This business is not BBB accredited.

The Ratowitz Law Group, LLC

Phone: (630) 757-4040 Fax: (312) 577-9406 View Additional Phone Numbers 721 W Lake St Ste 101, Addison, IL 60101

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Ratowitz Law Group, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Ratowitz Law Group, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 05, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2007 Business started locally: 01/01/2007 Business incorporated 07/28/2011 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Attorney Registration & Disciplinary Commission
130 E Randolph St, Ste 1500, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (800) 826-8625

Type of Entity


Business Management
David Ratowitz, President
Contact Information
Principal: David Ratowitz, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers Attorneys & Lawyers - Real Estate Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy Attorneys & Lawyers - DUI Offices of Lawyers (NAICS: 541110)

Alternate Business Names
Law Office of David Ratowitz ESQ

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Ratowitz Law Group, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    721 W Lake St Ste 101

    Addison, IL 60101 (312) 577-9405 (630) 757-4040


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $ 3500.00 Dlls. to ***** ******** and ***** ******** from January 20, 2014 to date. They failed to do what they promised,to represent me in Court in a foreclosure case, and to obtain a loan modification for me. They did nothing but mail fraud, misrepresentation, and no service at all.Further they fail to keep me informed of my case, all I received from them were reminders for payments.

Desired Settlement: All I want is the refund of the money I paid to them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/07) */ Mr. ********'s claims are simply untrue. It is a matter of public record that attorneys from my firm represented Mr. ******** in court on 4 occasions from January through June of 2014, after his previous attorney withdrew from representing Mr. ********. Likewise, the motions and pleadings drafted and filed by attorneys from my firm on his behalf are also on public record. Not only did my firm represent Mr. ******** in court, but we have been actively negotiating loss mitigation alternatives with his bank. Mr. ********'s claim that we did not keep him informed of his case is also clearly false: our loss mitigation efforts included documents provided to us by Mr. ******** for submission to his bank. Mr. ******** claims we did not communicate with him, but somehow he knew what documents we needed from him and physically brought them to us. In light of the fact that Mr. ******** has complained of things he cannot believe to be true, I believe that Mr. ******** is merely abusing the BBB in order to intimidate an honest service provider into working for free. In retrospect, I think it likely that Mr. ********'s previous attorney withdrew because Mr. ******** refused to pay him. I suspect that Mr. ******** hired me with the intention of benefitting from the work of my firm and then threatening me in order to get a refund so he wouldn't have to pay for the service he used. While I often issue refunds and partial refunds to clients when circumstances turn out differently than anticipated, in this case I believe that both sides have gotten what they expected, Mr. ******** just thought he could pull a fast one. The flat fee retainer agreement I use in foreclosure defense cases is designed to protect me from such predatory "clients". My employees and I work very hard for our clients and our record for defending homeowners in foreclosure absolutely shines when compared to anyone else in the State of Illinois or even the nation.