Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Odyssey Fun World-Naperville

Phone: 6304162222113 Fax: (630) 416-6222 View Additional Phone Numbers 3440 Odyssey Court, Naperville, IL 60563 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.odysseyfunworld.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Odyssey Fun World-Naperville is an arcade and party venue for families, children, and corporate events. This business is located in Naperville, IL, and serves the western Chicago suburbs including Aurora, North Aurora, Batavia, Downers Grove, Oak Brook, Wheaton, Carol Stream, St Charles, Geneva, Elmhurst, Cicero, Schaumburg, Elgin, Romeoville, Plainfield, Joliet, Lockport, Orland Park, Oak Lawn, Oswego, Yorkville, Crest Hill, Shorewood, New Lenox, Elburn, Kaneville, Big Rock, Plano, Blue Island, and Hoffman Estates. This company offers a variety of amusement attractions and party services including party planning and birthdays, corporate events, paintball games and supplies, arcades, laser tag, small rides, and concessions.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Odyssey Fun World-Naperville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Odyssey Fun World-Naperville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Odyssey Fun World-Naperville
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 25, 2006 Business started: 06/01/1993 Business started locally: 06/01/1993
Business Management
Mr. Clint Paraday, General Mgr. Mr. Peter Halikias, President Mr. Ryan Jacobs, Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clint Paraday, General Mgr.
Business Category

Amusement Parks & Places Tours - Operators & Promoters Entertainment Services (E.G., Dj's, Magicians Paintball - Games & Supplies Party Planning Parties - Children Pizza Amusement and Theme Parks (NAICS: 713110)


Additional Locations

  • 3440 Odyssey Court

    Naperville, IL 60563

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My kids with 2 of their friends visited Odyssey Fun World in Naperville on 12/23/13. They went because of their winter special a $15 Extreme Adventure Wrist Band; unlimited laser tag, rides, etc. They arrive & are told there is no special price, so they pay $20 each for the wristband. They go to play laser tag & have to change equipment 3 times because either the gun or vest is broken. By the time they get working equipment their time is up! I contact OFW & they make good by offering to mail out new wristbands on 12/26/13. As of today (1/16/14) I have yet to receive the wristbands. I left a voice mail msg for **** ******, Marketing Dir last week which was never returned. I sent an email yesterday morning asking how we can resolve the issue and this is the email I receive. This is the 2nd time we've gone & were told there was no special price (1st time was winter break 2012, we had the email advertisement with us, so the price was adjusted). Unfortunately we did not have it this time, BUT the special was posted several times on their Facebook page. Mr. ****** indicates in his email below this is my problem with the post office, but I have no tracking # & not even sure a tracking # was issued because Mr. ****** has not provided me one. Additionally, if there are serial #s on the wristbands (as Mr. ****** indicates in his email below), why can they not be voided & new ones issued? I asked this as well, but have yet to receive a response. Hi *****, Please understand that I went above and beyond and against my better judgment in giving you those 4 wristbands. If they were in fact lost, that would be the first time that has happened in my 4 years at Odyssey. No disrespect is intended, but we did our job in sending it out here and that's all that we can do. I cannot and will not send out another gift certificate and the situation now lies in the hands of you and the postal service. There also are serial numbers on the gc to help us in instances like this, so we will make use of those. Please let me know if it turns up. Respectfully, **** ****** I have spent some time now reading Odyssey Fun World on-line reviews and there is a common complaint of customers being charged more than the advertised price or the "special" was not what was advertised.

Desired Settlement: I would like a total refund of $80.00. At a minimum, I think we should be refunded the $20 over charge. At this time I have no desire to visit Odyssey Fun World ever again. I am appalled by Mr. ****** unprofessional response which, not directly said, accuses me of being dishonest.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/16) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Marketing Dir Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXXx127 Contact Email: *******@odysseyfunworld.com The customer apparently overpaid for their wristbands but did not furnish a receipt. They explained the laser tag was not functioning properly so in order to get the matter resolved quickly I sent them out a voucher for 3 new wristbands at any price. The customer notified me in a condescending manner during our advertised closed/off days that they didn't receive the wristbands and that I don't have the common courtesy to return voice mails that I had yet to hear. They also told me they have had problems getting their mail recently. I then sent the above noted email to her informing them to contact the post office as they had been sent already. The customer took this as me calling them a liar and proceeded to blast this email and complaint all over the Internet including my full name. I fully intended on resolving this had they had no luck at the post office but when you personally defame me on the Internet and post bogus reviews for the ****** location when this apparently occurred at the Naperville location, I tend to become less cooperative. If the customer agrees to take down any and all reviews regarding this incident and defaming my good name, I will agree to a check refund of $20, that they were apparently overcharged, to be picked up at the Naperville facility, to avoid further mail turmoil. A prepared legal statement stating the same must be signed in order for the check to be released. The customer has my contact information to organize this. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/02/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) OFW staff, once again you **** Your 1st response email to me was that the "situation now lies between me & the USPS". I interpret that as you are no longer willing to try and resolve the situation. NEVER EVER did you write that you were still willing to come to an agreeable resolution. I still can not believe that you are not able to void the serial # on the gift certificate & re-issue a new one! Which I might add would have been a simple & great resolution! I also want to note that as you say "my personal attack", my on-line reviews were published more than 24 hours hours after you sent your email stating that I needed to work this out with the Postal Service. Again, you LIE that you were still willing to work on a resolution. With that said, Thursday 2/6 will be 6 weeks AND I have still NOT received the gift certificate. As for me, I am not willing to sign the legal statement. You can "spin" this any you want; that you were not given reasonable time to respond, that you were still willing to try & work on a resolution. Your words in your email say the exact opposite! To the BBB, this is absolutely unbelievable that you just allow the business & consumer to respond back & forth and not help mediate a resolution. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/02/07) */ We offered the gift certificate as a chance at a whole new day here, even though we did not need to. That is what was meant by against better judgment, because we went over and above to rectify the situation. You then facebook messaged, emailed and called repeatedly over our 2 advertised closed days and once someone contacted you back they were attacked and accused of "not being able to return a simple voicemail." This along with the statement of "I have been having trouble getting my mail lately" prompted the bit about this is between you and the USPS. Honestly, if you aren't getting your mail, that would be something I would seriously look into and something that we are not at fault for. Then to post an email with an employees full name all over the internet is simply unacceptable, and takes our initial offer right off the table. Even this forum has a disclaimer that says please do not post anything that personally identifies anyone, as does every review site. The offer remains a $20 cash refund (the amount of the apparent overcharge) upon taking down said slanderous reviews and signing a nondisclosure resolution agreement upon receipt of said payment. Or the owner is offering a $50 gift certificate just to put an end to this argument. Receipt of this would be under the same terms of the cash refund.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Odyssey Fun World-Naperville
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)