BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Cash Advance America

Phone: (773) 455-4908

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
12/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Good afternoon: I was phoned on last week from someone claiming to be with Cash Advance *** from phone number ************ saying that I was approved for a $2,000.00 loan to be transferred into my checking account. Once I put money onto a ******** I had to call them back and give them the 10 digit number located under the silver strip on the back of the card once I scratched it off. This happened twice as I was told I had to put $155.00 and then another $200.00 on two separate cards before the money would be transferred. After this was done I was then told by a Mr. *************** that I had to put another $450.00 onto another ******** before they could transfer the money. Afterwards I advised him that I was no longer able to do this and that I wanted my money back that they took I was told this could not take place. Then, today I called back and was told that if I put $60.00 onto a ******** card then they would give me my $355.00 back. This is a scammer and I look to get my money back and their organization shut down and put on the website to beware of them. I would greatly appreciate someone getting back to me on this. Thank you for your time.****** *****************
Product_Or_Service: 11/26/2014

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that the monies that I paid to them be refunded to me in the amount of $365.00. This includes $355.00 that was paid to them and then $5.00 for me purchasing two ****************** cards to have the monies loaded onto.

Business Response
Response:

Thank you for forwarding this customer complaint. We take all complaints seriously and make every effort to implement a fair and satisfactory resolution.

As an initial point of concern, please be advised that ********** is not Cash Advance **, the company addressed in the complaint. However, we will respond to the complaint as if it were addressed to **********.

Our records indicate Ms. ***** is a current customer of **********. On November 18, 2014, Ms. ***** was funded a $200.00 payday loan with a total amount of $230.00 due on November 28, 2014. Currently due to the status of her account, ********** would not offer to provide additional financial services.

The ************ phone number listed in the complaint is not associated or registered with **********. ********** does not employ an individual by the name of ***************.

********** does not require or request any down-payment or advance fee in order to apply for or receive a loan. ********** has no knowledge of Mr. ***************, or control over, any individuals falsely posing as lenders and demanding a down payment or advance before extending a loan. Therefore, and unfortunately, ********** cannot prevent them from calling Ms. *****.

Hopefully, this information will appropriately address the concerns the complainant has with **********.


05/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****** std i ******* from cash advance america called me said i was approvd for 3000 dollars. he called from (XXX)XXX-XXXX. at first he said i wouldnt have to send them any money. because my bank couldnt except money he said if i sent him 220 he could western union it and for me not to worry.
i had to borrow the money from my friend.
he gave me a msln number XXXXXXXXXX for the reciept of my loan. wouldnt transfer. i called him back he gave me this number (XXX)XXXXXXX said was the irs. i called officer ****** said i had to pay 252 before they would give me my money.
then said he was sernding an officer to arrest me for illegal taxes.
i then called mr ******* Back, he informed for 130 more dollars they would release my documents.
i told him i just wanted to cancel and get my money back. he sad he woiuld rfeload the money within 30 min.
i just want my money they stole from me.

Desired Settlement
i want them shut down before anyone else gets hurt and a refund of the money they took.

Business Response
Thank you for forwarding this customer complaint. We take all complaints seriously and make every effort to implement a fair and satisfactory resolution.

As an initial matter, we are not Cash Advance America, and are in no way affiliated with the callers referenced in this complaint. Therefore, it is not clear that this complaint is directed at us. Nevertheless, we will respond as if it is a complaint against CashNetUSA.

CashNetUSA does not provide financial services to residents of North Carolina. All of the telephone numbers referenced in Ms. ****'s complaint do not belong to and is not used by CashNetUSA.

Therefore, based on the complaint details, we believe this grievance is either with another company or with a fraudulent lender claiming to represent CashNetUSA. These persons are fraudulently using our trade name in an attempt to extort money from consumers by claiming to offer consumer loan services to these consumers. CashNetUSA does not require or request any down-payment or advance fee in order to apply for or receive a loan. CashNetUSA has no knowledge of, or control over, these individuals falsely posing as lenders and demanding a down payment or advance before extending a loan. Therefore, and unfortunately, CashNetUSA cannot prevent them from calling the consumer.

If this complaint is with another company, we respectfully suggest that the complaint be addressed to that company.

We hope that this response resolves this complaint and answers any questions that your office has. If we can provide any additional information, please contact us.

07/15/2013Billing / Collection Issues
05/13/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
09/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was informed that I qualified for a loan. I was to send them a specific amount of money to get the process started. I did this, but they just kept wanting more money. They ended up giving me a false ******* ***** conformation number. When I tried calling back, the man proceeded to inform me that this was a scam and told me to call the BBB on them. They even have the nerve to continue calling!

Desired Settlement
I just want all of the money they ended up getting from me.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Advance Fee Loan

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.