Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Suburban Service Inc

Phone: (847) 255-5680 Fax: (847) 670-1230 PO Box 640, Mount Prospect, IL 60056

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Suburban Service Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Suburban Service Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 27, 1995 Business started: 08/01/1952 Business started locally: 08/01/1952 Business incorporated 11/01/2009 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Kenneth Sabey, President Ms. Candy Sabey
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kenneth Sabey, President
Business Category

Appliances-Major-Service & Repair Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies Appliance Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811412)

Products & Services

This company offers all major appliance service. (washers, dryers, disposals, dishwashers,ranges)

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 640

    Mount Prospect, IL 60056 (847) 255-5680


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called on October 8. Technician **** came out on October 9 to diagnose and charged us $300 check. He had to order part and came out on October 14 to repair. One hour after he left he called back saying he didn't think the freon he put in was working and came out on October 15 to put in different freon. Today, October 15 the freezer does not seem to be working. He mentioned something about the freezer door not properly sealing right before he left on October 15 but did not fix that. Not certain if the freezer itself is the problem or the door sealing issue but our freezer is NOT fixed if the door is not sealing. Very upset as we paid $650 and he did not fix the problem. If he cannot fix we want our $650 back. We have been without a freezer for a week and have no idea when it will be properly fixed. We have five children Sincerely, ***** ** ******** XXX-XXX-XXXX


Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/27) */ Despite our not finding the original complaint notification, Suburban Service HAD been in contact with ************ regarding his Freezer. Saturday October 18th Suburban Service's direct contact whereby the agreed upon amount was of $500.00 to be sent to customer Monday October 20th. As was complied; The result of the conversation was as there had been one part souldered within the unit, check number ***** was sent and has been since cashed for the amount of $500.00 as of October 22nd, 2014. To the best of our knowledge the cashing of the check we took to mean all is well as we have not heard of any other issues as of today. Hoping despite the delay in contacting you the BBB, once we are aware of any concerns of any customer it is especially important to us to make the situation good. As we have been in Business over 62 years now, customer service is what we strive for. Should there be anything else we should do, please let us know, as we would expect. I am sorry the customer had not notified you the BBB of the resolution to this issue. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/10/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Original text from **** the repairmen stated that he would refund $650. In phone conversation he only wanted to pay $500 because of cost of part. I was concerned check from **** could bounce so I asked *** if he could send $500 upfront, with what I thought was the understanding that an additional $150 was to be sent later. Repairman originally said he could repair for $650 and as stated above, in text to me said he would refund full $650. Sincerely, ************** Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/10/29) */ Suburban Service, Inc was surprised to hear****** was not in agreement with the check for $500.00 mailed and subsequently cashed; when it was thought to have been what the conversation Saturday 10/18/2014 had concluded. After seeing this response from the BBB; Suburban Service Office immediately called both the Technician AND****** to ascertain whatever miscommunication there obviously seemed to be due to a reported TEXT MESSAGE between Tech and Customer.. It would seem such that the customer****** in this case should have gone directly to Suburban Service Office immediately, rather than handling any questions and concerns with the Technician IF he were to be displeased with either the conversation or attempted resolution. Had this been the case it would have already been resloved. It was only on Saturday October 18th, 2014 the Office was made aware of this situation after having****** call finally the office as Suburban Service had NOT received any notification prior from either****** or the BBB (found within the e-mails.) It was on the 18th that Both****** and *** had appeared to have agreed upon $500.00. We are not real sure as to why****** believed a separate check would be sent for $150.00, however as soon as we became aware THIS is what****** understood a check is being issed for this final refund now assumed paid in full. Had it not been for indirect dealings with Suburban Service Office, and Text Messages not relayed to said Office this never would have happened. The said Text Messaging had gone between the Tech and Customer.... Simply put, if a consumer has ANY questions CALL immediately. Thank is WHY Suburban Service, Inc maintains Office Personnel rather than being unstaffed, for direct communication purposes. Suburban Service, Inc HAS the Office PHONE NUMBER on the Invoices, not to mention it was initally called upon for service, therefore it is what Suburban would expect, rather than needing any third party. There is something to be said for DIRECT and OPEN COMMUNICATION.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Suburban Service Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)