Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Duran's Body Shop, Inc.

Phone: (773) 486-3333 Fax: (773) 486-3247 2610 W Chicago Ave, Chicago, IL 60622 http://www.DBSchicago.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Duran's Body Shop, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Duran's Body Shop, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Duran's Body Shop, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 06, 1991 Business started: 04/01/1985 in IL Business started locally: 04/01/1985 Business incorporated 08/07/1986 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sara Duran, General Manager Mr. J Duran, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sara Duran, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Automotive Body, Paint, and Interior Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811121)


Additional Locations

  • 2610 W Chicago Ave

    Chicago, IL 60622 (773) 486-3333

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Entered into a contract over text and then email to restore a 1971 chevelle for $7800. It was t include all metal replacement and parts body work and paint and reassemble. the owners son constantly asked for cash to get the project started but never completed any work. The son would also sell other products at "discount" prices but never turned out true. The owner finally admitted that his son would take contracts and keep the cash for himself, stealing from the business and not perform any work. Each week was an excuse as to why work was not getting done and the same was said to his father about the customer. Not only should the public be informed about the practices of the individual and the business but this guy should be criminally charged.

Desired Settlement: I paid what I paid just to get my car out of there. I think I should be refunded the difference in the first contract and what I paid like my attorney said. There is no reason why I should incur the expense of court for something I did not do or cause. People need to be warned about people and places like this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/26) */ *****'s Body Shop INC., is a family owned and family managed business, established in 1985 here in the Chicagoland area. The running of a small business in this city is a daily struggle. When matters such as this occur, we take proper precaution to the progress of the situation. Unfortunately, with this specific case, we did take extended measurements how on it was resolved overall. Although we completely disagree on how this "contract" was initiated by both parties (Mr.***** & our former employee) we here at Duran's did in fact do all in our power to satisfy the client and complete the project at hand. We honored all monies given toward the restoration project. We'd like to have it be known that with an overhaul of management , more progress was made in that time frame, compared to when monies were rendered to employee(without receipt) , which lead us to believe Mr.***** understood he took improper actions towards the progression of his vehicle "contract". DBS INC., provided owner with a proper estimate of the restoration to his 1971 Chevelle and agreed to the balance owed. We at Duran's Body Shop INC. clearly realized that our former employee excessively abused regulations regarding transactions and since then, we have terminated that individual. We wish to not tarnish our business' reputation and family name furthermore. We'd like to let it be known that all contracts entered with DBS INC., are honored if established properly and fair to both parties involved. This particular "contract" was entered through text messaging and email, which we do not approve of. All business transactions of this caliber are to be handled with proper paperwork (i.e- invoice, estimate, receipts).Although Mr.***** did not provide proper receipts for monies rendered, owner still honored amount. We hope Mr. ***** is aware that we at Duran's were left with the impression that he was fully satisfied with the completed project of his 1971 Chevelle restoration. Unfortunately, he took it upon himself to claim his improper actions toward the initiation of this project and the payments rendered (without receipt & handling outside of DBS location) are enough to challenge our integrity. We are proud to announce that Duran's Body Shop INC. will be celebrating our 30th year of business in 2015 and we are looking forward to be a part of our West Town Chicago community for the next 30 years with a strong work ethic and loyalty to our industry. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/12/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No I do not agree with the response given. It is my understanding that they have fired the problem employee, however the entire process and quality were subpar at best. The failure of the employee to provide a written contract is not my fault, it's the businesses fault. I verified through two seperate attorneys that a verbal contract is fine however a written contract over email or text agreed on by an agent of the body shop is enforceable and valid. The entire project was spelled out along with the money paid and received for services that were not completed at the time. I paid over and above what I should have to end the nightmare of dealing with the shop. I don't have time or money to fight in court for a car that was done mediocre at best. I had high hopes for the shop to produce a quality product that I could show off and refer friends however it is not something I would recommend to my worst enemy. I still believe legal action should be taken and not me who was the one taken. I know I'm not the first and certainly will not be the last who has a similar experience at this shop. All I can do is worn future possible customers of what my experience was and to try to save them two years of headaches and lies.

3/14/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was storaged at this company I've been trying over n over n over to pay the fees to have my vehicle released over the past 2-3 years I've spoke with the owner son ******I've asked over n over to speak with the owner Mr ***** and was told he won't talk to me,due to he's the one who set the agreement with the storage.I agreed to pay an amount of 3,000 to get my vehicle still couldn't talk to the owner per ***** and **** I was bringing a cashier's check and **** told me no I couldn't get my vehicle unless I had cash.I feel that ***** and **** are trying yo keep the cash to keep Mr ***** for knowing can someone please help me with this matter.

Desired Settlement: I only want my vehicle

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/03) */ Our process and applied policy here at Duran's Body Shop Inc. is strictly placed on proper docmentation. Due to the lack of communication in the time frame the said vehicle has been left at our facility and the expired said,"waived storage days", we at Duran's Body Shop Inc. take initiative towards practicing our rights toward any mechanic leins,and any practicing right of a small business. We at Duran's Body Shop Inc. always take in mind the realistic economic states our clients may be going through and try our best to show our personable ethic here at Duran's Body Shop Inc.by allowing fees owed to be paid in a timely and comfortable manner. When our clients show failure to proceed with said agreements, we hold our rights completely like any said business in the United States of America. In this case we held an agreement, with the said owner of the vehicle, and that contract was not met. We apologize to this client for having to take these actions which aren't coinsidng with her plans. Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Duran's Body Shop, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)