This business is not BBB accredited.

A Fresh Start

Phone: (224) 634-6670 Fax: (224) 441-9044 PO Box 2, Barrington, IL 60011 View Additional Email Addresses http://seanfleminglaw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for A Fresh Start include:

  • Failure to respond to 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for A Fresh Start include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A Fresh Start
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 13, 2010 Business started: 04/01/2009 Business started locally: 04/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Attorney Registration & Disciplinary Commission
130 E Randolph St, Ste 1500, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.iardc.org
Phone Number: (800) 826-8625

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Sean P. Fleming, Owner/Attorney
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sean P. Fleming, Owner/Attorney
Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy Offices of Lawyers (NAICS: 541110)

Alternate Business Names
Law Office of Sean P. Fleming

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 2

    Barrington, IL 60011

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired **** ******* on 8/14/2014 to represent me in my bankruptcy case. The agreed fee of $500 was paid in full on 8/14/2014. He sent me rough draft paperwork on 9/15/2014, when i then told him i was going through a separation and needed to wait a few months to file. I have been emailing and calling **** since January 2015 to proceed with the case, and he has not responded or returned any of my phone calls or emails.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my case to be filed by ****, or my Fee that was paid to him to be refunded so i can seek other representation.

3/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid Mr ******* 835.00 back in October to file my bankruptcy, was told he would start to work on my case, tried on several attempts to reach him to no avail, on November 28th, after texting and calling him several times he finally sent me a text stating that he was working on my paperwork, and would mail it to me, I gave him a few weeks more then I attempted to call him several more times the next conversation we had was on December 22nd, He ask me was I filing 7 or 13, asked my address to mail the info to and that's when I started to get suspicious, against my gut feeling I still waited it wasn't until the 4th of Jan, that I requested my refund in writing, texting, email and AGAIN several calls,after sending him 2 letters, I sent the 3rd needing a signature, he then contacted me on Feb 4th stating that he would be sending me my original documents but he didn't say anything about my refund, I've gone by the office several times no one is never there, I'm desperate and don't know what to do next...Thanks ***** ******

Desired Settlement: This whole experience has been stressful, just want my money back so that I can find a reputable lawyer to address my situation.

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I retained the services of **** ** ******* for bankruptcy 2/6/10. I provided the retainer fee of $50 and agreed to pay the rest of the amount in monthly payments. He was paid in full on 3/7/11 in which I paid by money order. My bankruptcy case was never completed and as a result, I was served for one of the items I included in my chapter 7. When I informed **** of this, he stated to fax over the papers so he can take a look at them. Haven't heard from him since October. I paid altogether $949 and I wish to have that money returned. As well as far as his two office locations stated on his website, they are non-existent. At the Monroe location, I was greeted by 2 gentlemen who asserted that **** *******'s office was not in that suite and that they did not know why he would list that address as his office location. Not sure if they were telling the truth or not.

Desired Settlement: I would like the total amount paid refunded. I would say I'd like my case completed but he is totally unreliable.

11/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: in early march of 2013 I seek for legal representation to resolve my financial situation after a consultation with mr **** ******* at A FRESCH STARTa review of my situation was done . and decision was to file bankruptcy in march 5 2013 I pay the amount of $806.00 and and delivered all documentation necessary to complete the case including online courses needed to file as of today absolutely nothing has been done after several calls emails and text asking to contact me to resolve this matter I have not succeeded in getting him to talk to me I am tired of waiting since that wait has cost me more money since he never dis anything to stop the garnishment on my paycheck I think is very clear that I need to look for another attorney to resolve my financial situation and for that all I need from mr **** ******* is my money back

Desired Settlement: very simple just my money back since he has proved that is not able to return a simple phone call

11/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid Atty. ******* for his services to file a Chapter 13 on my behalf back in August 2013, it is now October and he has not filed my case and he will not return my messages.

Desired Settlement: If he is not going to file the case as promised, then please return my money so I can hire someone who will.

11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** was very unresponsive when we tried asking for our balance to finish paying off our retainer. After a week and several emails to ****, my husband and I decided to use a different attorney. We contacted **** via certified mail and email on 8/23/13, and told him we chose a different path, and would like a refund of all unearned fees. On 8/23/13, **** notified us that we would receive a full refund of all unearned attorney's fees per the contract within 30 days. As of 10/16/2013, we still have not received our refund. We constantly email **** asking where our refund is, and he keeps telling us he either will put it in the mail, or has put it in the mail.

Desired Settlement: All my husband and I would like from **** ******* is a refund of unearned attorney's fees per the contract, and a statement of all fees earned.

11/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we signed chapter 7 contract on 10/6/12. 2 payments of 400 and 1 payment of 306, was paid. on 11/5/12 my credit conseling was completed and emailed to ****. i gave him all old bills, and any paperwork required. last excuse i recieved was on 8/15/13 by email, which reads "sorry i was on vacation. will email you the case number ASAP. thanks **** sent from my iphone". now he wont call me or email me.i have all emails to back up my words. on 11/13/12 **** emailed me "im finishing up your paperwork" on 11/18/12 another email, "well have your paperwork ready this week, and should be able to file soon after that" this have been going on for too long. i did not haggle,i agreed to his price, then paid it. i paid for service. service has not been rendered.

Desired Settlement: give back my almost 1200 dollars. and all check stubs and all old bills


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on A Fresh Start
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)