BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Plass Appliance & Furniture- Bloomingdale/Addison

Phone: (630) 351-4020Fax: (630) 351-4152

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
11/29/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/13/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/23/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On February 12, 2012 I purchased a ********** French Door refrigerator ****************** **************** from ***** Appliance on ***************** in ********************** They were conducting a store liquidation sale, so the pricing was very aggressive. We were concerned about service should they go out of business. They assured us the extended warranty was with a Third Party Appliance repair firm. So we paid the additional $200.00 for 3 years of coverage and were given the name and number of the repair firm. ***************** Repair XXX-XXX-XXXX. The refrigerator was delivered and had been working fine until last month when the ice dispenser stopped working. We called ******* for service...only to find out ***** had never submitted our paperwork to them. Now we find out that ***** has filed for bankruptcy. ******* said that ***** was supposed to have made provisions for these warranties in May. But never heard anything since. We now have a refrigerator that's out of factory warranty and in need of repair. ********** said they could give us what's called *********** for $330.00. This would cover the repair and give us one year of coverage. Now the refrigerator that we saved a few hundred dollars on at a close out sale is costing much more than that. We would like to see these people prosecuted for taking this warranty money and never setting up our service contract.

Desired Settlement
We want the 3 year warranty we paid for! Because the refrigerator is out of warranty- A refund won't even pay for one year of coverage.

Anything less is unacceptable.

09/17/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
WE PURCHASED THE FOLLOWING FROM ***** APPLIANCE ON 08/06/2011:
**************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

ON JULY 27, 2013, WE NOTICED THAT THE PLASTIC ON THE INTERIOR OF THE REFRIGERATOR JUST ABOVE THE LIGHT IN THE REAR APPEARED CRACKED AND MELTED. THE LIGHT BULBS WERE THE ORIGINAL LIGHT BULBS: THEY HAVE NEVER BEEN REPLACED. THE UNIT HAS NOT BEEN MODIFIED OR ALTERED IN ANY WAY.

WE WERE SHOCKED TO EVEN SEE SOMETHING LIKE THIS. WE KNEW WE HAD AN EXTENDED WARRANTY. WE TRIED CALLING THE TINLEY PARK LOCATION WHERE WE PURCHASED THE REFRIGERATOR, BUT THE LINE WAS OUT OF ORDER. WE TRIED OTHER STORES: SAME THING. THE NUMBER FOR THE CORPORATE OFFICES JUST KEPT ON RINGING.

WE WENT ON-LINE, AND FOUND OUT ***** WENT OUT OF BUSINESS. WE NEVER RECEIVED ANY NOTIFICATION FROM *****. NO INSTRUCTIONS WERE RECEIVED ABOUT THE EXTENDED WARRANTY.

WE HAVE AN EXTENDED WARRANTY THAT IS NOT BEING HONORED. WE WOULD LIKE IT TO BE HONORED.



Desired Settlement
WE WOULD LIKE ONE OF THE FOLLOWING AS A SETTLEMENT:
1. HAVE THE EXTENEDED WARRANTY HONORED.
2. HAVE THE FULL AMOUNT OF THE WARRANTY REFUNDED TO US.
3. HAVE THE REFRIGERATOR REPLACED.

09/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In September 2010, we purchased 6 appliances from ***** Appliance in ********. At that time, we purchased 5 year protection plans for 5 of the appliances. ***** has ceased operations in May of this year and did not notify us who would be taking over the 5 service plans. We need service on one the appliances covered but do not know 1)if they are still covered or 2) who to contact.

Desired Settlement
Continuation of the service plans until their original expiration date in September of 2015.

12/04/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
11/07/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Dealers, Washers, Refrigerators & Freezers - Dealers, Ranges & Ovens - Dealers, Microwave Ovens - Dealers, Appliances - Small - Dealers, Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.