BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

E Loan

(217) 498-3055View Additional Phone Numbers9600 Bryn Mawr Ave, RosemontIL 60018-5226http://www.eloan.com/ ! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

E Loan is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered E Loan's rating include:

  • BBB concerns with the industry in which this business operates.
  • BBB does not have sufficient information to determine how long this business has been operating.
  • BBB does not have sufficient background information on this business. BBB made two or more requests for background information from the business. BBB has not received a response from this business and/or has not been able to verify information received from this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
04/15/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: BBB took complaint over phone.

Consumer alleges he applied for an E Loan and was asked to obtain an cash loadable card (********* Money Pack) for $209 to handle fees. He did not receive loan (it is in limbo) and they will not return $209.

Initial Business Response
see attached

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: I recently filled out a loan form online on tuesday the 18th and was then contacted by the E-loan corporation the same day. Even though my credit score was bad, they told me that I qualify for $1,000 to $10,000 as long as i have a solid income. We then set up payment arrangements the next day (the 19th) that I would pay back the $10,000 in 5 years with monthly payments of $135 on the 30th of each month. I gave them my social as well as all of my bank information, and they then told me that they would send $331.55 to my bank account within the next hour, this situation took place around 2:00pm wednesday the 19th. Before they sent the money my account was already -$69.55 (give or take a few cents) They sent the $331.55 to my account and then told me to withdraw $262.00 from my bank account and then buy a prepaid reload card from the nearest ********* My bank account had $0.64 cents left after the money was taken out, and after I bought the prepaid reload card I then loaded $220 onto the card instead of $262, I then gave them the card number on the back of the card. The purpose of this was to prove I was a trustworthy customer to give them some of the money back because in the past they have had people steal from them. The card cost $4.00 dollars and I held onto the other $38 dollars myself. 30 min later I spoke to the Supervisor of this company and he then explained to me that he needed a one time payment of $150 for insurance purposes. I explained to him that I didn't have the money yet until the next day Thursday the 20th, He then excepted that...At 1:30 am in the morning I had a credit to my account for $90 dollars and another credit to my account for $183 from my job (which I had been expecting) brought my account to positive $273. An hour later my account suddenly was $-97 dollars (give or take) I speak to a banker over the phone about this loan company and then all of a sudden there's no record of a credit for $331 to my account from a loan company, he explained to me that it might be a scam company and that I should report this. I also found out that they took the $220 from the Reload card. Today is Friday the 21st and i have spoken with a banker twice as well as reported this to the police, the person I talked to that works for this scam company is **** ****** and his superviser is ****** ****** I am very very upset about this situation and I need immediate assistance, there phone number is XXX XXX XXXX....please help!

Initial Business Response
see attached document

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/15/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by this company on January 31, 2014. I had applied on line for several payday or regualr loans so I was not alarmed when they had my information or number. ****** ******" who represented "eloans" from *********** ** whose headquaters are in ******** as well was very nice and convincing at first. I was dupped into sending over 300in "fees" for a personal loan. I was in a tight squeezed and figured it was a small price for the loan I was being offered. Well the joke was on me this day. **** ****** asked me to send in 230.48 for the fees associated with this "loan". He instrusted me to put the money on a greendot reloadable card that I had to purchase from a ***. Instead. I made the mistake and added 240.80 which he stated, "held my loan up from beign transferred and that I had sent the correct amount." I informed him that was all the money that I had and I was unbale to send him anthing else. When I inquired about my refund since I did not receive a loan he stated, "that will be $107" And then it hit me, this was scam. He even went as far as to tell me that he was in jeporady of looing his job because I had complained to the person who actually answered the phone. After some few choice words for me he promised that He would indeed sent the money to my account. He sent bogus papers to my email account for me to sign and return but the attachment NEVER could be displayed. He contact me on Sat 2/1/14 around 10am to tell me that he was going to "help" me. At this time, I am enraged because I literally had NO MONEY!! He had the balls to tell me that he could ******* ***** the loan to me but I had to pay 199.99. Who has to pay to to pick up money for ******* *****? NO ONE!!! They he stated that he could use another account which I gave him a phoney account number and that he would call me back in 30 minutes. And what did he do? Call back in 30 mins asking for 87.00 to cancel the loan papers and start a new one.!! I disconnected the call. Now Im left 300 short and with no resolution.

Initial Business Response
see attached

02/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: Last Friday 2/2014- I was called from a ******* Number by a man named ******* I could barely understand what he was saying and he kept repeating Eloan - told me that I had filed for one and that I told him "no"c I hadn't - I told him to go ahead and cancel anything that had been taken place- I had not done anything) He switched me over to a lady named ******** and I spoke to her. They had given me a number so I could call back after I was told that the only way to cancel this was to go to a ********** ?, or a **** and purchase a card with a green dot on it for $50.00 dollars and then come back home and call the number they gave me to report in the confirmation number and give it to, ******** to cancel this whole thing. I told them I wasn't doing that-I had not put any information on anything for any Loans and I had asked my husband if he had fill anything out and he said "NO!" This ******* has called everyday up to three times a day. He is very pushy and when things don't go the way he wants them to he hangs up on me and calls back. The number he gave me is X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. 501 ~
I didn't like the way they both had talked to me so i called and talked to a manager at CVS, and ******** and they both said that it was a scam that there was no cards with green dots, and that I need to report this because they wasn't going to stop calling. The man, Matthew had called me again and had stated that he was based in Florida and that the main Company was ******* Inc.; w. **** **** ********* *** XXXXX -

I am very sick and I had told them that I didn't have time for all this but they are very persistent and it is taking a toll on me and my health.









Industry Comparison| Chart

Advance Fee Loan, Loans

Additional Information

top

Advance Fee Loans

The advance fee loan scam is a simple one. In the United States, per Federal law it is illegal for any business to request up front fees for loans. These fees are often referred to by a host of different names, such as taxes, processing fees, insurance, or collateral. Regardless of what they are called, these fees are illegal. The Chicago BBB is aware of many victims of this scam paying their requested advance fee to the scammer. However to date the Chicago and Northern Illinois BBB does now know of a single circumstance where 1) consumers have received their loan, or 2) consumers received their advance fee refunded back to them.

BBB file opened: 03/28/2013
Business Category

Advance Fee Loan, Loans

Industry Tips
Contracts
Advance Fee Loans
BBB Issues International Alert: Advance Fee Loan Scams Blanketing U.S.
BBBTips on Business Credit
BBBTips on SBA Loans
BBB Warns that Advance Fee Loan Scams are Proliferating
Beware of Predatory Practices in Home Mortgage Lending
Beware of Abusive Lending Practices
High Cost Payday Lenders Advertise Everywhere
Home Buyers: Protect Yourself from Predatory Lenders
Schemes Against Business

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for E Loan

9600 Bryn Mawr Ave

Rosemont, IL 60018-5226

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9600 Bryn Mawr Ave 

    Rosemont, IL 60018-5226(217) 498-3055
    (866) 576-7283
    (888) 533-5333

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*E Loan is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 576-7283
  • (888) 533-5333
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

Advance Fee Loans

The advance fee loan scam is a simple one. In the United States, per Federal law it is illegal for any business to request up front fees for loans. These fees are often referred to by a host of different names, such as taxes, processing fees, insurance, or collateral. Regardless of what they are called, these fees are illegal. The Chicago BBB is aware of many victims of this scam paying their requested advance fee to the scammer. However to date the Chicago and Northern Illinois BBB does now know of a single circumstance where 1) consumers have received their loan, or 2) consumers received their advance fee refunded back to them.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.