Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Odyssey Fun World-Tinley Pk

Additional Locations

Phone: (708) 429-3800 Fax: (708) 429-4078 19111 Oak Park Ave, Tinley Park, IL 60477 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Odyssey Fun World-Tinley Pk meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Odyssey Fun World-Tinley Pk
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 09, 2000 Business started: 06/01/1993 Business started locally: 06/01/1993
Business Management
Mr. Peter Halikias, Owner/President Mr. Ryan Jacobs, Marketing Manager Mr. Clint Paraday, General Mgr.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter Halikias, Owner/President
Principal: Mr. Ryan Jacobs, Marketing Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Clint Paraday, General Mgr.
Business Category

Amusement Parks & Places Tours - Operators & Promoters Entertainment Services (E.G., Dj's, Magicians Party Planning Pizza Amusement and Theme Parks (NAICS: 713110)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Odyssey Fun World-Tinley Pk has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 19111 Oak Park Ave

    Tinley Park, IL 60477 (708) 429-3800

  • 3440 Odyssey Ct

    Naperville, IL 60563


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/1/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did file a claim. On 4-4-15 after 3pm Me *************** and my Children arrived at Odyssey Fun World it was our first time there. Soon after we arrived my boys ran to play by the back door which has a child like attraction by it unfortunatelymy 5year old************* ran and crawled under a Lift or crane when I noticed him coming from underneath I was glad he wasn't badly hurt but he did bump his head and a bump appeared he complained about the bump an hour later I told the managers on duty**** and *** who seemed upset about my complaint and *** even mentioned because no one else had been hurt that they most likely would leave it there. They did eventually place cones and flags around the dangerous object! But I want it Moved! My Son was in fact hurt.

Desired Settlement: On 4-4-15 after 3pm Me**************** and my Children arrived at Odyssey Fun World it was our first time there. Soon after we arrived my boys ran to play by the back door which has a child like attraction by it unfortunatelymy 5year old Remon Bowden ran and crawled under a Lift or crane when I noticed him coming from underneath I was glad he wasn't badly hurt but he did bump his head and a bump appeared he complained about the bump an hour later I told the managers on duty**** and**** who seemed upset about my complaint and**** even mentioned because no one else had been hurt that they most likely would leave it there. They did eventually place cones and flags around the dangerous object! But I want it Moved! My Son was in fact hurt.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/05/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* XXX-XXX-XXXXx******* Mrktg Dir. Contact Phone: Contact Email: ******* We do have an incident report filled out regarding the incident being discussed. It is our understanding that the customer has sought legal council regarding this matter and our attorneys have advised us to not comment any further at this time.

11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: First off let me tell I am handicapped not wheel chair bound but movement is interesting. I chose this Maze due to the fact there was a groupon and drove what is to me a painful ride to location. There was a female employee in the parking lot who didn't even try to tell us it was closed. I remember looking at the building across the street and wanted to go inside spend money on games. We exited the vehicle only to see a closed sign on the entrance of the maze and barely visible unless you got out of the car. Really expected the mud not really anything new there. I found out later that afternoon that the maze in spring grove was open. If I knew that I would have gone to that if I knew they were closed. There was no mention of their closure until after I had reached the location on their web page. I spent money gas pain and time getting to odyssey and this has left a sour taste. The money I invested will not be recouped and I for one will never return and friends will know too. Contacted them on facebook, they tell me to email them, I do no response, I complain again then I get a different email for an actual employee and still no response. They lost my business for good.

Desired Settlement: The 14.00 wasted on Groupon for lack of consideration an apology for not returning emails and reinstating the review left of them on their Facebook wall (apparently their lack of integrity, went to Facebook to have it removed)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/29) */ Contact Name and Title: *********** Mrktg Dir. Contact Phone:***************** Contact Email: *************************** We informed trhe customer several times that if they would like a refund for the Groupon that they would have to do that through groupon. We never said anything to Facebook about the review...they may have filtered it for being unhelpful as it was a review of a place that the customer never actually visited while it was open for business. We once again apologize for the farm being closed due to flooding on the date that the customer came out. We understand that other farms in different areas may have been open that day and they apparently drain better than we do. We cannot open if we are underwater. We made every effort to advertise our closing that day including messages on Facebook, Twitter, website, phone mesaages, live operators available, and text messages and emails to our lists. We understand that this still will not reach everyone and we do apologize for that. However, as we stated several times before and since the ticket was sold by Groupon, that the customer needs to deal with them in order to get the refund if they feel one is owed. The only reason we stopped responding to the customers emails is because you just kept asking for a refund and we kept telling them to contact groupon so it really wasn't a very productive conversation. Groupon has refund procedures and they hold back a certain percentage of our payments to cover those. I still encourage the customer to speak with a groupon customer service representative. It is like buying a product at the store and going to the factory it was made to get a refund... We remain very apologetic to any hardships and inconvenience the customer went through that day and we hope groupon is able to resolve this matter. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They never responded to my emails. Its not they ever read them, I complained on fb they said email them, no response, I say something again on fb another indvidual responds and I am told to email them directly cparaday and no response. Why tell me to email if you won't respond back, at the very least in a personal email you could have apologized and take measures to close the lot to ensure a disabled individual not cause undue hardship. Especially when an employee sees me pull in with my placard and not give a care, that is rude, please have a little concern for my trouble. I would even not care about the money if I can get a written heartfelt apology and a new procedure in place to ensure that anyone pulling up to the entrance of the driveway way have some sort of large closure sign so that it is less stress. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/31) */ We do certainly apologize to the customer for any undue hardship they may have occurred. We do have handicapped parking right near the front gate, so we are accommodating in that way. I suppose the ticketbooth attendant could have came out to greet the customer at the vehicle and let them know we are flooded and closed for the day. But now I am making my employee walk all over the lot greeting guests in the cold rain, which I don't know if that is fair to them. We do have closed signs on the ticket booth, but having a big visible sign as you drive in might be a good ides and I will bring that up to the owner and the GM. As far as the responses to the emails and facebook posts: we have had dialect on facebook and I am 99% certain I either responded to an email or 2 or had a phone conversation with the customer. I have been extremely busy this month and if I overlooked it I apologize, but I distinctly remember informing the customer they could get a refund, but they would have to do so through groupon and that remains true. Now at this point the promo value of the Groupon expires tomorrow, so it might be harder to get a refund, but when this all happened, it would have been no issue. I don't understand how all this time and effort invested into this fight could not have been invested into a simple phone call or email to Groupon to get a refund? The customer has made this personal and it is anything but personal. Groupon takes their money and pays us a portion of it. They hold back a percentage in case of refunds. They then pay us the remainder after their cut. We cannot refund the customers money for 2 reasons. 1. We do not have it yet and 2. Even when we get it it will only be a portion of it. That is why Groupon handles all the transactions. We once again do apologize for the inconvenience and encourage you to request a refund through groupon before the expiration date of sunday. We also do appreciate the input for helping avaiod this situation in the future.

7/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We went to Odyssey Fun World in Tinley Park at 12:30 pm on June 18th, 2014. Upon arrival we noticed a slightly dilapidated state but really nothing huge until entering the Exploration Adventure area. The desk where you check in had 4 posts with balls in the netting surrounding it with about 2 inches at least of dust on them. All surrounding areas at check in were dingy, sticky, and incredibly dusty. The actual play structure was pretty much falling apart. Netting was torn and hanging in some spots,there was duct tape holding things together, the balls in the ball pits had actual dirt on them and inside one of the tubes near the ball pit I actually photographed smashed black gum and what appeared to be dirt or feces smeared inside. There was also garbage EVERYWHERE,This was only what I saw from the outside, I can not imagine what was inside it. When I asked to speak to management the first woman I spoke with could not answer my questions about when they last cleaned it and instead sent the Manager of Marketing down to talk with me. He informed me that they vacuum nightly, and cleaned the inside of the tubes every couple of weeks. There was no way that amount of filth could have piled up in 2 weeks let alone the floors that dirty after 2 hours of being open. All he did is offer for the kids to play outside in the inflatables which ended up being closed anyway. As we were leaving we did see a girl walk in with a spray bottle and one paper towel.

Desired Settlement: I just want the quality of the business to really be questioned. This is a place where children go to play and someone is going to get sick or injured playing there.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/20) */ Contact Name and Title:************ Mrktg Dir. Contact Phone: **************** Contact Email: *************************** Hello ******, We do appreciate the constructive criticism as we strive to be FUN and CLEAN environment for children to visit. I am sorry that we seem to have fallen short in this situation. I don't want to make excuses, we will get the new exchange student staff we have on the same page and ensure everyone is cleaning during down time and every night and morning. These things should be happening and if they are not I will get to the bottom of it. If you would like to speak further about this, please contact me directly. I can set you up with free passes ** either location to come try us again. I do apologize I offered you passes ** Kidz Park which was closed. I had just started my shift and hadn't been outside yet and was unaware it was closed do to wet conditions. I did however inform the ticket booth attendant to offer you another attraction, which I hope she did. Sorry again for your poor experience, we hope you give us another shot. Respectfully,

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Odyssey Fun World-Tinley Pk
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart