BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/21/2011

Metro Sewer & Drain

Find a Location

Phone: (423) 855-0967Fax: (423) 499-8706View Additional Phone Numbers8988 Fuller Road, ChattanoogaTN 37421 Send email to Metro Sewer & Drain

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/21/2011

BBB has determined that Metro Sewer & Drain meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Metro Sewer & Drain's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

According to the Secretary of State in Tennessee, Metro Sewer and Drain, Inc. changed its name from Metro Sewer Sewer and Drain. They may currently be doing business under each name.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Metro Sewer & Drain

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
01/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We paid for an unnecessary service. We contacted the owner in regards for a refund which we have yet to receive.
On December 23, 2013 our septic lines backed-up. Metro came and pumped the tank for $300. On Jan 21, Metro came and pumped again. They gave us a quote for $3600 to add 150 feet of lines. We paid $1800 down via credit card. On Feb 3, Metro had to pump again. Finally on March 5, Metro began the work. Only after I had called Metro to ask why they had not yet began the work. **** told me that they were waiting the permit from the county. I proceeded to call the county permit office, and was told that the permit had been ready...Metro had just not picked it up yet. The lines were completed and we paid the $1800 balance via credit card on March 12. On November 29, our septic tank and lines were FULL AGAIN! We called Metro, the worker "unclogged the line" we paid by check $229. The next day however, with a toilets backing up and showers, we realized that our problem was not fixed. We called **** around 3:30. Never saw anyone until 8:00 P.M. the next day. They did nothing because they did not bring a pump truck. The next morning, a pump truck came. We were indeed full. It was not a stopped-up line. They dug all in my yard and could not figure out why the new lines were helping. The new lines were not getting any of the water. **** told them to cover up the lines and wait for an inspector from the county to come. After a phone conversation with me, he agreed to install a bull lever. At no charge. The next day, my husband called to ask **** for a refund of $229. **** agreed and told him to never call Metro again and to have a nice life. We have yet to receive our refund.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of $229 because I paid for a service which did nothing to fix my problem. My septic lines should not have backed up since I had added 150 feet of additional line. Septic tanks are recommended to be pumped once a year. Not 4 times. We really feel like we were misled from the beginning. I just want my refund. I do not wish to fight with ****. I am tired of fighting with him.

Final Consumer Response
I have received a refund check for $229 via U.S. mail on Saturday. I will be taking it to the bank to deposit. I would like to make sure the check clears before BBB closes this case. Thank you so much. I believe that your involvement brought the result that necessary and promised.

10/01/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers, Plumbing Contractors, Excavating Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/18/1990Business started: 12/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Hamilton County Business License
(423) 209-6500

Secretary of State/TN
312 8th Avenue North 6th Floor, Snodgrass Tower
Nashville, TN 37243-0001
(615) 741-2286

Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN
500 James Robertson Parkway Davy Crockett Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-1204
(615) 741-2241
http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce

CIty of Chattanooga - Board of Plumbing Examiners
Journeyman Plumber's License 1250 Market Street Suite 1000
Chattanooga, TN 37402
(423) 757-5105

Secretary of State/GA
315 West Tower 2 Martin Luther King, Jr. Dr
Atlanta, GA 30334
(478) 207-2440

BBB records show a license number of 385517 for this company, issued by Secretary of State/TN. Corporation.

BBB records show a license number of 42998 for this company, issued by Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN. Their web address is http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce. The expiration date of this license is 11/30/2016. Contractor .

BBB records show a license number of LPM297 for this company, issued by CIty of Chattanooga - Board of Plumbing Examiners. Mark W. Hardin / Master Plumber.

BBB records show a license number of MP209793 for this company, issued by Secretary of State/GA. The expiration date of this license is 11/30/2016. Master Plumber - Mark Hardin.

BBB records show a license number of LPJ628 for this company, issued by CIty of Chattanooga - Board of Plumbing Examiners. Mark W. Hardin / Plumber / Journeyman.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2000, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark W. Hardin (Owner)
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers, Plumbing Contractors, Excavating Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers plumbing, water heaters, septic, water lines and excavation.

Alternate Business Names
Metro Sewer and Drain, Inc.
Industry Tips
Plumbers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Metro Sewer & Drain

8988 Fuller Road

Chattanooga, TN 37421

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 8988 Fuller Road 

    Chattanooga, TN 37421(706) 259-8555
    (423) 339-0142

  • P.O. Box 21563 

    Chattanooga, TN 37424(423) 842-5247

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chattanooga, TN serving Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Metro Sewer & Drain is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (423) 877-0591
  • (706) 861-4649
  • (706) 259-8555
  • (423) 339-0142
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers

Plumbers
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.