BBB Accredited Business since

Gold Coast Auto Body, Inc.

Phone: (312) 787-0333 Fax: (312) 787-8997 900 W Division St, Chicago, IL 60642

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gold Coast Auto Body, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gold Coast Auto Body, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gold Coast Auto Body, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 06, 1993 Business started: 02/01/1992 Business started locally: 02/01/1992 Business incorporated 01/15/1992 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Dominic Martino, General Manager Mr. Lorenzo Martino, President Mr. Mario Martino, Shop Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dominic Martino, General Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Mario Martino, Shop Manager
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Automotive Body, Paint, and Interior Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811121)

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a personal accident with my vehicle and decided to claim it through the insurance; it was a costly repair. I was recommended by a Mercedes dealer to go have it repaired at Gold Coast Auto Body because they are certified by Mercedes. The reviews seemed legitimate and I was at ease to leave my vehicle with them. Prior to my accident, I had driven my vehicle for a whole month with the damage (cosmetic only) and had no mechanical issues with it, whatsoever. My dad and I left the vehicle with the assumption that my car would be done within 2 weeks roughly. No actual date was discussed but the repairs only consisted of new headlights, repainted front bumper, bumper support, hood realignment, and few other pieces. They neglected to mention that it would take almost 2 weeks until they could even start working on it and adding new parts. So, basically I was left without the car for a whole month for something that should have taken half of that. Nonetheless, I was kind throughout the whole process. I was finally called in to pick up my car (super excited; arrived at the auto body to take possession, before I could make it out the drive way the check engine light comes on. Coincidence? I think not. I immediately went back to have them diagnose the issue. The gentleman did just that and basically said, "this is the problem, go fix it". I was not happy to see that they couldn't help me in any shape or form. It couldn't be driven because the car was in limp mode and couldn't go past 30mph to protect further damage to related parts. I was forced to have it towed to a family-friend (Certified Mercedes Technician). He diagnosed the problem and the motor that controls the C02 had skipped timing due to the battery being disconnect for too long. Basically, when the vehicle went past 1200rpm it would go into limp mode because of the battery being disconnected. Granted, they did a great job fixing the cosmetic issues to my satisfaction. To sum it up, I was not satisfied with how they handled the matter.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund A refund for the deductible I had to pay ($300).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* / Owner Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** Dear BBB... There is a lot more to this than was written in the complaint... Please have the owner contact ******* or ***** ******* directly for a refund... Either can be reached @ (XXX) XXX-XXXX > press 0 & have ******* or ***** paged... Thank you! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/05/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Agreement has been met and finalized.