BBB Accredited Business since

Grand Appliance & TV-Chicago

Phone: (773) 252-1908 1300 W North Ave, Chicago, IL 60642 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.grandapplianceandtv.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Grand Appliance & TV-Chicago meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Grand Appliance & TV-Chicago include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Grand Appliance & TV-Chicago
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 06, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1930 Business started locally: 01/01/1930 Business incorporated 05/22/1987 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Larsen, Customer Service Manager Mr. Mark Reckling, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Larsen, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies Appliances - Small - Dealers Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers Television & Radio - Dealers Electronic Equipment & Suppliers - Service & Repair Household Appliance Stores (NAICS: 443141)


Additional Locations

  • 1300 W North Ave

    Chicago, IL 60642 (773) 252-1908

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Less than 2 years ago, I purchased a dryer from Grand, paying approximately $850 for it. The first dryer they delivered to me...the door wouldn't stay closed. A few days later, they sent a 'replacement'. A few weeks ago, it broke down. I had a repairman out to service it, and when he opened up the machine to replace the thermal limiter, inside he found a paint brush. A "new" $850 dryer with a highly flammable paint brush inside the machine. For the last week, I've been dealing with "customer service," who has denied responsibility. Frigidaire assured me it was impossible for it to have come from their factory, as it is a highly controlled environment and paint brushes aren't on the factory floor. Grand has offered to pay me $104 for my $400 repair troubles, as a gesture. I don't want a gesture. I want them to take your commitment to their customers seriously. The paint brush damaged the inside of the machine. And the existence of it in the first place tells me that I was sold either a used, refurbished or repaired item, as the machine had to be opened to find it.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of the dryer with the NEW product I paid for originally.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ************ Contact Phone:************* Contact Email: ******************************* ************ took delivery of a Frigidaire gas dryer (M***********; S***********) on August 24, 2012. On July 10, 2014, she contacted the Grand Appliance & TV store in Chicago following repairs to said unit from Premium Appliance Repair. As you can see from the attached service documents, the failure was that of a thermostat limiter, but the customer says that the technician found a paintbrush inside the unit and after talking with the manufacturer, assumes that we delivered her a "refurbished" appliance. Her signed delivery document (also attached) shows her acceptance of a new dryer. I informed the customer that we did not put a paintbrush inside her dryer or sell her anything other than a brand-new, boxed appliance, but that as a customer service, we could reimburse her for $104.00 worth of service on****************** Repair invoice******. The dryer has been in her home and out of our custody for almost two years, and as a result, we would be unable to exchange this appliance for ********. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The dryer Grand gave me was a "replacement" for the first faulty dryer that they originally delivered (the door wouldn't shut properly). This was the second dryer they delivered that week to me. Nowhere on the delivery document does it say it was "new in box." In fact, it was not. They simply brought a different, unboxed dryer and swapped it out. This dryer has never been serviced or opened prior to this repair. Grand sold me the appliance and it was faulty. The paint brush damaged the inside of the dryer and posed a life-threatening fire hazard to me and my family. I'm not asking for the cost of repair, as the damage done to the machine is separate from the thermal limiter repair. I am asking for the company to stand behind its product and give me the new machine I paid for, without foreign objects inside the machine. It matters not how long the item has been in my home. They sold me a faulty, damaged product and now refuse to honor their customer commitment to service and quality. Their "gesture" of $104 is unacceptable. Frankly, if they deny responsibility, why would they offer any payment to me at all? I ask how they would react, had this happened to them. Attached is the invoice that states what was found, along with a photograph of the paint brush. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/29) */ Grand Appliance & TV replaced ********'s dryer with a new, boxed unit in 2012, as is documented on the invoice ******* Our invoices never say "new in box" anywhere on them, as this is the default condition of all the products that we sell and deliver. We never opened or repaired this dryer. ********'s dryer worked without fail for two years, until the thermal limiter needed replacing. The technician from ***************** Repair did not note the discovery of any foreign objects in his notes, so it is conjecture to assume that a paint brush would have caused the failure. We are not offering the full cost of the repair, as Grand Appliance & TV did not put the paintbrush inside the unit, either prior to delivery or during the two years it was in ********'s home. We offered a portion of the repairs as a gesture of customer service while denying any fault in the matter. I apologize if she takes offense to the word "gesture". I have already answered by phone ********'s question as to how I would personally respond to such an offer. I would accept it.