not unlock my car. They needed two additionally days to rekey it. Deep sigh. Alas, when they finally delivered my car, ready to go - I got in and it had a trash food receipt on the floor from where one of the guys decided to pick up lunch on the way back to the shop. Really? Using a customer's car to run errands? Overall, I spoke to six employees about my car. Honestly, they all seemed to be decent people. I'm sure they do good work - when they can get it together. I learned through all the conversations the place is under new management. The owner has taken a backseat. Looks like their history of good service has too.

Desired Settlement: I requested a portion of my out-of-pocket expenses be returned because I did not receive the service I paid for or was promised. If that had occured, I would have called it even. But, at the end of the day, they left me under the impression that all of the disruption to my schedule and lost time was just that - my loss, my problem. They kept making excuses for their mistakes instead of just saying - this is not what you paid us for and let's make that right. Every step of the process they did not deliver the service that was paid for or promised.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on South Loop Auto Service Inc.-23rd St.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)