This business is not BBB accredited.


Additional Locations

Phone: (312) 853-0200 Fax: (312) 873-4693 105 W Madison St Fl 23, Chicago, IL 60602 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for BillBusters include:

  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on BillBusters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 23, 2003 Business started: 05/01/1985 Business started locally: 05/01/1985 Business incorporated 08/23/2007 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Attorney Registration & Disciplinary Commission
130 E Randolph St, Ste 1500, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (800) 826-8625

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Ernesto D. Borges, Owner Mrs. Tammy Mazur, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ernesto D. Borges, Owner
Related Businesses
Ledford, Wu and Borges, LLC
Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy & Taxes Attorneys & Lawyers - Personal Injury & Property Damage Attorneys & Lawyers - DUI Loan Modification Attorneys & Lawyers Attorneys & Lawyers - Real Estate Attorneys & Lawyers - Wills, Trust & Probate Offices of Lawyers (NAICS: 541110)

Alternate Business Names
Law Offices of Ernesto D. Borges Jr, P.C.

Additional Locations


    105 W Madison St Fl 23

    Chicago, IL 60602


    4323 W Irving Park Rd # 1A

    Chicago, IL 60641


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/1/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/1/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/1/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/1/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
3/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: property **** ********************** XXXXX all i need was a motion/ approval letter judge granted back in january 2014 for different property the seller decide cancel in feb 2014 she wanted more money. so i email bill buster the new attorney is LORINA Hernadez who does not take phone calls always busy never listen to voice mails nor reply to email. it only take a couple of days this matter should be completed before the holiday.

Desired Settlement: just want a motion letter/ approval for my home

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 7, 2014/06/12) */ From: ******* ******* <**********> Date: Tue, Jun 10, 2014 at 1:55 PM Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# 94502723 (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX) To: "Better Business Bureau (Do Not Reply To This Email Address)" <***********> Thanks they have resolved the issue

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* ***** *** **** ***** ****** Chicago, IL 60628 XXX-XXX-XXXX January 16, 2014 *** ******* of ******* ** ******, *** PC Bill Busters 105 W. Madison Street - 23rd Floor Chicago, IL XXXXX Re: ******* ***** Extortion request of $865.00 Dear Mr. ******: I am totally amazed and furious at your recent statement to me saying I owe you $865.00. For what???? You did no work for me - I never returned to your office on Western Avenue, you filed now bankruptcy documents on my behalf and, in fact, I negotiated a settlement with my creditors without your office. I called your office after and requesting my down payment back stating I had changed my mind about the bankruptcy and was told I couldn't have it back. This was astonishing especially since your ads always said the consultation was free. This has been more than 3 years ago because all my bills are paid in full - NO THANKS TO YOU!!!! I want my initial deposit returned to me in full and a statement from you saying that you know you didn't do any work for me and I don't you a penny. Should I not hear from you within the next 21 days, I will turn this matter over to the Attorney Registration and Disciplinary Commission. From what I've read, I'm not the only one who has problems from your office. Maybe we can all get together and file a class action suit. Just because you're an attorney, does not give you the right to rob people. I look forward to receiving my deposit back as well as a letter saying I owe you no money. Sincerely, ******* *****

Desired Settlement: Please see copy of letter I sent on 1/16/14 lited above.

1/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Chapter 13 Case #11BXXXXX was signed on by me on 8/8/11. I signed for $1109 per month, which has been a struggle for the past 24+ months. Recently I was notified that I owed over $4000 in past due pymts. A court date was set for 9/10/13. I asked to be in court as I know I signed for $1109 but was talked out of it. I assured him I have everything that I signed. The letter I received alleged I signed for $1845 for 5 yrs. I did not! I would have to become homeless in order to pay that. I would NEVER knowingly agree to something I couldn't handle! No responsible entity would wait over 2 yrs. to tell someone they are paying $736/mo. too little! The Sr. Atty said he would be going for a continuance date on 9/10/13 and there was no reason for me to come. I complained to him constantly about the fact that I sent their office all increases in medical obligations and in my mortgage to Atty **** ****** and nothing was done on my behalf. I received a bunch of false promises. The Sr. Atty,******* **** asked that I trust him and give him a chance. He said that Atty **** ****** was no longer with them. I did trust him and now my case has been dismissed and I am even more stressed out! From day 1 the case was botched. I told the Sr. Atty in the interview of all the extreme medical bills including my upcoming shoulder surgery 8/29/11. After that, I had to undergo physical therapy for 9.5 months straight-3 days per week. The therapy, medication and transportation was very costly! I forwarded all documents to them in early 2012 when my mortgage increased by $150 monthly as well as the unanticipated medical bills. I was told, "we can go to court to modify the plan." Well, it has not happenened 27 months later. Once I received the letter stating my case was dismissed, I repeatedly called Billbusters trying to find the Sr. Atty whom I trusted and was always told he was in a meeting or in court. Then, I started asking for ******* ****** (the owner). He was always said to be in a meeting. I did not let up! One day I was finally allowed to speak to ****** ****, the Sr. Atty. He promised to go to court and try to modify my plan. He told me not to make another payment until I heard from him. He said he needed some check stubs, and I sent them to him right away. I told him that they were not accurate as the overtime hours stopped. He told me to send him a couple of future stubs when they become available. Meanwhile, there was a government shutdown (I am a Federal employee). Everyone knows that there was no pay during the shutdown. I had to go to work everyday in hopes that the Congress would pass legislation to pay me eventually. Noone in America should have missed that! Apparently my representatives did as my case was dismissed shortly thereafter. If it was because I did not send additional stubs to him, there were none! After the dismissal and once I was "allowed" to speak to him, I immediately faxed stubs to him and expained to him about the shutdown. Meanwhile, what responsible firm would ruin a client's case when they can call or have someone call me at one of the 3 telephone numbers they have on file? They have called and reached me before with my problem. This whole thing seems like a scam to me! He/they saw that the original atty assigned messed up my case and I suppose they are covering for him. Hopefully, I am wrong and this will be rectified. I was optimistic because I had an "in-person" meeting set up with Atty. **** on November 15th. Someone named ********* called and cancelled that and assured me that after his "341" meetings he would definitely call me. 1 week has passed! The creditors are calling me again. Collections is sending harrassing mail. Attorneys are soliciting my business. I paid in good faith for services from a "reputable" firm. That is what I am still expecting or a refund. I have asked to see how my money was dispursed so far to no avail. I am sure they have taken theirs first. Help me! This is serious!

Desired Settlement: The cash settlement I am seeking would cover all of my money that they have taken for themselves and the trustee! I am not keen on starting another 5-yr plan as this has been a horrible 27 months. 7 years would be devestating! They should be able to go back and correct the $1109 to a lesser amount as they are the ones who mishandled my case. Or, the next 3 yrs should be such that I can live with the ability to pay my mortgage, heat, gas, lights, maintain my almost 10-yr old car, maintain my 29-yr old and have money for medical treatment and necessities. I cannot pay another firm to properly handle what they were paid to do.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/03) */ In response to Ms. ******* ******* complaint, I offer the following: On or about August 1, 2011, Ms. ***** visited our satellite office to file a Chapter 13 bankruptcy on her behalf. On August 8, 2011, we filed a Chapter 13 petition for relief Case Number: 13 B XXXXX. Ms. ***** had what is known as a "step-plan" in her bankruptcy case. It is called this because at a fixed point in time, her payment increases due to circumstances outside of the case. In her specific circumstance, Ms. ***** was repaying a loan, and once those payments were complete, the money she was using to repay that loan then needed to pay towards the balance of her debt. Her plan called for payments of $1,109.00 per month for 20 months and $1,845.00 for the remainder of the plan. On September 4, 2013, Ms. *****' case was up for dismissal. Attorney **** left a message for Ms. ***** to inform her of the status of her case. On September 5, 2013, Attorney **** was informed by Ms. ***** that she could no longer afford the payment. Attorney **** informed the client to send in an updated financial record as evidence for a motion to modify her plan. On September 10, 2013, the matter was continued so that Attorney **** could review the Debtor's paystubs which were faxed to him at the last minute. After review of the paystubs, Ms. ***** income proved to be more then sufficient to maintain her current payments, but Ms. ***** disagreed. On September 23, 2013 Ms. ***** indicated that she would send in other updated paystubs showing further decline of income. Ms. ***** also requested a copy of the payout information from the Trustee at this time, this was emailed to her the same day without delay.. On October 8, 2013, the matter was up in court, but continued. On October 29, 2013, the matter was up in court but again, no updated stubs had been received. Subsequently this matter was then dismissed notice was sent to the Debtor of the Dismissal. On November 6, 2013, Ms. ***** contacted the office irate about her dismissal, accusing the firm that it was their fault the payments been missed. Attorney **** advised that he could vacate the dismissal order and have her case reinstated if she delivered the missing paystubs. Those stubs were faxed in on November 7, 2013. On November 7, 2013, Attorney **** reviewed the paycheck stubs whicht again showed that modification to a lower payment was indeed impossible due to the amount of income Ms. ***** was earning. Ms. ***** was advised of her options, of which were to move forward with a higher payment, or to start over at a lower payment. Ms. ***** did not agree with these options, and wanted to file Chapter 7 bankruptcy instead. She advised her expenses had risen and she had "gotten used to a certain lifestyle". On November 8, 2012, Ms. ***** faxed the necessary documents whereupon Attorney **** reviewed to see if a Chapter 7 was an option, and due to the very high income of the Ms. *****, it was not. Attorney **** informed Ms. ***** of this at which point she wanted to see again how her money had been applied in the Chapter 13 case and believed that our firm had neglected the case. On November 15, 2013, Attorney **** set an appointment for Ms. ***** to come into the office to review everything face to face at 11:00a.m. Ms. ***** advised she would be taking an extended lunch to be able to make the meeting. Attorney **** was attending a 341 meeting for another client at 10:00am and was running late. He called the office to his if the office assistant could set a rescheduled date for Ms. *****. Ms. ***** refused to reschedule at that time and asked that she just be called back at a later date. Attorney **** has spent the majority of the week outside of the office in court and at creditors meetings and was unable to contact Ms. ***** again at this time. The representation of Ms. ***** did in fact cease with the dismissal of her case, and Attorney **** was forced to focus his attention on the clients of the firm. Attorney **** was more than willing to work with Ms. *****, but it now appears that is no longer the case for Ms. *****. Ms. ***** was represented by this law firm for over two years, the firm's fees were granted by the Judge in her matter, and no refund is warranted. Very truly yours, ******* ** ******, *** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2013/12/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The majority of the response is not true. But, I am trying to get the case continued and have been talking to ******* ******, as his Sr. Atty is not talking to me at all.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on BillBusters
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)