Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Abt Electronics & Appliances

Phone: (847) 967-8830 Fax: (847) 544-2270 View Additional Phone Numbers 1200 Milwaukee Ave, Glenview, IL 60025 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.abt.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Abt Electronics & Appliances meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Abt Electronics & Appliances include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 45 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

45 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 16 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 6
Problems with Product/Service 28
Total Closed Complaints 45

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

20 Customer Reviews on Abt Electronics & Appliances
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 9
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 11
Total Customer Reviews 20

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1974 Business started: 07/01/1936 Business started locally: 07/01/1936
Business Management
Mr. Billy Abt, President Mr. Ricky Abt Randy Goldman, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Billy Abt, President
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Appliances - Small - Dealers Auto Radios & Stereos - Sales & Repair Barbecue Equipment & Supplies Compactors - Waste - Household - Dealers Computers - Dealers Computer Printers Sales & Service Cooking Utensils Cutlery Dishwashing Machines - Dealers Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers Exercise Equipment & Machines - Sales Furniture - Retail Garbage Disposals - Household Home Theater Kitchen Accessories Mattresses Microwave Ovens - Dealers Photographic Equipment & Supplies - Retail Ranges & Ovens - Dealers Refrigerators & Freezers - Dealers Television & Radio - Dealers Vacuum Cleaners - Household - Dealers Video Equipment - Sales & Rentals Washing Machines & Dryers - Dealers Watches - Dealers Water Heaters - Dealers Internet Shopping Home Electronics Cellular Telephone Service & Supplies Global Positioning Systems Coffee Brewing Devices Humidifying Apparatus Furnace Sales & Service Mattress & Bedding Stores Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Dehumidifying Equipment Generators - Electric Juice Extractors Antennas Household Appliance Stores (NAICS: 443141)

Alternate Business Names
Abt Electronics
Additional Information

Abt Electronics & Appliances has requested that before filing a BBB inquiry, consumers contact Randy Goldman, Store Manager, at rgoldman@abt.com or 847-544-2503.

Please understand that you can file a complaint with the BBB now or at any time during this process. It is our hope that Abt Electronics & Appliances will resolve the matter for you in an expedient manner.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Abt Electronics & Appliances has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1200 Milwaukee Ave

    Glenview, IL 60025 (847) 544-2562 (847) 544-2571

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was first impressed with initial level of services when I spoke with sales rep. and customer service regarding sale and partial payment and finance , of which I paid 1700 up front and financed 1100 hundred , they had no problem processing the order . With in a 24 to 48 hr window I had sort of buyers remorse and wanted to cancel . Now when I had called customer service , she had advised me that was not any problem as far as the cancellation but then placed me on hold to speak with another sales rep to see if they would better assist me in terms of price matching or a discount etc. Now when I spoke with the rep I believe his name was either ***** ** *** and he was a little rude and curt with me and advised that the other competitor was not authorized and ** would honor warranty and such . Now even after that he advised me that if I were to return it I would be responsible for restocking fee of 15 % = $419.38 and be responsible for shipping cost ???? It hasn't even left there warehouse. I was furious . I said ok thank you and was transferred back to customer support NOW I said to her please speak with a manger which she did and said it would not incur those cost since it hasn't shipped out of warehouse but she was kind and I really wanted the TV so I continued with the sale. As far as the other Competitor it ********** and NOT one of there 3rd party sellers its listed as 2497.00 https://www.**********/**-Electronics-65UH9500-65-Inch-Ultra/dp/B01C9CYISG/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1470252898&sr=1-1&keywords=**+tv+65uh9500 and guess what THEY " ABT "was not an authorized seller see here http://www.**.com/us/authorizeddealers/**_online_authorized_retailers ... out 2799.00 Their PRICE MATCH GUARANTEE is a lie and false advertising . I will follow up on CONSUMERS ******* as well as RIP *** ****** and **** . Including all my social media outlets and as a REALTOR I have thousands or Agents Home buyers\renters that will be interested to know how they do business.

Desired Settlement: I would simply like an apology for the flat out lies that I was told and ABT.com to actually honor what they advertise .

Business Response:

I'm sorry for the poor response from our customer service team.  We will gladly adjust the price to $2499 and issue a credit to you finance account.

 

6/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/10/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this complaint is in regards to the charges related to fixing my ** refrigerator on 04-28-2016 and 05-06-2016. I was overcharged on two parts installed to fix leaking refrigerator. for Water Valve $72.68 and for Main Board $220.33. For services I was charged $164, however my complaint does not pertain to the service charge. I found identical parts for much lower prices online and some merchants charged half the price for each part. I found lower price for Main Board ** brand, identical model for $124.10 at ******* and for Water Valve I could buy for $20 the same model, ** brand. I waited one week for order of those parts.

Desired Settlement: I want a credit (refund) for the price on two parts they installed. I know I could buy them much cheaper from authorized dealers and ABT overcharged me.

Business Response: We acquire parts either from the manufacturer directly or through authorized parts distributors.  The prices that we charge are consistent with the industry.  I will make an adjustment for the customer to our cost on these parts.

4/26/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upscale LG refrigerator was purchased with 4 year extended warranty in summer 2013, and service plan expires in summer 2017. In November 2015 the unit stopped working properly and temperatures became higher than normal in both chambers. We had multiple visits from technicians (lost count, at least 8 visits or even more), including visits from senior level technicians, multiple phone calls between visiting technicians and LG, multiple parts replaced, including computer board and compressor (on 4/12/16), however, the unit is still not working. My family already experienced food poisoning as food went bad due to fluctuating temperatures. Since we started having problems with the unit, we were able to keep food in the garage as outdoor temperatures were low during the winter, but we can not do it any more. As of now, the family of 7 is left without refrigerator at all as the temperature in main chamber went from 42 to 55 over night after compressor replacement, and it continues climbing up.

Desired Settlement: Obviously, after countless service calls, ABT was not able to identify the problem and fix it. Customer service agents refused to escalate this issue and keep scheduling visit after visit within no end to those visits in sight. ABT should honor 4 year service agreement that my family paid for and replace this irreparable unit.

Business Response: I spoke to the customer this morning and her refrigerator was still not reaching temperature.  I arranged an exchange of the refrigerator for this Saturday 4/16.

4/1/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company takes my money and never ship my order. The customer service, online chat, is never helpful. They are such a scammer ripping your money off without shipping the order out. This ruins your entire plan on online shopping.

Desired Settlement: Refund my entire order of $399

Business Response: This order was voided by our processor as they flagged it as possible fraud.  Customer's card was never charged, and an email was sent indicating the order had been voided.  I'm sorry for any inconvenience this caused.

3/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ABC came our for a service call on 03/05/2016. They said they had to order a part which would take a few days. On 03/09/2016 I called ABT to see if the part had come in. I was told it would come in on 03/11/2016 and they could install it on Saturday 03/12/2016 morning. On 3/12 I called to see when they would be out and was told the service call was scheduled for Friday, 03/18/2016. We rescheduled for Saturday 03/19/2016. I asked if ABT could install the part in the morning because of the inconvenience. I was told they could not guarantee that and I would get what they had.

Desired Settlement: I would like for ABT to apologize for their incompetence and install the part on the morning of Saturday 03/19/2016.

Business Response:

I'm sorry that the part did not arrive as expected.  I will gladly schedule the repair for Saturday 3-19 first stop of the day.  I'm sorry this was not done when the customer spoke to our service representative on the phone.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *******

3/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pair of Beats headphones from abt.com on February 1, 2016. The order arrived, my son was not happy with the performance of the headphones, so we returned them. ABT is refusing to refund my money as they claim the headphones in the box do not match the serial number on the box. My invoice has the number scanned from the outside of the box, the contents were not checked prior to them being sent to me. I returned the product they shipped, in it's original packaging, and the shipping box they used, and now will not refund my money. I've been insulted with their statements that I switched products, and when I told them I resented their implication, they changed their story and said "maybe someone else in your house switched the units out." The fact that I have ZERO recourse in this is infuriating. They admitted they have the same paperwork that I have and that it is useless, since the contents were not checked prior to shipping. *** ********** the service manager, said tonight he checked with the manufacturer and the serial number of the headphones was shipped to amazon in October. If that is the case, then why can't they verify who bought that unit? I am not asking for the purchaser information, but it would show that what I'm attempting to explain to them is true: I ordered one pair of those headphones, from their company, they didn't meet our satisfaction, and I returned them. I am beside myself that again, as a consumer, I have NO recourse or ability to refute their sweeping decision.

Desired Settlement: All I'm requesting is a refund for the product that I purchased, and trust me, I will never do business with this company again.

Business Response:

We have looked into the customers issue and determined the following:  Our distributor confirmed that they shipped a brand new unit with the serial number that we recorded.  That serial number was never returned to the distributor or Abt.  The serial number of the unit shipped back to us was tracked back to ********** and would have been received by ****** into their inventory in October of last year (2015).

We are confident that the headphones returned to us were not the ones that we shipped out.  We sent those headphones back to the customer yesterday.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

the only thing scanned was the box containing the headphones, not the unit itself, which Mr. ********* confirmed; the box serial number appears on the invoice (the only paperwork i have,) and short of having video taped opening the box when it was received and when re-packaging to return, I don't know what else I could've done. The only set of these headphones I've ever purchased was from ABT, and those were the same unit I returned.  The product was not damaged nor destroyed in any way, all i asked for was a refund. They refuse to cooperate and be a respectable business, I will continue to pursue other options to remedy this.

When I asked Mr. ********* if I had known to check if the serial numbers matched and contacted them about it if it didn't match what they would've done, he said he didn't know. I have no way of knowing if the unit they continue to maintain isn't the one they shipped is even the one that i returned in the package, as again, as far as I know they also didn't video tape opening my return (unless they have video to verify what they are saying is true.)

Sincerely,

**** *********

Business Response: We never open merchandise prior to shipping as it comes in a factory sealed carton.  As the serial number of the unit returned to us was registered to as shipped to ****** months before the unit we shipped out, we continue to believe that the customer sent us the wrong set of headphones. 

2/6/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a new 65" Samsung 3D HDTV ($2000) on Black Friday weekend. The TV was not shipped for several weeks until I called to find out why, even though it was in stock. We received the TV defective in late December. After dealing with one customer service person who thought I could ship it back UPS, I got to someone who understood the issue and shipped a replacement unit with the same freight service with direction to pick up the defective unit. The replacement arrived at the end of the year (missing Christmas of course) and the delivery company picked up the defective unit after calling to confirm the pick-up, since they didn't have any paperwork. I informed the tech support person I was dealing with to make sure they tracked the return and received it properly. A couple weeks ago, I got a call from the freight company to schedule a pickup and told them they already had it. I also informed the support person at Abt of the situation who assured me they'd take care of it. Today we received a bill for $2000 for the TV we already paid for. A call to Abt informed us we're being charged for the TV we haven't returned, even though their scheduled shipping company picked it up. This has obviously been a completely unacceptable experience, and we certainly wouldn't have dealt with Abt had we known. Others should be warned about this.

Desired Settlement: Eliminate the bill and any credit reporting issues. Receive a call from senior management to explain their operation.

Business Response: The invoice that was sent was not and is not a demand for payment.  It is merely an accounting measure for the TV that has not been returned by the shipper.  Customer can disregard the invoice.

1/20/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent back a product and they claim it was not the one they had sent me.

Desired Settlement: Refund of all charges.

Business Response: The microwave that was returned to us had a different serial number than we scanned at the time of shipping.  It also did not match the serial number on the box, leading us to believe that the customer had sent us the wrong unit.  In spite of this discrepancy, we will refund the customer his full purchase price.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ********

12/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a ****** oven from ABT Electronics, and we have had a major problem with the baking oven. So I had called them to fix the problem, and they charged me 214 dollars for the labor plus parts; but they could not fix my oven for the next 5-6 trips that they came to my house. Every time they said that it would be fixed, it was not getting fixed and I had to take multiple days off of work. In the meantime I talked many times to *** ******, an appliance service manager, and I had told him that it is not fair that I had to pay 214 dollars for labor which had done nothing to fix my oven and on top of that the money lost from me taking days off of work. He told me that he would take care of this issue after the oven gets fixed, and when his service employee came in to fix my oven the last time he still charged me for the part cost; but no discount on the labor cost. The oven is fixed now after the many trips and headaches.

Desired Settlement: I would like to obtain a billing adjustment for half of the labor cost, because it took 5-6 trips for ABT to come and fix the same problem with my oven. This had cost me money from taking time off of work, and *** ****** had told me he would take care of this issue which he did not.

Business Response:

Service ticket was finalized yesterday.  Customers credit of $107.00 to his discover was processed this morning.  I apologize for the delay in completion of his repair.

 

**

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ****

12/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A dryer repair was made. After repair was complete, I noticed that several controls for the dryer, including the Power and Start button were damaged, when no damage was there previously. Abt Electronics was contacted and told me that the damage had to be "wear and tear". This damage did not exist prior to this repair being made.

Desired Settlement: Fix the buttons

Business Response: We serviced the unit on 10/19 to replace a burner assembly that had been leaking.  We received a call on 11/4 stating the the buttons were hard to depress.  Upon inspection it was noted the the start button had been cracked by repeated use.  There is no physical damage to any other part of the console.  It is our opinion that the unit was not damaged at the time of repair.  I'd be happy to provide the part at cost and waive any labor to complete the repair.

11/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a ******* refrigerator from Abt store, it is still under warranty, it stopped cooling on Oct. 17th, 2015. We have had 3 different visits from repairmen from Abt, (as well as two visits from ****** repair service the ******* authorized repair service.) The refrigerator is still not working, Abt says they are working with ******* to resolve the problem, we have had no refrigeration for almost a month. We are spending a lot of time being on hand so that repairmen can come to try and fix the refrigerator. We are also spending a lot of time on the phone talking to different supervisors at the customer service center of Abt. We feel the appliance is a lemon, it is defective. It was an expensive appliance, it is still under a one year warranty, the repairs have not worked, we want it replaced so that we have a working refrigerator.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have a refrigerator that works and will not break down within the first year. We would like to be done with multiple repair visits and phone calls to Abt.

Business Response:

I will contact the customer today to discuss an exchange of her refrigerator.

**

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ****

11/18/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A little over a year ago, I bought a $2,000 ran** from them, which recently failed. First they told me it wasn't under warranty, but it was sold to me with a two-year warranty. I spent about 45 minutes with them with ** on the phone, who confirmed that it was covered. Abt confirmed this and sent someone out, who after completing the work told me that I owed them $165 for labor. They had never told me that there was going to be a char** of any kind. I called and spoke to Debbie, the parts manager, who told me that she would work it out with ** and never heard back. Six weeks later, I received a bill for $165. I spoke with ****, who told me that I should have known there was going to be a charge, even though they didn't tell me there would be, let alone disclose the fixed amount they apparently char** for warranty repairs. He refused to waive the bill and blamed me for not expecting them to charge.

Desired Settlement: Agree in writing to wave the undisclosed $165 fee for warranty repair.

Business Response: Our service manager spoke to the customer yesterday and explained that while the labor was not covered under warranty, we would waive the $164.00 labor fee.  Fee has been waived.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *******

10/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spent around $30,000.00 in appliances for my newly renovated kitchen which included a Sub-Zero refrigerator, Wolf Stove and Ovens, Microwave, Beverage refrigerator and ************ ice maker. The ************ ice maker stopped making ice and I called for service from *** and scheduled a service call for May 29th. Technician (******) came and tried to get the unit to work and could not do so. He called someone and came to the conclusion that a particular part needed to be replaced. That part was ordered and scheduled to be replaced on June 12th. ****** was the technician again and replaced the part with no luck and the ice maker would not make ice. He called someone again and concluded that another part needed to be ordered and replaced. ****** brought the new part to install on July 10th. ****** said if this does not solve the problem he is going to recommend a replacement ice maker. Great news, the unit began making ice. Unfortunately that was short lived and two days later it stopped making ice again. When I called *** to explain that I wanted a new unit they pleaded with me to give them one more chance to try and fix it and if they cannot fix it they contact he manufacturer and replace the unit. Service technician, not ******, showed up on July 24th and connected a loose hose and did some programming of the unit. Great news again the unit began to make ice. Unfortunately that was short lived, about 3 days, and it stopped making ice. The technician on the 4th visit totally agreed that if the ice maker craps out again they need to replace the unit. I called *** to tell them the problem and spoke to a gentleman who assured me someone would be in touch with me before the end of the day. Once week later no one has contacted me so I called again. This time I spoke to a woman who assured me she would be back in touch with me within an hour. No such luck. I called again the next day and I was told that my call was going to be "elevated" to the next level. I was contacted by a******* XXX-XXX-XXXX last week and returned his call. He never called me back so I called him again yesterday and left a voice mail. ******* returned the call later in the day yesterday and assured me in a voicemail that he will be calling me today at 9:00am. ******* never called so I called him and left him a message at 2:27 pm today letting him know that I am done with trying to deal with *** customer service. It has now been almost 3 months without an ice maker and I have taken 4 days off from work for service calls and no one at ***, other than ****** the technician has been honest or followed through with their promises. Unfortunately *** has left me no other options but to file complaints with the BBB. I will also be contacting**** Home Appliances, ******* and *** *** (CEO)to share this horrendous customer service experience. It is very unfortunate it has come to this but more unfortunate is the laughable department *** has called "Customer Service". You should be ashamed of yourselves and return all your "Customer Service Awards" that you parade on your web-site including the BBB A+ rating. With a Healthy Disrespect for the Impossible. *** ********

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a new replacement ice maker with full replacement warranty and compensation for all my time and effort involved over the last almost 3 months dealing with this issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ************* General Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@***.com we are exchanging the customers icemaker. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/08/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) To ***, Received a call from***** *** assuring me they will be replacing the ice maker as soon as it gets delivered to the store. Thank you.

8/26/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Abt installed a refrigerator in sept.. In Jan. the water pump failed and caused extensive damage to my home. They said it failed because it froze in my kitchen. Because this wasn't an installation issue, it's not their fault. They said they were sorry.

Desired Settlement: Stand behind your products. Do the right thing. Passing the buck is common corporate practice but I expected more from a family owned company with a reputation that you pretend to have.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ************* General Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@***.com The customer contacted us about the issue on 1/8/15. We set up for a technician to go out on 1/10/15, which the customer cancelled. Another service provider (diamond service) went out on 1/12/15 and determined that the water valve housing cracked. That part has subsequently been replaced. As this was not a result of installation, *** will not be responsible for damage to the customers home. I understand that the customer initiated a claim with Whirlpool corporation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ON *** 8,2015 at 9:55 AM I talked to ***** at ABT appliance. I explained what happened. She suggested that I take pictures of the damage and she would send someone out to change out the part at no charge. She also suggested that I go directly to Whirlpool with this as they are a reputable company and would probably take care of things. Whirlpool did send someone out to inspect the damage and replace the part. Whirlpool said that the damage was not their fault. Their products are thoroughly inspected and tested before they leave the facility so the damage could not have possibly have happened there. The next person in line is ABT. If the product was perfect when it left Whirlpool, then it was possible that it was damaged while in possession of ***. *** installed it in my home. It was never moved from the spot where their installers put it. This refrigerator was 3 months old when it failed. It certainly didn't freeze in my kitchen. It's becoming obvious to me that *** appliance puts on a pretty smile until you buy their product. If there is a problem they're quick to point the finger at you and then turn their backs to you. I'd like to see *** take some responsibility for their products when they fail. Especially when damages add up to thousands of dollars. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/08/26) */ Contact Name and Title: ************* General Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@***.com I spoke to the customer, who acknowledged that *** is not at fault for the damage to her home. She stated to me that whirlpool deferred to the mfr of the failed part, and that after examination of said part, they concluded that the part failed either because of freezing or impact. Customer states that neither occurred. We called whirlpool on the customers behalf, but they are standing by that finding.

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WORST customer service EVER. Purchased 2 Sony smart TV's. One 55" and another 65", both latest ones and with an additional 4yr warranty on each tv,TV stands, bunch of other electronics with a bill close to $10,000. Less than a year into the purchase, my 65" TV had audio issues with poor audio. I NEVER HAD ANY AUDIO ISSUES BEFORE for them to blame my TV mounting. When I called these guys, they sent a technician named *** who clearly didn't know what he was doing and all he did was complain about how my TV was mounted which I didn't have any problems for close to 4 months. Also the same TV mounting guys who mounted initially 10 months ago did the mounting for me after the TV got moved with no issues what so ever.The next guy literally disconnected the wiring of the concealed installation, took pictures stating he has to come back. Now ***, the manager says after 3 useless visits wasting my time to be at home for these guys, the cords and wires hanging on the wall from the concealed mounting looking all ugly that I need to pay additional $75 (which I believe is a discounted price) for re-wiring. I'm like are you kidding me??? He didn't even acknowledge the poor work done by his crew pulling the cords out of my concealed mounting for which I paid $$$ nor has any respect for my wasted time for 3 visits instead stated he should have charged me on the first useless visit.. I had a totally ridiculous conversation over the phone and frustrated to a point that I had to google these guys and write a review which I usually don't.. Now I will be finding every place I can go to for writing a review for people to know the kind of poor service they offer. I regret giving these guys a close to $10,000 business which I could have easily taken it elsewhere. TOTAL SCAM. They send a poor technician first and then come with excuses to rip you off more by quoting $$$. WOULDN'T RECOMMEND AT ALL. I wish they did the service at no charge to me instead of charging me $75

Desired Settlement: no charge installation since their technician is the one who pulled wires out leaving them hanging from the concealed TV mounting and for giving me the inconvenience to be at home for 3 visits which was a waste of my precious time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ************************* Contact Phone:************* Contact Email: **************** I spoke to the customer and waived the $75.00 fee. I apologize for the hassle.

6/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a brand new bosch dual fuel range from Abt. The oven will not turn on. I had a bosch authorized appliance repair co. try to fix the problem and they were unable to fix it. The Abt website claims that they will replace a defective appliance and that it may require one visit by a repair co. I have contacted Abt once by phone and today by chat and they refuse to replace my defective range which violates there stated policy on their website Product_Or_Service: bosch Order_Number: 0305503ggbv

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I want Abt to pick up and take away the defective range that they shipped to my home and replace it with the same brand new bosch model number appliance

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/30) */ Contact Name and Title: Randy Goldman General Mgr Contact Phone: 847-544-2503 Contact Email: rgoldman@abt.com I have been in contact with the customer and I am working with Bosch to get a replacement stove for him

5/11/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a purchase on a listed item by Abt Electronics from *********** The list price clearly indicated at unit price of $598. Hours later Abt cancelled my order, claiming it was a price error and offered to sell me at a much higher price ($1,686). The error was not on customer's side, and I expect the business to admit the mistake and honor the price. Product_Or_Service: Sony Television Order_Number: XXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Abt to honor the price

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ************************* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: **************** The $598 price was an error on our feed to **********. THis TV sells for $2298 and we offered to the customer at our cost of $1686. We also sent the consumer a $100.00 gift card as a token of our regret. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/05/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) *********** contacted me immediately, and we are able to come to an agreement and resolve the issue.

5/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was scammed out of $120.00 by ABT! I purchased a **** Air 2 and ** *** Beats Pro headphones from this company and they have did nothing but LIE! LIE! LIE! to me! When I first made the purchase a customer service agent named ********* ******** promised me my order would go out the same day. He LIED to me, my order did not go out until the following Monday. I purchased a **** air for $499.00, beats pro headphones for $305.00. I asked customer service what their return policy was? They told me that I would get a 100% refund if I pay to return my order to them. I said, the **** air that I have and beats headphones have been used will I still get a refund if I return them since they are used? They said yes, 100% refund. Well, I go to *** and pay to return both items, when they receive the order they tell me a 15% restocking fee will be applied. So instead of the $499 for the **** I get $424 back, instead of the $305 headphones I get $260 back. A total of $120 difference that they robbed from me!! I did have one customer service agent tell me that there is a restocking fee on used items returned to them, but i had 2 other people tell me that was not true and i would get a full refund. ABT really needs to fire their staff or give them better training on their policies! This company is RUDE, unprofessional, and I will NEVER EVER shop at this company again. i average around XXX-XXX orders every 6 months online, I will stay FAR FAR away from these CROOKS and LIARS! I will make sure to warn everyone I come in contact with to stay FAR AWAY from these crooks! I want what I was promised. I want a credit of $120.00 refunded back to my bank account. Its not the customers fault that 2 different customer service agents told me that I would get a full refund on used items I returned. Order #*********** and ***********. I don't want a gift card, I want a $!20 REFUND back to my bank account! I want what was promised to me by two of your customer service agents! I will be sharing my experience with your company on many many different websites and with many different people if this is not resolved!!!!!

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of $120.00. I want the 15% back that they took from my return. I was promised by 2 different customer service agents that I would get a full refund not a partial refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ************************* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email:***************** I spoke to the customer a short time ago and assured him we would refund the balance of his order.

3/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/20/14 I placed an order for (television, wall mount, and set up). I spoke to a representative named********, he confirmed with me each price (and even priced matched the television to ***** Club). He noted to me numerous time that he was able to discount the assembly to a total of $275 (which is 5% off). Before, quoting me a price he asked if the wires for the wall mount would be (inner or outer) and I stated outer. He said the total of the assembly will remain at $275. (If *** records their phone calls, this will be heard 100%). He told me he would call me back shortly with a new total, since we were price matching the item to ***'s Club. I have verification on my caller ID of******** calling my phone back. He quoted me the new total, and I asked one more time if my assembly would still remain $275 and he answered with yes. The day arrived for the delivery men to assemble the television. When they arrived they had no note or charge of the television to be assembled. Therefore, they just dropped off the T.V. apologized and left. I phoned into *** immediately and told them the issue. I also, e-mailed******** right away. Just days before, he verbally stated it would be assembled. I waited for a customer service representative to call me back, I had call in 5 more times to get an answer. And still NEVER received an e-mail reply or call back from********.. I spoke to a manager, and he told me that this will be taken care of and the next day it will be assembled. (I'm assuming******** told him that he never once stated to me a price of $275.) I finally, got a call from********. He was extremely unprofessional to me on the phone. He first told me he never once spoke to me in regards to assembly. I then caught him in a lie, and stated "Then why did you ask me if I wanted the wires inside or outside the wall?" and "You were the one who offered 5% off on assembly". At that point I knew he was trying to beat around the bush. Where would I received that information? He then stated to me "He dropped the ball" on the order... Hmmm... now you would think he would offer me a discount or cover my assembly. Absolutely nothing done by him, other than being extremely rude to a female on the phone. Till this day I still can't believe how I was treated. I'm very thankful that my phone company is able to go back and retrieve the conversations. He needed to fess up to his mistake and take care of it. It's incredibly wrong to tell a customer that they are wrong, when explicit details were given to me about the assembly, and I have the phone call on my phone. I called back in fury, thinking that someone in the office heard how this male treated me, but no one spoke to me about it. The manager called me back, (******* must of told him that I got ahold of him) and asked "if I had any more questions, because he thought he handled the situation properly by offering me next day assembly." I guess at *** you can treat your customers badly, and not fess up to their mistakes. I hope people read this and know that *** is not that good after all. It's very sad, that I have to pay for someone's mistake. And they allow their customer service representation to work unprofessionally....********, clearly said "he dropped the ball on the order" those types of words make think that he knew I had to much evidence in this situation.... Sad, that people like this have to treat loyal customers this way.

Desired Settlement: Assembly charges to be refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ************************* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: **************** I apologize for the inconvenience caused by the installation not being added to the customer's order. It's never our intent to aggravate our customers. If I understand correctly, the installation was completed the following day, at the agreed upon price. I'd be happy to send the customer a gift card to the store as a token of our regret. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To my understand, and the personal involved- it's very unprofessional to treat customers the way I was treated. Yes, the installation occurred a day late BUT I was told directly on the phone it would take place the day of delivery. I do not believe ABT is completing ubderatanding that their customer service representative stated the information to me and never followed through. In this case, the customer, I, should be reminbursed. If you need further documentation I will supply the video recording of phone 1. Of ******* stating the installment price and date 2. How rudely he spoke to me after his mistake.... Unless, ABT approves of this type of service (treat customers with disrespect and continually lie" Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/12/31) */ I fully accept that the customers expectation was that the tv was to be installed and that we somehow did not charge for or schedule installation. I further understand that this was an inconvenience to the customer for which I am truly sorry. I had offered to send the customer a gift card for her inconvenience, if she would prefer I will credit her back $100.00 of the install and issue her a check. I have spoken to her salesperson about how he handled this situation. Consumer Response /* (3000, 18, 2015/01/19) */ I have still not received my resolution from this case. ABT stated a check would be coming through the mail, for the inconvenience. Nothing has been received, extremely disappointing. Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2015/01/19) */ Credit was applied today. There was some confusion internally because of a previous credit. Business Response /* (2000, 22, 2015/01/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Consumer Response /* (3000, 18, 2015/01/19) */ I have still not received my resolution from this case. ABT stated a check would be coming through the mail, for the inconvenience. Nothing has been received, extremely disappointing. Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2015/01/19) */ Credit was applied today. There was some confusion internally because of a previous credit. Business Response /* (2000, 22, 2015/01/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Consumer Response /* (3000, 27, 2015/02/03) */ This case was opened on 12/28/14 and I still have NOT received my refund of $100.00. (I was told there was a mishap with the refund processing, and it would be done the middle of January.) We are now in the first week of February and nothing has been received from ABT. Business Response /* (4000, 29, 2015/02/03) */ Refund was processed on 1/21/15 as an electronic transfer to the customers checking account. Business Response /* (2000, 31, 2015/02/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** offer a price match on items sold within 30 days. Their on line web site states; Frequently Asked Questions Does *** price match? Yes, ***.com strives to give you the best price available anywhere and currently offer price matching on all of our products. If you find a lower, verifiable price from authorized (by the manufacturer) internet or brick and mortar retailer, call our sales department at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX and we will match the price. My complaint: 4 days after I had placed my order with *** through ******.com, I contacted *** and requested for the price match as I found a lower price on their own *** web site. They refused to match the price for a refund of the difference. *** claimed that they cannot match the price because the TV wasn't sold at retail price but at sale price. If you look at all online prices of TVs and electronic items, almost none are sold at retail price; they are always sold below retail at sale prices. This means that technically if they apply this rule there is really no such thing as a price match for any item if you buy online from ***. Misleading price match guarantee. Big loop hole.

Desired Settlement: Honor their price match guarantee for a refund of $100 which is the difference between the higher and lower price for the same item sold on their own online site.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ************************* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: **************** I apologize for the refusal to match price, customer will be credited today.

12/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Nest Learning Thermostat from ABT Electronics on 11/18/2014 via their website. I was given order number XXXXXXXULRL to reference. The item was shipped to me via UPS tracking number 1ZXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX via ground services. The item arrived at my residence on 11/20/2014. I opened the package and noticed the contents were damaged so I reached out to ABT Electronics. I spoke with a gentlemen named***** and he scheduled UPS to pick up the damaged item from my home the following business day. UPS picked up the damaged item from my home on 11/21/2014, it was inspected by a claims representatives with UPS until 11/24/2014 and was then shipped back to ABT Electronics and was delivered back to their warehouse on 11/28/2014. During that time I spoke with several chat representatives in reference to my order asking about the refund status. I was informed it would take 1 - 2 business days once it was received as the package was damaged so there wasn't much else to do. After reaching out to them day after day and getting the run around on a refund. I was told on 11/28 the refund was processed, it wasn't. I was told on 11/30 the refund would be processed on 12/1 or 12/2. I finally reached back out and was told they received an item back from me that didn't match their serial numbers. They told me they would ship it back to me and that was that. I shipped back exactly what I received, this company is trying to scam me. This is the first and very last time I'll ever do business with this company. Their customer service representatives have been very rude and refuse to give me any realistic information about where the status of anything is. UPS accepted and paid the damaged claim, now they are coming up with some bogus information about an incorrect serial number. I want a full refund. My next step is to file a dispute with my banking institution.

Desired Settlement: Refund in full back to my debit card in the amount of $249.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ************************* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: **************** The consumer claimed that the unit was damaged in shipping and returned it to us. Upon its return, the package contained only a bracket and screwdriver, not the thermostat. It was also noted that the serial number on the box did not match the one scanned at the time of shipping. We alerted the consumer as such and shipped the package back to him. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I spoke to someone last week over the phone that stated they would call me back within 24 hours after they looked further into the issue. The gentleman I spoke with told you they were a family business with family values, so far that has yet to be seen. I received a broken thermostat and returned it all in the damaged box it came in. I spoke with UPS and they stated they accepted the claim as they saw the damage. UPS damaged the item, I understand that. What I'm asking for is my money back. I reached out to my bank to receive help as well. They called your store and someone stated you would refund the money and that has yet to happen. Why do the lies continue from you folks? I didn't want to have to call my bank and definitely didn't want to have to report you to BBB but you have forced the hand. Please do what is right here, I'm begging you. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When can I expect a resolution? I do thank you for working with me on this matter. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/12/15) */ UPS has not accepepted liability for the claim. The real issue is that the complete unit was not returned to us. Only the packing materials, a mount and a screwdriver, in a package that does not match the serial number that we shipped. In addition I have a photo from our packing line showing the unit in its factory sealed carton in new condition when packed for shipping.

11/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought Viper ***** remote starter from *** for my Car 2009 Honda CR-V on 10/01/2014. It was scheduled to be installed on 10/03/2014. After few days of installation, i came to know the car is stopping within 1-2 minutes after remote started. I took service appointment for this repair and according to one of the service professional (***-mobile installation) that it has been fixed. I repeatedly asked if anything you found that needs to be fixed also. He said, everything looks good so far. Few days later in the cold morning i am not able to start my car, it was trying to start for few seconds and stopping. Again, i took service appointment with Manager,***** (mobile installation) and i express my displeasure with *** service.***** assured me for good service this time and booked another appointment on last Saturday (11/01/2014).***** is able to fix i believe as i didn't see the problem now so far but surprisingly i saw some sticky liquid on my car's door handle cushion after i left the shop. Probably some kind of chocolate coffee or ice cream, not sure though. My car was clean in and out before this repair and after this so much hassle they made my car dirty. I don't know how you are pleasing the customer so long. For me, i feel horrible. I contacted***** yesterday about this incident and he is arguing with me that it had not happened in *** repair-installation window. How pathetic it is? He was asking me to visit *** again to clean my car. Do i need to believe you guys again? No way. This time you might damage my car's engine, who knows. I am asking myself repeatedly why i chose *** whereas i was getting lower price in my local shops. I can't express my feelings as you can understand better. I hope you can do the justice.

Desired Settlement: I can't explain why i need here.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/03) */ Contact Name and Title:************************** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: **************** I apologize for the inconvenience to the customer. It's never our intent to aggravate anyone. I'll be sending the customer a gift card to the store as well as a letter of apology. **

11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order number: *********** Shopping Cart ID: *********** The Plasma TV makes annoying static sound, louder than normal. Which makes it annoying and sometimes gives a headache to watch anything in a low volume. Compared to friends of the same exact model (brand new) and around 2x to 3x louder than an average static sound. I call to ***, they promised to get it resolved but 1st to call Samsung to schedule a technician before exchange to see if repairable. Took forever to get technician to come look at the TV, afterward, technician said there is nothing they can do and it's normal, they just told me to get an exchange from the place I bought it or buy another brand. No way can someone make a TV and have such static sound to be "normal". I've owned Plasma in the past and this isn't normal. Called AB&T again and they denied the free exchange because the technician said it was normal. I spent a lot of money on this TV, and it's brand new. I didn't buy a used TV, I shouldn't have to be dealing with all this calling back and forth, and live with a defective TV.

Desired Settlement: I'd either like a 10% refund and I'll live with this TV despite the static sound, I'll just have to crank the volume up and never watch it when the house needs quiet time. Or I'd like a free exchange for the same plasma TV with no static sound.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ************************* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: **************** Eihter option sounds reasonable. Which would the customer prefer? Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I'd like to go with the 10% refund route at this time. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/08) */ Will process today.

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: See Attached

Desired Settlement: See Attached

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ************************* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: **************** I have refunded the customers card for the full purchase amount. It appears that unit was delivered to the wrong address.

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: invoice number XXXXXXXMOGX Weber Spirit 210not even one year old.Ignition unit quit.Weber delays parts replacement and KAL(service dept at ABT) wants to send repair man out.Have ABT send their service guy out with their OWN PARTS and fix this defective unit.Or exchange unit !Dangerous match stick ignition at present time ! Order_Number: XXXXXXXMOGX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement see above explanation

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* General Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@***.com I spoke to the customer today, he has received the new ignitor and grill is working correctly now.

7/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed the order last April 29, 2014 for a new **** camera A6000, which your website said that you would take stock in the first week of May. Aside from this , I got a **** lens which had a promo when bought with the **** camera. The lens was in stock at the time I placed the order. After the first week of May had passed, I followed up on my order and was told that the camera was still not in stock. I said fine, I can wait, thinking that I had time before my planned to Hawaii to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. After two more weeks had passed, I followed up on my order and was told that the lens was not in stock! I requested that since the camera be shipped since it was in stock. It was finally shipped on May 28. A couple of days ago, I followed up on my order and was told would not be in stock until the end of June! I asked if the csr can get it from another store since I had waited a long time, I was told that the lens was not in stock in ANY store. I did a quick search and found that it was in stock at ****** and in the***** store (where the **** csr told me that it is in stock and ready for shipping). The ABT csr then told me that she cannot help me with the item anymore. Your website says that the lens takes 2-4 weeks to order. I saw that after the first week of May. I'm afraid our Hawaii trip will be without the camera then. I should have ordered it from B&h.

Desired Settlement: I asked if a CSR can get it from another store since I have been waiting too long, she said that it's not in stock in any store. When I told her that it was current in stock at Amazon and in the Sony store, she just told me that they were supposed to get the item end of june. It would have been nice to use the camera during my once-in-a-lifetime trip.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/21) */ We were unable to get the lens as sony is backordered nationally on this product. As stated earlier, i am unable to purchase the unit at $999.00 and resell it for $699.00. I'd be happy to send the customer a gift card for their inconvenience.

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered the Panasonic vacuum bag on 5/5/2014 and I paid amount of $15.23.I called to Abt Electronics about several times to find out where is my merchadise but every single time, the customer service told me its going to be arrive very soon and some customer service told me the product that which I ordered was discontinued. How come they told me totally different stories and I've been wasting about 3 hours of my precious time. By the chance the bill to was ************** ********************************* &ship to******************************************** (I prepaid for company order and after that when merchandise arrive than I can get my money reimbursement. Product_Or_Service: 5/5/2014 Order_Number:************

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I need the refund amount of $15.23 plus I hold for phone calls about 3 hours of my precious times, so I need least $50~$100 of all total amount. Because when I called them several times and they keep saying its coming very soon and I waited since from 5/5/2014 to 6/16/2014. They didn't caring about me and they don't paying attention what I just saying to them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ************************* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: **************** I apologize for the length of time the customer waited. The card has been credited for the purchase amount and I will send the customer a $100.00 gift card.

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Commercial washer delivered Jan 21, 2014. In April tenants complained that clothes were getting snagged beneath agitator. Called Whirlpool. Repairman came out. Large gap under one side of agitator. Serviceman ordered replacement part and installed a week later. Clothes are still getting snagged beneath agitator. Called Whirlpool. Sent serviceman out again. Says there is nothing more to be done except contact Whirlpool and/or ABT. Contacted Whirlpool. They say tenants are overloading washer. Unsure how they can state this without ever coming to the rental property or visually observing the size of wash loads. Tenants say it does not matter if load is large, medium, or small in size. Clothes get stuck beneath agitator. Whirlpool will not exchange since there is only a 30 day window to exchange. Spoke with ABT who contacted Whirlpool on my behalf. Says he can do nothing. I told ****** I am more than willing to upgrade to a new front loader and pay the difference. He said there is nothing he can do since Whirlpool won't take it back. I don;t know what else to do.

Desired Settlement: I am willing to upgrade to a front load washer and pay the difference.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/25) */ Contact Name and Title: ************************* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: **************** I've reached out to whirlpool and received a return authorization on the customers behalf. We will contact the customer today to reselect and arrange delivery and return. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

6/23/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Parts missing from new unit Abt will not take back or replace.

Desired Settlement: replacement of parts or unit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/10) */ Please provide additional information about what product was purchased and what parts were missing. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The company is responding claiming ignorance, when in fact stupidity is more the case. The item is a Kitchen Aid Cook Top, Abt order number **********. The unit is missing 112 inches of sealing tape that seals it to the counter. This was reported to Abt Customer Service and their salesman. In both reports Abt denies responsibility saying box is sealed at the manufacturer. The missing tape makes unit impossible to install. Obviously, Abt has an indifferent attitude towards their customers. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/10) */ I spoke to the customer today. The 2nd roll of foam ordered for him will be here on thursday 6/12 and sent via ups to him.

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 3, 2014, I ordered a gift card and I called them several times for verification(talked to 4 customer service). On June 8, 2014 I received an e-mail that my order was cancelled, however; the money was put back on my visa debit card. I called my visa card and said that the money was not there.

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back to my visa card. Your customer service didn't do no good either. I will not order from your company ever again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ************************* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: **************** The customer attempted to purchase a gift card on our website. After several attempts to verify information the sale was voided. The card in question was never actually charged, but we did get an authorization. The auth usually drops off in 24-72 hrs. We will call and see if this can be expidited.

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted *** on 5/27 morning for an emergency air conditioning service request, *** installed my gas furnace a few months ago and they did not test the air was functional after the furnace install. The service lady could only schedule me on 5/29 with a promise to call on the morning of 5/29 with a 2 hour window. On 5/29, I wasted two hours because the technician did not show up in the promised 2 hour window. I got a call after the 2 hour window to say the technician is at my home and cannot wait for me so they will reschedule. I wasted 2 hours for the technician to show up at my house in the 2 hour window. I did not get a call from *** to indicate they were running late. Moreover now I cannot get a technician till 5/31. Again with the promise of the 2 hour window call on 5/31. I called *** service manager and left 2 messages with the manager (********) - no response. The Customer service lady, ****** indicated that the technician cannot wait for me as he was only "15 minutes" outside the 2 hour window as if it was unimportant also stressed that the technician cannot wait for me to return home. SO I can wait for 2 hours within the promised window, the *** technician can be 15 minutes late, the technician's time is more important than my time as the tech cannot wait on site even though they were late in the first place. Unacceptable service. This is not called customer service.

Desired Settlement: Payment for my lost time and energy following up with ABT as well as waiting an additional 1.5 days for the service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ************************* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: **************** I apologize that the technician missed the appointment. We have rescheduled the service call for 5/31 as the customer stated. I'll gladly issue the customer an Abt gift card for the inconvenience. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thank you for the offer. Please send me the $1000 gift card to ********************************* or electronic gift card to the email address ************************* Once we receive the $1000 gift card, I will accept and close this. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/06/11) */ I am trying to make a gesture of goodwill based on the inconvenience that the customer had to deal with. I felt that $200 was a fair amount to convey my regret about what had happened. There is really no way for me to quantify discomfort moentarily. In addition the high temperature on 5/29 was 77 degrees with a low of 57. The 30th was a high of 79 and a low of 57. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/06/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thanks for the response. I would like to better understand the offer of $200. My family includes 2 children and I would like to understand the dollar value you place and your views with respect to staying an extra two nights without air conditioning. I thought I was being conservative with a dollar value of $1000 for the 2 nights discomfort for my two children/family. But I am very open to better understanding your thought process and reasoning around the same. Thank you, *****

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased on-line a microwave trim kit. It arrived timely but was damaged and missing parts. Close inspection revealed the unit had been previously installed, damaged, and removed. Then, *** sold it to me not disclosing the history.

Desired Settlement: Warning to consumers about their business practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ************************* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: **************** While we would never knowingly sell a used product as new, it is possible that the unit was returned, appeared to be unopened and returned to stock. We will gladly exchange the unit or provide a price adjustment to the customer if he chooses to keep the unit. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Abt discounted the price and quickly refunded the difference to my ****** account. I am satisfied with their response to my complaint. Final Consumer Response /* (450, 8, 2014/05/02) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:

2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A dishwasher was purchased with a four year service agreement almost two years ago. Called *** for service, scheduled a service visit for Tuesday ***********************. Recieved a message on answering machine that *** will not honor the service agreement based on my location. The time that I heard the message was too late to call the person who left it. The message was left on the answering machine yesterday the *******************. When dishwasher was purchased salesperson stated that my location was not a problem for service and suggested a service agreement. Unit was purchased and delivered to my address in ******************* Product_Or_Service: Dishwasher with 4 year service warranty Order_Number: XXXXXXXAYTR

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Honor the service agreement and repair my dishwasher.

Business Response: ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** We went out to service unit, ordered parts and are returning on 1/21/14 Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2014/01/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

12/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm having a terrible service engagement with this company. After three visits to my home, and missing their fourth visit today, it now looks like my oven won't be working for Thanksgiving. I initiated this service engagement with them back in September to avoid this exact situation. They keep blaming this delay on not ordering the right parts, and even failing to put the parts order in in the first place. This company needs to get the right parts overnighted ASAP, and get my oven working well before Thanksgiving. They have the ability to mark this happen. I hope they choose to do so for a long time customer.

Desired Settlement: I would simply like my repair completed well in advance of Thanksgiving (which is why I initiated the repair back in September). While I would assume that the company would want to make some sort of pricing concession to me to, which I would appreciate, I am not formally requesting that.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/27) */ ************************************************************************************************************* The repair of the customers range was completed on 11/26. We apologize for the delay, and will be sending the customer a gift card and letter of apology.

11/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order # ******* Sales # ***** Sales person : ************* Date 06/09/2011 7 claims !!!!

Desired Settlement: ABT ACTUALLY wanted US to pay for install after 3 yaers of a defective product in which a Representative from KITCHENAID had to come out to install "ugraded" parts

Business Response: ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** I spoke to ************* today and made arrangements to install the new unit free of charge.

10/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Summery of complaint; 1.I requested service to fix non-working wall oven to *** Service because oven was purchased from tem. 2.*** dispatched service crew and determined problem which require replacing relay control board. 3.Service crew explained to me they will search for replacement part and fee of $149 include all labor for replacement part and I have to pay only part cost as additional. 4.*** service men called me same afternoon that part is no longer available because my oven is too old and my only choice to replace oven. 5.I immediately searched part on internet and found required part is immediately available from Sears Service. 6.Dispute points is *** Service man lied to me that replacement part is no longer available which is the essence of service provider. 7.I searched replacement parts through internet and found one available from **** Service. 8.I ordered replacement part from Sears and requested my handy man to replace it. 8.My oven is working fine now.

Desired Settlement: ******** service is based on trust with merchant. If I don't have tool to search required parts immediately, my only choice to replace oven. If any part of service spirit is breached that service call has no value and fee charged should be refunded.

Business Response: ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** I apologize for the error on our technicians part and will refund the service charge today.

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi i bought a tv and antenna off their site, first thing they wouldnt let me change the payment method in the beginning. They delivered the TV and Antenna and it came scratched. They told me the warranty i got with that didnt cover scratches. they told me to contact the shipping company who delivered it. Well I went back and forth between them and the shipping company. Neither of them agreed to pay anything.

Desired Settlement: I dont want a settlement, i just want people to know the stress I went though dealing with ABT

Business Response: ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** I was unable to find the customers order in our system from the information provided above. I'd be happy to offer the customer some type of consideration for the issues he has had.

9/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased appliances based on representations of servicability by vendor. Vendor is not only unable to service appliance, but repeatedly misrepresents their ability to resolve over a six month period of time. Vendor has failed to provide basic responsivenss consistent with their own represntations during a mind-boggling six month period of time.

Desired Settlement: Appropriate repair in a reasonable period of time in a manner consistent with their representations at the point of sale.

Business Response: ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** I have been in contact with the consumer and while the part needed to affect repair on his microwave is either backordered or no longer made, I have made arrangements with him to try a transformer from another vendor. I do acknowledge that this has dragged on for too long with too little contact with the consumer and have aplolgized to him for that.

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchase date:08/30 ******************************************** they sell******** for $209, which shows there is $60 instant rebate, original price and price drop mark on the web page. that looks like a normal sales activities with a reasonable price (which is not a typo). then the next day they refuse to honor this sale because they said it was pricing error.

Desired Settlement: they offer me $255 for the tablet. and the original price is $269.

Business Response: ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************** We had a pricing error on the item in question. It is our intent to fulfil the orders at the price posted at time of purchase. We will be contacting customers about product ETA's as they becomce available from the manufacturer. We apologize for the error, and the comunication following it.

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******************* for $209 got a receipt + successful email confirmation and they've charged my CC but then the next day out of the blue their rep sent me an email said that there was a pricing error and they offer me if I want to fork out $255 to get it while get **** being waiting for 2-4 weeks backorder. At least they have to honor it for the sake of the customers. Very very very dissappointed customer and I will fill every survey and reseller ratings I could find for this plus warned my family, relatives, friends, and as many other as I can find if they didn't try to honor it or make it up."

Desired Settlement: Honor the deal and send me the item for $209 and We'll both be fine and I believed many other dissappointed customer too will be fine. Don't try to hassle me or other with excuses.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/09/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept because****************** as General Manager words clarified that they will fulfil the orders at the price posted at time of purchase. I understand my rights clearly that I will be able to open up this case again if they proved otherwise. Thank you to BBB once again as a fair and excellent organization to fix this kind of issue and I will recommend it to everyone out there. PS: Please find all the e-mail records and copy of *** Website page.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

20 Customer Reviews on Abt Electronics & Appliances
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart