BBB Accredited Business since

Grand Appliance & TV-Crystal Lake

Phone: (815) 455-1445 1275 Randall Rd, Crystal Lake, IL 60014

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Grand Appliance & TV-Crystal Lake meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Grand Appliance & TV-Crystal Lake include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Grand Appliance & TV-Crystal Lake
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 28, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2008 Business started locally: 01/01/2008 Business incorporated 05/22/1987 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Chris Larsen, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Larsen, Customer Service Manager
Number of Employees


Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Household Appliance Stores (NAICS: 443141)

Additional Locations

  • 1275 Randall Rd

    Crystal Lake, IL 60014 (815) 455-1445


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 02-24 Opened claim with NSI ( warranty sold by GA and TV) due to a defect washer purchased at GA and TV. 02-28 Technician came to our home and noted Serial and Model number. Explained part will be onsite on Wednesday XX-XX-XXXX since it requires to be ordered. 03-04 received phonecall from service provider - technician noted wrong model number. Part was therefor not ordered. We provided correct model number. 03-05 we made several phonecalls between NSI and service provider - approval paperwork for parts and repair was lost. Then we were told it will take in total about 2 weeks to get our washer fixed. 03-05 talked to GA and TV (**** which we explained this to - he said he would look into this and call us back. Not receiving calls back. We did not buy a warranty to get our appliance repaired with a 2 week waiting time. We have 4 children and bought this warranty with the reason that a defect washer or dryer will be fixed within an reasonable time frame. This warranty GA and TV is selling is scam and a rib-off. We paid cash and our money was taken without providing any service.

Desired Settlement: Money back on our washer and dryer so we can purchase from another company with a better warranty which we can rely on

Business Response: ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/04/23) */ As stated in Grand Appliance & TV's last rebuttal, all covered repairs have been completed according to our information. If the customer feels that the unit is in need of further covered repairs, she needs to call the warranty company *****************, but plastic parts are specifically excluded from repair coverage. As she states in her own rebuttal dated 03-31-14, "the inside of the door has a plastic pieces which is cracked". Unfortunately, this is not a covered repair. ********************************************************************** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/03/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1.) Our washing machine is still defect. Only the rubber piece of the drum was replaced. The door is still defect. It is NOT a cosmetic defect. The inside of the door has a plastic piece which is cracked and does not close the door correctly. I refuse to call the warranty company again. They refused to approve the door repair. Again - it is NOT a cosmetic defect. It is easy to say to just contact the warranty again. GA & TV sold us a rip-off warranty which is not approving required repairs. I want this washing machine picked up and money re-reimbursed.

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refund of stove after several issues with range, they finally agreed to replace & we upgraded the stove since our old model was changed by the brand. When delivery became an issue we decided to get a refund on everything. We have not received the credit refund on my ******** card for the upgrade at ****** a check for the or the original broken stove & extended warranty at ********. All product (both the upgrade stove & the old stove was picked up) is in there possession

Desired Settlement: Refund ASAP.

Business Response: ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/04/02) */ The customer's current complaint is as follows: "This is not resolved, the credit the amount to my credit card, that it was NOT purchased on and ******** will not refund this amout." When we asked her for her card information to process her refund, she gave us a different card than was originally used for the purchase, so the failure was not Grand Appliance & TV's. The new credit card would not accept the refund for the old credit card's purchase, which is the policy of the credit card companies involved. She did ask us to refund her by check, but our policy is to refund using the same method of payment, and in the case of cash, by check. To protect our customers, we do not hold onto credit card information and were reliant on the customer to provide the appropriate information to process the refund. If she had given us the correct card information, there would have been no delay in receiving the amount due. My current understanding of the situation is that both credit card companies have worked out the issue, and the customer has her money. *********************************************************************** Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2014/04/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I ended up fixing this ************* as the staff was completely incompetent in figure out how to refund me.