Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Grand Appliance & TV-Libertyville

Phone: (847) 549-9807 216 Peterson Rd, Libertyville, IL 60048 http://www.grandapplianceandtv.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Grand Appliance & TV-Libertyville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Grand Appliance & TV-Libertyville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Grand Appliance & TV-Libertyville
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 06, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1930 Business started locally: 01/01/1930 Business incorporated 05/22/1987 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Larsen, Customer Service Manager Mr. Mark Reckling, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Larsen, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies Appliances - Small - Dealers Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers Television & Radio - Dealers Electronic Equipment & Suppliers - Service & Repair Household Appliance Stores (NAICS: 443141)


Additional Locations

  • 216 Peterson Rd

    Libertyville, IL 60048 (847) 549-9807

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with Grand Appliance in Feb. We received our order in March. Since then I have had nothing but trouble. The microwave was dented ( which they replaced). Or refrigerator broke down after less than a month. I called customer service and after several follow up calls was able to get an instore credit. We went to the store purchased a MORE EXPENSIVE ** frig. Now it has been less than two months and the freezer unit broke and is making a terrible noise. I called the store on Weds, July 6th and spoke to *** who assured me that customer service would call me back. Once again no call back. I waited a day thinking maybe due to the holiday there was a delay. Today I called and spoke again to *** who said "You mean Customer Service didn'[t call?" Then stated ** has been notified and would call regarding a repair,. At this point I believe there is something wrong with this unit since it has been in our house for a month in a half. It is apparent that there has been no effort on Grand Appliance part to replace this additional faulty unit. And no follow up. Please help me get some resolution. At this point I have no idea what to do as this unit seems to be faulty as well. Not to mention we had freezer items which we had to discard.

Desired Settlement: I would like this unit to be replaced.

Business Response: We received word that the customer wanted service at 10:56 AM on July 7th and requested service from the manufacturer at 11:04 AM the same day. Upon receiving word that ** had not yet set up service, we sent in another request this morning at 9:18 AM.

Business Response: I apologize that your unit does not qualify for exchange. However, your service warranty from the manufacturer is in full effect, and service is scheduled under ** file number ***************. The service office handling this call will be contacting you, but if you would like to speak with them concerning scheduling, their direct number is ************.

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  The problem which was never discussed is the lack of cooperation on this company's part.  At no time did Grand Appliance contact me regarding the broken freezer ( which has been not working since the 6 of July).  No email, no discussion, no return call.  What is interesting is that several people have ALSO had issues with this company.  I am not sure why so many of my items were at issue.  But since I have called before I am SURE this is why I didn't even receive a call back.  

At this point I have no other recourse but register my dissatisfaction with the lack of customer service from this company.  I will try to work with the manufacturer since Grand will not comment on this product. 

It is unfortunate for them and any consumer who attempts to purchase items from them.

If I had not filed this complaint I would not even know that the service department for ** was called.  I would like the ** number to be forwarded to me as I would like them to perform diagnostics on this refrigerator.  

Thank you BBB for your assistance.  

 


Sincerely,

**** *****

12/21/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/15/2015 I received a Viking Refrigerator that I purchased on 12/08/2015, and it was installed during delivery. The refrigerator was installed poorly, or the refrigerator is a lemon. It immediately began to leak a tremendous amount of water from the place where a water filter was suppose to be. I called the store and they told me it would stop when the filter was put into place. I drove to the store and purchased the filter (and an extra), and had a plumber neighbor install the filter for me. He told me that it should not have been leaking without the filter and that this was a defect in the appliance. I decided to try it and within a day I had a major flood where water had soaked the filter to such a degree the housing had come loose and water ruined all of the food in the refrigerator, and flooded the floor when I opened the refrigerator door. The water dispenser also does not work. Grand said they would send someone right out to turn off the water, and they did not. I am still flooding, and have to standby and remove the pans and empty them every 30 minutes or so. This is a brand new refrigerator and I am the first owner. I saved 10 years to buy this refrigerator, only to have it be a leaking disaster.

Desired Settlement: Exchange for a working refrigerator.

Business Response: We are exchanging this unit, per the customer's request.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Grand Appliance & TV-Libertyville
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)