BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1997

Hearing Health Center, Inc.

Phone: (312) 263-7171Fax: (312) 263-5410142 E Ontario St Ste 1100, ChicagoIL 60611-2818 Send email to Hearing Health Center, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1997

BBB has determined that Hearing Health Center, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hearing Health Center, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hearing Health Center, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
10/14/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I asked the audiologist if there was a way to pay for my Lyric Hearing aid at 1,800.00 for one year. He indicated that there was. I asked him if I would receive a statement each month for the 150.00 and he indicated yes and that I should be sure to pay each month on time. I indicated I would. He then installed the hearing aid for a 30 day trial period and I left with a follow up appointment in 2 weeks. In about 10 days I got a credit card from ***************** in the mail. I was infuriated as I did not know this was a credit card as I do not apply for credit cards as they cause your credit score to go down and I have worked to keep mine above 800. I called and asked them to write a letter to the 3 Credit Bureaus and was told no that I signed the paperwork which was explained poorly to me and now I am having to deal with all three of the credit bureaus myself. This was FRAUD in its simpleist form. The audiologist did not know what he was talkig about and just talked to make the sale and did not explain any othe the credit card issue to me. No one else in the office talked to me about this either. This I beleive is fraudulant business practices. I notified the president of the company and got no cooperation at that level either. I went to the Oakbrook office to get this hearing aid although they have several other offices as well. ************* is the president and her cell number is 847-212-1555.I have asked Hearing Health Center to write to the three credit bureaus indicating that I did not want this credit card oened but they did it without informing me that that is what they were doing. When I asked if she would do this she said "Oh yes I will stop what I am doing and hurry to do that for you." I asked for a copy but I believe she will not do this as the answer was very curt.

Desired Settlement
Letters to the three credit bureaus indicating that they did open this card without infornming me and that it should NOT affect my credit score.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ************, Au.D. CEO
Contact Phone: (XXX)XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@hearinghealthcenter.com
****** ******* purchased a Lyric hearing aid on September 11, 2013 in the amount of $1800. She inquired about financing the purchase and was informed that we offer 12 months free financing through a company that finances medical care called ***********. She was told that she would receive monthly statements and would have to pay at least the minimum every month, and the balance in full prior to the end of 12 months to avoid interest charges.

Ms. ******* agreed and the office manager signed her up on line. Ms. ******* answered several of the required questions re: employment, home ownership and monthly income. *********** approved her application and she signed the sales copy, which explicitly states their terms and conditions.

Ms. ******* called when she received her first statement from *********** the parent company of ***********. She started screaming that she didn't know that she was signing up for a credit card and now her credit was ruined because they pulled a credit report on her. She accused us of fraudulent business practices and demanded that we get her credit score back to what is was before she signed up for ***********.

I apologized profusely for the misunderstanding, took full responsibility if the staff did not explain the financing properly and offered to cancel her care credit. She said, "That's not good enough. I want my credit score back to what it was." I explained that I am not privy to her credit scores and have no control over every credit bureaus terms, policies and procedures.
Ms. ******* spoke to ***** *******, the Director of Operations at Hearing Health Center. Ms. ******* cancelled the *********** and Hearing Health Center refunded the $1800 back to Ms. *******. Ms.******** called again, several times, and demanded that we write a letter to all three credit bureaus stating we made an error and request they each reinstate her prior credit score. Ms. ******* said she would write to each credit bureau, and state there was a miscommunication.

Ms. ******* did not like that response. She again called me, on my cell phone with an "unknown" phone number. She threatened to call her attorney if I did not immediately fix the situation. I again politely apologized, told her we cancelled the ***********, refunded her in full and asked what more she would like us to do. She stated she wants us to immediately, right this minute, write to every credit bureau and send her a copy of each letter. Ms. ******* has written the credit bureaus on her behalf, and mailed them to Ms.******* to submit once she added her personal identifying information.

I realize that Ms. ******* did not know she would be receiving an actual credit card. However, she did sign up for free financing. Any company offering free (or any type of financing) regardless whether they issue a credit card, is going to run a credit check prior to giving you money. Since Ms. ******* is fully employed and stated she ran a business for 30 years, it would seem she would be aware that no one is going to give you money without checking your credit.
In spite of Ms. *******'s mindset re: financing and her unreasonable expectations, we have done everything she has requested.

10/04/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Audiologists, Hearing Aids & Assistive Devices

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/16/1997Business started: 07/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph 9th Fl
Chicago, IL60601-3218
(312) 814-4500
http://www.idfpr.com

Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Ronna Fisher, Au.D. FAAA (President)
Business Category

Audiologists, Hearing Aids & Assistive Devices

Products & Services

This center offers hearing instruments and ear protection.

Industry Tips
Contracts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hearing Health Center, Inc.

142 E Ontario St Ste 1100

Chicago, IL 60611-2818

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 142 E Ontario St Ste 1100 

    Chicago, IL 60611-2818

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hearing Health Center, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Audiologists

Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.