Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Tax Defenders is a tax firm which focuses on tax representation and other matters related to taxes, including bankruptcy and foreclosure or wage garnishment. This firm serves downtown Chicago and surrounding areas, including Cicero, Berwyn, Oak Park, Tinley Park, Melrose Park, Schaumburg, Des Plaines, Evanston, Niles, Skokie, Park Ridge, Lincolnwood, Brookfield, Stickney, Lyons, Elmwood Park, Elmhurst, Riverside, North Riverside, La Grange, La Grange Park, Summit, Stone Park, Norridge, Harwood Heights, Hillside, Berkeley, Broadview, Maywood, Bellwood, and Hodgkins. Practice areas of this firm include IRs tax debt relief, tax settlements, wage garnishment, tax penalties, tax levies and liens, tax audits, settling payroll liens, Offer in Compromise, bankruptcy, and unfiled tax returns.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TTD Tax, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TTD Tax, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on TTD Tax, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 21, 2003 Business started: 01/19/2002 Business started locally: 01/19/2002 Business incorporated 01/10/2002 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Attorney Registration & Disciplinary Commission
130 E Randolph St, Ste 1500, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.iardc.org
Phone Number: (800) 826-8625

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joe Hanley, President Ms. Joan Britt, Chief Accountant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Hanley, President
Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers - Tax Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy & Taxes Attorneys & Lawyers - Collections Law Tax Return Preparation Tax Return Preparation - OTR Truck Drivers Taxes - Consultants & Representatives Taxes - Negotiators Taxes - Enrolled Agent Offices of Lawyers (NAICS: 541110)

Alternate Business Names
American Tax Solutions, Inc. The Tax Defenders
Additional Information

TTD Tax, Inc. has requested that before filing a BBB complaint, consumers contact Joe Hanley, President of TTD Tax, Inc to resolve any dispute.

Please understand that you can file a complaint with the BBB now or at any time during this process. It is our hope that TTD Tax, Inc. will resolve the matter for you in an expedient manner.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

TTD Tax, Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 35 E Wacker
    Suite 1525

    Chicago, IL 60601 (800) 610-5500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/20/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Tax Defenders offered assistance reducing my outstanding tax bill by up to 85% providing various testimonials from former customers in a 'similar' situations both by phone and in advertisements. They charged $995 for our initial evaluation then sent us what appears to be a form letter response stating our only option was to pay the *** in full. They should have been able to determine this with a quick online questionnaire which would have saved us both a lot of time. They then scheduled and missed four telephone appointments in a row.

Desired Settlement: Given the fact that we received no benefit what-so-ever from their 'services', we request a full refund of monies paid and would like them to adjust their advertising to include some sort of success rate. We needed help and partially based on The Tax Defender's good BBB rating decided to allow them to help. They only took our money and left us hanging by the phone multiple times.

Business Response:

This consumer hired us in September, 2016 for an analysis of his case. His stated desire was to receive a settlement. In email and verbal correspondence specifically with the consumer, as well as in all of our marketing and service agreement documents for any prospect or consumer, we specifically state that we cannot and do not promise any client a settlement without this critical analysis step. Nowhere do we ever claim an 85% settlement rate and our disclosures always prominently include that each case is decided based on the consumer's own financial situation. In particular for this consumer, we responded to his initial inquiry via email stating affirmatively and personally that we would investigate and analyze his settlement prospects but could not promise him a settlement.

The $950 fee the consumer paid was for the service associated with that analysis. There was no $995 fee and I am uncertain why the consumer cited that amount. We did not send him a form at the end of this analysis but a 60 page work product detailing his exact case.

At the end of his analysis, the consumer was advised that he should not submit a settlement proposal as it would most likely be rejected and jeopardize his low payment plan.

We did not miss any appointment with the consumer but were several minutes late for 3 of the many calls we conducted with the consumer.

All that said, our Director of Resolution and attorney has reached out to the consumer several times to discuss a refund but consumer has declined to talk with him. As with all clients past and present, we are very open to discussing any point of dissatisfaction with the consumer and remedies to include BBB arbitration and/or refunds. It seems the consumer here is using the BBB to request a refund and we have reached out to him to discuss the same. We will attempt to reach him again today.

 

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired The Tax Defenders to represent me for some tax issues I am having. I paid the retainer as requested. After about a month a young lady called me to discuss the case but was very rude and unprofessional. She demanded that I pull over to give her my undivided attention to which I reacted with repulsion. Once we got past that she rambled on for thirty minutes and the only advice she could come up with was to pay my back taxes. When I hired the ffirm they represented themselves as being able to negotiate a settlement with the IRS onto behalf. During the conversation the young lady informed me that the conversation was being recorded which was unknown to me and a violation of federal wiretapping laws. I asked for a refund as I felt they had misrepresented their services to me at the time of retainment. I was informed that I would need to speak with a lead attorney. I made an appointment with him, he called almost two hours past our appointed time, I rescheduled for the next day he again called almost two hours past our appointed time. I have emailed him three times to set a new appointment and have received no reponse.

Desired Settlement: Either for them to deliver services as promised or a full refund plus ten thousand dollars punitive damages.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/11) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******, Spv. Atty Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: ********@thetaxdefenders.com The taxpayer spoke with Enrolled Agent ****** ******* an analyst with our firm, in an intake interview on June 18, 2015. He described his situation - that he had a $300k tax liability that the IRS was trying to collect and he sought help negotiating a resolution. Ms. ****** explained our standard investigation process, which included the standard fee of $2850 for a non-compliant self-employed taxpayer case with over $100k debt and an assigned Revenue Officer. Mr. **** explained he'd previously set up an Installment Agreement with the IRS and Ms. ****** explained that the agreement he'd reached before may turn out to be the best available agreement, but that a new balance that was coming in on 2014 might need to be 'rolled in' with the rest of the liability agreement. The client signed our standard Client Service Agreement (available on request) which identified that this was an investigation file. The tasks of the investigation were completed by July 8th - initial calls with Practioner Service, Automated Collections Service, CAF Unit and the Revenue Officer at IRS, intake interview with client, client financial questionnaire, draft 433a Collection Information Statement, 433 analysis sheet for collections potential, e-services account transcripts ordered for account and wage information, etc. On July 10th, the department coordinator for the Resolution Department drafted the Investigation Report Conference note in our system and provided it to the analyst, Ms. ****** for her Investigation Report Conference with Mr. ****. In short, Mr. **** and his wife had been running large tax balances every year going back to 2011, but that an Installment Agreement was in place In the call with Mr. ****, he stated that he was driving at the outset of the call. Due to the complexity of the information to be discussed, including a recitation of findings and options, Ms. ****** advised that they arrange to talk at a time when he could take notes. For reasons unknown, Mr. **** became very insulted and angry by this suggestion, shouted at Ms. ****** that he was paying the fee here, asked "how dare" she suggest he pull over, asked "who do you think you are" and twice shouted at Ms. ****** to "shut up". He shouted at Ms. ****** that he was "the one in control" not Ms. ******* Eventually, Ms. ****** was able to move through the merits of the call to explain that Mr. ****'s previous payment arrangement terms with the IRS were more favorable than what might be available based on his current income and expenses and that what would be advisable would be to pay off the new 2014 balance in an effort to restore the prior Installment Agreement. Mr. **** became very aggressive, swearing and insulting Ms. ******* questioning her ability to do math, to the point where Ms. ****** advised she would end the call and set him to speak with me as the Supervising Attorney for the firm. Ms. ****** called me immediately after the call to advise she had just completed her most unpleasant client conversation in her four years with the firm. She was upset and shaken. Simultaneously, Mr. **** called into the firm to the front desk and was screaming at the paralegal answering the phones, ultimately agreeing to speak to me on July 16th at 2:00 p.m. When I called Mr. **** at 2:45 p.m. that day, he was cordial and asked that we reset our time to talk. After several emails back and forth, we did not ever talk on the phone. Rather, on July 25th, I emailed Mr. **** to advise him what I had hoped to discuss on the phone - that it was readily apparent that we would not be able to continue the retainer and that I would refund his fees in full. The fees were refunded at 7:00 a.m. on July 27th when. This was apparently after Mr. ****'s complaint was made to the BBB but before we were aware of the complaint, which we received today, August 11th. As a side note, Ms. ****** denies that she told Mr. **** that their call was recorded, and she did not record that call. She also denies that she represented that we could negotiate a settlement for Mr. ****, as he was brought on as an Investigation file to determine what was available to him. Further, in light of the client's stated income over $300k annually, it was obvious from even the intake interview that Mr. **** and his wife would never qualify for a financial settlement of their taxes. Rather, the concern was always the terms of the repayment agreement and the impact of the ongoing noncompliance. In light of the full refund of fees, I expect this matter should be resolved. However, I would welcome the opportunity to mediate or further discuss this matter and provide documentation or verification of these statements from our file.

12/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: assured that the tax defenders could find out all the years that should be included and then they did an offer in compramise and we paid them and the irs only to be told after the fact that one year was left out and that we still owed 20,000 for that year and that it could not be included in the compramise when we were told in the begining that all of our tax problems would be over but i feel like they are starting all over again

Desired Settlement: i would like them to take care of this with the irs with another compramise with little or no charge

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/10) */ History of Case In October of 2009, this consumer, **** ******* *******, contacted and hired us to investigate the causes and potential resolution of his IRS income tax debt. He also completed a client services agreement, power of attorney for the IRS, and payment authorization. At the end of his investigation, Mr. ******* had the choice to have us work further on his case or to terminate our representation and work directly with the IRS based on our investigation findings. Given that choice, in June 2010, he agreed to move forward and hire us to resolve his tax matters. We filed an Offer in Compromise on July 15th, 2011, which was accepted by the IRS on November 26th, 2012 for $8,354.13. He owed more than $93,000. On January 25th 2013, the taxpayer received a letter saying his 2001 tax return was missing. We explained to Mr. ******* that he needed to file and pay the 2001 tax return immediately in order not to default his offer. We sent a copy of the tax return to the Offer Examiner on February 8th 2013. The tax balance was $12,457. The taxpayer didn't actually mail the return to the IRS until March 12th, 2013. In addition, the taxpayer never paid his 2001 tax balance, despite our office obtaining an extra four months to do so. Consequently, his offer defaulted on January 9th, 2014. On January 22nd, 2014, two days after Mr. ******* filed the complaint with BBB, we spoke with his girlfriend, ***** ******* who agreed to withdraw the complaint based on the fact that we did not default Mr. *******' offer and were still willing resolve his case as Currently Non Collectible, free of charge. On January 30th, 2014, Ms. Spivey agreed for us to Mr. *******' case once again. However, she did not withdrawal the complaint to the BBB. As such, we are responding accordingly. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/02/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) when i hired the tax defenders i my partner and i asked if they could find out how far back that i had to file because i did not know when the last was filed. i was told yes they could and would do this. they did not do their job ,they left a year out , and then told me there was nothing they could do about it.we had not started paying on the offer why did they continue,they could have stopped it and resubmit it with 2001 included, . Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/02/19) */ During the initial work on this case, the IRS informed us they were not seeking payment on this consumer's 2001 tax debt. This position was affirmed via the IRS process. In submitting and defending the original Offer In Compromise (OIC), we dealt with four layers of IRS employees. At no time did they seek to collect on the 2001 debt, nor even inform us that it was in issue. We can't know if the return needs to be filed when the IRS says the opposite. Based on this process and communication, we do not feel this is our "error" but rather our reliance on IRS communication and process. Nonetheless, we agreed to do additional, free work for this consumer by submitting an additional proposal to the IRS for Currently Not Collectible (CNC) status. However, the consumer is demanding that we only submit a proposal for a completely separate IRS program (Offer in Compromise). It is our strong, professional opinion this proposal (Offer in Compromise) will fail and that a CNC proposal will be accepted and will protect the consumer from further collections. Both proposals involve more work, which we will provide free of charge given the situation, but we will not do additional work that we believe is destined to fail and leave the consumer in a worse position. We have reached out to the consumer ten times since this complaint was filed in an attempt to help them understand why the type of free work we would do could not be dictated but should be what is in their best interest. Initially, on 1/27/14 and 1/30/14, the consumer indicated that was a fine conclusion to the matter and they would withdraw this complaint. However, that has not happened. We cannot submit a proposal that we judge to be detrimental to the consumer. We are open to submitting this matter to BBB arbitration. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2014/02/24) */ From: **********@******* <**********@*******> Date: Thu, Feb 20, 2014 at 1:24 PM Subject: Tax Defenders To: *********@chicago.bbb.org I wish to withdraw my complaint against the Tax Defenders I have learned that they were not responsible for the error the IRS lied to them .thank you **** ******* and ***** ******

2/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Illegally charged my credit card without my permission or sign off on their consent form. I've called numerous times to talk to **** ****** about this as I was told only he did the refunds. He has not returned my calls. They charged 3100. without my permission at all!

Desired Settlement: $3100 refund back to my card or certified check.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/10) */ History of Case On 11/14/13, this consumer, ****** ******, contacted us and hired us to conduct an investigation into the causes and potential resolution of his debt. He also completed a client services agreement, and a power of attorney/declaration of representative before the IRS, under his signature on 11/20/13. In the initial phone conversation we had with Mr. ******, he gave us his checking account information and authorized us to withdraw the full fee for the investigation work, which was $3,100, the very next day, 11/15/13. He then called us on 11/15/13 to move his payment to 11/18/13, which we did. On 12/16/14, we completed Mr. ******'s case investigation and delivered the results to him. At the end of the investigation, Mr. ****** had the choice to have us work further on her case or to terminate our representation and work directly with the IRS based on our investigation findings. Given that choice on 12/19/13, he agreed to move forward and hire us to do more work resolving his tax debt. However, for us to do further work, all clients must pay for that work. We set up a payment plan for the fee and he was to call us with a payment method. However, he did not call us to make that payment. We withdrew his Power of Attorney on 12/30/13 due to a lack of payment and response. History of Complaint On 12/31/13, Mr. ****** called us and requested a refund. We scheduled an appointment with the head attorney, **** ****** for 1/3/14. Mr. ****** called and left a voicemail message at the scheduled time and emailed him as well. On 2/6/14, *** ******, the president of The Tax Defenders, called and left a voicemail message regarding the refund he is requesting. We have yet to get a response from him. We are willing to appear for the Better Business Bureau's arbitration process if the consumer would like to utilize that process. Attached, please find supporting documents for the work we completed in the investigation phase of ****** ******'s tax case: * Form 2848, Declaration of Representative * Client Services Agreement * IRS Contact Memo * Form 433-A, Collection Information Statement * Financial Spreadsheet of income and expenses * Wage and Income Transcripts

1/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted through the mail by The Tax Defenders about my IRS issues so I decided to contact them based on the fact that they promised results or my money back. After my initial consultation over the phone, they requested $1,000 to start my case with $1,000 due in 30 days which I complied with on both demands. After I made the second payment I had a conversation with ****** ******** over the phone in which he could not offer any way to solve my problem other than the way that the IRS had already put in place before I contacted The Tax Defenders. In other words as he stated over the phone The Tax Defenders could not enhance my situation at all. I expect a full refund if they were unable to do anything for me, exactly as promised in their advertising and letter in which they sent to me.

Desired Settlement: I would like and expect them to honor their guarantee of 100% problem solved or give me my money back in it's entirety.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/25) */ On 9/3/13, this consumer, ***** ********, contacted us and hired us to conduct an investigation into the causes and potential resolution of his debt. He also completed a client services agreement, power of attorney/declaration of representative before the IRS, and payment authorization which we received under his signature on 9/4/13. At that time, Mr. ******** paid the first half of the fee for the investigation work, which was $1,000. He paid the second half of the fee for the investigation work on 10/3/13 (another $1,000). The very next day, 10/4/13, we completed Mr. ********'s case investigation and delivered the results to him. At the end of the investigation (which he had paid for and was delivered to him within one day of him final payment), Mr. ******** had the choice to have us work further on his case or to terminate our representation and work directly with the IRS based on our investigation findings. Given that choice on 10/4/13, he decided to think about moving forward with us into the resolution phase of the case, which is an additional fee. We followed up with Mr. ******** again on 10/11/13, and he had not made a decision yet. Mr. ******** had an IRS deadline to meet by 10/15/13 so we asked for an extension for the information requested by his Revenue Officer at the IRS. On 10/21/13, he told us he would not be moving forward into the resolution phase of his case. We are willing to appear for the Better Business Bureau's arbitration process if the consumer would like to utilize that process. Attached, please find supporting documents for the work we completed in the investigation phase of Mr. ********'s tax case: * Form 2848, Declaration of Representative * Client Services Agreement * Payment Authorization * IRS Contact Memo * Form 433-A, Collection Information Statement * Financial Spreadsheet of income and expenses * Wage and Income Transcripts Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I read the response that The Tax Defenders provided for the reason for which they claim that they provided a service to me for the sum of two thousand dollars that they earned. The literature that Mr *** ****** sent me stated that he and The Tax Defenders could help me with my problems and that he was also an ex marine. I was under the impression that honor was part of being a marine and contend that by taking my money and providing nothing in return is an act of dishonesty and complete lack of honor on his behalf. I went to the IRS office in Maitland Florida, had a meeting with the IRS officer in charge of my case and not only got my payroll levy lifted but negotiated a full settlement for all money owed to the IRS. I am not a tax attorney, but I resolved all my problems myself. This is what I thought The Tax Defenders would do for me after I contacted them for help. I propose that they scammed me out of two thousand dollars under the disguise of evaluating my situation.I also question the Chicago Business Bureau for giving a company like this an A+ rating. I will seek all avenues available to me and try to help anyone thinking about hiring this company not to waste their time or money dealing with The Tax Defenders on any matters regarding IRS problems. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/19) */ There is absolutely no "disguise of evaluating my situation." Rather, there was an actual evaluation that the consumer paid to receive. In no way, shape or form is that a "scam." Mr. ******** hired us to complete an investigation. We completed that investigation. That is called work for hire. When a doctor runs tests on a patient, an architect draws plans for a house or an engineer writes a feasibility study for a construction project, the work is of the exact same type we performed: the consumer pays the professional for research, analysis and opinion of the likely outcome of a particular situation. Please see our original attachments for detailed and specific documented proof that we did the work we were hired to perform. We did not, and do not, promise any specific outcome for any client when they initially hire us. We only promise to do an investigation as a first step in a tax debt resolution process. The fact that Mr. ******** actually refers to us conducting the investigation/evaluation shows he fully understood what the value exchange was and is. Following our investigation, we shared our findings and opinion with him, including the exact outcome to be pursued with the IRS. He then communicated with us (after we reported the investigation outcome) stating he understood our entire report, and the work that went into that report, and was uncertain if he would like further work from us. He then took the results of our work and decided to directly contact the IRS to get the outcome we advised him was to be pursued, which is his right. However, that does not entitle a refund or any claims of dishonesty, lack of honor or failure to do the work we were actually paid to do. Again, we are happy to submit to the BBB arbitration process and will further respond in any other forum to the false accusation that we did "nothing" or that we did not complete the work we were retained to complete.

12/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Tax Defenders implied that I have a tax lien against me, when in fact I do not. I called the IRS and spent forty five minutes on the phone with them verifying that I do not have a tax lien after receiving their letter in the mail. I did not solicit their business and have no idea why they contacted me saying I have a tax lien and offering to help.

Desired Settlement: None. They included a full page insert in their mailing to me saying that they are an A+ rated company by the Better Business Bureau in 2013. I thought you would want to know about that as they are using scare tactics to solicit business.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/06) */ Mr. ****** is responding to a mail advertisement he received from our company. He is not a current or past client of ours. Per his request, Mr. ****** has been removed from our mailing list. Please note that the use of mail to advertise services is a protected right under Federal law.

11/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September 2013 My Husband and I both spoke with ****** ****** at the Tax Defenders because we received advertisement of 100 Guaranteed IRS Problems solved. This was not near the case. They were in a hurry to withdrawn a down payment from us, however I faxed everything that they requested and paid the remaining balance. After date was set with the IRS and they were given by us the Power of Attorney to speak on our behalf, every time....and I mean every time we had a conference call with either ************* or ******** we would rush to get home for the conference they would put it off always to next week until it was just days prior to meeting with the IRS they called and asked for over $5,000.00 to proceed. WOW REALLY! If we had that kind of money just laying around we would have paid the IRS. We lost the money and had to go our visit to IRS unaware of Tax Laws and our Rights. The mailed us back the info that I faxed them, basically taking our money without any resolution. ************* said their clients normally go on and pay the money because they can not handle it themselves. Yes they told us that this was Phase One and Phase two is final resolution but if we did not pay Phase TWO they would terminate their services, however this out outrageous fee was NEVER agreed upon. They said they needed all the information before they could tell us what that is. Well after you collect the initial fees you have already ripped us off. Don't use this company and they are all over the place changing addresses and making calls to people who really need a Defender but they are NOT a Clear Representative of the name they use. One of the owners (???) *********** believe he gave us a fair deal, however when a office personal fills out a few line on a simple form and charge you an excessive amount of money. This is completely unacceptable and we still run the risk of losing our properties and credit because of the greediness of this company. How can this even be reasonable when the IRS would love for us to give them over $5,000.00 plus what we are embarrassed to say we paid them up front. Please warn the public of this. They should be made to take 100% guaranteed off all advertisement and not ever work in the state of North Carolina forever!

Desired Settlement: 100% of our monies back because of false advertisement and after requesting the money they said we could go into the meeting with the IRS and do ok. The owner read our file after I spoke with him and is very aware of the seriousness of our case but allowed us to just go away without any resolutions. I called 3 or 4 times for them to reverse the Power of Attorney and they sent 3 of the 4 have been released. My last call I asked to send all 4 because the IRS would not tell me which ones that they had. Tax Defenders said they would but when we went to the meeting with the IRS on Monday November 4, 2013 the IRS has not received them and could not speak to us about our own case because of this neglect to at least clear this simple email to the IRS. I asked ******** to repeat the IRS fax # to me to see if she had the correct number and she did have the correct number, however she nor anyone at Tax Defenders followed up with the information we needed. They over change people and are NOT professional. A

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/15) */ History of Case On 8/30/13, this consumer's husband, ***** ******, contacted us and hired us to conduct an investigation into the causes and potential resolution of her debt. He also completed a client services agreement, power of attorney/declaration of representative before the IRS, and payment authorization which we received under his signature on 9/3/13. On 8/30/13, Mr. ****** paid the first half of the fee for the investigation work, which was $850. He paid the second half of the fee for the investigation work on 9/30/13 (another $850). On 9/26/13, we completed Mr. ******'s case investigation. At the end of the investigation (which she had paid for and was delivered to her within one day of her final payment), Mr. ****** had the choice to have us work further on her case or to terminate our representation and work directly with the IRS based on our investigation findings. Given that choice on 10/1/13, they did not agree to move forward and hire us to do more work resolving their tax debt. We emailed the written investigation report to them for their reference On 10/16, Mrs. ****** had an appointment with **** ******* one of the owners of the company and the director of tax resolution. She requested a "mercy refund" for the investigation fee. Based on work performed, we issued a refund of $300 to her on 10/18/13. We are willing to appear for the Better Business Bureau's arbitration process if the consumer would like to utilize that process. Attached, please find supporting documents for the work we completed in the investigation phase of Mr. and Mrs. ******'s tax case: * Form 2848, Declaration of Representative * Client Services Agreement * Payment Authorization * IRS Contact Memo * Form 433-A, Collection Information Statement * Financial Spreadsheet of income and expenses * Account Transcripts

10/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they continue to harasses me through the mail, with false claims. I want people that check out complaints with BBB to see my complaint, The tax defenders continue to send cheap mailings to me, when I have requested them to stop.

Desired Settlement: stop them from sending me cheap notices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/20) */ Mr. ***** ********* is responding to a mail advertisement he received from our company. He is not a current or past client of ours. Per his request, Mr. ********* has been removed from our mailing list. Please note that the use of mail to advertise services is a protected right under Federal law.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on TTD Tax, Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart