BBB Accredited Business since

Kreisler Law, PC

Phone: (773) 394-6400 Fax: (773) 394-6443 2846A North Milwaukee, Chicago, IL 60618 http://www.kreislerlaw.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kreisler Law, PC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kreisler Law, PC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Kreisler Law, PC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1970 Business started locally: 01/01/1970
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Attorney Registration & Disciplinary Commission
130 E Randolph St, Ste 1500, Chicago IL 60601
www.iardc.org
Phone Number: (800) 826-8625

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Barry Kreisler, Attorney Ms. Melanie Pennycuff, Attorney
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Barry Kreisler, Attorney
Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers Attorneys & Lawyers - Real Estate Attorneys & Lawyers - Business Law/Corporation/Partnership Attorneys & Lawyers - Wills, Trust & Probate Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy Offices of Lawyers (NAICS: 541110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kreisler Law, PC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2846A North Milwaukee

    Chicago, IL 60618

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* *********, of Kreisler Law, PC, was retained as my bankruptcy attorney on May 30, 2013. She was given a money order in the amount of $1902.00; which covered her flat fee of $1500.00, court filing fee of $306.00, $49.00 credit counseling fee, $19.00 financial management course fee, and a $28.00 fee for a credit report. The case was filed and I was given an appearance date of July 26, 2013 at 1:00PM. My responsibilities were to complete both a pre and post bankruptcy course on-line, which I did. I went to my trustee meeting on July 26, 2013 at 1:00PM and Ms. ********* was not present. I left multiple messages on her office, cell, and home voicemails, I also left a message for her colleague Mr. ******** on his office voicemail to try to find out what was causing her delay or absence. I did not receive any calls or texts in return. I did notice, while looking at the schedule for the day, that she had another case at 4:00PM, so I decided to wait, as I ha d already taken the day off from work. She did not appear for that case either. The trustee was very kind and allowed another attorney to sit in while she reviewed my case, so a continuance was not necessary. When I got home, I reviewed the retainer agreement; the retainer states, "The attorney agrees to prepare the Petition and Schedules, file the same with the Clerk of the Court, and to appear at and represent us at the first scheduled hearing for the the First Meeting of Creditors for a flat fee of $1500.00." Ms. *********'s failure to appear at my hearing was a breach of our contract. I composed a letter requesting a partial refund the next day. My initial request was for $1000.00, as her hourly rate is $250.00. I approximated the time it took to complete and file my paperwork at two hours. The letter was sent, certified, on July 27, 2013. I received a call from Ms. *********, a few days after the court date, informing me that she was taken to the hospital on the day of my hearing. She had received my letter, but was not willing to give me a refund for the amount I asked. She did not believe a refund for that amount was warranted as she was absent due to illness. Over the course of multiple phone calls we agreed that she would send a refund for the amount of $250.00, my cost, had I made a continuance necessary. I believe this agreement was made around the third week of August. Ms. ********* stated, in our last conversation, that the check would go out at the beginning of the following month, September. It is now the end of September and I have yet to receive the check. I have tried to contact Ms. ********* on multiple occasions regarding the refund and she has not responded to any of them.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the refund I was promised, in the amount of $250.00. This behavior/interaction has been so unprofessional and unpleasant, making an already miserable situation so much worse.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* *********, Esq. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@hotmail.com I represented Ms. *** both before and after the first meeting of creditors in the bankruptcy court. On the day of the hearing, I was taken, semi-conscious, to the emergency room of Advocate Hospital where I was admitted and treated for four days for a serious unexpected illness. As I was not fully conscious, there was no way to reach Ms. *** who was waiting at the hearing room. In all other instances of which I am aware, if the attorney for the debtor does not appear, the Trustee simply continues the hearing to another date. Ms. ***'s trustee went above and beyond by finding another attorney to "sit in" at what is usually a less than 3 minute hearing where the Trustee verifies the information filed by the debtor. Therefore, Ms. *** was not inconvenienced other than having a four hour wait (which I feel badly about) for her hearing. She alternatively could have refused to have another attorney present and could have come back at a continued date. I called the Trustee and Ms. *** the next day, from my hospital bed, in order to attempt to find out the continued date. I was finally able to ascertain a few days later that the hearing was held in my absence. Ms. *** then demanded $1,000 of her $1,500 attorney fees refunded for her "trouble". I refused and offered her $250 which is what I charge if a hearing is continued due to fault of the debtor. I thought about offering her four hours' of her time at what she was paid per hour at her job but as this would have been a negligible amount; I opted to make an offer that I believed was more than fair. She refused. Finally she demanded $500 but did not refuse the $250 offer. I did advise that we would issue a check but wanted her to sign a release indicating she was taking the $250 in full settlement of her claim. In looking back at the emails between Ms. *** and I, and in my notes of our voice-mail communications, it may not have been clear that I wanted an acknowledgment before I would ask that a check be mailed. If she is willing to accept the $250 offer in full satisfaction of any issues she has and is willing to sign a release, she can pick up her check for $250 upon signing the release. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2013/10/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept her response, in full, as it is full of exaggeration/misrepresentation and false information. Ms. ********* did call, but it wasn't until Sunday night, July 28th, 2 days after the case. (I had already composed my letter requesting a refund by this time, which I have attached.) There was no reason, after having waited over four hours and not having heard from Ms. ********* or her associate(s), to file for a continuance and take another day off of work for a hearing that takes "less than 3 minutes" when I had no assurance or reason to believe my attorney would be present at my continuance. Nothing was ever demanded from Ms. *********, I requested a refund for a breach of contract, not for my "trouble". Our contract states, "The attorney agrees to prepare the Petition and Schedules, file the same with the Clerk of the Court, and to appear at and represent us at the first scheduled hearing for the First Meeting of Creditors for a flat fee of $1500," which she failed to do. I understand she was ill and did not just forget or decide not to attend court. That is why I finally accepted the offer for $250, not having asked for anything other than the initial $1000, and did not pursue this further. I accepted, what would have been my cost had a continuance been necessary due to my error or even sickness. During our final conversation, when we agreed upon the $250, Ms. ********* never mentioned anything about a release. She just stated that the check would go out at the beginning of the month of September. After over a month without receiving the refund, I attempted to contact her by phone and email several times, with no response, where she could have made me aware of the release but chose not to, which is why I went the route of using the Better Business Bureau website. I do, however, still want and feel that I am entitled to my refund. I request, the release be sent or emailed to me for review and upon return, the check be sent certified mail to the following address: **** *** **** N ******* **** Chicago, IL XXXXX Final Business Response /* (4000, 26, 2014/03/28) */ Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2013/11/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) As previously requested, Ms. ********* can send the waiver to: **** N ******* **** *** Chicago, IL XXXXX or email the waiver to ********@hotmail.com.