Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Atlas Heating Service, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 966-5950 Fax: (847) 966-1836 View Additional Phone Numbers 9138 Waukegan Rd, Morton Grove, IL 60053 http://www.atlas-heating.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Atlas Heating Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Atlas Heating Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Atlas Heating Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1967 Business started: 10/27/1964 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1963 Business incorporated 10/27/1964 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Edward L. Bredeb Jr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward L. Bredeb Jr., President
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Dehumidifying Equipment Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters Thermostats Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts Heating Equipment Humidifying Apparatus Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Atlas Heating Service, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2222 Cherry Ln

    Northbrook, IL 60062

  • 9138 Waukegan Rd

    Morton Grove, IL 60053 (773) 631-0500 (847) 966-5950 (847) 966-1443

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We spent $$$$ for a new ***** HVAC system which was installed in our home in Chicago in June/July 2008. It has never worked right from the get go. Every year it needs servicing. Each year, including the first, second and third years, freon leaked and needed added. The 4th year, a new compressor was installed. The 5th year, we were told the lower coil unit failed and needed replaced (they have never replaced it as of July 2014) and today, July 2015, we were told the compressor has failed; and we need a complete new AC unit at $3,300. Bad capacitors, bad lower coil unit, bad compressor. Really?? In 6 years?? The service tech that came out today (Keith) mentioned due to problems, it could be a lemon (he has been out 3 times to fix) and he said the company owner, Ed ******* said there was no warranty left and a new system would have to be installed. This is unacceptable since we've obviously had a lemon from the very beginning. Both Atlas owners, **, Jr, ** Sr., and Tony and Keith have all worked on this unit over the past years since installation. We spent approximately $6,500 for a new furnace, AC, thermostat, air cleaner and an automatic humidifier. Purchase Date: June 2008 Trane Model: XL 90 ************ 18-AC59D1-1

Desired Settlement: We are tired of having this company come out and attempt to fix a failing AC unit. They have replaced pieces and parts; they admit to diagnosing certain problems but do not resolve the issues with the system - failed lower coil unit, consistently leaking freon, bad compressor, bad capacitor - that should not be failing on such newer installation and new equipment. We've had problems since the very beginning. We want the unit replaced with a system that works. We are not seeking a monetary settlement - we wanted each issue addressed and fixed properly. At this point, due to the amount of failed components within the system, and the history of repairs and service calls, we simply want the complete AC unit and AC system replaced. The new furnace that was installed at the same time has worked just fine. The AC unit has NOT.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: 847.966.5950 Contact Email: *********@att.net we are currently working with the homeowner and Trane to resolve this issue. Thank You, **

11/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a ******* furnace from Atlas Heating 6 years ago and have had problems since then. This time around we turned our furnace on for the first time about 3-4 weeks ago and it wouldn't work (AGAIN)!!! Called to make an appointment and the owner called my husband to schedule the appointment (since we have reported them once before. He said someone would be at our house around 2:00. Well, 2:00 came and went and an hour later we had to call around to find out if someone was coming. He showed up about 3 hours late. He said he would have to get a part and asked if someone would be home the next day (Tuesday). We told him we would be home after 2:00. He said he would "take care of us". well, Tuesday comes and again we are left waiting-no phone call to let us know what was going on. Find out later that night (after my husband tracked him down) that he didn't have the part. Wednesday goes by and w decide to wait to see if someone would call us. No phone call. My husband gets in touch with the technician on Thursday around 11:00 am- he has the part but he's too busy. He has to come Friday. So again we wait around on Friday and he doesn't show up until 6:30 PM. He has the part puts it in and within minutes it blows the part. He has to return again on Saturday. Saturday by noon no phone call regarding the time the technician will be there. My husband has to call him again. He comes and we think everything is fixed but then again it was warm outside and the heat did not a chance to kick in. Now it's gotten a bit cooler and the past week or so the furnace has been leaking. The first time the tech came out he said something was clogged and he blew it out. Then 2 days later we noticed water again. He was supposed to come out that day and again we waited until 9:15 at night and he called and said he wasn't coming. He would come the next day. So, he comes out again this time close to 9:00PM. It was leaking because of something he forgot to do. And, here we are again, water all over my basement floor this morning. While all this is going on we were told the owner was going to call ******* on Oct.12 to see if we can replace the furnace. We are only getting the run around now. Oh, they didn't call us back, they were in a meeting, they are requesting more information. And, my husband has been trying to contact the technician for hours now with no response. This is very poor service all around and whenever we call to speak to the owner he is conveniently never there. I should have let my prior report stand.

Desired Settlement: We are looking for a free replacement furnace including the furnace and installation.

Business Response: Today I was in contact with Mr. Brulle and we agreed to install a new gas furnace at his home 11.04.2015 to settle the dispute. I do believe we came to an amicable agreement.
Thank You, Ed


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Atlas Heating Service, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart