BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2008

North Town Home Services, LLC

Phone: (800) 533-0030Fax: (847) 593-2498

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service7
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
12/23/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased Train furnace in 2009 from****** in ******* Illinois. Contacted them at number on invoice. Was told that North Town purchased assets. The furnace was not working and asked for repairman to come to home. After installing a igniter that took 15 min. was given a bill for $329.00. Was being charged $220.OO for a part that is sold online for $27.00. I called North Town office and talked to ******* about the 10 year warranty I purchased from****** for pairs and labor on Train furnace. Was told by her that North Town doesn't sell Traine products and they don't honor any warranty work from Traine or******. Asked her why she did not mention this when I called them. She said ..." I didn't ask". I contacted Traine and was told that only a dealer can request payment for warranty work. So I have been over charged and have no way to summit a claim to Traine. ******* told me that if I didn't like it, have the repairman take the part out, and pay the $109.00 service charge. I believe this to be deceptive practices. Why did North Town discuss the position of , yes we purchased assets of****** but do not honor any past agreements with their old customers?

Desired Settlement
I will honor the service charge of $109.00 but should be refunded the $220.00 for the part.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **********************
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *************************
The customer called our office on Wednesday December 10th for service on his furnace that wasn't heating. At the time of scheduling the CSR quoted the customer $109.00 for our technician to go to his house & diagnose the unit & then give a quote on the repairs. The customer approved the service fee & scheduled an appointment for the next day. Nothing was said by the customer that he had a warranty on his unit at the time of scheduling. After our technician arrived at the house & diagnosed the unit he quoted the customer on the repairs which totaled $329.00 ($109 for the service fee+$220.00 for parts & labor) . It was only after our tech installed the part did the customer mention that he has an extended warranty for his furnace. Our tech informed him that we do not work with the Trane extended warranty program. At that time the customer called in to our office in regards to the bill. He talked to the office manager & was informed that we have not done the Trane extended warranty since June 2013. The customer then said that he had service with our company in January 2013 under warranty through our company. After looking into his file we did see that he had warranty work performed at that time. The warranty the customer purchased when ***** installed his furnace is through Trane-not through *****. He could have called any authorized Trane service provider & had the warranty work done. ***** was purchased by North Town Home Services in June 2011. Any work that was done prior to the purchase is not the responsibility of North Town Home Services due to it was an asset purchase only and we did not accept any of the liabilities. This was all explained to the customer when he called in about his bill. When the customer stated that it was too much to pay for the repairs he was told that our technician can take the part back out but he would still be responsible for the $109.00 service fee. The customer chose to pay the full amount & keep the part installed. Our company has no way of knowing every customer that has a Trane extended warranty & 99% of the time when a customer who has an extended warranty calls they let us know they have a warranty when they are quoted the service fee, and we inform them that we do not honor extended warranties.

11/29/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When calling for the service repair, they said it would $109 service call. I described the issue to the service repair rep. When the technician arrived he knew exactly what the issue was within 5 mins, and then said, we charge a flat rate of $425. The service rep never mentioned the charges are flat rate and not based on time of repair. The repair took no more then 30 mins to complete. When I complained, he dropped the price down to $375, and as I complained more he kept dropping the price to $312. I felt that that the service rep initial charge of $109 was misleading if they knew that the service technician would be charging a flat rate. If they would have told me initially they charge a flat rate, I would never had contracted with them for this repair. Plus, a flat rate of $425, for 30 mins worth of labor seems excessive, rate per hour of $850/hour. Then when the technician looked at the dishwasher, the flat rate of $175 that he wanted to charge, kept going up to $260 or even more, because he felt it might take longer than he expected. That is not a flat rate, so I told him don't fix the dishwasher. This company was not honest and did not provide all details of their pricing until the technician arrives. Even when they say flat rate, that wasn't honored in the case of the dishwasher.

Desired Settlement
I would like to get a refund for part of the $312 spent to correct the oven. somewhere between 200 and 250 would be more fair, for less than an hour's worth of work. Or I would consider having the dishwasher repaired for $175 as long as there is not an additional service call charge, and the repair cost would not exceed the $175, since the problem was already known before even looking at the dishwasher.

**********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response is totally inaccurate. I was quoted by the technician that the flat rate to repair the oven was $425, including the $109, not the 163.00 stated above. $425 - $109 is $316, not %163. When I complained, he first brought the cost down to 375, and then later to 312. He did nothing to warrant an extra $55 dollars for the dishwasher since he said he knew exactly what was wrong without even looking at it. The reason he had the parts with him for both appliances. The extra $55 is not even on the invoice. Plus, the cost to fix the dishwasher kept increasing as he talked to me. He also kept saying the office is not going to like me reducing the charge, contrary to the 10% authorization stated. He ended up reducing the cost over 40% since he knew he was over charging me, and taking advantage of the situate.

Final Business Response
Like it was stated in the previous response, our technicians are authorized to give a discount on repairs if we are able to do a first time fix. ************* received the lowest flat rate possible for replacing his hinge. It was quoted to the customer & approved by the customer prior to the repairs -which the customer admits to in his rebuttal. Therefore he will not be receiving any refund due to the already discounted repairs he received. I'm not sure how we are dishonest company when everything was quoted to the customer prior to any work being done. If the customer disapproved of our prices then he didn't have to approve the quote & then he would have just been charged the initial service fee of $164.00 for diagnosing the issue on 2 appliances. In regards to the dishwasher the technician quoted the repairs before he realized that the unit was installed onto a very unleveled floor & not easily accessible. The quote changed not because of the time it would take to do the repairs but because the type of repair changed due to the installation of the unit.
If ************ is so dissatisfied with our service we can schedule a technician to go back to his house & reinstall his original hinges & refund the total amount that was charged to him.

07/29/2013Billing / Collection Issues
07/08/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
02/22/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
10/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My cook-top would not light up. The rate is $90 1st half hr to diagnose/repair when I called Northtown office. The technician came on July 3rd it was identified need replacement a wire within 10 min. I was told he would be back to replace the wire, and asked to pay $199 to include the estimated time for the replacement (30 min). I paid with my credit card. 3 days late call from their office informed me the part is no longer available. I called Northtown and asked the to only charge the diagnosis time not the repair as the problem is not repaired due to no part.

Desired Settlement
reduce the charge to limit it to the diagnosis (first half hour), and remove the repair charge as there is no repair work done due to no part

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ************** Manager
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *************************
When the customer called in to schedule the service call for his Bosch cooktop on July 3rd he was quoted $90.00 for a diagnostic fee. That $90.00 covers the technicians travel to the house & the first half hour in the house. When our technician (who has been with the company for 25+ years) arrived at the house he found the unit already had parts taken out of the unit. Screws were broken off & wires were broken. The unit was also very dirty. Our tech proceeded to put the unit back together, to properly diagnose the unit. He replaced some wires & was able to get the unit working. The repairs took approximately 1 hour. He then informed the customer that if it stopped working again due to previous damage he would need to order new parts for the unit. The customer signed the invoice acknowledging that the work was accepted & paid our technician $199.00 for the service fee & labor it took to repair the unit.
The customer then called our technician's cell phone-not our office-on July 7th to state that the unit wasn't working. The tech informed him that he would then need to order parts & would get back to him. Our office left a message for the customer informing him that the manufacture no longer makes parts for his unit due to the age. The customer doesn't believe he should have to pay for our technician's time working on the unit due to Bosch stopping production of replacement parts for his model. Our office explained to the customer that even though it is unfortunate that his parts are no longer available through Bosch he still has to pay for the service call he received on the 3rd. Our tech went above & beyond the initial service call to work on the customer's unit which warrants additional charges on top of the initial service call.
The customer's account has already been sent to a collection agency due to stopping payment for services rendered.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The additional charge is not acceptable as the technician identified the root cause right away. He did not need to put back the unit and screws to make the diagnosis. If anything the unscrewed unit made his job easier to open the unit. He did not change any thing. Only he did was to pull one connecter off and put it back, and told me the wire connecter unit need to be changed. And he would order a new one. He should have only charge me for the first half hour for the diagnosis as he could not fix the problem. The unit is still in my home. If they say they changed anything they should send someone to check it out to confirm. They mispresented the time the technician worked. I can only pay them the first half hour for the diagnosis ($90), not the other hour they did not stay and did not fix anything

Final Business Response
When a unit is not fully put together it is not possible to do a proper diagnosis of a unit. It could give false readings when testing the unit. The customer has admitted that the unit was unscrewed & taken apart which means our technician had to put everything back together to do a diagnosis. That would entail more time being taken to work on the unit-meaning there would also be more charges on top of the initial service fee. The customer has not been charged for any parts. He is only being charged for our technicians time in the house on the initial day of service. Due to the fact that the customer stopped payment on his credit card his account was sent into collections. He had services from our company & refuses to pay because the manufacturer doesn't make parts anymore. While it is unfortunate & we do apologize that we weren't able to repair the unit, that is an issue that he should take up with the manufacturer, our company shouldn't be short changed due to a decision of another company.

04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The repairs on my refrigerator failed about 5 hours after service. Company refused to acknowledge their verbal agreement to diagnose and additional failure that occurred during their servicing.Company refused to provide written validation of the warranty policy regarding parts and labor when requested.Company refused to provide detail of charges for parts labor and other charges related to the service when requested.Company would not allow any discussions with supervision or management boyond the customer service person as requested.

Desired Settlement
1.documented disclosure of warranty terms for parts and labor.
2.Written detail and explanation of charges for all parts ,labor, and other charges that comprise the total Charge of $1307.79
3.Diagnoses of failed ice depositor that occurred during servicing as agreed to verbally on April 7 2014.

************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Final Business Response
Our company works off a flat rate system. We do not have a breakdown between the parts. We have operated using this flat rate system since 1930. I will attach the copy of the quote that we called the customer from, which is the only breakdown that we have. We are not legally obliged to give a breakdown like the customer is asking for.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Warranty explanation is acceptable. I believe I am legally entiled to documentation of the individual charges that comprise the ********* The individual charge for each, charge for labor, any tax and other charges reflected in the total.I never said the charges were commercially unacceptable, only that refusing to detail the charges was.Any document or receipt that reflects what I was charged for each part, labor, tax or other charges that explains the total charge.I have found someone else to deal with the Ice depositor.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies, Heating Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating & Air Conditioning, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.