Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

One Stop Appliance Repair

Phone: (708) 499-0599 Fax: (708) 499-5040 10340 S Karlov Ave, Oak Lawn, IL 60453


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that One Stop Appliance Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for One Stop Appliance Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on One Stop Appliance Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 12, 2004 Business started: 01/20/1993 Business started locally: 01/20/1993
Business Management
Mr. Jim Hornung, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Hornung, Owner
Business Category

Appliances-Major-Service & Repair Appliances - Small - Supplies & Parts Appliances - Small - Service & Repair Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies Appliance Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811412)

Alternate Business Names
Ed's One Stop Appliance Repair
Products & Services

One Stop Appliance Repair does not work on Refrigerators or Freezers.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

One Stop Appliance Repair has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10340 S Karlov Ave

    Oak Lawn, IL 60453 (708) 499-0599

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repairman (***) arrived on 16 December 2013 to check a fault code on a ********* washing machine. He determined the drain was clogged and removed some junk to clear up that problem. He also noticed the counterweight in front was broken which balances the spin cycle. We could not use the washer while we waited for the part to be ordered. A week or so later, the part arrived and *** called to say he'd install it. When he arrived, he ordered the wrong part and could not complete the repair. He stated that he tightened the bolts on the remaining pieces of the counterweight and that the machine was safe to use on medium spin but that he'd have to return again with the correct part. We used it for three loads on medium and the machine was very off balance and was spinning loudly so we stopped and called to inform him. He arrived again a week or so later and had the correct part. He installed it and stated we were all set except that the bolt was stripped on one side and he'd need to order that too but that we could use the machine as stated before. I immediately used the machine and it began leaking water all over the floor. I stopped it and called the service again and he returned immediately, corrected the leaking issue and said he'd return with the new bolt. He returned again days later with a $30.00 bolt and stated it was fixed. I wrote a check for $167.00. Later that evening, when using the washing machine I heard it spinning loudly again and head something metal fall and hit the base of the machine...internally. He returned again to tell me the middle bolt (1 of 3) had fallen out. He stated he would order that part as well. After a week, *** called and said he had ordered the bolt. This is where we began to feel frustrated and upset. Up to this point, I was not happy with the repair but I was happy with the customer service, at least he was trying to complete the repair and returning my calls. Fast forward to 20 February 2015. My wife and I have called the answering service which accepts all calls for the company nearly everyday for 2 weeks now. There is no direct line to a representative of One Stop Appliance Repair. The answering service personnel has taken our message each time and assured us *** would receive it. On one call, my wife asked to speak with a manager or owner and the woman stated that *** was the owner of One Stop Appliance Repair. To this date we have not received a returned call from ***. I have paid for a repair that has not been completed. My washing machine is operational but the spin cycle is loud and knocks because the counterweight is missing 1 of its 3 bolts.

Desired Settlement: Bring the bolt. Install the bolt. Ensure the repair has been completed properly. That is all I'm asking for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/04) */ this hase been resolved. machine is working ok..... sorry for the delay...***

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on One Stop Appliance Repair
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart