Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Unique Repair Services

Phone: (847) 621-2900 Fax: (847) 621-2902 View Additional Phone Numbers 1447 Howard St, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007 http://www.uniquerepair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Unique Repair Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Unique Repair Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on Unique Repair Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 10, 2006 Business started: 08/30/1994 Business started locally: 08/30/1994 Business incorporated 03/17/1995 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Lora Bradford, Operations Director Mr. Leo Plotkin, President
Contact Information
Principal: Lora Bradford, Operations Director
Business Category

Appliances-Major-Service & Repair Appliances - Small - Supplies & Parts Photographic Equipment - Repair Appliances - Small - Service & Repair Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies Appliance Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811412)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Unique Repair Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1447 Howard St

    Elk Grove Village, IL 60007

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an extended warranty from Frigidare costing $170.00 on or about August 11th 2015. They contracted Unique Repair Services to perform the service. The earliest appointment available was 8/11/15. When the Tech arrived he said there was nothing he could do since the refrigerator was not defrosted. ( never was instructed to defrost ) He would order all 3 possible parts required to make the necessary repair. A week later upon his next visit all 3 parts received, he discovered the part needed was shipped incorrectly. Another appointment was scheduled for 8/31/15, upon tech's arrival to repair he discovered wrong part sent again. It is nearly impossible to speak with anyone at this company due to their automated answering service. I have tried all options available on their phone system, any department accessed is on another call and/or unavailable, or looped back through the system and instructed to leave a message or call back during normal business hours. I have never called them outside the hours of 9-5 but cannot reach anyone to let them know of their continued failures. The only way my appointments were scheduled was when they called back ( usually within 24 hours )

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my refrigerator repaired ! It seems unprofessional and unreasonable due the service company's incompetence to have a customer wait 20-27 days for a repair that will take less than a half hour

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/09) */ Contact Name and Title:************** Ops Directo Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@uniquerepair.com On 8/12/15 our technician diagnosed and order correct parts for repair. Upon return on 8/19/15 for part installation technician discovered the wrong part was inside the package send by manufacturer. Part was reordered. On 8/31/15 tech arrived and found the part inside the package was mislabeled again. He notified parts manager. Our Quality Assurance Manager called Mr. ******* and apologized for the inconvenience. Our parts manager was able to find the correct part and had a special delivery arranged for the tech to get it and return on the same day to install it. The repair was completed on 8/31/15. Unfortunately not everything is controlled by us. We are not compensated for any extra/return trips. Situations of this nature are very costly to us, but we take care of our customers just as we did with Mr. *******. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/09/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

7/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company was sent to my home by ******* to process a warranty repair on my leaking ******* dishwasher model*************** that was purchased brand new 10 months ago and is covered under a 12 month manufacturer warranty. Meaning that the service is of no charge to me and to be billed to ******* since they are contracted with Unique Repair Services. Repair man ******* came to my home 1:30pm Wednesday 7/1/15. He told me he needed to replace the bracket rails for the top rack. Before he went on with the repair he made note of and acknowledged to me that he is not responsible or liable for the visible water damage on my hardwood floor which was caused by the dishwasher leak(which is why I needed service in the first place). I agreed and told him that ******* is aware of the damaged floor and they have taken responsibility for it. He continued on, and in order for him to replace the part he needed to remove the entire dishwasher unit from the countertop and cabinets and pull it away from the wall. He expressed to me he was having a difficult time taking it out but he managed to get it. He went on with replacing the part, ran a test cycle, and when that was successful he proceeded to re-install my dishwasher back against the wall. He clearly had a difficult time just as he did removing it. In the process of him mounting it back on the underside of my countertop, he clearly slipped his drill and knicked the edge of the counter taking out a chunk of my countertop because the missing piece is immediately above the screw used to mount the dishwasher. When he stood up and showed me he was finished I immediately noticed the missing piece on my counter that was not there when he arrived to my home. I showed him the piece on the floor that perfectly lined up to where it belongs on the countertop. He wanted me to sign the paperwork so he can leave but I told him I'm not signing so he went out to his truck and made a call. As he was walking out he gave me an attitude and told me it was like that when he came into my home. This damage is very noticeable, so the fact that he noticed a water damaged floor and told me he isn't liable for that, but failed to notice a cracked countertop in his immediate eyesight directly in the work area is a clear indicator that he is at fault. This crack is very obvious and if it was there when he arrived as he claimed then he surely would have included it along with the water damaged floor in his liability notes when he first entered my home. When he came back in he told me that he needs to bill me for parts and labor $284.45 since my dishwasher didn't have the serial number and therefore he would be unable to bill *******. I told him ******* has it on file so they can verify it. He then offered me a resolution. He said that since there is damage he wouldn't bill me the $284.45 and that instead apply that to compensate me for my countertop. I refused. He went outside again and made a call. He came back in and told me he will have to take out the new parts and put back on my old ones. I refused him touching anything else in my home since he already caused damage. He made yet another call, came back in and asked if I will sign so he can leave. Instead of signing I made a handwritten statement on his paper that Unique is not liable for my water damaged floor only and I do not agree to any other terms. He left and I called Unique Repair and asked to speak with a manager.***** called me back and left a message. It is now Friday 7/3/15 and 2 days have passed. I have been trying to contact him for the last 2 days and he is not returning my numerous calls and voicemails. According to customer service***** is the only manager at Unique and the only person I can talk to. I am shocked and frustrated that I have to contact Unique and they aren't taking any accountability for this damage or making any effort to contact me to resolve this and get my side of the story. Extremely poor customer service!!!

Desired Settlement: Unique needs to submit the bill to********* not me, for the parts and labor $284.45 that was initially presented to me since the provided service is covered under the 12 month manufacturer warranty. They were made aware this is a warranty repair when******** sent them to come into my home so that is not questionable. In regards to the serial number, I have contacted******** and they have my dishwasher's serial number in their system. Regardless of the bill, Unique Repair Services is ultimately responsible for the countertop damage caused by their technician ******* and they need to remedy this. My entire kitchen countertop needs to be replaced because the damage caused cannot simply be fixed. The damage is not merely on the surface its a deep gouge in my countertop. In order to resolve this matter, I will have a licensed contractor of my choice come into my home and provide an estimate of the costs to replace my countertop. Unique Repair Service will be responsible for these costs since their company caused the damage. I will not accept $284.45 as compensation when I need to have an entire new countertop installed. If it is necessary for Unique Repair Services to contact me, please do not have***** call me because I find his lack of customer service and timeliness highly offensive and unprofessional and it is the complete opposite of how any manager should treat their customers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/15) */ Contact Name and Title:************** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@uniquerepair.com In order for the repair to be covered by warranty the serial number and the model number must be checked by us and the tag picture should be taken as a prove to file the warranty claim. Upon completion of the repair our technician discovered the tag was missing. The customer was informed of warranty requirement and the customer's responsibility to pay for the repair as a result of missing tag. Customer refused to pay. We offered to remove the parts at no charge, even we did the diagnoses and spend time installing the parts, if no payment is made. Our technician was kicked out of the house and chipped counter damage claim was made. At this time the claim is with******** warranty. If the claim will be paid by******** no charges to customer are due. If the claim will be rejected, customer is responsible for payment. We will look at the damage claim as we always do if the damage occurs due to our action(s). We must get paid by warranty or by the customer (Kevin Bombeck/****** *******), if******** warranty rejects the claim, for the dishwasher repair in order to begin the damage claim process. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) These excuses are becoming ridiculous. Its not my problem your technician didn't follow protocol and decided to check for the serial number AFTER he completed the repair. Take that up with him, not me. The entire issue with serial number is irrelevant to Unique Repair because******** was aware of the serial number when they sent you to my home. Why else would they categorize this as a warranty repair? Aside from the serial number matter,******** has been informing me that for the past WEEK they have attempted numerous times to contact Unique Repair sending emails and leaving voicemails but have yet to get a response.******** has it noted in their system on the ticket number XXXXXXXXXX to pay the invoice. They are simply waiting for Unique to resubmit it so they can process the payment. Since they have yet to receive the resubmitted invoice, they have been trying to reach Unique with no success to inform them to send it. Every one of my conversations with **** from Unique has been a total waste of time and quite insulting to hear him flat out tell me he doesn't handle billing and is not the company contact******** has on file. Yet you people have me dealing with him why?? If he is unable to resolve this please stop wasting my time with him and put me in contact with the necessary employee at Unique to properly resolve this. Its really quite simple as I've stated yet **** is for some reason telling me he has not received any call or email from******** when******** clearly has it documented in their system that they attempted to contact Unique Repair multiple times. Its not my place to act as the middleman between you and******** and it truly seems as though Unique has no desire to resolve this and their only priority is receiving their payment. Well my priority is having the damage fixed in my home. That is unavoidable on your end and it should be handled timely. Manager **** and your technician ******* already took accountability and responsibility for it so the damage is not questionable. The damage and invoice are two separate matters and if Unique Repair doesn't contact******** to resubmit the invoice then its clear who is making this difficult here. And it obviously isn't me. One more thing, I'm honestly tired of every conversation I've had with Unique being initiated by me. And sorry calling me back after I leave a voicemail doesn't count. It would be nice if Unique showed some effort in helping me get this solved rather than running from the facts and avoiding********. Its not my place to be involved in this billing issue. This is between******** and Unique, not the client and Unique. So take responsibility for the situation already its been long enough. It would be nice if Unique Repair could call me with updates and tell me they are working on this instead of sitting back and waiting for a check to show up in their bank account. So just to be clear, this is what needs to be done for Unique Repair to get their payment: Resubmit the invoice to********. Call******** and tell them once you have submitted the invoice for ticket XXXXXXXXXX so they can find it in their system. They will confirm with you it will be processed for payment. Unique Repair then contact ****** ******* once that is complete and proceed to move forward with the damage claim. If there are any issues with Unique Repair following these steps, please contact me immediately so I can help remedy this right away instead of me waiting days and having to call you for an update. I truly hope Unique Repair will step up and take accountability for their involvement in this situation and help get this taken care of in a timely manner. Please make this a top priority. This has been going on since 7/1 and the only progress being made is on my end. Unique has had 2 weeks already to work on this and we have gotten nowhere. Please put this case in the hands of someone other than **** to get the ball rolling. Again, please contact me with any questions or any updates. I am trying to avoid litigation, but my patience is running low here and Unique Repair's lack of communication and effort may leave me no other option. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/07/17) */ Contact Name and Title: **** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@uniquerepair.com Today******** approved the claim for payment. In order to begin this damage claim process we'll need a written estimate for repair of the counter top.

7/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mike at Unique Repair sent a young man to service my ceramic cooktop. The young man arrived, took a picture of the cooktop and left. When Samsung refused to honor their warranty, Mike simply stated same and offered to repair the unit at my cost. When I objected, he explained that they did a lot of business with Samsung and were not going to help me. I made subsequent calls and appeals to Samsung. Samsung stated that Unique blamed me for the physical damage that was done to the unit in a report sent to Samsung by Unique. When I called to ask if this was the truth, Mike denied it. He then went on to admit that many Samsung customers complain that their ceramic cooktops break but that Samsung does not repair their products according to their warranty.

Desired Settlement: I expect Unique to make a fair and honest reporting of the environment in which they found my stove, e.g., there are no shelves or microwaves above the stove that would lead to accidental falling objects damaging the unit, that the unit was cleanly split from the center of the burner with no sign of fracturing or splintering that would indicate that the unit had been struck, and that Samsung should honor their warranty. I also expect a copy of the report that was sent to Samsung originally and any other documentation of any kind that was exchanged between the companies.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/05) */ Contact Name and Title: Lora ***************** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ************************** On 3/09 our Technician determined that Mrs. ******* cook top was cracked and placed the part order for replacement. Per Samsung warranty requirement pictures of the damaged cook top were submitted for authorization before the warranty approved the order. Samsung declined the approval. It is not our role to determine how it was damaged. We are not present at the time of occurrence and have no way to come to such a conclusion with this kind of damage. We can only report our findings and provide pictures, when required. Per our electronic records on 4/8/15 Mrs. ***** had a phone conversation with our Quality Assurance manager and he explained to her that we did not say anything to Samsung. The only thing we did was have our tech take a pictures of the glass cook top and we sent them in to Samsung to be the judge on whether or not the crack appeared on its own or if it was impact damage. After submitting the pictures to Samsung, they declared it was an impacted damage and they would not cover parts or labor. Samsung Tech. review is conducted by Samsung and we play no role in its conclusions We have no additional records or documents to provide Mrs. ***** with. The record of conversation with Mrs. ***** is reported in this reply.She also has a copy of our invoice stating that a cook top needs to be replaced to fix it. However as we stated this order was not authorized by Samsung. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I WANT AN EXACT COPY OF THE REPORT THAT WAS SENT TO SAMSUNG ALONG WITH ANY PHOTOGRAPHS THAT WERE TAKEN OF MY UNIT, THE REPORTING SIGNATURES, ETC. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/06/15) */ The copy of a picture submitted to Samsung Warranty was e-mailed to Mrs. ***** today. She was also informed that no other reports filed other than information she has on a copy of the invoice signed by Mrs. ***** been send to Samsung. We didn't have any conclusions of the causes this crack appeared to offer or report to Samsung. We have not witnessed the occurrence and have no facts to conclude it. The picture was reviewed by Samsung experts who made the decision.

4/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Onor around march 27 called ******* because my refrigerator stop working. They told me that a repair tech would call me and set up schedule date waited all day no call so next day called back repair service they said tech will come on Mon I think it was the 30th not sure of date but was on Mon cause I took off work. So they were supposed to come out between X-XX:XX a.m well around 8:45 got call tech can't make it reschedule 8;30-to 10;30 following day well later that day around 7;45 got msg on phone saying now schedule day 1;00-4:00pm in afternoon. Well when 4;00 hit called them and they told me tech will be 45mins late he came out almost 5:00 .did his check his finding was needed new compressor which was still under warranty and will be around a wkso they can order part. Well after a wk checked back them they told me still haven't came in second wk said not yet 3 wk called back said now 3 of the parts came in waiting on fourth. Called the president of samdung talk to I think it was secretary. ******** sent email was asking what I have to do for refund and explained the situation she didn't seemed really concerned told me just to mail purchase receipt. And it was going to take 15-21 d ays after approval first. I told her that this was none sense. Explained I was a diabetic and need my meds on ice. And that on Easter I had family visit from out of state. And lost between $2XX-XXX of groceries and if they would reinburse me no response. And repair service told me well left msg on phone saying part will be in april23 that is over a month waiting for this repair so i told ***** th.at I will proceed w the process for refund

Desired Settlement: Would like to get refund asap cause still don't have refrigerator and need to purchase and would like to be reinbursed for all the groceries I lost since it was eadter wkn

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/20) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** *** ******* Contact Phone: ************ *** Contact Email: ************************** Upon receiving service request from **** *** ****** on 3/30/2015 the appointment was set-up for 4/01/15. The unit is out of warranty. As required by our policy, **** ****** was charged $129 for the service call. She was explained that in the event of the estimate approval $129.00 will be credited toward labor cost of the repair, if no repair is approved $129.00 charge remains. Seal System repair is covered by manufacturer warranty. Our technician diagnosed the problem and ordered 4 parts for the Seal System repair. One of the parts is on backorder. We've been working with ******* Manufacturer to expedite this part delivery since April 4. The part is expected to arrive on 4/23/15 and provided we receive it as promised, on 4/24 we will be able to install the parts. Unique Repair has no control over the parts availability from the manufacturer. The unit is out of warranty and customer was charged $129.00 service charge for us to come out and diagnose the problem which was done. When the repair is completed and we are paid by *******, **** ****** will be refunded $129.00. If **** ****** declines the repair unit remains on out of warranty status and $129.00 service charge stands. The condition of refund was explained to **** ****** at the time of appointment set-up. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Well when tech came out yes he said the $129.00 was for him just to come out and look at the unit to make diagnose. He did not say for parts and labor because I showed him manual and it specify if part was still under warrant and no charge for parts and labor when I told him he went to his truck I don't know for what I forgot maybe to make copy of the purchase receipt. And he never said it was for parts he just said that they had to order the part which was compressor he never said it was 4 or on2-3 parts. I asked how long it will take he said the most was 2wks which I was fine w that. But after one week I called them to get update they told me they were waiting on third part. Maybe next wk.so following wk they say all three parts came in waiting on fourth so I said well why they first said 1 part then 3 parts now its 4 that's when i decided to forget it they left msg saying part was not be in until 4/23/ but they told me that after I told them I did not want repair done. If they would have told me that it was more than one part to be order I would have understood. But each week they would say first one then three then four. I explained I was a diabetic I need a to keep meds cold. Its like if i didn't call them they would not call or sound like the had really any concerned.. that is why I decided to to not repair. It would seem that if they ordered parts they would come same time give take a day or two not one wk for each part Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/04/21) */ This repair is covered by ******* warranty for the Seal System defect only. All the parts ordered are needed to complete the repair.We understand the circumstances of **** ****** needing the refrigerator fixed. Perhaps addressing the issue by **** ****** directly with ******* of this part being not available and being on back order for that long, would result in expedited resolution or unit replacement. However we do not have any way to control it. In a case of repair completion or unit replacement **** ****** will be refunded $129.00. Until then, it remains in COD status and service charges for diagnosis stand just as if it would be in a situation when COD Customer declines the repair after diagnosis. Our electronic record show all this was explained to **** ****** when she arranged for our services.

4/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted ******* directly in regards to a faulty ice maker on my ********************* refrigerator.After troublshooting with ******* a ticket was issued for service. Unique contacted me to schedule. The night before service, I was contacted by Unique for a copy of my receipt. I sent them via email a picture of my Sears receipt for my 12/5/2014 purchase and my e-receipt. I questioned as to why they needed this since ******* already had this information. They said they couldnt read it. Tech showed up, changed the ice maker with a new part. Their service receipt show my model & serial number and that this is warranty work. Tech calls back later that day and asked for a copy of my receipt. Again??? Why??? I complied and sent it to his phone. He called again, he said his boss is requiring him to stop by to look at the original. I showed him the originals which again are the same receipts I received from Sears and sent to ******* who accepted documents and verified the refrigerator is covered under warranty. He was told to remove the new part and take it with him. Leaving me with the faulty ice maker. Now I have received an invoice for service from Unique. I am not their customer, ******* is their customer. I did not call them for service. In addition, Unique commented on the $129invoice that they came to my house twice to install & unistall ice maker. Then they stated I provided a false receipt. I called ******* and they stated that they should have called them directly if they were suspicious about the receipt. In addition, Unique should not have provided any service or even came to my home if there was any question in the service request that ******* sent them.

Desired Settlement: Quash the invoice to me from Unique and I will send them an invoice for MY time and aggravation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/23) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Contact Phone: **************** Contact Email: ************************** When initial dispatch for service was received,******** had instructions that Prove of Purchase must be provided by the customer. Obviously******** did not accept the warranty covered status as ***.******* states. Customer was contacted and document was e-mailed to us by ***.*******. We contacted ***.******* again with request to provide a receipt that can be visually verified. The second document was not a receipt and didn't have required information such as model # to be considered as prove of purchase The receipt image was not legible. ***.******* stated it will be available when the tech will come for service. The same documents that were send to us were offered to our technician. When Technician returned to collect another document which can be qualified as prove of purchase and what ***.******* promised to provide, it was not available again. Technician gave the estimate to ***.******* for a COD repair cost. ***.******* was understanding but declined the repair. Part was removed. ******* rejected the service claim due to the appliance not being covered by warranty. Documents provided by the unit owner - ***. ******* do not support warranty coverage. URS invoice ***. ******* signed states " I agree any portion of today's charges not paid for by my Warranty Company/Extended Warranty Company will be my responsibility". We are charging ***.******* $129.00 for service/diagnoses call only. Claims and statements in this complaint are misleading and false. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have not received any email documentation to date from Unique Repair Services. The technician did not advise me that I would be invoiced. In fact, I confirmed before he left that I would not be charged anything and he said I would not. I have since had the repair done with another company UNDER WARRANTY. The receipt given to******** was the same receipt from Sears that was given to Unique.******** accepted the receipt as valid and covered the repair under warranty. I had received a phone call from the supervisor- ************** and he apologized for the problem and has stated he will delete the invoice. He was to email me confirmation. I have not received such. Again, I did not contact Unique for services. ******** did with the expectation that the service would be covered under warranty.******** confirmed that they should not have even come to my residence if there was any issue with warranty services. They further stated that they should have not uninstalled the part without contacting them. If they had done so, they would have explained that the warranty is in effect. I should not be held responsible as I did not contract them. They should deal with their contracted vendor -******** regarding this issue. This invoice is not my responsibility for Unique Repair Services mismanagement. Their own supervisor agrees and advised me that the invoice would be removed. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/04/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I look forward to receiving confirmation of my conversation with **** once he returns to the office. He did assure me more than once that the invoice has been removed from my account. In addition, he repeatedly stated that he will personally take care of this issue and I will not receive any other invoice or past due notice. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/04/20) */ On April 9/2015 we contacted ***. ***** ******* and resolved the issue.

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My LG TV's picture went out. I called LG's service department. After describing the problem, they told me it would cost $199 plus tax for the parts (main board) and labor to fix the problem. They could not tell me when one of their technicians would be available at the time so they gave me Unique Repair Service's contact information as an authorized repair contractor. I contacted URS and they told me that someone would be out the next day. They would charge $99 for an estimate which would be applied to labor if they did the repair. I agreed and they sent out a service tech. Although I described the problem, which would require a new main board, along with the model number, he had no parts with him. He took 5 minutes to diagnose the problem, which I already had told them, and determined it would need a new main board, which I already new. He did nothing different than I had done to diagnose the problem, which I had already told the customer service person when I called in. He stated that he would be back next week and failed to provide an estimate for parts and labor. I assumed that it would be close to the price that LG had quoted me. When I received a call to schedule the repair, I was provided an estimate of $200 for labor and $300 for parts, $500 in total. They would apply the $99 estimate charge towards the total, but the net would still be $500. Since that was $300 more than LG, and they weren't able to fix the TV any sooner than LG, I declined. I asked for a partial refund of the estimate charge because they didn't perform any service that couldn't have been done over the phone. I expected that they would have the part with them, since I gave the problem, and told them what was needed, along with the model number. The $99 estimate charge was bait and switch. They assumed that since I had already paid them $99, I would have them replace the part and pay the additional $401. I offered to pay for the service technicians time of 5 minutes and the gas used to get to my home. I requested a partial credit of the $99, which they refused to provide.

Desired Settlement: I am willing to pay for the tecnicians time of 5 minutes plus the gas used to get to my house from his last service call. This amount will be less than $99. I request a refund on the balance.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/31) */ When Mr. ****** called and arranged an appointment with URS for TV service, he was given the same standard information as all of our COD customers do, about service charge of that call and about the repair cost estimate to be given after the diagnoses. We are not LG. We are not responsible for any quotes they may or may not have given to Mr. ******. Mr. ****** had an option to have LG come out for service, but he didn't. "No Picture" defect can be caused by numerous reasons and we need to diagnose it before ordering parts. We didn't promise to have any parts with us on that visit and assumptions that Mr. ****** made are just his assumptions. $99.00 service call charge stands. We came out and did what we promised to do, diagnosed the problem and gave an estimate to fix the problem. Our pricing is based on our business model. We purchase our parts. Our cost of running business is factored in to the prices. We are in business for many years and repeat business is a big part of it. We deliver great service at a reasonable cost and stand behind it.

10/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A request was made initially for repairing a home microwave on 9/25/14 and they asked for the credit car information on the phone to charge after the service is performed. But, we decided to cancel the same day (9/25/14) before any service call was scheduled, since we decided to buy a new microwave. But they charged our credit card for $109.00 on 9/25/14 and in spite of repeated phone calls and messages, we have not gotten a refund for $109.00. Summary - no service was scheduled nor performed by Unique Repair services and we were charged $109. We need a full refund.

Desired Settlement: A request was made initially for repairing a home microwave on 9/25/14 and they asked for the credit car information on the phone to charge after the service is performed. But, we decided to cancel the same day (9/25/14) before any service call was scheduled, since we decided to buy a new microwave. But they charged our credit card for $109.00 on 9/25/14 and in spite of repeated phone calls and messages, we have not gotten a refund for $109.00. Summary - no service was scheduled nor performed by Unique Repair services and we were charged $109. We need a full refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/16) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX As our electronic records demonstrate, URS initiated all the contacts with Mr./Mrs. **** a number of times. After our last conversation on 10/6 it was put in for a refund. This process takes some time. We have no record of this customer contacting us after 10/6/14. 09/25/2014 (01:56:20 PM) - ***** -> CC$109.00 AUTH#XXXXXX AWARE OF $15.00 CANCELLATION FEE 09/25/2014 - ***** -> PRINTED C.O.D INVOICE 09/25/2014 (03:25:46 PM) - ****** -> CUST CALLED BACK TO HOLD HER APPT - SHE WOULD LIKE TO THINK ABOUT IT - SHE DOESNT WANT TO CANCEL JUST YET. REMOVING OFF THE BOARD 10/01/2014 (11:19:22 AM) - ****** -> FOLLOWED UP W/ CX TO RESCHED HER - 10/01/2014 (11:20:49 AM) - ****** -> LVMS (left massages) ON BOTH #'S 10/02/2014 (10:02:26 AM) - ***** -> LF MSG (left massages) to C/B (call back) to RESCH APPT 10/06/2014 (11:31:07 AM) - ***** -> CUST BOUGHT NEW UNIT AND DOES NOT NEED OUR SVC. The refund was processed. Authorization # XXXXXX and $15.00 cancellation/processing fee was waived. This customer should apologize to URS for unfounded complaint. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First, if the refund was processed on 10/6 why do I still not see the refund reflected on my credit card? I don't understand why this could take more than 10 days to process a credit? I have never seen that anywhere else. Second, I called their offices on 10/14 at 12.17pm and 12.20, (I have a record of it), selected the Accounting option and left a message asking about the refund and to call me back regarding this. Please check your accounting answering machine. No one picks up the phone when we call or no one bothered to call back so far after I left the message. Third, why do you charge before any service is even performed? What type of business practice is that, which I have never seen with any other business. All service providers charge only after performing the service, and all product companies charge only after shipping the product. I will close this case once I see the full refund amt of $109 on my card. If anyone should apologize, it should be Unique for charging me before any services was performed, for not refunding after leaving me a msg with their accounting and waiting for more than 20 days (since 9/25 when the call was first placed). I filed this complaint only after leaving you a message with no response back and no credit being seen. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/17) */ In our response it was stated that our last communication with the customer was on 10/6 as our electronic records show it. And it was put in for refund processing. The refund was processed. It was never stated it was processed on same day. Refund was issued. Most likely some days after this conversation. Again all takes time and we waived $15 cancellation processing fee regarding which customer was advised when the service call was requested. Customer should check with the Credit Card Institution for the refund. It takes time on both ends.

7/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Unique Repair on July 2 at approx. 4pm to arrange a TV repair. Was advised the earliest date for service was July 7.Gave credit card to Service Attendant to be charged $100 which I felt was strange. Within one hour the tv began working and I immediately called ***** on ext 10 re order XXXXXX and cancelled appointment on a recorder which was to be 6 days hence; no last minute cancellation.On July 3 I received a call from service rep ***** to say I would be charged $16 for cancelling apt 6 days in advance but she would try to see what she could do and will call me. In about an hour she called and said *****, the Manager said no exception to the $16 charge. I asked to speak to ***** and rudely was refused. I asked again to speak to someone in management as I was sure some reasonableness would apply. I was transferred to the accounting dept and a recorder. I left my tel # but never received a return call. All I am asking is some reasonableness prevails and refund my $16. Consumers need to be aware of the practices of this company!

Desired Settlement: Refund $16 and let some reasonableness prevail to a senior that $16 means something. Good judgement needs to prevail. Also some openness must be available to speak to management employees who hide behind their subordinates. If they make a decision stand up and defend it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ************* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ************************** Timing and charges stated by ********** are incorrect. ********** contacted URS on 7/02 at 3:20pm. He requested service for his TV. At that time he was informed of $99.00 service charge for TV Tech to come out and $15.00 cancellation fee. The next record of contact is 7/03 at 8:38 AM when ********** cancelled his appointment. We refunded $84.00 to his credit account. All credit card charges and transactions are backed-up and documented. All our phone conversations are recorded and electronically time stamped and documented. We follow the same procedures with all our customers. ********** was made aware of these polices during the appointment set-up and decided to go ahead with it. Cancellation fee is charged to cover our credit transactions costs related to such transactions. It will be no additional refund given to **********. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They say the charge is $ 15; but charge is $16. Unbelievable bush operation. I sent an email to Unique at approximately 5:30 pm on July 2 because they did not answer the phone. I did leave a recorded message which precipitated their call on July 3 in the am. I made numerous requests to speak to ***** the so called Manager who made the decision. No wonder she or any other Manager would talk because there is no reasonable explanation. How many other BBB complaints have been filed against this shlock outfit. Do they want a copy of the email I sent to them if they can't find there copy. Sounds like the IR S caper who can't find emails. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/10) */ ********** should check his credit card account statement. The initial charge was $99.00 not $100. He was refunded $84.00. He agreed to the $15.00 cancellation fee (not $16.00) at the time of appointment set-up. This is processing cost for such transactions. It will not be additional refunds.

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Manufacturer, *******, and a service order was placed for me with Unique Repair Services. 1st visit the tech came out looked and the refrigerator and said nothing is wrong, possible power issue. (still not working). I purchased refrigerator/freezer thermometer for proof of problem. 2nd visit he ran some test with ******* and replaced a thermaster, said it will take 24 hours to take affect. (still not working). 3rd visit tech ran some test and stated the master circuit board needs replaced, they will have to order this. 4th visit, replace a master circuit board, said it would take 24 hours to take effect. (still not working). This service tech, ******, does not appear to be qualified to work on ******* refrigerators. Each time it was not working, my husband contacted them to let them know we are still having the same issue. His person of contact was ***. After the 4th visit, each time my husband called in he was disconnected. I decided to make an in person visit to their location to find out what is going on. After intruducing myself to their receptionist, I was told by her, that *** no longer wanted to take our calls. I had a brief visit with a manager, *****, and we agreed to terminate our business relationship. They would send ****** back out to pick up their parts which did not solve my problem and credit all charges. I asked them to bring back my original parts and questioned why they took them in the first place. *****'s responce "i don't know". I discussed the issue of *** disconnecting our calls, *****'s responces was that they are short handed due to some staff being off for funerals and maternity and the phone system gets overloaded and disconnects. This is VERY unprofessional. They did pick up their parts and as of now I have not been credited for the charges. When I called to ask ***** what was going on with the credit, I called from my cell phone and was placed immediately on hold. While on hold on my cell phone, I called from another phone with an unknown caller ID and I was answered immediately. I was told by ***** she would work on the credit and I informed her that my cell phone call was still on hold, she responded she would look into it. Three days later I still have not received a credit.

Desired Settlement: I would like the full refund I was promised. I see they are a member of the Better Business Bureau, and someone needs to know that they are not worthy of that standing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/06) */ Contact Name and Title: **** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email:*************************** ********** was issued a promised refund of the amount $106.56 on Friday 5/30. She was informed of the date the refund was issued. From the time it was issue to the time it was actually credited to the account took some time. Per ****** Merchant, the above amount was removed from our account on 6/2 and credited to ********** account on 6/3. We do not direct any of these activities. It is out of our control. Our credit / refund on 5/30 is documented on daily batch credit report. 3-4 and in some cases 5 business days is a normal cycle for this type of transactions. We issued credit as it was promised. Account is credited. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have not been credited the 99.00 dollars I was charges when their inexpreienced technician inaccuarately diagnosed the problem. Also there was not an explaination for why *** kept hanging up on my husband or why when I called from my cell phone I was immediately placed on hold and never picked up, while at the same time I called from an unknown number and was able to talk to ****. **** was informed of both of these situations. This concerns me because I thought there was centain criteria that needed to be met to have a Better Businesss Bureau rating. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/06/11) */ URS serviced over a 100,000 customers. We have thousands of letters and e-mails from grateful customers. Unfortunately at times we come across some individuals who are using slander to get something for nothing. It was customer's choice to stop us from resolving the issue and correcting the problem. When initial set-up call was made it was explained to the customer that if the repair is declined service charges are not refunded. All our phone conversations are recorded. We were able to demonstrate many statements made by this customer are wrong and misrepresent the truth just as are statements in this reply. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/06/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I disagree with the "arrangement". I was to be refunded all charges. Why would I agree to pay for a service that did nothing to resolve my problem. As far as the personal issue, it was not a long wait time , it was getting disconnected. It was being put on hold when calling from my cell phone and being on hold for 12 minutes and while being still on hold, calling from another number and getting answered immediately. I install and service telephone systems, so I know exactally how they work. I can not understand how this company has a rating with the Better Business Bureau.

6/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When the technician arrived I explained to him that the dryer was not rotating and there appeared to be gum in the dryer. Halfway through the service I came down and checked and he explained, and showed me the parts that he replaced, the fuse and belt but that I needed to replace the external vent connection ASAP. He was still working so I went back upstairs. A few minutes later I heard the dryer spinning. I yelled down, that that sound was music to my ears. He came up about ten minutes after that and stated that he was all done. He started to hand me the receipt and stated that everything was covered by the warranty. I stated I guess I am not sure, then he pulled the receipt back and proceeded to call his office. He gave some codes then told me that it would be an additional $167.58 on top of my $100.00 initial service fee that was supposed to go towards the cost of repairs. I thought that was pretty high for replacing a fuse and belt but I paid the fee and figured I would let my husband handle/investigate it later, I was preparing to run a few errands before I pick up my children and my husband was not home. I got a glimpse of the receipt and it had $2?.?? near the bottom...I think $24.??. What was that? The technician tore off the receipt and only left the post repair check list. When I went down to wash at about midnight I saw that the gum was still in the dryer.

Desired Settlement: I would like an investigation done to see if I was taken advantage of and overcharged because of the area in which I live or because I am a woman. I would like to see what we were charged for. If I do not get proper documentation I would seek out a lawyer and/or request a partial refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ************************* Contact Phone: **************** Contact Email: ************************** ************ was charged for the job and cost of parts based on a Blue Book Price List. Initially 3 parts were triaged for this call, but only two were needed. The original Invoice had only 3 pars listed and tax on it with no labor yet. Tech found broken belt and open fuse. Both parts were replaced. Total Parts charge $87.21. Tax $8.21. Labor charge $170.65. Grand total $266.58 - $99.00 paid before = $167.58 balance. ************ was informed of the balance. She accepted the charge and signed the Invoice. ************ made no attempt to call URS with any of her concerns which could be easily clarified. Our charges are uniformed and are based strictly on a job performed. Our technician also wanted to make sure the unit is not under warranty and called the office to verify. Unit was not covered by warranty any longer and it only proves that URS staff is looking after our customer's best interest. The problem listed with the dryer was "drum does not turn to dry" and it was fixed. The gum removal is not a part of the repair. We do not provide this type of services.

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our dishwasher went out. I called around to the 3 providers that my manufacturer recomended. URS was the most expensive ($89) for an original diagnosis but had the quickest opening. I decided to go with them since I needed my dishwasher fixed quick. The first guy came out and said that there was no power to the unit and to call him back once we had an electrician take a look at the power situation. I had 2 electricians take a look and there were no power issues. I called to complain that the original tech misdiagnosed and I wanted my money back. I was planning to go with another service. First of all, they did not do a good job listening to the situation. Then, they told me that they could not refund my money since a tech did go out there and did nothing wrong. How could they say he did nothing wrong when he did not accurately diagnose the problem and I wasted another week to get the dishwasher fixed?? Another tech came out and quickly replaced the latch and the dishwasher was fixed. No power issues were identified.

Desired Settlement: Asking for the original $89 back for damages of lost time of use of the dishwasher since the original technician mis-diagnosed the issue.

Business Response: ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Let me fill in the details by stating that my husband and I work full time and have 3 young children - 7, 5 and 11 months. Not having a working dishwasher was a big inconvenience. This inconvenience was made a week longer than necessary based on the improper handling of the service call by URS. In addition, I do not have the time to be fabricating claims as suggested by the URS response. I have dealt with a variety of service professionals through the years. I am a reasonable, honest and hard working professional myself and expect courteous, prompt and respectful service on both ends. I have had good and mediocre experiences. I have never had such a disrespectful experience as I have had recently with URS and this is the first time I felt the need to submit a formal complaint. On Monday March 24 I called around to the 3 places that were provided by the manufacturer. URS was the most expensive at $89 as the others were charging $60-65. URS was also the only one that required to pre-pay the visit with a credit card. In each case, the cost of the service call was to be applied to the actual repair. Like I mentioned earlier, I was eager to get my dishwasher fixed and URS offered the earliest appointment for Wednesday March 26. I did not question their established process since I have not had any issues in the past with other providers. On March 26, the technician was supposed to arrive between 9am and 12pm. He arrived at around 12:30. The technician said that there was no power to the unit and that we probably had a bad breaker and to call them back when we had that fixed. We have an electrician in the family, so he was able to come out that day and take a look. He did not see any issues with power and saw that the cables leading into the dishwasher did in fact had power. He was an electrician for 30 years for ******* Dryer Company putting together and servicing industrial laundry equipment. He has retired and does a variety of odd jobs for family and friends. Since he does not formally charge he did not have an invoice system so he just wrote a letter to affirm what he had seen. He checked using a variety of methods including a multimeter. I was really perplexed by the whole situation - how is it that one person thought there was no power and another saw no issue. So I had another electrician take a look at it on Sunday March 30. He was an aircraft mechanic for 5 years in the **************** He also worked for ********************* as a union, low voltage electrician for 3 years. He checked the line and also did not see any power issues. Therefore, on March 31 I had called URS informing them that the tech mis-diagnosed the original problem and wanted someone to complete the repair. The telephone attendant mentioned that their earliest appointment was on Thursday. I had asked if they could fit me in any earlier as they had made a mistake/misdiagnosis (if you listen to the tapes, I never used the word "lied"- we are all human and make mistakes) and have inconvenienced me longer than necessary. The person said it was not possible. All I was looking for at the time was to get the feeling that they were listening to me, acknowledge that an error could have occurred on their part and an attempt to make things right by squeezing in an earlier appointment- some basic customer service. I got none of that. At that point I had asked for a refund as I was planning to go somewhere else where I could get better, earlier and less expensive service. ***** stated she would have to look into the matter. She called the next day stating that they investigated all the documents and talked to the tech and concluded that he did not do anything wrong. Since I was backed into a corner since I already paid the $89, I agreed for another tech to come out. This time she said she had a Wednesday appointment available. On Wednesday, April 2, the tech made it out just past 10. He did not even check the power and went to switch out the control board. I had asked if it was necessary and he said I was "better off" with the new one. He then went to switch out the latch. He later concluded that it was a latch issue. He apologized and said he thought I was still under warranty and that he could switch the control panel back to the original one. Again I was backed into a corner. After hearing the comment that I was "better off" with the new one made me hesitate to switch it back to the old one and I agreed to keep and pay for the new one. So I am not contesting the price of the control panel - just wanted to mention it for completeness that it was yet another cost and experience that could have been avoided with another, more customer focused company. If the first tech did not make a mistake, how is it that the second tech could fix the problem is less than 30 minutes? I am not sure of the math that was provided in the response. The tech originally was going to charge $170.65 for the labor. (As you can see by the crossed out amount on the invoice) I asked if he could make that any lower as he was only working for about 30 minutes. He checked his books and said that $144.90 was the lowest he could go. So that was only a discount of $25.75. I am not sure why the response includes $89 as a discount. That was the initial call cost that was always supposed to be applied to the final repair. I have since called around to a number of other appliance repair places. They charge between $50-70. Some use standard book pricing and others use more reasonable rates where average repair costs are around $60. This is a lesson to me to do more homework in advance. URS has a lot of negative comments on the internet. But again, I was looking to get the problem resolved quickly and did not have any issues with others in the past. As you see in the details above, this claim is legitimate. I am looking for URS to acknowledge that an error could have occurred on their part and to make things right. By originally going with them, I lost additional time with a broken dishwasher. Since they refused to refund my money they prevented me from going elsewhere. If I used non-family electricians, my unnecessary out of pocket costs would be much higher. That is why I feel a refund of $89 is a fair settlement. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/04/22) */ There is no actual/documented prove of what was found and/or fixed by two electricians, according to the customer's statement. All the inconveniences/delays were created by the customer herself. *********** made her own choices every step of the way. Upon return our technician proceeded with the repair understanding that electrical issue was resolved. During all of our interactions and communications with *********** our staff was professional and courteous. It can be supported by voice recordings on file. The math is simple: Customer was charged on 3/26/14 $89.00 and on 4/02/14 $221.26= total $310.26 Parts are $231.24+ tax$23.12=$254.36 $310.26-$254.36=$55.90 Labor charge $170.65 regular labor charge - $55.90 actually charged=$114.75 labor discounted. This is above and beyond of $89.00 refund requested. We hope this customer can appreciate the explanation. The document provided by customer demonstrates the above explanation of charges.

4/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/16/13 I called Unique Repair Services about my washing machine. I explained the problem as the machine stopped spinning & it *** be caused by an underwire from a bra.This is what I thought the problem *** be.I was told they would come out & diagnose the problem for $99 & this would be applied to the repair cost of the machine.I scheduled a service appointment for 12/19/13, between 1-3pm.Shortly after I made the appointment they called back to confirm the issue.The girl said the parts dept wanted to make sure they would be including the correct parts for the repair.On 12/19/13 the repair person finally shows up at 4pm.I explained the problem & what I thought was the issue.He looked at the machine, opened the door, manually spun the drum and said that kind of repair is a 2 man job.It would cost $500 and he would have to come back.Its a lot of work.I was shocked,I told him he wasted my time and called Unique Repair Services at 4:06pm and said I was not paying $99.He was literally there 5 minutes & did not turn the machine on.There was no diagnosing of the problem.He never turned on the machine to hear the problem with the spin cycle.Never moved it away from the wall.She agreed to refund the $99.I signed the invoice which has "refunding T.P" on it-I have this document.The repair person left and shortly after that, 4:16pm I got a call from Unique Repair Services saying they would not be refunding the $99.I told her I would dispute the charges with **************** & I would not pay it.**************** agreed with me & in February they credited me the $99.I received a bill from Unique Repair Services shortly after that.On 4/10/14 they called requesting payment. Threatening to send me to collections if the bill wasn't paid by 5pm that day.They would also be reporting me to the 3 credit agencies. I did have the machine repaired by Sears.They replaced the Rotor Spines-which was covered by the manufactures warranty.I was only charged $139 for labor. Unique Repair Services states all of their calls are recorded.I have all the dates & time of my conversations with them to validate they are wrong.

Desired Settlement: Remove me from your collections account.Refund the charges on your end. Send me a letter saying I have a $0 balance with you. If anything has been reported to the 3 credit agencies have it removed.

Business Response: *********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/04/17) */ Per customer's request, the statement is being mailed. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I'd like a statement from them showing $0 owed.

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was referred to Unique ************ The seal on the tub to my ** dryer **********was torn and hanging when you opened the dryer door. I could not run the dryer because clothes were getting stuck between the tub and the drum causing steaks in the white clothes, it also did not sound right. The repairman diagnosed the problem by stating the seal was broke, the drum was cracking and the duct which was discolored from heat was causing stains on my clothes. The repairman never opened the dryer. It would have run $450 to replace the drum/tub, seal and duct. I opened the dryer, removed the tub/drum and observed no cracks. I called friends and asked if their ducts were discolored and they were but no one had trouble with streaks in their clothes. I walked across the street and my neighbors duct was also discolored with no troubles. The seal was of course broke since it was hanging in my face. I replaced the seal ($20.00). I put the dryer back together and ran a load of white rags before my wife placed her white clothes inside and all went well. The dryer has completed several loads with no problems. My problem is I believe the company was attempting to pad the bill by stating I needed items that I did not need. The tub was not cracked, the streaks are not caused by the duct (There are videos all over the internet that say it's a seal problem). All my dryer needed was a seal. I would like the company to refund my money. I already called ** and protested. My next steps are my credit card company,************************* consumerist, ***************** and finally at the******************** under a civil action which I've done twice before and won. I see Unique has ***** rating with your company. If you check **************** Unique is rated 2 out of 5 stars. I can and will YouTube the drum in its current condition for your examination(I have two IT friends).It only takes 3 screws to take the top off **********************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund money for incorrect diagnoses. I would agree they at least got the broken seal part correct in the repairman diagnoses. I don't think it's fair but I will take $66.66 and they can keep the $33.33 for the part of the problem they got right (broken seal). It even bothers me that they would get to keep the $33.33 because almost anyone could have figured that one out.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/03) */ *********************************************************************************************************************** We investigated this complaint and found that*************** statements are inconsistent and contradictory. Our electronic records demonstrate ************ stated per this complaint " I opened the dryer, removed the tub/drum and observed no cracks In his phone call 3/25 with **** he stated that HE HAD HIS FRIEND come by and they took unit apart 03/25/2014 (05:23:21 pm) ********** called the customer back on his cell phone, customer is upset with the diagnosis of the unit from our tech and that he had a friend who is certified come out and take a look at his unit, Our technician stated in his records 03/19/2014 (02:31:57 pm) -*********** drum seal is torn, drum is getting cracked, the heat duct in the back of the dryer is discolored and is becoming sticky when the dryer gets hot and leaving marks on the clothing. Needs the drum and the heat duct. Customer is unsure about repairing the dryer at this time. Said they would call back to confirm or decline repairs. Per complaint ************ is stating "My problem is I believe the company was attempting to pad the bill by stating I needed items that I did not need" In a phone call 03/25/2014 (10:20:47 AM) -********* cust called said tech gave him diagnosis of repair from approx $400 to $600 dollars and suggested to cust to Buy New Unit. This is not consistent with "attempting to pad the bill" statement. We do not sell appliances. There is no actual prove that any repair work was done or maybe the unit is being replaced and customer just doesn't want to spend $90.00 on a unit that is not going to be fixed. The unit was operating with turn seal and the stress of the drum metal on metal rotation is normally causing the drum to crack. When repairs are done with*** warranty, drum containing the seal are replaced. This is what*** recommends as safe and reliable repair. Work Order signed by ************, electronic records and phone conversations voice recordings support our position and statements. ************ is asking for $66.66 refund. To demonstrate our goodwill, we'll give a full $99.00 refund to ************ and wish him good luck with this unqualified and potentially dangerous repair that ************ decided to have on this unit. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I appreciate that they took the time to hear my complaint.

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

10 Customer Reviews on Unique Repair Services
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart