This business is not BBB accredited.

My Place Apartments

Phone: (773) 975-9400 Fax: (773) 975-9403 1152 W Diversey Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60614 http://www.callmpa.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for My Place Apartments include:

  • 22 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 18 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for My Place Apartments include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 8
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on My Place Apartments
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 05, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2005 Business started locally: 01/01/2005
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jack Shaw, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Shaw, President
Business Category

Apartment Finding & Rental Service Apartments Real Estate Real Estate Agents Real Estate Rental Service Real Estate Services Offices of Real Estate Agents and Brokers (NAICS: 531210)

Alternate Business Names
Shaw Real Estate Group, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1152 W Diversey Pkwy

    Chicago, IL 60614

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Apartment rental agency in which fraudulently advertised services that were deceptive. The incident began on October 19, 2013. This was my first initial visit to set up services to help me find an apartment. Upon this initial visit I was told I would be placed in an apartment in two weeks. After the initial screening with fidelis screening solutions the apartment rental company stated my application was rejected due to two evictions. I do not have two evictions they was falsely giving me wrong information. I went to the office and the owner ****** **** stated to me I had to go to ******* ******** office and get a letter stating I only have one eviction on file and they would refund my monies. I went to ******* ****** office and obtained all of the necessary documents I needed and this company has yet to return my funds. Due to the is situation I ended up homeless living in a hotel for two weeks of more. I had to borrow money totaling 1200 dollars plus 518.00 for hotel and I never heard anything back from ************* office. I also had to take out a payday loan in order to secure an apartment a pay the balance off on a the hotel where I was staying.

Desired Settlement: The settlement I am seeking is the return of my 700.00 dollars in which I am rightfully due. I have followed all instructions given me in order to obtain my money back and have been given the run around every since. All I ask of this company is to return my funds.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4001, 15, 2015/01/02) */ Every year in December, it is our slow month. We close our office on December 15th. This is the first day we have come back to work and in our locked mailbox we found 2 letters concerning ****** ** ******* dated November 24, 2014 from ********* ******** and a second one dated December 16, 2014 from you. Since we have not seen the case, it is the earliest time we can reply to you. By looking into the complaint we found out that Ms. ******* hired us to work on her case on October 19, 2013, which is well over a year ago. By looking into her record it indicates to us that we did find her a landlord and this landlord accepted her application based on her information that she had a bankruptcy record and one eviction. After the landlord discovered she has two eviction records, the landlord rejected her application. At the time she was working with us, according to her own statement, she was not homeless, instead she was living with her sister for two years. We explained to Ms. ******* that we needed to find a new landlord for her with a different approach since she has two evictions that were fairly recent. On October 23, 2013, we offered her a very reasonable solution since she already had to provide one month security deposit, we found a homeless prevention program that we talked to and were willing to help her by providing an additional month of security deposit. We asked her to fill out the application for the homeless prevention program and upon receiving their approval, we would be able to find another apartment. In the same email we also reminded her she had an outstanding balance of $100 and lacked documentation required to give to the new landlord. We did not get employment verification, income tax return documents, or evidence of security deposit has been saved. We believe that our requirement of her is reasonable and in order for us to find an apartment with two evictions we gave her a solution that is easy to achieve, but after we sent an email on October 29, 2013, and after she failed to contact the homeless prevention agency, we sent notice that we are closing the case. We feel at this point if Ms. ******* was very serious about getting herself an apartment, she would have been placed into an apartment we found for her if she had just followed our reasonable offer. Should Ms. ******* want us to help her again, we need to have her reasonable cooperation with our reasonable requests and she must meet the requirements of current rental prices, which are much higher than 2013. Should you have any questions please feel free to contact us.

10/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The reason why I am complaining and filing this with the BBB is because I was lead to believe that Shaw Real Estate Group could find me a place that would be livable and they did not let me see the place until it was time for me to actually sign the lease. When I could not look at the place ahead of time I was lead to believe that this place was livable, but when I went into the place there were a lot of things that needed to be done with the place and that was not right, when I trusted the place to help me. I also was lead to believe that when they get approval that it will be good and no need to worry. Well that was not true, because that was a LIED. I given this company my $180, Plus $300 on August 27, 2014 and then turned around and gave them $600 on August 29, 2014. This was a total of $900 +$180 totaling $1080. The reason why I went to them, because of my credit was bad and they promise me that they would find me a place that was livable, but I knew something was wrong when they told me that could only get me one approval and when they get that approval then that is it. Which is not fair, because I never did get to see the place until it was time to go sign a lease and when I said I did not want to sign the lease and sent them a email back stating that I would like a whole lot of stuff done to the place I got a blanked email stating to me that they would not do some of the things I requested and I was being unrealistic and if I do not signed the lease I will lose this apartment and my fee as well, which is not right when I did not sign anything. This company from the complaints I have seen on the BBB already is a SCAM and all they do is take people money and they do not help. They put you in places that you cannot see until it times to sign the lease and then it is too late, since you are running on a deadline. I feel that this is not right, because they should not take people money when you are not happy with their service that they provided. I do not understand why this company is keeping my money and they will not give it back to me. This is what I got back from the company: Mr *******, In response to your email, we carefully looked at the pictures you saw, ask for new refrigerator is not acceptable, why is that? because landlord is not obligated to get new refrigerator for every new tenant, we cannot demand for something that is unreasonable, we checked the wall, it does not seem to be painted, however landlord is willing to paint for you. Unless you want to purchase this place, and landlord is willing to sell to you, you can make list of requirements that for the condition of the purchase. The door may not be up to your standard, which we do not know what is your standard is, but the door match with all well kept apartment door standard. The carpet in the hallway in the apartment not cleaned we will ask the landlord to clean it, but we do not see anything that is carpeted. We cannot request landlord to clean something that is not rented by you. By looking at the floor, it looks very well kept, we cannot ask the landlord to redone the floor. After we talk to the landlord he is willing to the paint job and also clean the floor for you, we do preserve all the evidence, we urge you to accept this apartment. We believe that the landlord is more than reasonable to accept most of your demand. At a present time we have done our job, there will be no refund, should you reject this apartment, if you let us know at intake that you want brand new refrigerator and well kept floor and door has to match your standard rather than normal standard we would not have take you to provide our service. Please carefully review your placement criteria. If you lose this apartment because of your unreasonable demand and resist in time to sign the lease, there will be no refund. We will not give you additional search because your demand is unrealistic. Sincerely Shaw Real Estate

Desired Settlement: Dear **** Real Estate Group You are saying NO REFUND on WHAT? My Service Fee? Yes I get that, but because I did not signed a lease you cannot keep my $900 dollars that I put down, when I did not accept something. I will be to get my two money orders that I gave you, which were one for $300 and the other one for $600. I cannot help that I did not like the apartment that you choice for me that I did not get to see ahead of time, which to me is not heard of. I will be to get my money orders on Monday, before you close at 6pm. I feel like you are saying that I have to choice something just to take it. NO that is not right and not true. I will be to get my two money orders on Monday, because to me you did not hold up standards and I do not have to take something and be forced into something that is NOT LIVABLE... and it is NOT. Also, you have not done your job, because your job was not to send me to a place that was not livable and plus not have me go to place that I can only see for one time and say its ok. NO... thats not right, if that was case then I would have did this work on my own. I will be to get my $900 dollars and you can keep the $180 service fee. I just want my $900, since I will not be taking this place. These demands are not unrealistic at all. You accepted this place that you thought was perfect, but I do not have to sign a lease, so my refund is my $900 dollars back. I thank you for your time, but I will be to get my $900 dollars on Monday September 15, 2014. ** Patrick ** Flore I would like to have my $900 dollars return to me when I come into the office. I do not want to take legal action here, because of there unethical way that this company do business. All they do is get others money and take advantage of people that can not help themselves to find a place on there own, which is not right. They should not only get one approval for a place when they should get several approvals. Also, they should not only let you see the place at the time of lease signing. Also they should not have you wait in a intersection and you cannot see the apartment, before hand. They pick the place you want you should stay at. They do not give you your refund, because they said that you been approve for one place that you do not get to see ahead of time, which is not fair to the person that is renting the place. SO I am asking for my $900 dollars back that I paid to them for a service that I did not use.

8/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company's agreement was to place me into an apartment regardless of my background and credit situation by my desired date as well as within my search criteria and have failed to do so. They are withholding my money and will not give me an appointment to their office in which they have said they will escalate to the police if I stop by. They gave misleading info to a potential landlord causing him to blackout on a lease agreement now they keep giving excuses as to why they can't find an apartment and are not willing to give my money back. They have not did their part as to fining me an apartment, I am still in my current living situation. They have terrible customer service and are not holding up to their contract agreement

Desired Settlement: I honestly would just like a refund of the $975 for "*** amout of rent willing to be paid to the accepted landlord" that had to Paid in order for them to do the search ..

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I came to this company to hire them to search apartments for me the took my money 760.00 total 160.00 for their fees and background check and 600 for my security deposit and they promised 1st month rent on any apartment they find would be waived. Unfortuantely the lied and said they had found a place but when I contacted them to view it they gave me the run around and would not give me a refund of my money due to their failure to provide me with the instructions to see and retain the apartment. I called several times that day and took off work when notified they found me and apartment to view but they really didn't have anything and made it clear I lost my money do to their actions. I am currently in the process of taking legal action against this company and they have not responded to my request for a full refund of all my funds.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a refund of the full amount owed to me due to their failure to provide the required service under the agreement and their breach of duty that took place when they did not contact me ant futher in regards to placement in a apartment that met my requirements.

7/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sometime in the week beg 5/514 ending 5/10/14. After an apt app was declined from a realty company due to blemished credit, I thought I'd need help...turned to craigslist saw an ad from MPA that seemed to speak right to my situation. I arrived at my appt after securing it a little earlier than anticipated on 5/14/14 and was able to sit in on an already in progress pres by ****** with two or three other potential clients of theirs. During the pres what seemed to me were a lot of "scare tactic statistics" were being read to the group about how hard it is to get affordable housing in Chicago. As q's began to come from the group, it was then that we learned of their fee for service for the first time. Opinions expressed by myself and another included how it would have been helpful if the amt could have been shared prior to coming to pres in an effort to get the ball rolling right away. My situation was and still is that I'm homeless and finally working a self-sustainable job that would afford me the opp to begin to address delinquent accounts to repair my credit, but after being declined my coming to someone like MPA was because of the guarantee of the advst and my desire to secure a safe affordable place ASAP. Anyway, the pres gave me the impression that I should leave as much as psbl that day so the search could begin. ****** spoke of how landlords collect many non-ref app fees with little to no intent of renting the apt, but in turn just use it pay their mortgages. He said their $180 fee was to apply to as many landlords as possible on our behalf. ****** said that some landlords req sec deposits equiv to rent and some just req a move-in fee. He said to have as much as possible of first months and sec plus their fee to begin the search. He never said all of it was req before they would begin their search. It was my every hope to be in an apart by 6/1/14 based on the "stat apt finding info" shared during pres and the hundreds of landlords they allege they work with that made me want to leave them with as much as I could that day to get the ball rolling right away. Based on what ****** said and knowing I would be paid next on 5/29 that I'd have the rest and I'd either be able to,based on what was pres either pay a move-in fee or sec dep. I was told that would be fine. Initially I chose some neighborhoods for a 1br that I might I be willing to pay $725 rent and that's what I stated on the app, but I only had $700 that day plus the $180, so I left that along with everything else they asked...two copies of my most recent pay-stubs, a way to verify my employment, I signed everything, and did the recording because I believed and trusted them. One of their policies is they don't do oral agreements. So after leaving that day and a little more thought I wanted to modify my search locations to something more affordable and realistic to my earnings and other bill obligations and modify what I wanted to pay for rent, which was between $600-$700. I went by the office again that Sat in response to an email I recd from them about not having all of the docs in. The saleslady looked in my file and starting jotting off the things I was "missing e.g. "pay-stubs" I knew that wasn't true, but things were checked for being missed that weren't true, but my money order surely had been cashed,and I was given the receipt. It was explained to me during that same visit by reception that it takes them 24-48 hrs to respond to emails to which I had resp to please let me know what things I was missing. It was less than a week from the 14th that I lrnd of thier wlngns to mdfy my search loc, but no wlngns to mdfy the amt I wanted to pay for rent...reason being that the amount plus security is what the comm the person searching for the apt would receive...something not explained during pres before money was exchd. So, they $880 of mine, they want $800 more before they begin search. They mislead me and I want my $880 back. I was afraid, but I can find my own apt.

Desired Settlement: Sometime in the week beg 5/514 ending 5/10/14. After an apt app was declined from a realty company due to blemished credit, I thought I'd need help...turned to craigslist saw an ad from MPA that seemed to speak right to my situation. I arrived at my appt after securing it a little earlier than anticipated on 5/14/14 and was able to sit in on an already in progress pres by ****** with two or three other potential clients of theirs. During the pres what seemed to me were a lot of "scare tactic statistics" were being read to the group about how hard it is to get affordable housing in Chicago. As q's began to come from the group, it was then that we learned of their fee for service for the first time. Opinions expressed by myself and another included how it would have been helpful if the amt could have been shared prior to coming to pres in an effort to get the ball rolling right away. My situation was and still is that I'm homeless and finally working a self-sustainable job that would afford me the opp to begin to address delinquent accounts to repair my credit, but after being declined my coming to someone like MPA was because of the guarantee of the advst and my desire to secure a safe affordable place ASAP. Anyway, the pres gave me the impression that I should leave as much as psbl that day so the search could begin. ****** spoke of how landlords collect many non-ref app fees with little to no intent of renting the apt, but in turn just use it pay their mortgages. He said their $180 fee was to apply to as many landlords as possible on our behalf. ****** said that some landlords req sec deposits equiv to rent and some just req a move-in fee. He said to have as much as possible of first months and sec plus their fee to begin the search. He never said all of it was req before they would begin their search. It was my every hope to be in an apart by 6/1/14 based on the "stat apt finding info" shared during pres and the hundreds of landlords they allege they work with that made me want to leave them with as much as I could that day to get the ball rolling right away. Based on what ****** said and knowing I would be paid next on 5/29 that I'd have the rest and I'd either be able to,based on what was pres either pay a move-in fee or sec dep. I was told that would be fine. Initially I chose some neighborhoods for a 1br that I might I be willing to pay $725 rent and that's what I stated on the app, but I only had $700 that day plus the $180, so I left that along with everything else they asked...two copies of my most recent pay-stubs, a way to verify my employment, I signed everything, and did the recording because I believed and trusted them. One of their policies is they don't do oral agreements. So after leaving that day and a little more thought I wanted to modify my search locations to something more affordable and realistic to my earnings and other bill obligations and modify what I wanted to pay for rent, which was between $600-$700. I went by the office again that Sat in response to an email I recd from them about not having all of the docs in. The saleslady looked in my file and starting jotting off the things I was "missing e.g. "pay-stubs" I knew that wasn't true, but things were checked for being missed that weren't true, but my money order surely had been cashed,and I was given the receipt. It was explained to me during that same visit by reception that it takes them 24-48 hrs to respond to emails to which I had resp to please let me know what things I was missing. It was less than a week from the 14th that I lrnd of thier wlngns to mdfy my search loc, but no wlngns to mdfy the amt I wanted to pay for rent...reason being that the amount plus security is what the comm the person searching for the apt would receive...something not explained during pres before money was exchd. So, they $880 of mine, they want $800 more before they begin search. They mislead me and I want my $880 back. I was afraid, but I can find my own apt.

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Good Evening, This message is in regards to recent dealings that I had with the organization known as **** Real Estate/My Place Apartments. I presented to the main office on April 19th 2014 in order to obtain assistance with finding an apartment. My lease was set to expire on May 31st 2014 and I was looking for a larger apartment. I paid for **** Real Estate/My Place Apartment's service which included $180 for application and credit check fees and the maximum price I was willing to pay for rent which in my case was $1400. The original contract stipulated that this organization had one month from April 19th to find me an apartment, making the deadline May 19th. However, for every day that all required paperwork was not submitted another day is added onto the deadline. This was fine with me and I submitted my last document on April 30th. I assumed that this added 11 days to the deadline, making the new deadline May 27th. After submitting all the required documents, I did not hear from this organization for 3 weeks. I tried calling for an update but was told that no business was conducted over the phone and I would have to send an email or make an appointment to come in. So, on May 21st I receive a message stating that an apartment has been found for me and that I would need to come to the office with proof of $1400 security deposit and $200 pet deposit by the next day at noon. This email was sent at 5 pm, meaning that I had less than 24 hours notice. As a physician, I work long hours and was not able to go to the office at that time. I was provided with no information on where the apartment was or when I could view it. I was only told that after I showed proof of the $1600 that I would meet with the landlord to sign a lease. I am aware that I have the right to view an apartment before signing a lease and have every right to refuse to sign a lease if I am not happy with the apartment. So I received another email stating that I missed the deadline and a viewing has been scheduled for said apartment on May 27th (my assumed deadline). I was told that I would meet someone on the corner of Wabansia and Lawndale and I would be taken to the apartment. This organization was still under the assumption that I was going to sign a lease. I again stated that I cannot be forced to sign a lease if I don't like the apartment. I was prepared to view the apartment regardless and about 45 minutes before the meeting time, I received a text from this organization that the viewing had been cancelled because the apartment had been rented. I thought this strange but was not overly concerned, as by now I was not wanting to have any further dealings with this organization. I sent them another email reminding them that May 27th was the last day they had to find me an apartment. I received an email back stating that this was not true, as the contract stated they had a month. However I was under the impression that it was a month from April 19th plus the 11 extra days that it took to turn in all my documents. I was told that the deadline was a month from when I turned in all my documents, which was April 30th, therefore my actual deadline was May 30th. I am very upset by this and this organization has taken a large sum of money from me (I am only in residency and $1400 is almost an entire paycheck for me). They refuse to provide a refund to me even though I was told that I would receive one if an apartment was not found for me. I have repeatedly asked for a refund and I have been told that they fulfilled their job and would not be returning my $1400. I feel as though I've been ripped off. A large sum of money was taken from me and no services were provided. I have a 2 year old son to care for as well and it's a lot of money to lose for us. With that said, I am reaching out to a number of agencies in hopes that I can get some justice regarding this manner. Thank You, ****** ******* MD

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund of my $1400 payment that I was guaranteed would be refunded if an apartment was not found.

5/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired **** Real Estate @ **** ** ******** ******** ** XXXXX, to find me and my son an apartment. They required a service fee of $180 in addition to what ever the amount was that you wished to spend on rent. In my case that was $800. How it was explained to me they search for me an apartment and i give them a deadline to meet which they missed three times. I didn't feel the need to take the Rental service fee back ($800) due to the other fees were non refundable. I required a 1 bedroom apartment and the max rent i was willing to pay was $800. They were never proactive as to status updates or nothing. I would call no one would answer i would send emails they wouldn't respond. I started to worry and i stated that to them. All they said was they were busy. On that Deadline which was 03/21/2014 (Friday) they sent me an email stating they had an approval. And that the viewing was set up for Monday at 11am. I asked them where it was located because previously they were trying to force me to take a unit that was outside of my guidelines of the areas that I had specified. And I also informed them that I work during those hours and asked why they would schedule a viewing without even finding out if that time and day was available for me. They didn't reply to the next day stating that its south of North ave and east of Mannheim well within my boundary stated. And if I wanted them to look for another unit they would at no additional charge. They never responded to my email asking for the address to ensure it was within the guidelines, due to the previous incident. I got no response. I emailed and called everyday the 22nd, 23rd 25th, 27th. Then when I said I would come into the office is when they decided to respond. Then all of a sudden the unit was gone. They located another unit for me and and notified me on 04/02/2014. It was conveyed to me in writing that the rent was $875 for a 2bedroom with heat included. They email stated that he (******) negotiated with the landlord to pay the heat. I told him I will pay $875 if the heat is included. He replied that the rent will be $875 with heat included. And asked for my availability for viewing. I replied with my availability. I didn't hear anything else until I sent another email on Friday 04/04/2014 asking had there been a date scheduled. He replied (******) Congratulations you are approved for a unit located near the intersection of Bellwood and Warren 2 bedroom $875 /month gas included. When I get to the unit for viewing on 04/05/2014 at the scheduled time, the landlord stated that the rent was $800 unheated only cooking gas is included. I informed him that was not what was told to me. I pulled up the email and showed the representative from **** real estate and the landlord. She (the representative) called ****** and told him what the issue was. And as I explained to ****** I only agreed to pay $875 for the 2 bedroom because you stated in your email that you negotiated with the landlord to pay the heat. He stated well the last email I sent said gas. I felt trapped because if I didn't take the unit I would lose my money (the $800 service fee) and would be homeless because I have to be out of where I am very soon. ****** and the landlord went down on the rent to $840. With some agreement that im not aware of, I just couldn't believe he had tried to swindle me. Needless to say I signed the lease because I would have been the one that would have lost in the end had I not. I have documentation of everything.

Desired Settlement: I am requiring my entire monies paid to them to be refunded if not all some at least my service fee. The service was horrible. They liedto me and as a result i had to sign a lease otherwise I was going to lose my money. Not fair at all. And ****** was the one who lied.

4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Well, can anyone help my People? A couple with two children and one on the way at the time, went in to inquire about help in finding an apartment for them because their lease that they were on at the time was ending, so they were in desperate need. So when they called "**** Real Estate Group (My Place Apartments), they were told to make sure that they brought in the amount of the rent that they would be willing and able to afford, WHEN THEY WERE FOUND an Apartment by "**** Real Estate Group (My Place Apartments), and that they would start the process, ONLY WITH THE Amount (at that particular time it was $800.00 that they felt comfortable with). So they did and went in with the money and was told to fill out all of the paperwork given to them, which included a fee for a Background Check for Both of the adults as well as a fee for Credit Check, WHICH Their Web-Site CLEARLY STATED that WAS NOT NEEDED! Anyway they quuestioned the two Checks and fees for them, but since they were in a bind to find a place to move, they felt pressured to go along with what tehy representative told them and filled out the forms and paid the fees. Then they were told that tehy would be contacted and taken to potential places of residence In The Area that they Chose, on the far North Side of Chicago, in the Rogers Park and Edgewater area because it was close to the schools that their children attended as well as close to the place of employment where the male work and where the female had worked before becoming with child and had every intention to return after giving birth. So they waited more than two weeks for a call from "**** Real Estate Group (My Place Apartments), that didn't come so the male called them and asked about the progress of the apartment finding, and he was told that something he had told them adn had been entered on his application for the background check had been incorrect or not included and because of that, he and his woman had forfeited their down-payment FOR HOUSING With A LANDLORD, because of it! Can you believe that. Even with all of the paperwork that they had filled out and info they had given, these people had NOT CALLED them and said anything about mis-information the first day or so that they were taking Money From them, and had the nerve to NOT CALL Them and Inform them of any apartment findings they had come up with, No Calls at All! And when they did call back to the Offices themselves, they get told that they had forfeited ALL OF THEIR MONEY, Money that they didn't dserve to have, "THEY DIDN'T FIND A PLACE FOR THEM and THEY AREN'T LANDLORDS"! So when the male member reminded them of all of the info that tehy were saying that he had Not Told them HAD IN FACT BEEN TOLD TO THEM, so they seemed to get a little nervous and started to back track. So calls were made and the male was told that they had found a place from them to look at and would have someone take them to it. So they agreed and met up with someone that had them follow them in their own vehicle to the location and as they were following the person, they noticed that they were going further and furher south and then a long ways west of their desired and chosen location in the Far North Side of Chicago, Rogers Park and Edgewater Areas, and ended up being taken to some area in the vincinity of Addison Street and Cicero Ave., Far West and Way North of the Area they had chosen and had been guaranteed! And according to both of them, the apartment shown to them by Not the Driver, but by some Young Teenager, was horribly decorated if you can use that word, extremely messy, the so called stove was tipped over on its front side, tub was rusty and painted so of course they didn't want that place especially since it wasn't where they wanted to be Far North and Just Plain NASTY! So they rejected it and was waiting for another call from "**** Real Estate Group (My Place Apartments), that never came. And when they called back themselves and announced who they were to the

Desired Settlement: Me and my girl and two of the children and one on the way at the time, went in to inquire about help in finding an apartment for them because their lease that they were on at the time was ending, so they were in desperate need. So when they called "**** Real Estate Group (My Place Apartments), they were told to make sure that they brought in the amount of the rent that they would be willing and able to afford, WHEN THEY WERE FOUND an Apartment by "**** Real Estate Group (My Place Apartments), and that they would start the process, ONLY WITH THE Amount (at that particular time it was $800.00 that they felt comfortable with). So they did and went in with the money and was told to fill out all of the paperwork given to them, which included a fee for a Background Check for Both of the adults as well as a fee for Credit Check, WHICH Their Web-Site CLEARLY STATED that WAS NOT NEEDED! Anyway they quuestioned the two Checks and fees for them, but since they were in a bind to find a place to move, they felt pressured to go along with what tehy representative told them and filled out the forms and paid the fees. Then we were told that we would be contacted and taken to potential places of residence In The Area that they Chose, on the far North Side of Chicago, in the Rogers Park and Edgewater area because it was close to the schools that their children attended as well as close to the place of employment where the male work and where the female had worked before becoming with child and had every intention to return after giving birth. So they waited more than two weeks for a call from "**** Real Estate Group (My Place Apartments), that didn't come so the male called them and asked about the progress of the apartment finding, and he was told that something he had told them adn had been entered on his application for the background check had been incorrect or not included and because of that, he and his woman had forfeited their down-payment FOR HOUSING With A LANDLORD, because of it! Can you believe that. Even with all of the paperwork that they had filled out and info they had given, these people had NOT CALLED them and said anything about mis-information the first day or so that they were taking Money From them, and had the nerve to NOT CALL Them and Inform us of any apartment findings they had come up with, No Calls at All! And when we did call back to the Offices themselves, they get told that they had forfeited ALL OF THEIR MONEY, Money that they didn't dserve to have, "THEY DIDN'T FIND A PLACE FOR US and THEY AREN'T LANDLORDS"! So when the male member reminded them of all of the info that tehy were saying that he had Not Told them HAD IN FACT BEEN TOLD TO THEM, so they seemed to get a little nervous and started to back track. So calls were made and the male was told that they had found a place from them to look at and would have someone take them to it. So they agreed and met up with someone that had them follow them in their own vehicle to the location and as they were following the person, we noticed that they were going further and further south and then a long ways west of their desired and chosen location in the Far North Side of Chicago, Rogers Park and Edgewater Areas, and ended up being taken to some area in the vincinity of Addison Street and Cicero Ave., Far West and Way North of the Area they had chosen and had been guaranteed! And according to both of them, the apartment shown to them by Not the Driver, but by some Young Teenager, was horribly decorated if you can use that word, extremely messy, the so called stove was tipped over on its front side, tub was rusty and painted so of course they didn't want that place especially since it wasn't where they wanted to be Far North and Just Plain NASTY! So they rejected it and was waiting for another call from "**** Real Estate Group (My Place Apartments), that never came. We want all of our money back, &800, the $360 for Credit Check $160 for Background.

2/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ran across an ad on cragislist chicago for an apartment rental for people who had bad credit, bankruptcy or judgment against them. The ad said to call ******* *****." I called the number listed which was XXX-XXX-XXXX at that time. Today its XXX-XXX-XXXX. I was giving an appointment to go to the office and thats when I was charged a fee of $225(application) for their services along with the $1100 for first months rent to live at **** N. ********* Avenue, Apt **** Chicago, IL XXXXX. ******* Management is the people in which **** Realty/My Place Apartments conducted business with regarding my one months security. I paid the 1st months rent to ******** which I have the receipt for that as well along with my lease. Please help me get my money back from these dishonest people!!! My complaint is that I gave them money towards my security deposit to move in at **** N. ********* Avenue and I am currently moving due to my lease being up looking to move in a plave where I don't have to pay for heat. I really didn't want to take this place because I had to pay for heat. However, I was told by My Place Apartments, I would have to payy more for them to take me back out to see other units. I happen to visit the office of Becovic Management to say I wouldn't be renewing my lease and was told there is no record of My Place Apartments giving them my deposit. I am a single parent struggling and would like my $1325 returned. I have record showing that I gave money to ****/My Place Apartment towards a security deposit because I needed an apartment. I would appreciate if this would be investigated as soon as possible. I was really hoping to use this money towards a new rental agreement. However, I have tried to reach out to "My Place Apartments" and was unsuccessful. I don't think its fair that struggling people as myself are struggling and this people take from them. Plese help me!!! Please **** ******** I only want my money returned to me as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like my deposit of $1325 returned to me as soon as possible. Thank you ****** ******* was going to different atm's because I found them changing amounts and policies at the last minute. The money I withdrew from the bank, I thought that was it. These people didn't do right by me. I was sick at the time of all of this I had a blood clot in my leg and I needed to hurry up and move into a place. 2/24/14 I would like to find out what will be the next step. I have not heard from My Place Apartments ******* Realty." I would like my money back. Please halp!!! Thanks ****** ****** I have not heard back from "My Place Apartments" "**** Realty". I would like to find out what is the next step. I will not let them get away with just taking my money. I need help and would like to discuss my case with someone about these people. I think they prey on the poor and disadvantaged. Thank you ****** ****** 3/17/14 I keep trying to call and it goes to a voicemail. I left a message asking for a refund and to speak with someone in charge regarding my security deposit. ****** ******

12/3/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I belive I was taken advantage of I filled out forms in good faith and told different policys on different times also when I expresseed dought in policy was told that it was my own lack of brains why I do not understand also when I would ask about refund policy everyone said they do not no how it works yet that same person then sent me email saying I am not able to get refund also I was passed around to three diffrent people every time I called to ask about my case also said my income was not enough for said apartments but not providing what income is needed for said apartments also am a tipped enployee and they said my income was false

Desired Settlement: Frist months rent and fees

12/2/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enter into agreement with them to find me apartment. I gave them $700.00 for the first month rent and $180.00 for the service fee. They said they could help me regardless of my credit. Once they look up my credit they want $990.00 more plus a security deposit. I have all the e-mails they send me. When I complained they said they would only give me back $350.00. I had to sign a release to get back the $350.00. The only way I sign it was because I need the money to find me apartment.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund! They did not do what they said could do.

10/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I payed my place 1150 to find me and my disable kids a new place wit good working heat they told me the can have me a place by nov.20 2012 but it toked longer and I also told them I will move any where but the southside of Chicago it was ok until they can't find me a good place and try to bully me to move on *************** I said no I told yall that I need to be by my kids doctors and services the receive and my eye doctor when I said no they stop looking took my money and left me and my kids homeless tears I'm been crying since

Desired Settlement: I just want my refund and pain suffixing I went through and for them to stop taking people hard earn money and leaving people homeless

9/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 13, 2013,I came into my place apartment office requesting there services to find an apartment.I was told i needed to put a deposit of the amount of my first months rent which was $800 to $900 my choice of which i gave them $800 cash first months rent deposit and $60 for a back ground and credit check before the apartment search could take place.I filled out the application including the **** real estate group required area criteria on which i stated my desired location the Austin area in which to get an apartment. I handed in all required paper work on that same day with a dead line of july 1, 2013 for finding the apartment. On june 17, 2013 i had the amount of $185 sent to there office the fee for finding the specified apartment i was looking for, and extended the dead line to july 10, 2013.because i would be out of town till july 1,2013 and would not be able to view the apartment until the july 1, 2013 when i return. I called there office on july 9 ,2013, to check the progress of my search, i was informed by my case worker mr. ***** that my search was on hold because the $180 required was not received. He looked through my file and found the payment and said he would get right on it.I receive a call from mr. ***** about a three days later he stated that had found an apartment in the North lawndale area for $950, which was not the area i choose and $950 was not the amount i agree to pay per month for rent. He said if i agree to these changes i would get the apartment because i was approved.I declined the request of the amount and location and told him if he needed more time to find a place in the area that i choose i would give him until the 1 of august 2013 he said ok. About 30 min later i receive another call from my case worker stating that i had to view the apartment and if i did not go to this appointment i would loose my deposit.i reluctantly went to the arranged location where i waited for the driver for an hour and a half from the appointed time of his arrival. I view the apartment and after my viewing i gave the driver a list of apartment that i had found myself,thinking they would do the "second chance" since i express my dislikes to the driver. On the 17 of july 2013 which was 7 days after my deadline, i receive a call from one of the managers stating that i have to accept the apartment,even though it was not in my price range or the neighborhood i choose, so i decline once more.I was told by the manager that there would not be another search,and i had to accept this apartment because they where unsure they could find me something else.I refused the apartment and requested a refund of my deposit of $800.00, i have made numerous call and left messages to settle this matter they have showed no interest in resolving the issue they ignore my calls and no one has return my calls. I have stated in my application that i have two young children and there company choose to locate me in a drug infested area with an abandoned building directly across the street from where i am suppose to live with my 10 year old daughter and 7 year old son. my application was altered after i signed it unbeknownst to me. I was told by my case worker that he was going to make a copy of my application for my records, after being forced to accept the apartment i review my application and saw the alterations where they cross out my map of the area i choose to live and add a move in fee that i did not agree to. This company did not allowed them self enough time to find me a proper place and tried to force me into the first place they could find, not caring about the safety of my children or my self.I would like a full refund of my $800.00 for the deposit of my first month rent, i did not accept the apartment or lived in the apartment and i payed them for there service which i was not pleased with.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of $800.00 for the deposit of my first month rent, i did not accept the apartment or lived in the apartment and i payed them $185 for there service which i was not pleased with.

8/27/2013 Delivery Issues
8/1/2013 Delivery Issues
7/30/2013 Delivery Issues
7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/5/2013 Delivery Issues
6/11/2013 Delivery Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on My Place Apartments
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)