BBB Accredited Business since

Apartment People Ltd, The-Chgo, Broadway

Phone: (773) 248-8800 Fax: (773) 248-1007 3121 N Broadway St, Chicago, IL 60657 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.apartmentpeople.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Apartment People is an apartment finder service which assists individuals seeking housing in finding and applying to an apartment. This company serves downtown Chicago and the surrounding areas, including the communities of Evanston, Lakeview, Wrigleyville, Lincoln Park, River North, Ravenswood, Uptown, North Center, Albany Park, Humboldt Park, Streeterville, South Loop, Portage Park, Logan Square, Andersonville, Sheridan Park, Avondale, and Bucktown. The company provides property finding services for both individuals and corporations, helping them find the appropriate apartment or commercial space for their needs, and landlords can list their property with the company to be shown to potential tenants.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Apartment People Ltd, The-Chgo, Broadway meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Apartment People Ltd, The-Chgo, Broadway include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Apartment People Ltd, The-Chgo, Broadway
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1986 Business started: 02/08/1984 Business started locally: 02/08/1984 Business incorporated 04/19/1984 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Ilene Collins, C.E.O. Ms. Pamela Mccarthy, Director of Personnel Ms. Mindee Nakfoor, General Manager Mr. Robert Scholl, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Ilene Collins, C.E.O.
Business Category

Apartment Finding & Rental Service Apartments Real Estate Rental Service Real Estate Services Offices of Real Estate Agents and Brokers (NAICS: 531210)


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to apartment people on 3/13/15 to be shown apartments. It started off great and our guide was very helpful and knowledgeable. However, I asked multiple times what we would need to pay for. I was told we would only need to pay for 1. Application fees ($60 each), 2. Cosigner fees ($60 each), and 3. Deposit/rent depending on apartment applied for. My turn around on trying to find an apartment was very short so I was in search of one soon. After looking at apartments I was rushed back and encouraged to begin filling out an application. I was not entirely sold on the apartment for the cost and distance, but I was not made aware of the fees to cancel an application. My guide needed to leave so he replaced himself with what I was told was a manager to finish filling out the paperwork. The next day, 3/14/15 I called and asked to cancel the application. They had called and asked questions about some of my paperwork shortly before so I assumed it wasn't finished. Upon calling, I was informed of the $150 cancelation fee, or the $300 fee if I was approved and wished to cancel. I understood the non-refundable application fees, but I would never have filled out the application that day if I knew I was going to be charged so much such a short time after for changing my mind. Today, 3/18/15, I called because the first months rent I paid was still not in my account. The woman in processing was extremely rude, as I tried to tell her my name she kept cutting me off. I tried to ask about the cancelation fee, because I was still confused as to why I was not told about them during the visit, at any point, and she abruptly, cutting me off yet again, stated it was on the receipt I signed. I was still in the process of trying to gain clarification on the matter when she cut me off once again to put me on hold.

Desired Settlement: $150 cancelation fee refund and make this policy known to new consumers beforehand.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, CEO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ***** was not charged a cancellation fee. He was only charged for the credit check fees and cosigner credit check fees. If he doesn't think the amount is fair, I am happy to reconsider those charges. But we only charged the credit fees.

2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up to look at and secure an apartment for rent with the apartment people. Putting $1100 into escrow and paying the application and background check fees. The first apartment I applied for fell through due to the landlord locating his own tenant, the second apartment fell through due to the landlord changing his mind at the last minute. In the second failure to locate an apartment, I specifically took time off work to look with the realtor, we located a unit and I applied under the terms that I would be able to move on Saturday the 7th of February, 2015. It became evident that date would be impossible as the landlord decided to request a larger deposit or a co-signer. We had a verbal agreement in person for me to move in on the 7th. Wednesday I found out from the apartment people he wanted more money, so I complied and provided a co-signer and increased my bid for the apartment to $1K from $900 against my will as I was very concerned that even with the co-signer the landlord wouldn't honor agreement. The apartment people assured me that should take care of it. Thursday, I called the apartment people and asked for a refund. They refused saying I would have to pay a termination fee in order to get my money back, confusing me very much as the landlord for applied apartment was unresponsive. As a result of that conversation my money staid in. the landlord changed his mind but changed the move-in date to the 15th from the 7th. I was and am unable to move on those terms and all parties were and are aware. Friday more calls happen, the landlord became less responsive and apartment people were more and more difficult to work with passing from processing to realtor when I stated I wanted my money back they attempted multiple times to keep me in the system despite two units falling through. Forcing me to use their service rather than give me my money back to locate my own place on my own terms. Saturday after some more calls and more loops and a new realtor I demanded my money back again and this time the agreed but at this point I now must wait until the 11th of Feb to have my money back. They insisted they would find me a unit but against my terms and limited only to their portfolio in neighborhoods and at a price point I want. I felt hostage by their unwillingness to process a refund of my escrowed money so that I may secure my own arrangements as they failed to secure two places. I'm now without my funds or ability to secure place for a week due to their negligence and poor business practice and desperation to keep my money in their system very much against my will.

Desired Settlement: I would like the fees refunded for the additional credit check for cosigner that went against my will as well as the criminal background check. They failed to secure either place, the held my money against my will and lied about the termination fee causing me confusion and buying them time to hold it even longer. they caused me the inability to secure housing on better terms and they were fully aware of the situation and continued to hold, pause, deflect, and try to find my an apartment from their limited database that I have zero interest in seeing. I would like a full refund of all fees paid. minus any damages I've personally incurred from the process.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, CEO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX, ext250 Contact Email: *****@apartmentpeople.com After reviewing our notes regarding this applicant, there is definitely confusion. It is our understanding that after two previous rental applications where the units were unavailable, our client did successfully get approved for the last apartment. We have no notes from him asking to cancel or for a refund. We are quick to refund if need be. We reached out to our customer today and he is happy to take the apartment. He did say he did not know how to remove this complaint....

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Apartment People's services to apply for an apartment in August. On August 29, 2014, I was informed over the phone by an employee that my lease application was rejected and I was to be issued a refund for the amount of $980. My payment method was via a MasterCard debit card.

Desired Settlement: $980

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX, ext*** Contact Email: *****@apartmentpeople.com I'm sorry that we were unable to process the refund as quickly as our client had hoped. She was refunded on 9/4/2014 as soon as we had the funds back from the management company. We refunded the same day we had the funds. I do care deeply about customer service and will be happy to reserve a credit for our services to the client for an additional $100 towards any apartment through our service.

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I leased an apartment on October 1, 2013, via the services of Apartment People. The firm was represented by broker **** ******* He encouraged myself and ***** ***** to engage in the 1-year, $2,500/month lease at *******************************. Upon signing the lease, he encouraged Ms ***** to re-engage in alcoholism, abandon the lease, stay with him and stick me with the financial liability. This is bait-and-switch, un-professionalism at its worst.

Desired Settlement: Immediate release by Apartment People from 1 year, $30,000 apartment lease and immediate discharge of broker **** ******

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, president Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@apartmentpeople.com This complaint is rather crazy and in no way has anything to do with Apartment People. The true part of the story is that ****** a 15 year friend of consultant, **** ****** and her boyfriend, **** *****, came to **** for his assistance in getting an apartment. I believe that **** and ***** had lived together prior to this apartment and broken up before. They got back together, and signed a lease on this apartment through Apartment People. Obviously, they have since broken up. **** states that while he and ***** are still friends, they are not in a romantic relationship. He didn't encourage her to drink alcohol. He doesn't live with her. **** doesn't even drink alcohol. I don't know how we can help in a situation as personal as a break up, but we are sincerely sorry to hear of the situation.

6/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service