BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Equity Residential meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Equity Residential include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 90 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

90 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 43 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 44
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 16
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 27
Total Closed Complaints 90

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Equity Residential
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 12, 1999 Business started: 08/01/1993 Business started locally: 08/01/1993 Business incorporated 12/12/2006 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Kristen Miller, Senior Manager, Interactive Marketing Matt Ing Mr. David Neithercut, President/CEO Ms. Lindsey Wallem, Online Brand Reputation Specialist
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Matt Ing
Principal: Ms. Kristen Miller, Senior Manager, Interactive Marketing
Number of Employees


Business Category

Apartment Finding & Rental Service Real Estate Property Management Offices of Real Estate Agents and Brokers (NAICS: 531210)

Alternate Business Names
Equity Residential Properties ERP Operating Limited Partnership
Products & Services

This company offers Equity Residential is an S&P 500 company focused on the acquisition, development and
management of high quality apartment properties in top U.S. growth markets.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Equity Residential has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2 N Riverside Plz Ste 400

    Chicago, IL 60606 (312) 876-6857


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally filed a complaint against my complex,*************, for not honoring equity residential's policies. When I moved into ************ apartments, I was told that if maintenance fails to respond to a service request within two business days, my rent would be free until they do. This is now the second incident of this very situation happening where ************ refuses to honor this policy. I have two dogs, so maintenance does need me to be in my apartment when they are working on something. However, they normally always at least attempt to come for the request, and if I am not home, they call me and we set up a time where I will be home for them. I filed a request recently and it took them 9 days to even attempt to come over. I know this because if they try to come when I am not home, they call me. Moreover, the day that ************ claims he attempted to knock was 8 days before the second time they tried. They would try to come everyday until they could get in. So besides for never getting a phone call, which I did 8 days later when he attempted to enter, I know there would not be an 8 day gap. I am not the one who is asking for this out of the blue, Equity residential holds this policy. They should do away with the policy if they are not willing to honor and follow it. I was contaced by**************** from the ****** corporate office to help me resolve this issue. ******** offered me a 2 day rent credit. I told her that I was still not satisfied until I receive the whole thing, however, if 2 days was all she could offer right now I would take it for the time being until I can reach someone from corporate to resolve the remaining issues. ******** told me that she will relay the rest of my concerns to the regional management team. When I went to my community's office to sign the form for the credit, it was a contract that releases equity residential from all claims arising from the situation. However, I told ******** that I still wasn't satisfied and wanted to speak further with regional management. However, by signing the form, my issue is moot and they would not be able to further help me. I do not appreciate being lied to or tricked by****************. Also, I still have not heard from upper management, as she said she would be forwarding on my concerns.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund for the remaining 10 days.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/10) */ Contact Name and Title:*****-Digital Reputation Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** Regional Manager is in direct contact with the resident to verify details. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/08/26) */ The business has not resolved my complaint. Please contact me immediately. XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 21, 2015/09/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes, but by signing the form we will be releasing equity residential of liability. We are not getting the full credit we deserve. Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2015/10/01) */ Contact Name and Title:*****-Digital Reputation Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** Our manager ***** B. has explained to ******* that she is not eligible for our Service Guarantee and; therefore, she will not receive a 10 day rent credit. A 2 day credit was offered as an act of customer service. In reference to the Acknowledgement and Release form, it is our standard form that we require the applicable residents to sign prior to a credit being applied to their account. No further offer will be made to her and her roommate regarding this matter. Should the residents wish to accept the concession for the 2 day rent credit then both residents will need sign the Acknowledgment and Release form and return it to our leasing office by October 5, 2015.

9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have an ongoing issue that has been reported to the ************ management team several times, with service requests dating back to 11/2014 on file that still has yet to be fixed properly. The sewer is continually backing up, resulting in clogged toilets in our apartment, bubbling in the toilets, other people's soapy shower water bubbling in our toilet so violently that it sloshes up and spills over onto our bathroom floor, and raw sewage and a horrible smell in the driveway in front of our garage where my husband parks his car. These living conditions are unsanitary - it is impossible for him to get in his car without stepping in raw sewage, and then he is not able to park in our parking spot in front of our garage until the fix is made. Every time we have made a service request (sometimes online and sometimes over the phone or in person when they are not responsive), they have a plumber come out and temporarily clear up the issue, but there are clearly roots or something causing a greater recurring problem that has not been addressed, and continues to get worse and worse. Initially the sewer only backed up when it was raining, but lately the sewer is backing up more and more often without a cloud in the sky. I have a 2.5-year-old son, and have to worry about unsanitary conditions in his bathroom while soapy shower water from a neighbor bubbles up and spills over onto the floor. I have no idea if this is just someone else's shower water backing up, or possibly sewage in the water as well. We just had to throw out the new bath mat in his bathroom as it had gotten soaked and was unsanitary, and went out and purchased another new one today. At this point we request monetary compensation for the 10 months that we have been living with this issue, as well as having to go out and replace things like our bath mat and towels that were used to clean up unsanitary sewage water. We do not feel that it is fair to pay $3400 per month to live in unsanitary conditions. We also request that they order the plumbing work necessary to truly fix the issue immediately, instead of continually putting band-aid fixes in place that do not last long. They need to use a camera to determine what the real issue is, and then address it. They have told us they will do this before, but then it hasn't happened and the sewer continues to back up again and again. The story that we get from the office is that it takes a while to get approval from corporate to get the issue fixed properly, and that is the hold-up. 10 months is absolutely ridiculous and unacceptable though - we have paid them $34,000 in that amount of time to live in unsanitary conditions. My husband has also had to stand outside and wait while the plumbers fix the issue late at night because our garage had to be open to supply electricity and our bikes, tools, etc that are stored in the garage would have been unsecured with the possibility of being stolen. This is something the maintenance team here should have done. They should have come out to supervise the work - this is not our responsibility. If they had been there they could have ran an extension cord for the electricity as well, leaving our belongings secured and allowing my husband to come back inside and help me put our son to bed. This is our home, and we should feel safe and comfortable here, and the unsanitary conditions are ruining what would otherwise be a wonderful home.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking monetary compensation for the headaches that this issue has repeatedly caused over the past 10 months, as well as for having to replace bath mats and towels that have been rendered unsanitary by the sewage bubbling up out of our toilets.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/27) */ Contact Name and Title:*****-Digital Reputation Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** Hello ******, We want to thank you for alerting us about the plumbing problems occurring in and around your home. We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you and your family and appreciate your patience while we take care of the problem. Although we have cleared the line each time there was a reoccurrence, we recently hyrdro-flushed the main line as well. We have also scheduled a plumber to send a camera down to help identify any further problems. We are working with our vendors to ensure that they clean up after they complete their work. Thank you for taking the time to share your concern. Regards, **** (community manager) Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/08/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The company is taking the necessary actions to resolve the sewer issue.

8/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2015 Delivery Issues
8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
7/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tried to renew rent on Wed pricing. However the property manager had submit for approval which took another day, sending the price up. I filed a complaint utilizing the residential portal. I even received an email stating a representative would be with me in two day. No call has come in.

Desired Settlement: I would like the price listed on the website which should be available to all residents. The price was 1571, which is exactly what my rent is now.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/02) */ Contact Name and Title: Matt-Digital Reputation Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: ************ Resident has been contacted and this issue has been addressed.

7/13/2015 Delivery Issues
7/10/2015 Delivery Issues
7/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have an issue with carpet beetles & carpet beetle larvae all over my apartment. These bugs have literally eaten huge holes in my carpet within the closet. Utterly horrifying and I have the photos and bugs to proof this. I refuse to live in this apartment and am literally displaced. This is not suitable living conditions. When I moved in, the carpet had patchwork carpet replaced within the closet. This is strange in the first place? Now it is seeming quite clear. ***** ***** was clearly trying to hide this situation that was at hand prior to me moving in. ***** ***** management (******) refuses to hear this information or allow me to show her the bugs. She claims there is no bug problem. Literally shutting down every claim. Why act blind? Do you not care about your future residents that will move in? I took multiple bug samples to a third party independent exterminator. I did not even mention my carpet problem. 2 exterminators immediately classified them as carpet beetles. I am already displaced from my home, have thrown out multiple items including my mattress and other belongings in fear of taking this infestation with me. I am staying with family who will not even allow me to bring my belongings in the house in fear of bringing these bugs with me. Don't you think this issue has cost me far enough already? All I am asking is to be released of my last 2 months of rent left in my lease. This is not a suitable living condition to live in a home where bugs are eating your carpet and can infest your furniture and clothing. I am DEEPLY concerned that Equity Apartment is disregarding the problem at hand and trying to "sweep it under the rug" the staff is literally ready to just "replace the closet carpet" and re-rent to another tenant. WOW. I have had a great relationship with ***** ***** for 10 months, why ruin such a relationship when I have a problem at hand now and am asking for help. I work as a marketing director, I know the power of social media and photos. I am trying to work with you, will you not step up to the plate and the Equity name and take care of your residents? I emailed the office to renew my lease about a month ago, clearly I wanted to be there until this bug problem. Is it necessary to tarnish the Equity name? Why not take care of your residents? I am deeply disappointed in your current care for your residents and future residents.

Desired Settlement: Release from apartment lease on June 30th 2015.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ****-Digital Reputation Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** **** was released from her lease and returned possession of her apartment on 6/29/2/15. A released and acknowledgment was signed by the resident and management. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Regional manger was much more responsive in handling the issue and did not act blind to the situation at hand. Brought in 2nd pest control company for consulting. Was released from lease on 6/29/15.

7/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been having 2 leaks in the sprinkles o in less than one year, I have 2 kids, and I concern other leak could happen again.When I got the last leak the personal in Center Club came to fixed the problem after 5 hours, I am mad about this matter, this is not the living that I want for my family, I need to break the contract with no penalty, since this is a ploblem regarding to the appartment. I talked with the manager in the front office, and she just said you have to pay the penalty, no matter how many leaks more do you have.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Billing Adjustment Break the contract before it's due with no penalty, The leaks are something I don't have to deal with.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/06/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ****-Digital Reputation Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** ****** End did experience 2 leaks in their unit during their tenancy. The first was a sprinkler line, the leak was in the living room. The second was a fire sprinkler, located in the master bedroom. The delay was a result of the resident calling the office line after hours vs. the on-call emergency line. The repair was made that same night and the completion of the drywall and repairs were done within 3 days. In both incidents, no personal belongings were damaged nor was their apartment uninhabitable. Her lease term expires 11-1-15. We do not terminate contractual obligations based on "what if" scenarios. She was informed of the lease break options available to her. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/06/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the response, because when I signed the leasing agreement there was no mention about possible leaks in the apartment even though the roof has a lot of marks of previous repairs. I concern for future leaks, but my biggest concern is about the two previous leaks, where my daughter got wet, no material stuff were damaged, but she is most important to me. Besides this,there are more reasons to me to break the contract with no penalty: * I have reported mold in this appartment, the office already cleaned the affected area, this is a health issue for my daughter´s allergy, wich is getting worse since we live in this appartments. *Safty issue: the gates in the community are open all day long, allowing the entrance for all kind of people, one night, the garage near mine was opened and stolen. *People around my apartment burns marihuana, and this smells everywhere. It´s not fair payng penalty when all these matters are not my fault. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/07/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ****-Digital Reputation Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter. While we understand ******'s concern, we are unable to guaranty that maintenance concerns will not occur during her stay with us here at ****** ***** However, just as we have done in the past, should any concerns arise, they will be addressed in a timely manner. With regards to ******'s statement regarding prior leaks, looking back at our records through 2006 we have not had any roof leaks in this apartment, but did have an A/C leak in 2008. With this said, our position regarding this matter has not changed. However, if ****** and ******** would like to terminate their lease prior to it's end date, they may either choose to pay a settlement amount which is currently equal to 1.5 times their rental rate or they may choose to continue being rent responsible until another party takes possession of the residence. Should the residents wish to exercise one of these options, they will need to contact the community's leasing office for full details and completion of any necessary paperwork. Should the residents have further questions, they can contact the leasing office.

6/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a lease starting May 23rd for an apartment at 1 ****************, jersey city New Jersey. I have not moved in. The apartment is vacant. Since I am not living there I did not need electricity to the apartment. I then received a bill for $91.11 for electric charges. I am not living there, I am not using the electric. It is obvious that there workers who were getting the apartment ready left the air conditioner on, and now they want me to pay for it. I cannot believe that this is how a company would treat a new tenant. I emailed Claudio, and he wants me to pay for it. I never left the air co dinner on. No one told me that the company is paying electric and make sure everything is turn off.

Desired Settlement: Remove the 91.11 cent charge from my account

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ****-Digital Reputation Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** The resident has been contacted and this issue has been resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/06/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

6/29/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am having a dispute with my property management company Equity Apartments. The unit above us is doing drugs and possibly selling. The smoke from the drugs is coming through the ventilation and making myself and my daughter sick. This has been going on over a month after we moved in in Feb 2015. On one occasion both my daughter and i had black soot coming from our nose and throats for 2 days. After that we were both sick for about a week. I reported the drug issue and our sickness to 2 of the managers (local and regional) and they have taken no steps to contact the police (i did that on their behalf) and after repeated requests and now demands to move us to another unit or cancel our lease we have been denied. I want out of the property or unit.

Desired Settlement: Move us to another unit, with the same contract terms as today without increase to rent or length of contract terms. OR Let us out of our lease with no contingencies or added fees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ****-Digital Reputation Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** "We have taken Ms. ********'s complaints seriously and investigated her claim that her neighbor is smoking a controlled substance that is causing her and her daughter to be sick; however, we have not been able to substantiate her allegations. In addition, Ms. ******** has not evidenced her claim that she and her daughter were ill due to a condition in the apartment. However, since Ms. ******** has indicated how unhappy she is living at the community, as a courtesy, we have offered her the opportunity to vacate the Premises by July 31, 2015, without penalty. We believe this should resolve the matter for Ms. ********."

6/29/2015 Delivery Issues
6/26/2015 Delivery Issues
6/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I resided at ************ for almost 2 years. When I moved in I paid a large security deposit and when I switched units I paid another deposit which equaled nearly $5,000. When I moved out most of it was taken to make your unit new. I was told I'm only getting about $1,000 back. This was sent to me in my corporation's name because I had a corporate lease; however, I signed every document, "****** ******* on behalf of ******** ******* ***** ****** I am the President of the company and the only person or shareholder in the corporation and I have a DBA under my own name. I therefore requested it be sent to my name since I have no way to negotiate the check made to ******** ******* ****** Every bit of business was carried out in ******** ******* ***** AND my name - ****** ******* - the whole time I resided there. Management agreed but it has been a month and a half since I've moved out and 2 weeks since they supposedly sent be a new check in my name yet I still don't have my money. I paid EQR nearly $2500 per month for almost 2 years and gave over $4000 to renew your unit - and received horrible customer service from folks in the front office from the first time I stepped into their office. This is like pouring salt in the womb to have to be hassled over the money that is owed to me. I am requesting I get a check cut to me upon receipt of this notice in my name, "****** *******" and I am requesting it is over-nighted to me at new address ...

Desired Settlement: $878

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ****-Digital Reputation Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** This issue was resolved on March 31, 2015. Although Mr. ******* signed the lease, it was on behalf of the corporate lease holder, ******** ******* ****** Inc. Mr. ******* requested that the security deposit be refunded to him personally without providing sufficient documentation indicating he was eligible for receipt. In addition, he provided an alternate mailing address, where, after confirmation that the refund could be sent to him, the reissued check was sent. This delayed delivery of the check. On March 31, 2015, Mr. ******* confirmed receipt of the deposit refund.

3/31/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: After not having hot water in my kitchen for over 8 months, I decided to move. When I moved, I had the walk through inspection and was told by the representative that I would be receiving my entire deposit back. I gave them a forwarding mailing address to send any refund or bill, as I knew that a utility bill would be forthcoming. To date I have still received nothing from Equity, yet I started receiving harassing phone calls from a collection agency mid February. I finally received a debt collection notice in the mail, but still nothing form Equity. I spoke to the manage of the property on Wednesday March 4, 2015 and asked why this had been done. I had paid my rent on time every month, even without hot water, so why would I start not paying my debts now? She said she would try and recall the notice then let me know. I have not heard anything from her or Equity yet the collection agency still calls. I made two attempts to call the manager without success. Both times I left a message and never got a return call.

Desired Settlement: Remove the stain on my credit report and allow me to pay Equity directly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ****-Digital Reputation Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** The balance was recalled from collections and has since been paid by Ms. *******. As such, we consider this matter closed.

3/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/19/2015 Delivery Issues
3/10/2015 Delivery Issues
3/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved on January 1st and I was told the apartment would be evaluated within a few days. I heard nothing back and assumed the apartment was suitable. The Fall River representatives of Equity Residential renewed my renters Ins even though they knew I moved out on Jan st. They are charging me the renewal fee on the insurance as well as damage on the carpet. Upon moving I paid $1,393.50 for leaving 3 months early, (I feared for my safety as there was a drug related altercation in my parking lot two weeks prior. Police were at my door at 11:30 pm as I was out walking my dogs when the altercation took place. I lived alone and feared for my safety.) as well as $100 security deposit and $2,000 pet fee during my time there. Now I'm being charged Jan rent after I gave sufficient notice and carpet replacement. I just paid them a total of $3,500 for what? How can they be allowed to do this?

Desired Settlement: No additional fees to be charged. I've paid them enough!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/02/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ****-Digital Reputation Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** Resident opted to pay the settlements for an early lease termination thus our team scheduled a move-out inspection based on the resident's given notice for a December 22/23 move-out date. Resident failed to return the keys as required. Our team attempted communication on several occasions with a response received on January 12 2015. The resident informed us that the keys had been left in the apartment. Our move-out paperwork states NOT to leave the keys in the apartment. Our policy does not allow for us to enter apartments without permission so our team could not verify possession of the apartment. Any billings include the time which we could not verify possession of the apartment as well as found pet damage. All items can be supported by documentation.

3/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented a 2 bedroom/2 bath apartment from them for $975 a month. My lease was set to end in November 2014, I received a notice on my door stating that to continue month to month without a lease it would $1280. At the end of November, I received another notice on my door stating that my rent would now be increasing to $1500 a month as of February 1st, 2015. Then, on December 21st I received yet another notice on my door offering a "friendly reminder" of our rent hike on January 1st. My fiancee immediately called the office and spoke with the manager ******* ****** and explained that our original notice had said February 1st and that it was wrong of them to change it giving us only 10 days notice AND right before Christmas. She said that if we felt like we could not afford this apartment we were "free to find something else that was within my price range." However, a day later he spoke with her again and she explained in a very exasperated tone that they had made a mistake and our rent would not increase until February. Yesterday I received my final statement from them, and I take issue with a $300 "breezeway trash removal" fee that they are charging. I spoke with ****** ***** about it and she says that the trash in the breezeway from our evicted neighbors across the hall is ours. I explained that it was theirs and she said that it was our responsibility to report trash outside of the apartment and that there was something wrong with me for not knowing that. She was rude and insulting. She claims that we left trash bags there (which we did not) and that she is going to go through them to find something with our name on it. She yelled at my fiance when he spoke to her and she hung up on him. I am willing to pay all of the other fees, but I am not paying a clean up fee for bags that we brought down ourselves and for furniture that previous tenants left.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like for the $300 fee to be removed since it was not our stuff that they removed, and they cannot just assign fees to random tenants for stuff that they find in the area. I would also like for someone to deal with the property manager. She is incredibly rude and unprofessional. She was threatening, insulting, and she yelled at both of us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/02/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ****-Digital Reputation Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** Equity Residential no longer manages this property (********** **** **** We sold it in October 2014.

2/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We transferred from 270 to 576 with mobe I'm cost of 1166.67 in which after back and forth with the property manager after them making a mistake with our lease and the property manager tried forcing our hand to resign a new lease after we already signed and received corporate counter signature. Which was our legal lease document.Once we contacted corporate that day of our move it was resolved and we wrote a check for $1166.67 which was then lost and we were informed a month or do after the fact and we're ask to repay..we requested the cancelation fee of $30 be credited to us and that the balance be applied for us to make an electronic payment which we use to pay rent monthly and in the going on 3 year we have been here have never been late on. We requested this to happen for over a month and nothing was done and we were never able to speak with the property manager. I go in today to make a service request and see our balance is now incorrect and additional fees look to have been charged. I am sick and tired of relaying the message about this complaint over and over again it needs to be handled now.

Desired Settlement: These matters and problems we have had be addressed properly. Our bill be corrected With proper a ton taken to management.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ****-Digital Reputation Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** We are happy to report that as of today, the majority of Ms. ******'s service requests have been completed. The two outstanding issues tied to duct cleaning and a water stain will be addressed on Monday, February 9, 2015. Additionally, a credit in the amount $1,177.67 has been applied to her account. As such, we consider this matter resolved. Thank you.

1/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been a tenant with Equity Residential for a year and choose automatic debit to ensure my rent was paid. At the end of my lease I went to the office to let them know I wanted to extend one month and to find out what to do. One person said all I need to do is give 30 days' notice and I could do it online. That seemed odd, so I went back the next day and some woman gave me a form and said write down the day I will vacate and a forwarding address and she walked away. I filled out the form and left it on the desk since no one was around. On October 6th I received an email saying my rent was late. I went to the office and the 2 people there did not know why the payment wasn't withdrawn. One guy told me to call my bank! I made a manual payment immediately and every day since 10/6 I have gone to that office an no one knew why it happened and promised it would be "looked into." Today I was told I am being charged a late fee because I extended my lease one month and the automatic debit stopped. I did not know this and neither did anyone in your office. This person also said "It's on the form, you should have seen it." The office staff should have reviewed the form with me instead of giving it to me and walking away. I signed where I needed to and left. Now I have a late fee listed on my record and I have NEVER paid rent late. This will cause issues down the road when I apply for a new lease in another state.

Desired Settlement: I want the late fee removed and the fee waived. It's more important that the late fee indication be removed from my record. I have perfect credit and don't want poor service on Equity Residential's office staff to have a negative impact on my credit rating

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* *** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** Once a resident places their apartment on notice and completes the notice to vacate form, any automatic debit that was set up is cancelled. This resident signed the appropriate paperwork which outlines the process and informs the resident about the stop of automatic payment. As a customer service gesture we will split the late fee in half and appropriate credit will be applied to the residents account.

10/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was informed of force placed insurance on an apartment due to a lessee, who no longer resides @ the leased apartment. I was notified on 10/1/14. Foxridge Apartment complex in Colorado, forced rental insurance on me due to a tenant that no longer resides on the property, and the Apartment complex has known since 5/1/14 that he left their property. The terms of the lease read: ", we require all RESIDENTS to maintain a policy of liability insurance issued by an authorized insurance company that provides limits of liability in" etc..... He is a leasee, however not a "Resident". I have provided rental property insurance to the apartment complex for the apartment, and yet am now being charged for "Force Placed Insurance" , this is not right in my opinion, and I feel that I am being extorted. an amount of at least $100,000 per occurrence.

Desired Settlement: allow out of Rental Lease if requested, reverse any fee's due to company negligence.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/07) */ Resident ***** ******** his former roommate did not sign the acknowledgment release form to be take off the lease. We are working with ******* ***** that is out of state to sign off the lease with ***** ******** at this time we have reversed all charges of forced placed insurance from resident statement. Last is to have ******* ***** sign the release to and have ***** sign new lease with Fox Ridge Apartments. Thank you,

10/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: APARTMENT COMPLEX: **** M APARTMENTS ***** M ** ** *********** ** XXXXX) I have been charged $150.00 for 3 hour use of the service elevator on 8/28. This doesn't make sense to me considering we paid an "amenity" fee when we moved in last September. I asked them about this, and the leasing consultant Samara said that using the elevator and loading dock is not considered an amenity. I was surprised at this, considering the only way to reserve the loading dock online is by scheduling it under the AMENITY services provided by the complex. Why would I be given the option to reserve the loading dock (under the amenity service tab) on their online website to then find out that it is not "considered" an amenity? This charge comes in direct contrast to not being charged anything when I reserved the loading dock last year (and was not charged $150). I feel that this company is trying to squeeze every dollar out of me that they can before I move out and thought people should now.

Desired Settlement: A $150.00 reimbursement would be appreciated.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* *** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** We have waived the $150 Elevator Reservation Fee. It was not charged in error, but we are willing to credit this fee back as a customer service gesture.

9/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since I moved into my apartment in September of 2013, the people living above me have been a noise issue. The first weeknight I stayed here I was kept awake by stomping, pounding, and shuffling vibrations. I decided to go upstairs to talk to the tenants at around 10:30pm to politely let them know that I could hear them. When the tenant (a woman) opened her door, I could see a child in the living area running and jumping around. The woman appeared to be confused and told me that she was about to put her child to bed, but the noise continued until well past 11:30pm. After experiencing the noise for a while, I decided to let the office know about it since I noticed I was having a difficult time sleeping in my unit. Thus began a series of emails of letting the office know that the noise was disturbing and them telling me that they issued noise violations to the tenants above me and to let them know if there was no improvement. The noise continued. Some evenings it was so disturbing that I packed up my things to stay elsewhere. Movement was constant above me and everything in my apartment either shook or vibrated. There were several times when was shocked out of sleep by an extremely loud pound. I was told by the office to contact security when the noise occurred. I let both the office and security know that the noise could not be heard from the hallway and that someone needed to come to my place to witness it. No one came to my apartment. The office kept telling me to call security. Nothing seemed to happen. Finally, during the summer, (and several noise complaints later) I was told by management that the tenants were given a final warning but that it was going to take time for the issue to be resolved. Weeks went by and the noise continued. I asked if I could be moved to a different apartment and was told that I would have to pay a transfer fee of $500. If I decided to break my lease I'd be charged a full months rent. My home is literally unlivable. I can't sleep there without either being kept up or woken up by the noise. Ear plugs don't work because the noise can literally be "felt" - like bass vibrations. I'm the last person to want to evict a mother and child out of their home, but I can't understand why management would penalize me for requesting to move if the tenants above me are cited with several noise violations. I know that I have rights. I have paid my rent on time and have taken care of my apartment. As a paying customer, I feel like this should have been resolved months ago. I should not have to pay to move out. Especially since I have not been able to live here comfortably in the first place. I decided to try to talk to someone in management in person one last time to let them know that I haven't been able to live here this month. I was told that it was a sensitive situation and that they can't discriminate against a child tenant - especially when the woman keeps denying that they're not making noise and security hasn't been able to hear it. It's a "he said, she said" situation. I have email records of what I've been told by the office. This was a new one. I asked why no one had come to my apartment to witness the noise and the girl told me that she could come check it out "right now" (very rudely, I might add). So, not only was I made to feel like they thought I was crazy, I also was told something different about how things were being handled over 11 months into the situation. I understand that there is a difference between living noise and violation noise. This is NOT normal living noise. It sounds like someone is jumping off of furniture at times, and it is constant when the people are home. No one has bothered to come to my apartment to witness it - and I've been very clear about the fact that it probably cannot be heard from the hallway or other units. As a paying customer I feel as though I've been treated unfairly. I have been a responsible tenant. This is a horrible way to treat customers.

Desired Settlement: While I feel like I should be compensated for the weeks that I was unable to stay here due to the noise above me, I am only asking that I not be charged for the final week of my lease - which I believe would total around $350. On top of everything I was told that I would be responsible for paying that final week on my lease if I moved out early. Under normal circumstances, I would be happy to fulfill my contract, but since I feel like I am leaving early due to the fact that I can't sleep in my apartment, and this is a violation of the contract on Uptown Square's part, I would ask I not be charged.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* *** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: **** Thank you for providing information to us about your recent living situation with Uptown Square. We do feel that we have made reasonable attempts to cure this issue with your complaints against your neighbor. We understand that it can be frustrating living in a community with many different work schedules, lifestyles, etc. We do apologize that we were unable to come up with a resolution to satisfy your needs at the time. We are more than happy to credit your last 6 days of rent to you for your inconvenience. We wish you the best of luck in your future home. If you continue to have any questions, please feel free to reach out to ******* **** at the property.

9/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/7/2014 Delivery Issues
8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/7/2014 Delivery Issues
6/16/2014 Delivery Issues
6/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/2/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lease renewal notice was received, price was increased over $100 per month. Spoke with office and explained that it was unacceptable. Crowntree Lakes website currently advertises the same size apartment for less than what i pay now and would have been $200 less than what I would have paid with the increase. They stated they would email corporate, which they did, no communication with myself. There is a 60 day requirement for termination of lease. I spoke with the front office and explained my concerns that I would be held accountable because I'm forced to wait to see what corporate determines on my rate increase. 3 weeks went by, still no final determination, I took it upon myself, signed a contract to have a house built, explained my situation to the front office and they will not allow lease to end when actual date is. They are now requiring a 60 day notice even though I was unsure of what a monthly rate would be as the front office was communicating with corporate for an acceptable amount.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Want my lease to end on 9/14/13 with no penalty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 24, 2014/05/20) */ We consider this case closed. Mr ********* was not pleased with his renewal increase, and despite our best efforts to help him to stay, he decided to move out. He does not have an open balance with us.

6/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: CrownTree apartments charged me outstanding fees for cleaning and painting, when the apartment was left in good condition prior to moving. I received a call and online notice of the charges toward the apartment, on Tuesday 4/8/2014. I moved out 3/22/2014 which is a Saturday. I cleaned the apartment around the 28th of March, which is a Friday. I did not do a walk through but I did take photos of the apartment and the appliances. I viewed the statement online and noticed that they charged me outstanding fees for the apartment. It stated that my husband and I have left the apartment uncleaned and that it needed painting and floor repair. We do not have pets or children, and we are not dirty people for them to charge us these fees. This is not the first time one of equity apartments have charged outstanding fees for something was left in good condition. Tortuga Bay also did the same thing. I have tried to complain about the service we received for false charges and they don't want to call or deal with you when you have a problem; but if you owe money they are at your front door the next day. I even tried to call corporate and nobody called us back. We are good renters, we pay are bills on time and have good history. I called over at Crowntree and spoke with the representative and he's telling me that the apartment was not left clean, when I have pictures. There was only very few wear n tear on the apartment that needed to be fixed. Otherwise, its in good condition. How much money does it take to do a touch up or carpet clean? They also said they needed to repair the carpet, when again I don't have pets or children. We had two accidental stains that were cleaned. They are very dishonest company and their reps.

Desired Settlement: I want them to give me back some of my security deposit. I only asked them to clean the carpet. I am an honest person and I don't like when people try to rob you for what you have.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/05/20) */ We apologize that Ms. ***** is upset. We were able to provide photos of the walls which were badly stained and parts of her kitchen that were not cleaned, as required by our lease. We did, however, negotiate lower charges and refunded much of the cleaning charge. Ms. ***** was in agreement with this and she actually received a refund of her security deposit. We consider this matter closed.

5/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/15/2014 Delivery Issues
3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June 2005, I leased my first of three apartments with Promenade at Peachtree (no longer owned by Equity Residential). In 2006, I leased a second apartment, and in 2008 (after receiving a renewal notice that my rent would increase by a significant amount), my third apartment. In 2010, I got married, and vacated the Promenade at Peachtree apartment in April of that year, as agreed upon in my lease and provided the appropriate notice to vacate of 60 days prior to this. I provided the office/management with a forwarding address, completed the walk-through, and signed off on paperwork. In April 2010. I received my deposit refund check within a reasonable amount of time of my leaving the property, at my new address, which I provided to management upon my vacating. In December 2013, I received a strange phone call from a foreign caller stating I owed Promenade at Peachtree $63 and the account was in collections. This $63 was from my apartment vacated in 2008. The collections caller stated that Equity had tried to reach me themselves, but had no forwarding address or contact information. I assumed this call was a scam for a few reasons: 1. The caller was clearly not calling from a stateside location (based on her voice, the voices in the background, and the account in question. Fast-forward two months (February 2014) and I now find out this is on my credit report and is negatively affecting my score. How is it possible I owe money from an apartment in 2008 when I moved within the property? I was not allowed to move in 2006 until I had paid all fees due on that apartment, and I checked in 2008 to make sure the account was at a zero balance. Furthermore, NO attempt was made to reach me by management (Promenade at Peachtree OR Equity Corporate). It would have been quite simple to reach me, as I was still living on the property for another two years. My phone number hasn't changed, either. I have never received notice in writing from the collection agency that claimed to be working for Equity, nor from Equity's collections department.

Desired Settlement: I want this removed from my credit report. I do not owe Equity any money. I paid my rent in full, on time, each month to the office and I never had a returned check. I would have received a bill from the leasing office in 2008 if this "debt" actually existed. To wait almost four years to attempt to collect on a fictional debt is ludicrous and against the law. According to the FDCPA, I have right to notice of a debt, right to contest a debt, and the right to verify a debt. According to the FDCPA, after contacting me by phone regarding a debt, I should receive a letter providing me written notice of a debt, the name of the creditor, and the information regarding how to dispute said debt. As I stated above, I have not received any written notice of this "debt" I allegedly owe, only a mysterious phone call from a collector that seems to be working under a different set of laws than those set forth stateside.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/14) */ Ms. *******'s charges were due to the electricity being shut off too early before she transferred apartments. As a gesture of good will, we will zero out her balance. The account balance is now zero and the account with FCO has been cancelled. Equity Residential no longer owns or operates Promenade at Peachtree. If she has any other questions or concerns, she is welcome to contact us here:************************************************. Thank you.

2/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved out from Veloce Apartments (an apartment complex that Equity Apartments manages) on 10/28. After the complex have posted charges to my account, I've made several attempts to retrieve photos for what they think was damaged in the apartment that they are charging me for. I've finally received the pictures on Nov 8 but I was traveling, so by the time I got to check them out and respond, it was Dec 4th. The representative (****), replied on Dec 5th indicating that he has forwarded my response to management and is waiting on their response. I've not heard back from them since. (Knew later that they forwarded my account for collections on Dec 13th). While I'm waiting, I made a payment online for everything else I owe them that I'm not disputing (I paid a total of $211.13 USD and disputing the remaining $181 USD). I came back from my travel on Dec 23rd only to receive a call from FCO Collection Agency on Dec 27th letting me know that Equity Apartments have forwarded my account to them for collections. I told them that story and that I'll contact Equity Apartments and get back to them. I did on the same day and ******* ****** got back to me indicating that she "remembers" that she responded and that the email might have went to my bulk folder (which never happened to ANY email from them or veloce), I checked my bulk folder and nothing was received. She also indicated that the charges are final and that they are not willing to discuss anything about the charges and that all negotiations should be sent to FCO. I'm including all the email conversation.

Desired Settlement: 1) I do not want to pay for something that wasn't clean when we moved in... 2) I do not want to pay for wear and tear... I think the remaining charges they are asking me for are not fair and I'm disputing all the amount.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/09) */ We apologize for Mr.**********'s frustration. Our team at Veloce Apartments responded appropriately in each situation in which he contacted us and with expediency. He requested pictures from us on 11/8/13 and they were posted the same day. He did not contact us again until 12/4/13, when he disputed the cleaning charges. Our General Manager removed 40% of the charges. We have photos which justify all of the charges, including painting. There were marks throughout the apartment on doors and walls, including marker. We are happy to provide these photos again upon request. We have appropriately handled Mr. **********'s account in the same manner in which we handle all accounts. We consider this matter closed, and a balance is still owed. If he has any further questions, Mr. ********** may contact us at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this response as a resolution to the issue. First off, the response contains inaccuracies: 1) They discounted the charges on 11/12/13 (or 3 weeks before I contacted them).. They claimed that the discount was because of my dispute. 2) They discounted the charges by 40$ (out of 221), that is no where near 40% they claimed. Second, my main issue is three folds: 1) Cleaning Charges: There are only really 4 pictures (out of 38 they send) that should be my responsibility here. I do not see justification for the amount they are asking for since they are all minor areas that we just missed during cleaning. 2) Carpet Cleaning Charges: We have stayed in that complex for more than 2 years, we were promised a complementary carpet cleaning when renewing the lease after the first year, that never happened though we did ask multiple times for it. I asked to consider the move out carpet cleaning to even that out. 3) Painting Charges Most of the pictures sent I categorize as painting not cleaning charges since they are all places on walls and windows where the painting was off (except for one small canyon mark). I have disputed these charges because: a) I count them as wear and tear since they are caused by cheap matte painting used originally which gets off REALLY easily. b) Painting the apartment's not mentioned explicitly in the contract (There is a vague statement about leaving the apartment in a habitable state). We have clarified with management when we signed the lease and they clarified that the only thing we need is to leave the apartment clean and that painting is NOT required (yes explicitly stated), now that was TWO management companies ago and of course nothing to validate my claim here... Those were my reasons for disputing the charges in the first place that have not been fully addressed by management -yet-. I've contacted Veloce and was advised to send a mail instead which I did and it went back and forth but I felt the issue isn't being resolved there and that's why I resolved to BBB. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/01/23) */ The cleaning charges were adjusted prior to the claim, and calculated at a 40% discount from the total of $105 of cleaning charges, not the total charges of $221 as Mr. ********** states. This was done after further review of the pictures and discussion with the Community Manager. The charges on the Statement of Deposit were as follows: Cleaning $105, credit $43 = $62 Painting = $43 Carpet Cleaning = $75 Total of $180 in charges. As previously explained, we did not charge for the counter damage which is evident in the pictures. Due to timing of the actual invoice, we were unable to close the Statement out with the appropriate charge. We have 25 pictures of walls, doors, window sills, etc verifying that it was beyond normal wear and tear on the paint. We are happy to provide these upon request. As we have no documentation as to the promised carpet cleans or photo documentation of the carpet condition at the time of move out, we will remove the carpet charge. If Mr. ********** has further questions or concerns, he is welcome to contact us at ********************************************************* and we will be happy to assist. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/01/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) After considering the time, effort, stress this issue has brought to me and my family, I've decided it's not worth pursuing the discussions any further. I'm far from satisfied with the resolution. I definitely won't be recommending this management company to any of my friends. I've paid the amount asked for just to be able to move on. I can't answer "Yes" to "Do you accept this business' proposed resolution?" because I do not really.

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a potential renter at your ********* ***** *** ********* property. Here is what happened. I gave the leasing agent a check for $200 to hold an apartment. I was told I had 24 hours to decide. In less than 24 hours I called her and told her I had found another place. I offered to come pick up my check, but she told me she would shred it and there was no need. Then on 12/20 she emailed to tell me she had "accidentally" cashed the check. She assured me she had contacted your bank to start a "charge reversal" which never happened and is patently absurd. She seems to have forgotten it was a check she was talking about. I then emailed her on 12/24 for an update an received no answer. I then contacted my bank and filed a dispute. Finally, yesterday evening, after calling your property's leasing office repeatedly as well as emailing again and again a "manager" called. She told me "sorry" and "no" when I mentioned my time and financial inconvenience are worth money and that you ought to compensate me. I STILL do not have my money. In fact, because of your staff I will not have it until next week. And when I finally do receive the check then I'll need to take even more time out of my schedule to go deposit it. I want $100 in addition to the $200 you illegally took. I feel that this is the least you can do considering the fact that I never rented from your company, that you had no right whatsoever to cash my check, that lied about contacting your bank, that your staff cost me several days of back and forth wrangling over the matter, and I never received a phone call on the matter initially or in fact until I'd called six or seven times after a week had elapsed with no follow up. I want to be very clear: I intend to pursue this for as long as it takes. I will sue your company for the the financial hardship and time this has cost me in small claims court. I will also add the details of this incident on every renters' resource site I can find online. I will continue to pursue this matter until you resolve it to my satisfaction. I expect a check for $300 within the next 3 business days.

Desired Settlement: I want a check for $300 within 3 business days. That's the $200 that was stolen from me along with $100 for the financial hardship and inconvenience this has caused.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/08) */ Dear Mr. ******, Here at ********* ***** *** ********* we strive to provide exceptional customer service. It sounds like that was not your experience. We apologize for cashing your application holding deposit, and for the length of time that it took to get returned to you during the busy holiday season. We understand that your time is extremely valuable to you, and as a gesture of our commitment to your satisfaction, we have processed an additional refund of $100 for your inconvenience. The return of $200 was sent via *** last Friday 1/3/2014 via next day air mail, and additional $100 should be sent off today, 1/7/2014. If you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact me at ************* Thank you. Sincerely, ***** ******** Community Manager ********* ***** *** ********* Apartments Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/01/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I agree that after many phone calls and much effort on my part that they did the bare minimum required to close this matter. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/23) */ We have been in contact with Mr. ******, and were able to process the $100 concession for his time and inconvenience on 1/14/2014. At this time, our Regional Manager notified him of the tracking number and date that it was sent out. We did apologize to Mr. ******, and were in contact with him throughout the process. Since it was not a normal business practice for us to issue a $100 credit to prospects, it did take several layers of approval in both the operational as well as accounting levels in order to issue this credit. Therefore at this point in time Mr. ****** should be in possession of his original $200 plus the $100 inconvenience credit, and wish him the best of luck in his future endeavors. We consider this matter closed. Sincerely, ***** ******* Community Manager

1/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Equity Realty has cited it's internal "processing" policy as the reason my refund has not been remitted to my bank account. The funds were debited almost immediately. However, they are not being returned with the same dispatch. I wait patiently during 14 day period (9/4/13-9/18/13)despite a reasonable business standard of 3-5 business days. I am now told that my funds have recently been processed and it will take an additional 7-14 days to remit.

Desired Settlement: I simply want my $125.00 returned. I will even drive down to the Apt complex **** ******* at ******* ********* ***** ***** ******* ****** ** XXXXX) and take a check. Equity Realty can then continue "processing" the withheld funds. Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/25) */ We have received approval to overnight Mr. ****** the refund. The only address we had on-file was an Alaska address. We have since stopped payment, and resubmitted his refund with the new address provided by Mr. ******. Mr. ****** has been notified that his refund will be delivered by Friday, 9/27/13. Thank you, ******* ******************* Community Manager St. Andrews at Winston Park Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/09/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the resolution. I simply wanted my funds to be returned as promised and in a timely manner. Nothing further needs to be done as I have received and deposited the check in my account. Thank you.

9/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a resident at Hammock's Place Apartments. As a renter I need to pay by the 3rd of the month in order to be on time with my rent and not be assessed a late fee. They have a portal system set up so that the residents are able to pay electronically using their checking account. The portal allows payments to be made up until 12 midnight on the 3rd of the month in order to be credited the same day. After the third the portal is blocked for residents to make payments if the payment was not already submitted. I went into the portal on the 3rd at approximately 6 in the evening to make my payment. There are time stamps to prove this and the office has told me that they see my attempts to enter the portal payments. As I was attempting to make the payments it told me that it was unavailable. It was blocked from allowing me to make payments. I clicked in and out of the portal and it still did not work. I tried to contact the office but there was no one available. There was a number listed on the portal to make a credit card payment by phone and when I called them they told me that I was blocked from making a credit card payment. I have a letter from the manager at the credit card payment division stating that I called the company that evening. On the 5th I went into the office and explained what happened. (They were closed on July 4th). The manager, *******, opened up the portal for me, so that I was able to make my payment. I saw that I had been assessed a Late Fee of $127.50. I told ******* to contact her manager to get it removed and she agreed. That evening, a few hours after I made my payment, I received a 3-day notice on my door stating that I had to pay within 3 days or I would be evicted. A few days later the office notified me that the manager had denied refund of the late fee. They instructed me how to contact corporate office and I submitted my complaint online. I was not contacted back by the regional manager's staff until the very end of July, and they told me that the reason that it must have been unavailable is because the portal was backed up from all the payments being made that day and the system was overloaded. Even though she admitted that the payment was not able to be made due to an error in their systems, she told me that the regional manager would not refund my late fee. I found the phone number for the manager, Colleen Yeager on the Equity Residential Website and have called her several times, but she will not return my phone call. I would like to be refunded for my $127.50 as well as make a complaint in regards to the 3-day notice I received after I already made my payment. I believe that Equity Residential is using fraudulent methods in order to assess late fees on residents' accounts, by either blocking them out, or allowing their systems to be overloaded to the extent of not allowing residents to make their payments.

Desired Settlement: I want my $127.50 refunded to me and I would also like to be compensated from the stress of receiving a 3 day notice and the time spent in contacting the office and corporate office multiple times in the last month without a resolution.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/16) */ While we apologize for Ms. **********'s frustration, we see no basis under which we would be required to refund the late fee Ms. ********** was charged or pay her any additional monies. Our online payment system was, in fact, working and there is no evidence to the contrary. Furthermore, no one on our staff made any representations that it wasn't working. Ms. ********** could have made a payment online and been current on her rent. However, she chose to then try to pay by credit card over the phone. It is unclear why the credit card payment company blocked her from doing so, but it is irrelevant as, based on the time she attempted to pay, her rent still would have been considered late. All this said, we do not wish to continue to dispute this matter. As such, as a customer service gesture and sign of good faith we will waive the late fee. Her account will be adjusted accordingly. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2013/08/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I do appreciate the customer service. I am glad that this issue was resolved. The website was not in fact working, and next time if there is an issue I will take screenshots. I have enjoyed working with your staff thus far and will continue to recommend the complex to others. Thank you very much for taking care of this. You have made me a happy resident again.

8/13/2013 Delivery Issues
7/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/26/2013 Delivery Issues
2/22/2013 Delivery Issues
1/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service