Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Metro Collision Experts, Inc.

Phone: (773) 436-5600 Fax: (773) 436-4050 3057 W Columbus Ave, Chicago, IL 60652 http://metrocollisionexperts.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Metro Collision Experts, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Metro Collision Experts, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Metro Collision Experts, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 19, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1997 Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated 03/31/1997 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kurt Smolenski, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kurt Smolenski, Owner
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Paintless Dent Repair Auto Customizing Auto Repair & Service Auto Services Auto Manufacturers & Distributors - Specialty Body Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles Automotive Body, Paint, and Interior Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811121)

Products & Services

Auto Body Repair & Painting


Additional Locations

  • 3057 W Columbus Ave

    Chicago, IL 60652

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday, April 28th, while I was completely stopped at a traffic light, I was rear ended by a driver with *** ********* Insurance who pushed me into the car in front of me. There was damage to the front and back of my car as well as hidden damage (their appraiser's term in the estimate). The outer damage to my car was quite obvious, my rear end was smashed to the point the hatchback couldn't open and he hit me so hard that his license plate became embedded in my bumper. My driver side headlight was not working anymore. I told the appraiser for *** at Metro, **** ******* about the headlight. He said that Metro would take care of all the hidden damage. I had to take it to one of ****** approved shops or I would have to pay the overage. I took it to Metro Collision, where **** ******* assured me that they will keep working on my car until everything was fixed. On Wednesday, May 14th, I picked up my car. ****** at Metro drove it out of the lot and couldn't open the door or get out. I had to open the door from the outside for him. I told him that it definitely opened from the inside when I left it there last week. He seemed just as shocked as I was that the door didn't work. To clarify, I never got in the car - he couldn't get out and then they looked at it. I never got in and the car hadn't been in my possession since May 7th. They took the door cover off and said that a wire had snapped. ****** said that he couldn't do anything until the insurance approved it, which was completely contrary to what I was told. ****** was nice and somewhat sympathetic, as opposed to the attitudes I received the next morning. At that point, I hadn't realized that the headlight was still broken because I was so upset at the car door, which again, worked when I left it at Metro. I did notice the 'door is open' indicator light wouldn't go off even after I opened and closed every door. I had to roll down the window to open the driver's side door, even though I used to be able to open it from the inside before I left it at Metro. I went to see the appraiser, **** ******* again on Thursday morning of the 15th, but he didn't even get out of his chair. I was trying to tell him and ****** at Metro about the car door and the headlight and the 'door is open' light. He kept shouting from his seat in front of the computer that the car door is not an accident issue and the 2 men at Metro claimed it was no fault of theirs either. Yes, this issue does have to do with the accident. I left my car in Metro's care because it was one of the places *** approved to fix things. I left my car in their care on ****** advice. I left my car in their care assuming it would be returned to me in better shape than when when I left it, not with new problems that no one will bother to fix or even appraise. They made my car worse and are expecting me to pay for it. Imagine that you got your car back from a valet and the door didn't open and they said, "Oh well, that's just wear and tear." Someone at Metro broke it, so they need to fix it. I had three men condescendingly telling me that there's nothing they will do about something they broke unless I pay for it. They broke it, but I have to pay?? It's deplorable that two companies are trying to make me pay for problems to my car that I didn't cause. ****** at Metro said he tried to fix the 'door is open' light and couldn't figure it out, so he just gave up. Apparently, that's another one of my problems to fix. I do know it worked before the accident. It's another example of how Metro did not get my car back to its original condition. ****** then offered to look at the headlight because "it's a safety issue." He did a quick fix, but it went out again before I even got home. More shoddy, careless work. So, my headlight was broken in the accident. My car door and open door indicator light were broken in Metro's car and they won't fix any of them without me paying.

Desired Settlement: I want my car fixed like it was before the accident. I told them about the headlight in the original estimate. The car door and the indicator light both broke while the car was in Metro's possession and they should have to fix them. Those two things worked after the accident and were broken while the car was at Metro Collision. I shouldn't have to pay for the parts because they both worked when I left it there. They are trying to extort money out of me for their careless and shoddy work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/23) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* president Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@att.net Ms ******** vehicle was dropped off on 5-7-14 repairs were completed XX-XX-XX-her car is 2009 Nissan versa 4 dr mileage is 109,000 as a courtesy to our customer we took door apart and showed her and the insurance adjuster that the door handle cable was worn out- we offered to simply charge for part and install it no charge as a courtesy to our customer- she agreed and we ordered part-notified her and she never came in. as for headlight - there is no damage-the headlight plug has corrosion agsin we cleaned this no charge as a courtesy-We offered to install worn out part free of charge- we repaired everything that was accident related- mostly rear end damage- and paint to the front bumper


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Metro Collision Experts, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)