BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Grants Appliances Electronics & More-Downers Grove

Find a Location

(630) 691-18001552 Butterfield Rd, Downers GroveIL 60515-1003 Send email to Grants Appliances Electronics & More-Downers Grove ! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Grants Appliances Electronics & More-Downers Grove is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Grants Appliances Electronics & More-Downers Grove

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
10/07/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was promised a three year warranty and never received it. I also purchased a extended 5 year warranty. I should have a warranty until 2021
*** ********* sold us a Viking Refrigerator in April of 2013. Finally delivered June 26, 2013. He promised us a factory 3 year warranty from Viking and we paid an additional $359.00 for a 60 month extended warranty. I never received any paperwork stating we had a three year factory warranty. I called *** many times, he insisted we had a three year but every time I called the company they told me I had a two year only. Tried to get some help from ****** and ***** from corp at XXX-XXX-XXXX. No one will return my phone calls.When we were looking for a refrigerator *** would call every 30 minutes to ask if we were coming in to purchase it.$10,343.72 we spent on this product.One year later I needed service once again for the second time.Once again spoke to *** and he insisted I had a three year factory warranty. He told me he would check into it and return my call. I called and left many many messages for him and ******. Never received a phone call back. I called the extended warranty company to see how I can get this unit repaired. ****** at XXXX-XXX-XXXX returned my call a few days later explained they had no one to repair the unit. At this point I figured it out that I still had a factory warranty for another year. I called Viking and they called me back to set up an appt.****** told me this warranty I was sold, I had to find a repair man to come out and I would have to pay the bill. While the man is in my home he would have to call the customer service center to see if it would be approved. If not they wouldn't cover it. It had to be in their guidelines. We were never told we purchased such a poor warranty. *** assured us 3 year from the factory and 60 months complete protection from a company that always works with Viking. All of this information was untrue.*** is the General Manager why would he lie to my husband and myself? We never would have spent this large amount of money on a refrigerator if we knew the real truth about the factory warranty and extended warranty.I am asking the BBB to help get what I was promised from *** when purchasing this unit.

Desired Settlement
I want the three year warranty as promised and I want a warranty company that will service Viking.
I don't want to have to pay anything out of pocket for the promised years of 8.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ************ exec directr
Contact Phone:***********
Contact Email: ****************************
We have previously responded to this and received this last week in regards to ************* complaint throught the BBB; we have communicatied regarding the Viking refrigerator having a 3yr maufactures warranty (link is below):

http://www.vikingrange.com/consumer/category/products/3-year-signature-warranty

In addition, we are working with our warranty company, as they have to enter manually their extended warranty being that the Viking has a 3yr warranty (unique situation; as majority of manufactures provide only a 1yr warranty). We should have the necessary proof for ************ from ******** (extended warranty company) this week showing her total coverage of the refrigerator. We will forward all information to ********** once received this week.

Regards,

************



Consumer Response
************ from Grant Appliance promised me he would have the correct dates and paperwork mailed to me by Sept 4, 2014. Today is Sept 23, 2014 and still no paperwork. I have been trying to call him, ****** and other people in Customer Service. ************ no longer works for the company as the manager ************. The information was never corrrected as stated. Viking has a three year warrant and I purchased another 5 year. This means I have a warranty until June 26, 2021


Business Response
The extended warranty has revised the warranty and a copy of the revision has been mailed. the contract end date is 06/26/2021
Thank you,

Grants Appliance

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Dealers

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1552 Butterfield Rd 

    Downers Grove, IL 60515-1003(630) 691-1800

  • 321 Republic Ave. 

    Joliet, IL 60435-6519(815) 725-7533

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Grants Appliances Electronics & More-Downers Grove is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Appliances - Major - Dealers

Service Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

If you are the owner and/or President of this company and the information regarding your company being out of business is not correct, please click this link http://app.chicago.bbb.org/updatecompany.

If you are a consumer and you have information about the company having moved to a different location, please e-mail us at info@chicago.bbb.org

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.