Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Zalutsky & Pinski, Ltd.

Additional Locations

Phone: (312) 782-9792 Fax: (312) 782-0483 View Additional Phone Numbers 111 W Washington St STE 1550, Chicago, IL 60602 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.zapbillsnow.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Zalutsky & Pinski, Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Zalutsky & Pinski, Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Zalutsky & Pinski, Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1981 Business started: 01/01/1960 Business started locally: 01/01/1960 Business incorporated 01/08/1980 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Attorney Registration & Disciplinary Commission
130 E Randolph St, Ste 1500, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.iardc.org
Phone Number: (800) 826-8625

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Kerrie Neal, Secretary Alex Tynkov, Vice President Mr. Irwin L. Zalutsky, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Kerrie Neal, Secretary
Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy & Taxes Offices of Lawyers (NAICS: 541110)

Alternate Business Names
Zalutsky & Pinski

Additional Locations

  • 111 W Washington St STE 1550

    Chicago, IL 60602

  • 1320 Tower Rd
    STE 138

    Schaumburg, IL 60173

  • 20 N Clark 6th Floor #600

    Chicago, IL 60602 (800) 226-5787 (877) 348-3222

  • 2923 N Milwaukee Ave

    Chicago, IL 60618

  • 4 Olympus Dr

    Naperville, IL 60540

  • 6013 W Cermak Rd

    Cicero, IL 60804

  • 8014 S Western Ave

    Chicago, IL 60620

  • 900 E 162nd St
    STE 210

    South Holland, IL 60473

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a free consultation with a attorney that advised me there would be a $400 deposit to start a Chapter 13. He printed out all this paper work during the free consultation that I signed, I told him that I wouldn't have the money until next week. The next day I got the money and payed the deposit, the following day I told the attorney to cancel it. I went almost three weeks playing phone tag & leaving messages without a return phone call.The office manager then returns my call and tells me that there will be no refund of my $400 because of all the work the attorney did. I asked what work? she said any documents he my have printed out or any other work done. I informed her that the documents the attorney printed out was done when I had my free consultation and there was nothing else done after the consultation. He didn't have any thing of mine but a couple of bills that he didn't return along with the documents he printed out. She then said "the first 15min of the consultation is free the rest is not". I told her that's not what your web page says then she said "you have to wait to talk to the attorney when he comes back from out of town". He finally came back it took three days after he came back to get him on the phone. He then tells me during my free consultation I printed out documents and spent over 45min with you I'm not going to refund your $400 back.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a refund of my $400.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Attorney Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@zaplawfirm.com Complainant's version of events leaves out quite a few details. Without disclosing too much personal information, here is what actually occurred. On June 30, 2014 complainant met with me to discuss his financial situation. We discussed his income and expenses as well what outstanding debt was most troubling. After discussing these issues it was my recommendation that a Chapter 13 Bankruptcy would be his best option. I then gave him an overview of how a Chapter 13 works. Complainant was interested in exploring the Chapter 13 and wanted to know what his payment would be. This is where the free consultation ended. I had reviewed his situation and advised him of his rights. Once he had chosen to pursue the Chapter 13, and we began completing all the necessary documents, I was performing legal services for which I am entitled to compensation. We spent another 45 minutes to an hour carefully going through each of the schedules. We thoroughly explored his assets, income, and regular monthly expenses. At the end of this process I was able to tell him what his monthly payment would be. I did explain that supplemental documentation would be necessary to confirm the payment amount. At the close of the meeting I provided the client with a detailed list as to what documents would be needed to file the case along with a down payment of $400.00. I was also aware that due to circumstances the client was looking to get the case filed as quickly as possible. The next day I completed as much of the file as I could until I received the other documents. A $400.00 payment was made by someone on behalf of the client, but there was a refusal to turn over certain documents. Without these documents a case could not be filed. For the next two days there were various exchanges between myself, the staff, the complainant, and his spouse. Ultimately Mr. ***** chose to cancel the case when our office refused to file said case without the additional necessary documentation. While I was out of town complainant requested a refund and spoke to the President (not office manager as he states) of Zalutsky & Pinski, Ltd., ****** ****. Ms. **** explained the situation to him and stated that she and he should wait until my return and speak with me. Upon my return I completed an itemization of time spent on this particular file. Between attorney and staff time there was over $800.00 in time spent trying to get complainant's Chapter 13 filed. I have been at Zalutsky & Pinski, Ltd. for nearly 16 years and have helped thousands of people get relief from their financial burdens. I take my duty to my clients very seriously, but I am also an officer of the court and have an obligation to make sure that any case I file is submitted in good faith. Complainant's refusal to submit the necessary documentation made that impossible to do. I thoroughly went over complainant's information and was prepared to file his case but he refused to tender necessary documentation. His failure to do so does not discount the time and effort invested by myself and the rest of the law firm. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't agree with the response that was given. I do agree that there are some details that the business left out. Let's start with the being advised on the chapter 13. I had a previous Chapter 7 which at the time I only could do a chapter 13 if anything. Mr. ****** was told of my situation being in Divorce court for the last 2 years and why my wife's attorney told her not to give me any documents of hers. That's why I couldn't get any of her check stubs (documents). Then after I emailed Mr. ****** that I couldn't get her check stubs then asks for me to get her to sign a affidavit. I find the web site of Zalutsky & Pinsky Ltd misleading when on your web site it clearly states free consultation. The web site doesn't say after 45min then the firm can charge. You then claim that you processed paper work and had staff do work for a total of $800 all this done in 2 days? All the documents that I took to the free consultation which were a few bills and a copy of my Chapter 7 which was never returned to me. Mr. ****** did the calculations during the free consultation and printed the paper work. I was never given any copies of any contract when my free consultation was over in about 45min. I find it saddening that this firm would try to keep my money after I needed help without providing service.Then to try to make up a bill on a free consultation truly unprofessional. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/19) */ First, the complainant fails to address the issue of why he could not get his wife, or his wife's attorney, to sign an affidavit regarding their current marital status. This would have gone a long way towards clearing up the situation. The complainant provided us with several pieces of information which led us to have to presume that any divorce was being put on hold, and therefore the client was to be treated as married. Household income verification is required by the Bankruptcy Court, and our office has no authority to waive such requirement. Second, the complainant signed retention documents. He signed more than half a dozen documents representing that he was retaining us to file a bankruptcy case for him, and agreeing to abide by the requirements of that filing. After signing, the complainant was given our "Bankruptcy Information Packet" which clearly laid out what the client was required to do in order for my office to file the case. It should have been clear at that point that this packet is not given to the general public as part of a free consultation. The items required were specific to the type of case being filed and to the individual who was filing the case. This case was not filed only because of the complainant's refusal to comply with the law, after signing a contract with us. To continually harp on the idea that the free consultation should have covered all the work this office did on his case is to ignore the fact that the problem was created by the complainant's refusal to cooperate. Had he provided the necessary documentation the case would have been filed. Frankly, I find it rather insulting that even though I took every measure to expedite the processing of his case, complainant argues that he was provided no service. This firm has been around for over 50 years and we pride ourselves on exceptional service and truly helping to ease the financial burdens of our clients. However, we cannot accomplish this alone, we need active involvement from our clients. I can only help someone get of debt and on the road to financial freedom if they provide the necessary information and documentation. In this case complainant fails to acknowledge that services were provided and it was his refusal to tender necessary documentation that led to a case not being filed.

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** **** is not in the business to help people she is very rude and inefficient in her work. I have been with her for the past 2 years and she has done nothing to help my situation. she is very defensive when you are talking to and she is always reluctant and verbal confrontational when poised with a question. I have spent over 3,000 to have her represent me and she has not done anything to help me get out present situation, as a matter she has managed to put me farther into debt. I called her today in regards that she she was suppose to fix which was to defer my payments until the end of june, however there was in error and I clearly wanted to see if I could get a copy of the order and told her on March 30th when they approved me for the 90 days but when i tried to call her for that copy she said she mailed it out and then hung up the phone in my face. I am clearly frustrated with her and I have invested too much money for her to behave in this manner. She is very difficult to deal with and I feel that it would only be fair that I ask for another attorney to complete my 10 month case. And I am not the first person that feels this way about her I referred someone else and she has been assigned to her case and she is the same way with her. So this is beyond me and something should be done about her behavior, I have also reported her to the American Bar Association disciplinary department, because she is in the business to help and if she does not want to do that then perhaps she should choose a different profession.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for a replacement for my case, I do not want her to assist me in my case no longer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/06/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@zaplawfirm.com I have been representing Ms. ******** for nearly 3 years. She is in a Chapter 13 repayment plan. Since her case has been pending I or one of my colleagues has appeared in court approximately ten times. We have successfully suspended or reduced her monthly payments four separate times. The last occasion is what triggered this complaint. We requested a three month suspension in plan payments. While the motion was granted the entry of the order was delayed due to the schedule of the Judge assigned to Ms. ********' case. This delay meant that Ms. ******** in reality only received a two month suspension in payments. I tried to have the order modified but the Judge refused. I did everything I could for Ms. ******** on this occasion and all others. Her case has less than a year to go and upon receiving her discharge she will be cleared of the majority of her debt. This will result in her saving well over $20,000 based on the debts she had at the time of filing. It is for this reason that I find Ms. ********' statements so perplexing. In addition to the court appearances I have had numerous conversations with Ms. ******** and have tried to help her successfully complete her case. I understand that the Chapter 13 process can be frustrating but I feel I have gone the extra mile for Ms. ********. I am not even going to address the remark about complaints by other clients as I have been practicing law for nearly 15 years and have helped thousands of clients navigate the bankruptcy process. My number one source for new clients is referrals from my past and current clients. I think Ms. ******** knows that I have done my best for her and is just frustrated. Unfortunately, there are no other attorneys in our office available to assist her in her case. As a result, the only possible alternative resolution of this matter would be to withdraw and allow Ms. ******** the opportunity to hire someone new. However, I do not think that would be in her best interest. And I do not think she believes it would either. Just this week I received an email requesting that I remain her attorney. That request in my mind should resolve this matter. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/06/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Once again the inconsistency in her story is in accurate I have documentation I only deferred my payments 1 time last time year and 1 time this year giving me a total of 5 months of payment deferment. On several occasions I explained to her that I was no longer working a second job and that the payments that I was paying was causing me to be behind in my personal bills, she claims that I never told her that which if that was not true then why would I be asking for a deferment.?Because when I was set up originally for my repayment it was based on my second employer income. Several times I asked her to get payments lowered and it wasn't until the paycheck 6/13/14 that there was a decrease in payment from 709 to 669.00 my take home pay today was 395.00 how am I suppose to pay my rent of 800.00 and other utilities with income. I am asking that my case be reviewed for a more substantial decrease in payments. Also when she sent me the email on the 6/4 it was prior to me reviewing my case and understanding that these payments and her behavior were unacceptable. So I am still poising my concern. Here is her email sent to me Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/06/17) */ There are no inconsistencies. My statement was that we either suspended or reduced her payment four times. As she states, it was suspended twice. It was also reduced twice. That's four. She did explain that she was no longer working a second job, that is why the payment was reduced the second time just last month. As for the emails that Ms. ******** attached to her supplement, I did attempt to reach out to her to resolve things prior to her filing this complaint. Once this complaint was filed, I reached out to her again to advise her that I did not think I could effectively represent her and be in this type of adversarial situation at the same time. I had advised Ms. ******** that I would withdraw so that she could find a different attorney that she was more satisfied with. But what Ms. ******** is not stating in her responses is that we have exchanged several emails since this complaint was filed. In one email she states "I am willing to withdraw my complaint because this was filed due to a moment of frustration". I realize that the point of these communications is try to and resolve things to the satisfaction of all parties. Unfortunately, I am not sure that I can see a way to do that. If Ms. ******** is not happy with her representation, then I will withdraw as originally suggested. She is free to seek legal counsel from whomever she pleases. But what Ms. ******** is seeking is for me to change a court order. I cannot do that. I would lose my license. The only person able to alter a court order is the Judge. And we have been down that path. Now, the one thing that I do not understand from Ms. ********'s response is the amount of her payment. Last month, her payment was decreased from $1338/mo to $956/mo (almost $400 less). So her deductions should have decreased from $618 biweekly to $442 biweekly. If they are anything other than that, this is the first I am hearing of it and her payroll department needs to correct that error on their part.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Zalutsky & Pinski, Ltd.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)