Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hearing Health Center, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (312) 263-7171 Fax: (312) 263-5410 View Additional Phone Numbers 142 E Ontario St Ste 1100, Chicago, IL 60611 http://www.hearinghealthcenter.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Hearing Health Center, Inc. is an audiology clinic that provides diagnostic services as well as treatment of hearing and balance issues. This business has clinics located in Chicago, Oak Brook, Skokie, and Naperville, and serve the counties of Cook, DuPage, and Lake. The clinics each offer diagnostic and treatment services including health and hearing checkups, hearing evaluation and testing, brainstem response testing, hearing aid evaluations, hearing aid fitting , hearing aid repairs and service, hearing aid loaners, ear mold impressions, counseling and rehabilitation, tinnitus treatment, custom ear protection, balance disorders, and offer listening and communication enhancement programs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hearing Health Center, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hearing Health Center, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hearing Health Center, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 16, 1997 Business started: 07/01/1984 in IL Business started locally: 07/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Ronna Fisher, Au.D. FAAA, President
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Ronna Fisher, Au.D. FAAA, President
Business Category

Audiologists Hearing Aids & Assistive Devices Hearing Aids Parts & Repairing Offices of Physical, Occupational and Speech Therapists, and Audiologists (NAICS: 621340)

Products & Services

This center offers hearing instruments and ear protection.


Additional Locations

  • 120 Oakbrook Ctr STE 709

    Oak Brook, IL 60523 (630) 571-7111

  • 142 E Ontario St Ste 1100

    Chicago, IL 60611

  • 185 Skokie Valley Rd

    Highland Park, IL 60035 (847) 681-7000

  • 636 Raymond Dr STE 203

    Naperville, IL 60563 (630) 369-8878

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I asked the audiologist if there was a way to pay for my Lyric Hearing aid at 1,800.00 for one year. He indicated that there was. I asked him if I would receive a statement each month for the 150.00 and he indicated yes and that I should be sure to pay each month on time. I indicated I would. He then installed the hearing aid for a 30 day trial period and I left with a follow up appointment in 2 weeks. In about 10 days I got a credit card from ***************** in the mail. I was infuriated as I did not know this was a credit card as I do not apply for credit cards as they cause your credit score to go down and I have worked to keep mine above 800. I called and asked them to write a letter to the 3 Credit Bureaus and was told no that I signed the paperwork which was explained poorly to me and now I am having to deal with all three of the credit bureaus myself. This was FRAUD in its simpleist form. The audiologist did not know what he was talkig about and just talked to make the sale and did not explain any othe the credit card issue to me. No one else in the office talked to me about this either. This I beleive is fraudulant business practices. I notified the president of the company and got no cooperation at that level either. I went to the Oakbrook office to get this hearing aid although they have several other offices as well. ************* is the president and her cell number is 847-212-1555.I have asked Hearing Health Center to write to the three credit bureaus indicating that I did not want this credit card oened but they did it without informing me that that is what they were doing. When I asked if she would do this she said "Oh yes I will stop what I am doing and hurry to do that for you." I asked for a copy but I believe she will not do this as the answer was very curt.

Desired Settlement: Letters to the three credit bureaus indicating that they did open this card without infornming me and that it should NOT affect my credit score.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ************, Au.D. CEO Contact Phone: (XXX)XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@hearinghealthcenter.com ****** ******* purchased a Lyric hearing aid on September 11, 2013 in the amount of $1800. She inquired about financing the purchase and was informed that we offer 12 months free financing through a company that finances medical care called ***********. She was told that she would receive monthly statements and would have to pay at least the minimum every month, and the balance in full prior to the end of 12 months to avoid interest charges. Ms. ******* agreed and the office manager signed her up on line. Ms. ******* answered several of the required questions re: employment, home ownership and monthly income. *********** approved her application and she signed the sales copy, which explicitly states their terms and conditions. Ms. ******* called when she received her first statement from *********** the parent company of ***********. She started screaming that she didn't know that she was signing up for a credit card and now her credit was ruined because they pulled a credit report on her. She accused us of fraudulent business practices and demanded that we get her credit score back to what is was before she signed up for ***********. I apologized profusely for the misunderstanding, took full responsibility if the staff did not explain the financing properly and offered to cancel her care credit. She said, "That's not good enough. I want my credit score back to what it was." I explained that I am not privy to her credit scores and have no control over every credit bureaus terms, policies and procedures. Ms. ******* spoke to ***** *******, the Director of Operations at Hearing Health Center. Ms. ******* cancelled the *********** and Hearing Health Center refunded the $1800 back to Ms. *******. Ms.******** called again, several times, and demanded that we write a letter to all three credit bureaus stating we made an error and request they each reinstate her prior credit score. Ms. ******* said she would write to each credit bureau, and state there was a miscommunication. Ms. ******* did not like that response. She again called me, on my cell phone with an "unknown" phone number. She threatened to call her attorney if I did not immediately fix the situation. I again politely apologized, told her we cancelled the ***********, refunded her in full and asked what more she would like us to do. She stated she wants us to immediately, right this minute, write to every credit bureau and send her a copy of each letter. Ms. ******* has written the credit bureaus on her behalf, and mailed them to Ms.******* to submit once she added her personal identifying information. I realize that Ms. ******* did not know she would be receiving an actual credit card. However, she did sign up for free financing. Any company offering free (or any type of financing) regardless whether they issue a credit card, is going to run a credit check prior to giving you money. Since Ms. ******* is fully employed and stated she ran a business for 30 years, it would seem she would be aware that no one is going to give you money without checking your credit. In spite of Ms. *******'s mindset re: financing and her unreasonable expectations, we have done everything she has requested.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hearing Health Center, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)