Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Glen Ellyn Auto Body, Inc.

Phone: (630) 469-6033 Fax: (630) 469-1502 771 Roosevelt Rd, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137 http://www.glenellynautobody.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Glen Ellyn Auto Body, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Glen Ellyn Auto Body, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Glen Ellyn Auto Body, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 26, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1973 Business started locally: 01/01/1973 Business incorporated 06/04/1990 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sue Ebel, General Manager Mr. Charles Istanbouli, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sue Ebel, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Customizing Automotive Body, Paint, and Interior Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811121)


Additional Locations

  • 771 Roosevelt Rd

    Glen Ellyn, IL 60137

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They repaired my car on two separate occasions. First involved bumper replacement. The paint fell off the new bumper and they refused to fix it whatsoever because of unrelated damage. The second repair they will not fix is my driver window after a clip came loose and the window won't operate because it caused damage to the regulator. I had the problem diagnosed at the ******* Toyota dealership and also a second business that specializes in glass repair. I did not even recall that the Glen Ellyn Auto body had replaced this glass. When I explained the issue the office manager treated me poorly and told me she would not look at the car because I had not brought it to her right away. Apparently it was either the dealership, the auto glass professional, my insurer's, or my fault. Not theirs. Totally my problem. The shop explained their lifetime warranty when I did business with them, and now blames everyone else instead of even considering to accommodate a customer who is having issues with parts they replaced. They may do well in not explaining there's a lifetime warranty when they sell their services if there isn't one. Otherwise it's false advertising.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a new window pane and a new regulator installed on my car. Both are ruined as a result of their work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/08) */ Contact Name and Title: *** **** Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@yahoo.com Customer called and stated that he had a problem with his car window several months ago and had a friend in the glass business look at his window. He also stated that while the vehicle was in for service at a dealership, and that they had also inspected the window and found the regulator to be broken. Glen Ellyn Auto Body warranties all its work, only if no one else has inspected or touched anything we may have done. If there is a problem with any work that we may have done, all we ask is that you call us and let us inspect the vehicle to correct the problem. We feel that this is a fair policy. How can we warranty work that other people have been involved in. Unfortunately this customer didn't contact us or have us inspect the vehicle first, and now there's a larger problem that could have probably been avoided had he come into our shop first. We will be happy to inspect the customer's vehicle and rectify the situation. I just wanted to clarify our warranty and save our reputation from being slandered by such customer. Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/08/25) */ The business representative did not make amends. They accused me of slandering them. I do not care to be treated that way and would like to warn anyone who considers taking their car there for work or repairs of just what really happens here. I'd be happy to show anyone who cares to see my car after getting body work done here; the front bumper devoid of paint after going through a car wash. The window's been repaired by another company now and I had to invest extra money to get something fixed that was supposed to be under a lifetime warranty. My next step will be to call the original insurance company I had at the time of repairs and warn them that this shop is operating so poorly. Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/09/11) */ The customer's front bumper cover was repalced in 2009. In 2011, customer came in because the paint on the front cover was coming off the front bumper cover. The cover had been impacted and a lower spoiler on the front cover was missing. The impact to the cover is what caused the paint to come off the front cover. We don't have problems with paint coming off bumper covers unless they have been impacted in some way. We prepared an estimate for the customer to resolve his issue but the work was not done. We also have pictures of the front cover damage.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Glen Ellyn Auto Body, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)