Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

North Town Home Services, LLC

Phone: (800) 533-0030 Fax: (847) 593-2498 5420 Newport Dr. Ste 45, Rolling Meadows, IL 60008 http://www.nthomeservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that North Town Home Services, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for North Town Home Services, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on North Town Home Services, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 23, 2003 Business started: 12/10/1933 in IL Business started locally: 12/10/1933
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Matthew Paxton, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matthew Paxton, General Manager
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Equipment Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heating & Air Conditioning Household Appliance Stores (NAICS: 443141)


Additional Locations

  • 5420 Newport Dr. Ste 45

    Rolling Meadows, IL 60008

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My construction manager first contacted Northtown Home Services because my washer and dryer was not stacked correctly from being moved. It is in a tight closet and not an easy install or repair. When he contacted Northtown they said they understood and it was no problem. Northtown then called me and said **** (construction mgr) requested I use them to restack the w/d. They only work Mon-Fri and I told them I did not have anymore time off of work and that if I took a day during the week this had to get done. I scheduled ***** to come on May 2nd but***** was confident Northtown would do the job and since ***** construction crew didn't restack right I just went with who he picked. I called North Town Home Services 3 more time and explained to them that this washer and dryer was in a very tight closetbigand not an easy job. Each time I called they told me no problem, we know and don't worry we will resolve. I told them I was missing a day of work and were they sure this would not be an issue do to the tight space. I had 2 previous appliance places explain to me that because of the tight fit they didn't want to do the restack. I expressed over and over that I was losing time at work and to make sure they sent 2 guys who understood the problem. Again was promised they knew what they were doing and it would be taken care of. Day of the installation and the repair guy walks into my condo, walks over to see my unit in the closet, and says your floor is warped and I'm not touching this thing. I tried telling him my floor was not warped and it was the stacking kit that was the problem. He said NO I AM NOT TOUCHING THIS-YOUR FLOOR IS WARPED AND IT IS NOT INSTALLED CORRECTLY AND I AM NOT DOING IT. I explained both were not true and I understand it is a difficult job but I told the office this and they promised me you would restack. He yelled at me "I SAID I'M NOT DOING THIS" and stormed out of my house. I called and spoke to ******* the manager and she said that he said my floor was warped and the washer/dryer was not installed correctly so he wouldn't do the job. I told her I had just had a construction crew who redid my floors and had proof and pictures that my floor was not warped. Also my washer and dryer was working properly so it was installed properly it just needed to be restacked correctly because the crew did not restack properly. She proceeded to say she did not know what the big deal was. Why was I so upset since they were not charging me for the service. She said they have a right to refuse service any time they want. I said then when I called 3 different times to remind them this was a tight closet ===they never ONCE said to me if the job is to difficult we will not do it. NEVER was that told to me. Also I explained to ******* that her repairman did not say the job was too difficulthe blamed my floor being warped and blamed my install was not done properly. Due to his comments I had to have my construction crew come out here to prove to me that the floor was not warped. My construction crew said there is NO WAY someone could look at the floor and determine it is warped with checking it first. This repairman lied to me, yelled at me, I wasted a day off of work and I still had to find someone now to restack my washer and dryer and ********* response is what's the big deal we didn't charge you. Well I guess wasting people's time, not caring they lose a day of work, lying to the customer instead of being honest and stating "the job is too difficult" even though I warned them over and over the job was difficult. I don't think a business should feel that wasting peoples time and having them take off of work and not repairing the product AND being yelled at and lied to by their repair men should say to a customer "What's the big deal" ***** came out this morning-they knew it was a difficult job prior, they restacked my w/d on a Sat no problem They said nothing wrong with my floor or install

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed my day of pay. I have lost that day

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* Office Manager Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: *******@nthomeservice.com When the customer called to schedule the appoint we were told the appliance was a stackable unit that needed to be restacked. Our technicians work on stackable washer/dryer units every day. It is not an issue for our techs to work on these types of units. Once our technicians arrived at the house, in his opinion the unit looked like it was on warped floor & wasn't installed properly. Our technicians are not installers nor are they carpenters. While our technician would normally be able to do a job like this he felt that it could possibly be a liability to do the job. We do not want to cause any damage to our customer's homes or their units, nor have a Safety concern with our technicians. He informed the customer that we would not be able to do the job, recommended she contact who did the original install of the unit & left without charging the customer. The customer called our office & spoke with a manager. It was explained to the customer that we do apologize that we weren't able to do the repairs for her but it was not a job that our company wanted to take the liability to do. Our company does strive to make all of our customers happy but there are times when we simply cannot do the work for various reasons. It is not that our technicians don't want to do the service but the fact that sometimes we just can't take a chance on causing damage. We also explained to the customer that when the call was scheduled we were unaware of what the technician would find when he got there. The customer said she was going to have her construction manager call our office to discuss the situation & hung up. The construction manager never called our office to discuss the situation. The customer called back the next day to inform us that she talked to her carpenters & construction manager & that her floors were not warped. We once again apologized to the customer & informed her that per our tech's opinion the unit looked like it was sitting on warped flooring & the unit was installed improperly. She said we were wrong & insisted that our technicians just didn't want to do the work just as the other companies that she had talked to said. After going back & forth with the customer we did apologize again for the fact that we weren't able to do the work but it was a liability that we couldn't take for our company's protection as well as for the customer's protection. She wasn't charged for the service call due to the fact that we couldn't do the work & management has discussed with the technician the alleged accusations that he argued with the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I spoke with the manager the next dayI explained to her that I spoke with the construction crew who said the floor was not warped and there is NO WAY someone can look at a floor and in 1 minute say your floor is warpedalso the repair (if you call him that) guy said that it wasnt installed properly. He never even took the time to look behind the unit in order to see if it was installed properly or not. I asked him to look at the way it was stacked and let me know if he saw that as a problemHe REFUSED to look and yelled" I said I'm not doing this job and there's nothing you can say to change my mind" When I spoke with the manager the next day she said " they have the right to not do a job if they feel it is a liability and I said that they should tell their customers that because I would NEVER have taken a day off if it would have been said they wouldn't complete the job. The problem I have is that I feel the repairman lied and could have just said we don't want the liability instead of telling me my floor was warped and my unit was improperly installedwhich neither was true. I was on the phone with both my construction crews, assoication and another washer/dryer repair place due to the fact that I was worried something was wrong with my floor and the unit. I told this repair shop that my unit needed to be restacked and that was the only issue. I also told them it was in a small closet and hard to get to. I wish they would have expressed that if the job looked too difficult they would turn down. Funny how SEARS came out and did the restacking withing 30 minutes without any issues. No floor issues and no install issues. I told them how difficult it was too and they promised me they would restack and this company decided to keep their promise. I just want Northtown Service customers to know they have rude repairmen who lie to the customers and think they can raise their voice and not even take the time to help. I asked him to at least look and tell me if the stacking kit from the front looked damaged and he refused to look. I don't understand how they can call themselves a washer dryer repair business. I don't care for any compensation from this place as the manager's attitude was "What's the big deal?" As I said to her it is no big deal because she didn't get yelled at, walked out on, lose a day's pay and spend the afternoon calling worried that I had a warped floor and eventually did find a GREAT company SEARS who works with their customers. I give this company a zero in every aspect. And from her response she still thinks it's ok to put people out. I know I won't be the last person they disappoint. Don't EVER call this company Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2015/05/27) */ With all due respect, I did mail the $50 gift card on 5/8/15 via the mail to the address on file. Please email me your address to *******@nthomeservice.com so I can verify the address is correct. I will be happy to send you another one, but this time I will send it via Fed Ex. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 24, 2015/06/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I received my $50 gift card yesterday and notified **** ******

12/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased Train furnace in 2009 from****** in ******* Illinois. Contacted them at number on invoice. Was told that North Town purchased assets. The furnace was not working and asked for repairman to come to home. After installing a igniter that took 15 min. was given a bill for $329.00. Was being charged $220.OO for a part that is sold online for $27.00. I called North Town office and talked to ******* about the 10 year warranty I purchased from****** for pairs and labor on Train furnace. Was told by her that North Town doesn't sell Traine products and they don't honor any warranty work from Traine or******. Asked her why she did not mention this when I called them. She said ..." I didn't ask". I contacted Traine and was told that only a dealer can request payment for warranty work. So I have been over charged and have no way to summit a claim to Traine. ******* told me that if I didn't like it, have the repairman take the part out, and pay the $109.00 service charge. I believe this to be deceptive practices. Why did North Town discuss the position of , yes we purchased assets of****** but do not honor any past agreements with their old customers?

Desired Settlement: I will honor the service charge of $109.00 but should be refunded the $220.00 for the part.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ********************** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ************************* The customer called our office on Wednesday December 10th for service on his furnace that wasn't heating. At the time of scheduling the CSR quoted the customer $109.00 for our technician to go to his house & diagnose the unit & then give a quote on the repairs. The customer approved the service fee & scheduled an appointment for the next day. Nothing was said by the customer that he had a warranty on his unit at the time of scheduling. After our technician arrived at the house & diagnosed the unit he quoted the customer on the repairs which totaled $329.00 ($109 for the service fee+$220.00 for parts & labor) . It was only after our tech installed the part did the customer mention that he has an extended warranty for his furnace. Our tech informed him that we do not work with the Trane extended warranty program. At that time the customer called in to our office in regards to the bill. He talked to the office manager & was informed that we have not done the Trane extended warranty since June 2013. The customer then said that he had service with our company in January 2013 under warranty through our company. After looking into his file we did see that he had warranty work performed at that time. The warranty the customer purchased when ***** installed his furnace is through Trane-not through *****. He could have called any authorized Trane service provider & had the warranty work done. ***** was purchased by North Town Home Services in June 2011. Any work that was done prior to the purchase is not the responsibility of North Town Home Services due to it was an asset purchase only and we did not accept any of the liabilities. This was all explained to the customer when he called in about his bill. When the customer stated that it was too much to pay for the repairs he was told that our technician can take the part back out but he would still be responsible for the $109.00 service fee. The customer chose to pay the full amount & keep the part installed. Our company has no way of knowing every customer that has a Trane extended warranty & 99% of the time when a customer who has an extended warranty calls they let us know they have a warranty when they are quoted the service fee, and we inform them that we do not honor extended warranties.

10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My cook-top would not light up. The rate is $90 1st half hr to diagnose/repair when I called Northtown office. The technician came on July 3rd it was identified need replacement a wire within 10 min. I was told he would be back to replace the wire, and asked to pay $199 to include the estimated time for the replacement (30 min). I paid with my credit card. 3 days late call from their office informed me the part is no longer available. I called Northtown and asked the to only charge the diagnosis time not the repair as the problem is not repaired due to no part.

Desired Settlement: reduce the charge to limit it to the diagnosis (first half hour), and remove the repair charge as there is no repair work done due to no part

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ************** Manager Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ************************* When the customer called in to schedule the service call for his Bosch cooktop on July 3rd he was quoted $90.00 for a diagnostic fee. That $90.00 covers the technicians travel to the house & the first half hour in the house. When our technician (who has been with the company for 25+ years) arrived at the house he found the unit already had parts taken out of the unit. Screws were broken off & wires were broken. The unit was also very dirty. Our tech proceeded to put the unit back together, to properly diagnose the unit. He replaced some wires & was able to get the unit working. The repairs took approximately 1 hour. He then informed the customer that if it stopped working again due to previous damage he would need to order new parts for the unit. The customer signed the invoice acknowledging that the work was accepted & paid our technician $199.00 for the service fee & labor it took to repair the unit. The customer then called our technician's cell phone-not our office-on July 7th to state that the unit wasn't working. The tech informed him that he would then need to order parts & would get back to him. Our office left a message for the customer informing him that the manufacture no longer makes parts for his unit due to the age. The customer doesn't believe he should have to pay for our technician's time working on the unit due to Bosch stopping production of replacement parts for his model. Our office explained to the customer that even though it is unfortunate that his parts are no longer available through Bosch he still has to pay for the service call he received on the 3rd. Our tech went above & beyond the initial service call to work on the customer's unit which warrants additional charges on top of the initial service call. The customer's account has already been sent to a collection agency due to stopping payment for services rendered. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The additional charge is not acceptable as the technician identified the root cause right away. He did not need to put back the unit and screws to make the diagnosis. If anything the unscrewed unit made his job easier to open the unit. He did not change any thing. Only he did was to pull one connecter off and put it back, and told me the wire connecter unit need to be changed. And he would order a new one. He should have only charge me for the first half hour for the diagnosis as he could not fix the problem. The unit is still in my home. If they say they changed anything they should send someone to check it out to confirm. They mispresented the time the technician worked. I can only pay them the first half hour for the diagnosis ($90), not the other hour they did not stay and did not fix anything Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/31) */ When a unit is not fully put together it is not possible to do a proper diagnosis of a unit. It could give false readings when testing the unit. The customer has admitted that the unit was unscrewed & taken apart which means our technician had to put everything back together to do a diagnosis. That would entail more time being taken to work on the unit-meaning there would also be more charges on top of the initial service fee. The customer has not been charged for any parts. He is only being charged for our technicians time in the house on the initial day of service. Due to the fact that the customer stopped payment on his credit card his account was sent into collections. He had services from our company & refuses to pay because the manufacturer doesn't make parts anymore. While it is unfortunate & we do apologize that we weren't able to repair the unit, that is an issue that he should take up with the manufacturer, our company shouldn't be short changed due to a decision of another company.

4/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The repairs on my refrigerator failed about 5 hours after service. Company refused to acknowledge their verbal agreement to diagnose and additional failure that occurred during their servicing.Company refused to provide written validation of the warranty policy regarding parts and labor when requested.Company refused to provide detail of charges for parts labor and other charges related to the service when requested.Company would not allow any discussions with supervision or management boyond the customer service person as requested.

Desired Settlement: 1.documented disclosure of warranty terms for parts and labor. 2.Written detail and explanation of charges for all parts ,labor, and other charges that comprise the total Charge of $1307.79 3.Diagnoses of failed ice depositor that occurred during servicing as agreed to verbally on April 7 2014.

Business Response: ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/04/21) */ Our company works off a flat rate system. We do not have a breakdown between the parts. We have operated using this flat rate system since 1930. I will attach the copy of the quote that we called the customer from, which is the only breakdown that we have. We are not legally obliged to give a breakdown like the customer is asking for. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/04/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Warranty explanation is acceptable. I believe I am legally entiled to documentation of the individual charges that comprise the ********* The individual charge for each, charge for labor, any tax and other charges reflected in the total.I never said the charges were commercially unacceptable, only that refusing to detail the charges was.Any document or receipt that reflects what I was charged for each part, labor, tax or other charges that explains the total charge.I have found someone else to deal with the Ice depositor.

11/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When calling for the service repair, they said it would $109 service call. I described the issue to the service repair rep. When the technician arrived he knew exactly what the issue was within 5 mins, and then said, we charge a flat rate of $425. The service rep never mentioned the charges are flat rate and not based on time of repair. The repair took no more then 30 mins to complete. When I complained, he dropped the price down to $375, and as I complained more he kept dropping the price to $312. I felt that that the service rep initial charge of $109 was misleading if they knew that the service technician would be charging a flat rate. If they would have told me initially they charge a flat rate, I would never had contracted with them for this repair. Plus, a flat rate of $425, for 30 mins worth of labor seems excessive, rate per hour of $850/hour. Then when the technician looked at the dishwasher, the flat rate of $175 that he wanted to charge, kept going up to $260 or even more, because he felt it might take longer than he expected. That is not a flat rate, so I told him don't fix the dishwasher. This company was not honest and did not provide all details of their pricing until the technician arrives. Even when they say flat rate, that wasn't honored in the case of the dishwasher.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get a refund for part of the $312 spent to correct the oven. somewhere between 200 and 250 would be more fair, for less than an hour's worth of work. Or I would consider having the dishwasher repaired for $175 as long as there is not an additional service call charge, and the repair cost would not exceed the $175, since the problem was already known before even looking at the dishwasher.

Business Response: ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response is totally inaccurate. I was quoted by the technician that the flat rate to repair the oven was $425, including the $109, not the 163.00 stated above. $425 - $109 is $316, not %163. When I complained, he first brought the cost down to 375, and then later to 312. He did nothing to warrant an extra $55 dollars for the dishwasher since he said he knew exactly what was wrong without even looking at it. The reason he had the parts with him for both appliances. The extra $55 is not even on the invoice. Plus, the cost to fix the dishwasher kept increasing as he talked to me. He also kept saying the office is not going to like me reducing the charge, contrary to the 10% authorization stated. He ended up reducing the cost over 40% since he knew he was over charging me, and taking advantage of the situate. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/18) */ Like it was stated in the previous response, our technicians are authorized to give a discount on repairs if we are able to do a first time fix. ************* received the lowest flat rate possible for replacing his hinge. It was quoted to the customer & approved by the customer prior to the repairs -which the customer admits to in his rebuttal. Therefore he will not be receiving any refund due to the already discounted repairs he received. I'm not sure how we are dishonest company when everything was quoted to the customer prior to any work being done. If the customer disapproved of our prices then he didn't have to approve the quote & then he would have just been charged the initial service fee of $164.00 for diagnosing the issue on 2 appliances. In regards to the dishwasher the technician quoted the repairs before he realized that the unit was installed onto a very unleveled floor & not easily accessible. The quote changed not because of the time it would take to do the repairs but because the type of repair changed due to the installation of the unit. If ************ is so dissatisfied with our service we can schedule a technician to go back to his house & reinstall his original hinges & refund the total amount that was charged to him.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on North Town Home Services, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)