BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2014

WeatherTech

(800) 441-6287841 Remington Blvd, BolingbrookIL 60440-4932 Send email to WeatherTechView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

WeatherTech is an automotive company which provides floor liners and other car protection accessories for a variety of vehicles, both foreign and domestic. This company serves a national audience as well as companies throughout the Chicagoland area, including those in Schaumburg, Naperville, Arlington Heights, Rolling Meadows, Des Plaines, Mt Prospect, Prospect Heights, Lake Forest, Crystal Lake, Lake Villa, Gurnee, Buffalo Grove, Hoffman Estates, Blue Island, Berwyn, Cicero, Stickney, Lyons, Riverside, La Grange, La Grange Park, Brookfield, and Franklin Park. Products available from this company include floor liners, floor mats, cargo liners, sun shades, side window deflectors, stone and bug deflectors, license plate frames, headlight protectors, car covers, battery covers, drink coasters, and cargo containment systems.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2014

BBB has determined that WeatherTech meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised WeatherTech's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 39 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

39 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 17 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues4
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service29
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 39

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on WeatherTech

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (39)BBB Closure Definitions
03/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I placed an order for 2 different sets of window deflectors on weathertech.com, on 2/3/15. I received one of the sets already and have no complaints on that set. It is now 2/23/15 and I have yet to receive even a shipping notice for the second set. I have emailed the company 3 times, and I have received no response from them. When I placed my order, I received nothing that said my product was on back order, nor did it say so on the website at the time of my order. It is a huge disappointment and inconvenience to me that this has happened. And I will never order another WeatherTech product again, as I don't trust a company that doesn't respond to its customers inquiries.

Desired Settlement
I would like my order to be sent to me.

Business Response
Thank you for your interest in ******* Automotive.

Looking at the system, the deflector set in question was temporarily on backorder. An email regarding the delay should have arrived shortly after the order confirmation notice when the purchase was originally submitted and I apologize if that was not received.

We actually received a new shipment of product on February 19. However, when we tried to release the order for shipping we found that we were unable to obtain an authorization to process the charge on the remaining portion of the order. A message was emailed to the customer regarding the issue on February 24, but we have not received a reply.

If the customer can contact their credit card company to determine why the authorization request was declined, we can try processing the charge again to release the product for shipment.

Please let me know if you have further questions and I will be happy to help.

Best regards,

***** ****
******* Automotive
************** ext ***

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I never received any email stating that the product was on backorder. Not only did I not receive that email, I have emailed your company 3 times, and filed a complaint with BBB before I got any response whatsoever from anyone at Weathertech. That is unacceptable customer service, and I notice you have not even addressed the issue of you guys not communicating with me, as your customer.

Final Business Response
Looking in our system, I was able to locate two emails from the customer: one dated February 18 and the other dated February 20. Both emails received replies on February 24. We are a little behind in our email correspondence and I apologize for the slight delay in responding. However, the responses were not the result of the complaint being filed as the customer has implied.

In any case, the customer's desired resolution was that we ship the remaining product. As stated previously, the backordered item did arrive. Unfortunately, we have been unable to obtain the authorization from the credit card company to ship the final portion of the order.
If the customer will call us at 1.800.441.6287 after speaking with the credit card company, we will be able to try processing the order again so that we can supply the customer with the last portion of the purchase.

Please let me know if you have further questions and I will be happy to help.

Best regards,

***** ****
******* Automotive
************** ext ***

02/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Window shields came today. After speaking with n extremely rude customer service rep I had my mechanix put them on. Once on the windo will no longer go up on auto. I have to hold the button diwn and the motors struggle to close windows with these in. My mechanic advised me that this will ruin the window motors. I asked for a refund but the company said they will not refund my $15 shipping or return shipping costs. I don't feel I should have to loose my $ for shipping either way, let alone both ways when their product is not compatible with the vehichles they advertise it is for

Desired Settlement
I am seeking $89.95returned to my credit card. $59.95 for the window gaurds that don't fit properly,$15 shipping they charged to ship them to me, and $15 to ship the defective item back.

Business Response
Thank you for your interest in ******* Automotive.

The Ford truck deflectors are among the most popular parts we sell. We even use them on our company Ford F250 and F350 models so we are very familiar with the fit and how the vehicle windows will react when the part is not quite installed correctly.

Based on the description of the issue, it sounds as if the deflector was simply pushed too far into the window frame. This is something that can be easily remedied, but I understand that the customer chose to return the product.

Our stated return policy is that unused product can be returned within 30 days of receipt for a merchandise refund. The return shipping cost is at the customer's expense and we do not refund the initial shipping and handling charge that went towards sending the product to the customer.

However, the customer was clearly not satisfied with the purchase so we will simply set up the refund for $89.95 as requested.

Please let me know if you have further questions and I will be happy to help.

Best regards,

***** ****
******* Automotive
************** ext ***

02/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a complete set of floor liners as well as a cargo liner that extends under the 3rd row seat for my 2014 Chevrolet Suburban. The cargo liner is the item that does not perform as advertised. There are three issues with the item. First, it allows debris to collect under the liner through slots that are required to be cut per the installation instructions included with the liner. There is not a significant lip to keep liquids and dirt from getting under the liner and damaging the carpet underneath. Second, the cargo liner is 1" too long and hits the backs of the legs of passengers in the third row. It is supposed to be custom sized for my vehicle. Third, the cargo liner does not stay in place very well, and it is difficult to re-position without removing the third row seats. All in all, it does not perform as advertised. I contacted WeatherTech customer service to see if I could return it, but the said I could not because I had already used it and cut holes in it to install it in my vehicle. My response is that there is know way for me to know if this item will work without installing it first and using it. The floor liners fit well and have performed as advertised.
The order number is XXXXXXXXX, on 8/5/14. The part number is XXXXX, and the price payed was 129.95 via *******

Desired Settlement
I would like to have a refund of the purchase price or an even exchange for the custom cargo liner that does not extend under the 3rd row seat.

Business Response
Thank you for your interest in MacNeil Automotive.

The Suburban cargo liner is one of our most popular parts and I am a bit surprised to see the product feedback provided by the customer.

However, we would be interested in getting additional information and photos of the product installation so we can better understand the customer's issues.

I have left messages on the customer's voice mail asking that he call me directly so that we can discuss the situation. Unfortunately, I have not received a return call at this time.

If the customer can contact me directly at ************** ext *** I would be happy to discuss the product and what options we have available.

Best regards,

***** ****
******* Automotive
************** ext****

02/16/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered "tan" floor mats for my wife's car (order# XXXXXXXXX). The picture of the "tan" mats on their website matched identical to color ordered. When the floor mats arrived, the color was far from tan... they were BROWN. I called Monday 12/29/14 to exchange the floor mats for a different color. Spoke to a gentleman named ***** He had indicated that this had been an on going problem and I was the "1 millionth caller" he had dealt with pertaining this issue. Asked if I could send the mats back and he would send out a different color/set right away. He would charge my card again for $317.85. Once the BROWN ones were received, my card would be credited back the amount of #317.85. I have since returned the BROWN floor mats (on 12/29/14) and received the new ones (black).

(1)The returned items were received 01/06/15 by Weather Tech and I have not received my credit. (2) They did not send the entire order of the new mats (left out the back row mats. (3) I had to pay for the return shipping of the falsely advertised mats that was indictated by **** ($95.39). I feel that should not be my charge to pay.

Desired Settlement
I would like the $95.39 credited back to my card for the return shipping. And the rest of my order to be shipped asap.

Business Response
Thank you for your interest in ******* Automotive.

I am sorry to hear that the customer was not satisfied with the tan color they selected.

We do not custom color the mats or liners for each vehicle, rather the tan color we offer is a general shade that is meant to compliment a wide variety of vehicle interiors.

The colors in the web images can be affected by a variety of different elements: lighting, the angle used to take the picture, the interior carpet color of the vehicle on which the mats are sitting, and even the calibration of the computer monitor on which the photos are being viewed. For this reason, we post a warning in the product description that the images may not be a precise representation of the product color.

Although we have not falsely advertised the product, we will assist the customer with the cost of the return shipping. This will show up as a separate refund to the customer's credit card.

Looking at the system, the customer was charged on the new order of black FloorLiners and cargo liner for $299.85. The refund for the same amount processed for the returned order and that amount settled with the customer's credit card company on January 16, so I would expect that to be reflected on his account by now.

The black FloorLiners and cargo liner are all reflected as having been delivered by ***** on January 3. Looking at our system, we received an email on January 8 asking about the status of the refund, but there has been no mention otherwise of missing parts. I attempted to call the customer to determine what piece was missing, but there was no answer. I would ask that if the customer is missing a portion of the order to call our customer service department at 1.800.441.6287 to let us know which item was not delivered so that we can follow up with ***** and reship a replacement part as necessary.

Please let me know if you have further questions and I will be happy to help.

Best regards,

***** ****
******* Automotive
1.800.441.6287 ext 411

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My order (#XXXXXXXXX) was to include mats for both the front driver/passenger area along with the entire second row. I never received my complete order upon the second time... I did not receive the second row mats!!

Final Business Response
According to the weight scans on our logs and with ****** the package was the correct weight for the front and rear FloorLiners so it is very unusual that the rear set was not in the package.

We will simply reship the second row FloorLiner.

Please let us know if you have further questions and we will be happy to help.

Best regards,

***** ****
******* Automotive
1.800.441.6287 ext 411

02/09/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered a gift card, but had accidental wrong address. Tried to correct but eventually the product was returned to weathertech. Now I can not get weathertech to refund or resend. Multiple contacts with the company via phone and email. One response said that they will send again, but still no product and now no response from customer service.

Desired Settlement
Refund

Business Response
Thank you for your interest in ******* Automotive.

I apologize that the gift card could not be delivered. We have set up the refund to the account. Credit transactions usually take about three to four business days to post to the card so you should most likely see that reflected on your statement early next week.

Please let me know if you have further questions and I will be happy to help.

Best regards,

***** ****
MacNeil Automotive
************** ext ***

Page 1 of 8
05/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I sent WeatherTech the All Weather Mats I ordered for my daughter's 2009 Kia Rio. It is a 4-door sedan. Along with their purchased mats, I enclosed my daughter's original carpet mats. I honestly thought the WeatherTech mats were going to be a much nicer fit. I expected them to be perfect. They weren't though...even the stay-put holes don't match up. Did I get the wrong ones?
I'd asked to resolve the issue in one of two ways:
1. Send me WeatherTech All Weather Mats that truly fit the car...which is what I really want.
2. Refund the purchase, shipping and all.
Either way, I'd requested my daughter's original carpet mats back.
I sent them all the paperwork I could find.
All I wanted was the correct mats and my daughter's OEM mats back. Without a call or email they refunded the purchase price of their mats. When I emailed WeatherTech, they stated they never received my daughter's OEM mats and got no letter. Of course I know that's a lie because my daughter's mats were in the same box as their mats and how would they know who to refund if they didn't get the letter I sent with the mats. The employee that sent the letter lied or he has some very dishonest co-workers. He offered to refund the $15 shipping charge on my original order, but he could do nothing about the $24 it took to send the 2 sets of mats back...the $63 it would take to replace my daughter's OEM mats or the $16 that seller would charge me for shipping. So, I'm out $63+24+16 = $103...and I told him to keep the $15 he was going to refund me for the original shipping of their mats. IF the mats were what I was led to believe they would be, all would have been fine. IF they would have refunded the original purchase price and the shipping and sent my daughter's mats back, all would have been fine. Instead, I was lied to and taken for $103.

Desired Settlement
I'd like my daughter's OEM mats back or the $103 it will take to replace them.

Business Response
We have been in contact with the customer regarding his issue.

The customer has stated that he returned the All-Weather Mats purchased from us along with the factory carpet mats from his daughter's vehicle and a letter. The customer did not alert us that he would be returning the product and we did not, nor would we ever, request that a customer send their vehicle's carpet mats to us.

When the package was logged in at our dock, the warehouse staff only found the All-Weather Mats purchased from us - no carpet mats and no letter. Based on information taken from the return shipping label and the part number contained in the package, the warehouse personnel determined that the merchandise was returned by the customer. With no other information available, standard protocol was followed and a merchandise refund was issued to the customer's credit card pursuant to our standard return policy.

When the customer emailed on April 2 to ask about the status of his return and the whereabouts of his carpet mats, I explained that we did receive the All-Weather Mats but there were no carpet mats in the shipment. When parts are returned to us that we do not manufacture or sell, the product description is noted on the returns log and the item is placed in a quarantine area. Additionally, any correspondence contained within a return package is documented in the log and forwarded to the customer service department for review. I pointed out that there was no record of a letter or any additional parts being returned and there were no mats in quarantine. I continued to explain that the merchandise refund had posted the previous day (April 1) and I would provide an added refund for the initial $15.00 shipping fee due to his comments regarding his dissatisfaction with the All-Weather Mats.

The customer replied asking if we were certain we did not receive the factory carpet mats and pointed out that replacing them would cost $63.00. He also stated the return shipping cost him $24. The quarantine area and returns logs were inspected again, but no evidence was found of carpet mats or the letter he says were in the shipment. Contrary to the customer's claim that we refused to reimburse him for the $24.00 return shipping fee, I readily agreed to compensate him for that charge and submitted the refund request to the credit department the same day of our correspondence (April 2).

Furthermore, in the same email in which the customer was told that he would be receiving the additional $24.00 shipping credit, I stated that I understood that he says he returned the carpet mats to us. Unfortunately, we did not receive that product. The only merchandise we received in the box was the All-Weather Mat set that he had purchased from us. Simply put, we cannot return carpet mats to him that we never received. With that in mind, I suggested that he contact the shipper he employed to send the package in order to file a claim with that company for loss/damage in transit.

Our return policy states that refunds on returned merchandise are only for the cost of the merchandise and the shipping costs are at the customer's expense. We have made exceptions to our policy and three refunds were posted prior to the customer BBB complaint: the $54.95 product cost, the initial shipping fee of $15.00, and the $24.00 return shipping cost.

We are reasonable people. However, we cannot comply with the customer's request to pay him an additional $79.00 to replace the missing carpet mats that he claims to have returned on his own accord that we have neither received nor requested from him. Our suggestion stands that he contact the shipper he used to return the mats to make a claim for the cost of the missing items so that he can recover the cost of his lost carpet mats.

Please let us know if you have further questions.

***** ****
******* Automotive
************** ext ***


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I never received any response from their Customer Service that they would refund the $24 shipping that I incurred for sending their mats (AND MY DAUGHTER'S MATS...AND THE LETTER) back. I stand by the claim that I sent my daughter's mats...they were in the same box. I stand by the claim letter was in the box...how would they have known whom to refund, which they did the day prior to my email.
Face it. They ****-canned my daughter's mats and then lied about. That's a fact.
What a sham/e to tout your company as exemplary when your employees have no integrity.
If I don't receive my daughter's mats back...or the monies to replace them, consider the matter unresolved.

Thanks,

**** ********

Final Business Response
We understand that the customer is claiming that he returned his daughter's carpet floor mats to us with the All-Weather Mats he had purchased from us. Since we did not receive any carpet mats in his return shipment, our assumption is that the carpet mats and letter were lost in transit by the shipper. Our recommendation has been, and still is, that the customer contact the shipper used to send the package so that he can make a claim with them for the missing items in order to recover the funds he is requesting from ******* Automotive.

We have been more than reasonable in providing a refund for the merchandise purchased from us as well as the shipping fees both to and from the customer. Unfortunately, we are not able to return the carpet mats or provide compensation for the missing goods for the simple reasons that we neither requested that he send this product to us nor did we receive the item.

Best regards,

***** ****
******* Automotive


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is no resolution. The shipper did not lose the OEM mats...or the letter. The mats (theirs and mine) were returned in the same box...along with the letter. If they didn't get the letter, how'd they know who to refund the day before my first email to them?
Face it, BBB (and WeatherTech), WeatherTech is lying. Period. There's no way they say they didn't get the letter??? Their credibility is, at least, questionable. If they're lying about the letter, they're lying about my daughter's mats.
I could never imagine having employees with no integrity!

03/25/2015Problems with Product / Service
09/17/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Accessories, Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories , Auto Manufacturers Equipment & Supplies, Auto Seat Covers, Tops & Upholstery, Auto - Fleet Service, Auto Customizing, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Floor Coverings, Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/31/2003Business started: 01/01/1990
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David MacNeil (Founder/CEO)Customer Contact: Mr. Derek Debs (Customer Service Manager)
Business Category

Auto Accessories, Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories , Auto Manufacturers Equipment & Supplies, Auto Seat Covers, Tops & Upholstery, Auto - Fleet Service, Auto Customizing, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Floor Coverings, Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles

Alternate Business Names
Mac Neil Automotive Products, Ltd.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for WeatherTech

841 Remington Blvd

Bolingbrook, IL 60440-4932

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 841 Remington Blvd 

    Bolingbrook, IL 60440-4932

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*WeatherTech is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Accessories

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.