Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chicago Debt Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chicago Debt Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chicago Debt Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 08, 2010 Business started: 11/10/2005 in IL Business started locally: 11/10/2005 Business incorporated 12/01/2009 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Attorney Registration & Disciplinary Commission
130 E Randolph St, Ste 1500, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.iardc.org
Phone Number: (800) 826-8625

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Freydin, Attorney at Law
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Freydin, Attorney at Law
Related Businesses
Glanzer & Associates, P.C.
Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy & Taxes Attorneys & Lawyers - Collections Law Attorneys & Lawyers - Divorce/Bankruptcy Attorneys & Lawyers - Divorce/Financial Issues Attorneys & Lawyers - Fair Credit Reporting Act Attorneys & Lawyers - Fair Debt Collection Practice Violations Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy Chapter Seven Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy Chapter Thirteen Attorneys & Lawyers - Identity Theft Credit & Debt Counseling Debt Management Plans Bankruptcy Assistance & Services Debt Repayment Plan Foreclosure Services Attorneys & Lawyers Attorneys & Lawyers - Consumer Fraud Offices of Lawyers (NAICS: 541110)

Additional Information



Chicago Debt Solutions is a law firm that specializes in bankruptcy assistance. Attorney Julie H. Trepeck can help with the following issues: Chapters 7 & 13 Bankruptcies, foreclosure, repossession, wage garnishment, home liens, creditor lawsuits and personal injury representation. Chicago Debt Solutions can also represent clients in the filing of workers compensation and personal injury claims providing aggressive but fair representation in all matters of financial vulnerability and personal injury.

Julie and her colleagues have assisted thousands of clients in different stages of debt and understands the struggles that arise with the various issues surrounding bankruptcy, foreclosure, and other debt problems. Julie achieved her Juris Doctor from the Chicago-Kent College of Law in 2005 and is a member of the American Bankruptcy Institute, the Illinois State Bar Association, Legal Row Networks, and the National Association for Professional Women.

Located in downtown, Chicago Debt Solutions serves individuals across the metropolitan area with three convenient suburban office locations in Schaumberg, Skokie and Warrenville. Chicago Debt Solutions seeks to assist individuals in all areas of debt resolution with tailor-made solutions to the most difficult financial problems.

Visit the website for Chicago Debt Solutions to learn more about Attorney Julie H. Trepeck and schedule an appointment to attain relief from harassing creditors and the stress of precarious credit.


Additional Locations

  • 1320 Tower Road, Suite 136

    Schaumburg, IL 60173 (312) 544-0365

  • 560 W Van Buren St
    # 2

    Chicago, IL 60607

  • 579 W North Ave, Suite 203

    Elmhurst, IL 60126

  • 8707 Skokie Blvd, Suite 305

    Skokie, IL 60077 (312) 544-0365 (312) 544-0365

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Mr. ***** ******* on May 31, 2015 seeking his assistance to file a Chapter 13 bankruptcy. Mr. ******* made an appointment for me to meet him at his office located at *** ** *** *****, Chicago, IL on May 31, 2015 at 11:30pm. When I arrived at Mr. *******'s office he was not there. A lady working there as a receptionist had me fill out some papers and informed me that I would have to leave a $100 retainers fee, which I paid in Cash. (I HAVE THE RECEIPT)As soon as I paid the $100 retainers fee, Mr. ******* would not return any of my telephone calls or reply to 6 emails I sent to him. I REQUESTED A RETURN OF MY $100, VIA EMAILS AND PHONE CALLS TO MR. *******, BUT HE DID NOT REPLY. TO DATE, I HAVE NOT RECEIVED MY $100 REFUND. I AM REQUESTING THE IMMEDIATE REFUND OF $100 FROM MR. ***** ******* AND THE RETURN OF ALL THE PAPERS MR. *******'S RECEPTIONIST HAD ME FILL OUT. THESE PAPERS CONTAIN MY CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION. I FURTHER REQUEST, ALL RECORDS WITH MY SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, DRIVERS LICENSE AND ADDRESS SHALL BE PERMANENTLY DESTROYED.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I AM REQUESTING THE IMMEDIATE REFUND OF $100 FROM MR. ***** ******* AND THE RETURN OF ALL THE PAPERS MR. *******'S RECEPTIONIST HAD ME FILL OUT. THESE PAPERS CONTAIN MY CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION. I FURTHER REQUEST, ALL RECORDS WITH MY SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, DRIVERS LICENSE AND ADDRESS SHALL BE PERMANENTLY DESTROYED.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/26) */ Mr. ******** had a scheduled consultation at our downtown office on June 1st, 2015. He met with our associate attorney, ******* ******** for a consultation discussing his finances and the bankruptcy representation. After the consultation, Mr. ******** agreed to retaining our services and scheduling monthly payments towards our attorneys. Once the specified attorney fee has been paid in full by the client, we will prepare the required documents and file his case. NO communication was made by the Mr. ********, as he previously stated in his complaint, until June 17th when he contacted our office to cancel representation. We explained to Mr. ******** that we will proceed with request and issue him a refund, this process would take a couple of days taking into account our cancellation process and delivery time using USPS. Mr. ******** agreed and said he would wait. We then began the cancellation of his case and issued and mailed out a check to Mr. ******** 4 business days after his request. Mr. ******** left no paperwork as he previously stated. The retainer fee has been refunded in the form of check in the amount of $100 sent USPS, which should be arriving soon. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never got my money back and i called and emailed them for 2 weeks with no response a week later i got a call from them saying they were ready to file my case by then i had already hired someone else. The person i did meet with wasnt an attorney and could not answer any questions i had about my situation. There are a lot of untruths to the response the attorney stated here and i still havent recieved my 100 dollars back. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/07/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ** ****,Paralegal Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: *******@freydinlaw.com Mr. ********'s request has been completed and a refund check was sent out within days of his initial request. We had informed Mr. ******** of the cancellation process and that our office would issue him a company check for his retainer to be sent via United States Postal Service. Mr. ******** requested the cancellation of our legal services on Wednesday, June 17th and a refund was mailed out to him via USPS on Tuesday, June 23rd. No documents were left at our office during Mr. ********'s initial consultation, thus no paperwork is to be returned. Mr. ******** is no longer being represented by Chicago Debt Solutions.

12/23/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April of 2013 I filed for chapter 13. I was told I had to put my car on my plan even though it was current which I didn't want to do. My original payments on my car was 388.95 so the plan made it 220.00 & including trustee fee $315. I did pay for some months and I fell behind because of my work hours. I told ***** two before the dismissal that I wanted to take my car out but she didn't do so until October. But I was calling capital one about my payments. I talked to a lady on the 20th of November who informed me that the system was updating and they couldn't tell me anything. So today at 12:30 pm capital one finance called me and told me I owed $3000.00 which included late fees. The guy told me that my payments was the same even on chapter 13 and it goes back from the time I got on chapter 13 to now. My question is are they paying because the guy told me nothing was paid and that's why I'm owing so much. I'm Co fuse because nothing is adding up correctly at all. I emailed my lawyer for her to tell me some cap and also tells me it's between me and the finance company now.

Desired Settlement: Help in the amount. Information

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, Owner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@trepecklaw.com On March 28th, 2013, Ms. ****** filed a ch 13 with our office. At that time, she had a vehicle loan and according to local practices, the car would be required BOTH by the trustee AND the finance company to be IN the chapter 13 plan. As such, Ms ****** was advised. And, she signed off on the filing of a chapter 13 plan with those terms. Under the Plan, Ms. ****** was to make a payment of $329/month for 60 months. Those payments were to start April 28, 2013. Ms. ****** made TWO payments over the entire life of her chapter 13 case---one payment of $315 (not even a full payment) in April 2013 and then not another payment until July 2013 which was also a less-than-complete payment in the amount of $229. After a few months of not receiving any funds, Due to non-payment, the finance company filed a Motion to Lift Stay so that it could proceed w/ collections outside of the bankruptcy. Ms. ****** could not get current w/ her trustee payments and so the Stay was lifted at that time against the car. The finance company was still processing their side of everything and Ms. ****** grew impatient as she was warned that this would all take time. Additionally, she was warned what could possibly happen IF she did, in fact, allow the stay to be lifted against the vehicle. She was warned about repossession and having full funds ready to get current on the vehicle, losing ALL bankruptcy protection against the vehicle. She was advised fully about her rights and she decided to continue to not pay the chapter 13 plan and allow the car to be removed (ie. stay lifted). The trustee on her case then filed a motion to dismiss for failure to make plan payments, as the debtor / Ms. ****** had a large default on her plan and was neglecting to make payments. Unfortunately, the bankruptcy court does not allow debtors to have the bankruptcy protection and be protected by it when the payments are not being made to the trustee. Ms. ****** was provided, again, the opportunity to get current w/ her plan. She did not. She indicated she wanted to convert. So, I got a continuance (the longest the Trustee would agree to) of three weeks for the conversion to be done. Ms. ****** never got us documents or fees for said conversion, and therefore, it could not be filed. Further, with no conversion and no funds to get the plan current, or a good faith showing of funds toward the default, we had no defense to the motion to dismiss and the trustee would not just give an indefinite amount of time to come up with funds or convert. The debtor did not abide by the terms of her chapter 13 plan and therefore, is looking to place blame on someone else. Once the finance company had the dismissal and the stay lifting processed in their system, then could speak with the debtor directly. And, it seems they have provided the debtor with some mis-information. All creditors get paid in a chapter 13 according to the rules of priority and that is the same that happened here. In fact, when the debtor does not make the payments toward their chapter 13 plan, creditors cannot even get paid at that, priority or not. Ms. ****** NEVER made a full trustee payment. And, in the 7 months where her case was alive she was required to pay a total of $2303.00. Of that, she ONLY paid $544.00, which hardly leaves room for her creditors, including her vehicle, to be paid through the Plan. Before the chapter 13 case was dismissed, I, personally, explained to Ms. ****** what that meant for her and that she would no longer be represented by our office. ALL of this advice is documented via emails, text messages, etc and is all written so that it was very clear. All emails and texts were additionally, acknowledged by Ms. ******. I have gone above and beyond since the dismissal of this case to assist the debtor in any way that I can and to help her get the information she wants. I have provided her w/ the site where she can have an account and see exactly how payments were made on her bankruptcy, when her payments were received, etc. However, Ms. ****** is looking for free legal representation of which I am unable to provide to her. We have done more than what is required and necessary of us in our representation of her on this case AND afterwards. When she lost bankruptcy protection she was advised that she would need to deal with the finance company for her vehicle directly to work this out with them and get current. And, she was certainly advised that the amount owed could be quite large. Again, when payments do not get made in a bankruptcy by the debtor, there are NO funds to distribute to creditors. She still owes the balance of her attorneys' fees to us for the bankruptcy as a whole, which would have been paid through the plan as well. So, just like the car finance company and all the other creditors in the plan, when the plan got dismissed and Ms. ****** did not make her payments, we did not get paid. In fact, the ONLY creditor that received ANY funds was the finance company for the vehicle. So, for 9 months, the only funds received by the car company was the $544.00 All of this is evidenced by the trustee's accounting on her website showing all the financials of a debtor's case. The Stay was lifted in the bankruptcy against the vehicle as the debtor wanted, and just because the finance company did not have records of that does NOT mean that the debtors wishes were not fulfilled and that we did not represent her as she wished, advising her along the way. When payments are not made in the bankruptcy and then the bankruptcy is dismissed or the stay is lifted, the creditor is entitled to tack on late fees or any other fees that would have been incurred if the bankruptcy had not been in place. Had the debtor completed and fulfilled her obligation in the bankruptcy, as she obligated herself to under the contract with our office and under the chapter13 plan that she signed off on with the trustee and the COurt, those fees would have been avoided. However, she did not. And the creditor is entitled to tack on what has gone missed. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I told her I didnt want to put my car on the plan because it was current at the time. My mom told her also she couldnt put the car on it because the car is in my mom name and she didnt get no consent to add the car to the plan. So how can she put a debt on somebody plan with somebody else name on the item. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/09) */ The debtor's car was required, by the court, to be paid IN the plan. And, it was structured in the plan to protect the cosignor. As the attorney it is not my job to make the laws or rules, I just follow them. That is why debtors hire attorneys to help them through this and to be sure everything is done in accordance with the laws and correct procedures of the court. Whether the car was current or not before the case was filed, the court requires the car to be IN the chapter 13 plan. The debtor provided consent for the car both verbally and written as she signed off to the filing of the plan as discussed with the debtor on the phone to provide the details AND when the debtor signed off on the documents. Debts are in chapter 13 plans all the time where more than one person holds the debt/where there are co-signers. So, again, as the attorney, and as it was explained to the debtor/client before filing, this is what was required. If I could get the court to change the rules I would but this is the established practice by the Northern District of Illinois.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Chicago Debt Solutions
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)