BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2012

SP Heating and Cooling, Inc.

Find a Location

(815) 284-60051604 W 1st St, DixonIL 61021-2609

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2012

BBB has determined that SP Heating and Cooling, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered SP Heating and Cooling, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 4 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised SP Heating and Cooling, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on SP Heating and Cooling, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
06/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A contract was signed on October 26, 2013. The contract states that all work is to be performed in a neat and professional manner and will be completed in workmanlike manner according to normally accepted practices. Everything was paid in full on October 29, 2013. The condenser was not delivered until the following week with a verbal agreement that he would return in the spring to install the condenser and finish the job he was paid to do. The owner failed to send proper paperwork (invoice, rebate application) after the initial work. I waited a month before contacting him to ask when we should expect the paperwork he should have given us when we paid him in full. He did not respond to my call. I waited a week before trying again. He still did not respond. I continued to try contacting him via his cell phone, business phone, email, website with no response until December 16, 2013 with a text message stating "When I have more than 15 seconds to call them and get the correct municipal form I'll send it. This is my busiest season and I am down two vehicles. I am doing the best I can." I expressed my frustration and told him I expected to have something in the mail by the end of the week. I waited until December 26, 2013 before I tried contacting him again. Still no response. I then tried again on the 27th. He returned the call leaving a voice message calling me "snotty" and that the problem is out of his hands since he was waiting on ***** to call him back. I then waited another week before trying to contact him again. I contacted ***** directly and they stated there should be no reason he would be waiting on them to send him anything and I could find the forms online, but I still needed the invoice from him. I then called him and left another message stating that the deadline for the rebate was 90 days after installation and it was getting close to the date. He still did not respond. I did eventually receive the paperwork in the mail (with the wrong address so it needed to be forwarded) on January 20, 2014. The invoice was dated 10/22/2013, but I didn't receive it until 1/20/2014. I was able to send in the rebate application and got the rebate in a timely manner from ****** Now back in October he stated we would have a priority appointment in the spring to finish installation of the condenser (cooling unit). He was called in the beginning of April and he stated that he would need to wait until the weather is warmer before he can install the unit, but he would contact us when he is able to do it. He was called again at the beginning of May when the temperature was in the mid 80s and stated that the earliest he could do it would be by the end of the week of May 12th and he would call giving a couple days notice. He was sent a text on May 15th asking if he had an idea when he would be able to install the unit. He did not respond. He was then called on Monday 5/19/2014 asking when he was going to be installing the unit and to please call back. As of 5:10pm on 5/20/14 he has still not returned the call or set up an appointment to install the unit. We trusted him when we paid in full in October that he would keep his word and finish the job that was detailed in the contract. He has a history of not responding to various communication efforts. I am beyond frustrated and do not know what else to do to get what was promised back in October.

Desired Settlement
Respectful communication and the unit installed properly.

Final Consumer Response
Complaint
1 message
******** ****** <******@hotmail.com>Fri, Jun 13, 2014 at 1:39 PM
To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org>
He did finally install the unit at the end of May. But only after I threatened to take legal action and he still did not keep his set appointment and had to come back a second day after not showing up prepared. I apologize for not letting you know sooner.

Sent from *** ******

04/28/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In Dec of 2013 I had an estament of 4 to $500 to install a used furnace. several days past the install date received a call from S ********* stating that he did not have money to pay the help to come out. I than said I would pay in advance to have them come out and install. I paid by credit card $500 Two weeks later they came out. Informed me that the furnace was not safe to run. I contacted ***** and he told me that he had a 60,000 BTU Slightly use but would give me a 10 year warranty. I agreed to this and said to do it. The month of Jan I was out of town but gave him access to the garage. I have had many phone calls with ***** and many promises, but to this day he has my $500 and I have no heat in my Garage. He has now quite answering his phone letting it go to voice mail.

Desired Settlement
I simply want the furnace installed or if he does not have time to install Deliver furnace to me with a refund of $100 as I have paid him $500 already and his price on the furnace was $400 I will then install myself.

Final Consumer Response
Complaint ID#: XXXXXXXX Business Name: SP Heating and Cooling, Inc.
1 message
874shep . <************@gmail.com>Fri, Apr 25, 2014 at 6:09 PM
To: *******@chicago.bbb.org
I wish to inform you that today ***** did bring me a check in the amount of $500. If the check proves good I will consider this matter closed. I thank you for your help.

*** *********
**** ** *** ** N
Dixon, IL XXXXX
************@gmail.com
XXX XXX-XXXX
XXX XXX-XXXX cell

02/24/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Furnace was installed in September 2012, was told the A/C could not be installed until spring of 2013.A/C unit not installed until late May 2013.I had to make several calls of concern of the weather turning hot before the A/C would be installed. I finally heard back from ***** (the) owner indicating that he is very busy and that he could not do it all him self in a very rude and unprofessional voice mail message. He said he would get to it when he could, but didn't offer me any idea of the time frame. Once the installation was completed, I presented him with a coupon from his ad which he would not honor. Now I am still waiting for my warranty certificate, rebate that I was indicated I was entitled to, and the final paid...eceipt. I have made numerous phone calls and sent many text messages with out any response.

Desired Settlement
Warranty certificate for parts and labor for system installed, rebates that I was told I was entitled to, and Final paid in full receipt.

Business Response
From: ***** *********
Sent: Monday, February 16, XXXX X:XX PM
To: ******** ********
Subject: RE: BBB Complaint



In reply to Mr. ***** *******'s complaint

Starting with the coupon, they are to be presented at the transaction date because I need give that info to my distributor. Not after the job is complete. I attempted to do the rebate, but something wasn't showing up properly, that's because it was registered with ****** with an install date longer than the 90 days. I was trying to get everything completed and put it all in the system at the same time. I obviously was attempting to register the system because ***** texted me the account number to Nicor.

I will conceit to the rude tone because I was tired of getting barked at about this system. I was trying very hard to take care of a lot of customers and I tried to explain that. But just like every customer, they're the only customer. I was still trying to get the system pushed through until I received a testimonial email saying that he was attempting to have my company boycotted and all this ****. All for $250?

Since he registered the warranty online, he is the only one with access to the warranty registration, so I can't give him anything on that. He did that himself. Of course, I found that out as I was attempting to register that system on ****** and ****** So since he took it upon himself to go around me on this, he cost himself the rebate. He also has failed to mention his rude behavior on his part. That apparently meant nothing. So it's quite alright for him to do such, but I'm not allowed to be flustered and overwhelmed by work. I will give him his paid invoice. That's fine. But the fact I went to bat for him with his home warranty company, doesn't seem to matter either. They were going to let his unsafe system go. I persistently made sure they knew it wasn't safe for his family. That apparently has no bearing on business was conducted. As far as a delayed response, I didn't even realize I had this complaint until just recently. It slipped through the mail with other mail and wasn't noticed. So I guess in response to what he wants, I don't know what to say. I'll email him the invoice. He has his warranty forms as long as he printed them. And he blew the chance of receiving the $250 for rebate because he thought he was going to just take matters into his own hands. I can't control what they do on their own. If they don't allow me to do my part, I can't to my part.



***** *********
**** ** *** St.
****** IL XXXXX
*****@spheatingncooling.com
www.spheatingncooling.com
Ph (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Fax(XXX) XXX-XXXX

Consumer Response
Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX)
1 message
***** ******* <*********@yahoo.com>
Tue, Feb 24, 2015 at 7:32 AM
Reply-To: *********@yahoo.com
To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org>

Diane,
I am not able to get to the website to respond. So I thought I would send it to you so you can pass ** along.

I have not had any response from SP Heating and Cooling on this issue. It is unfortunate that I have not due to my limited income and I was counting on this rebate. AS YOU KNOW THE APPLICATION CAN ONLINE BE SUBMITTED BY THE INSTALLING CCOMPANY. WHICH HE HAS NOT.
IF THERE IS ANYTHING I CAN DO TO CHANG THIS, PLEASE LET ME KNOW.
RESPECTFULLY,
***** *******
XXX XXX XXXX

Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

08/23/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Humidifying Apparatus, Chimney Lining Materials, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters, Radiant Heating, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/28/2011Business started: 01/01/2009
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2011, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Pritchard (President) Nikki Pritchard (Office Manager)
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Humidifying Apparatus, Chimney Lining Materials, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters, Radiant Heating, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
SP Heating & Cooling

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for SP Heating and Cooling, Inc.

1604 W 1st St

Dixon, IL 61021-2609

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1112 E River Road 

    Dixon, IL 61021-3253(815) 284-6005

  • 1604 W 1st St 

    Dixon, IL 61021-2609

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*SP Heating and Cooling, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.