BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

ITT Technical Institute

Phone: (423) 510-6800Fax: (423) 510-6850

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to provide internship and job placement services.
I attended and graduated from ITT Technical Institute from December 2009-December 2011. I was told that I would get an internship and job placement and it never happened. I recently asked the newly appointed dean and I was told that the services could only be provided if I were a student.

Desired Settlement
The reimbursement of funds for internship and school costs.

Business Response
October 17, 2013
RE: Case # 28948: ******** ****

Mr. **** graduated from ITT Technical Institute-Chattanooga, TN on December 1, 2011 with an associate of applied science degree in Criminal Justice (CJ).
Mr. **** alleges that he was told he would receive an internship while a student and claims he was promised a job after graduation. He also claims that he was recently told by the dean at the Chattanooga school that Career Services assistance was only available to currently enrolled students. Mr. **** has asked to have his loans refunded and his tuition waived as a result of our institution's alleged failure to provide him an internship and employment. We have reviewed Mr. ****'s allegations and determined the following:

1. Mr. **** recently spoke with our dean, ****** ****** and **** ***** told Mr. **** that any available internships could only be offered to currently enrolled students. Internships are available at the discretion of employers, and we are unable to guarantee that any particular internships will be offered at any specific time, nor are we able to promise that any student will receive an internship while enrolled at our institution. We are sorry that Mr. **** was unable to receive an internship while he was enrolled at the Chattanooga school, and as a graduate, he is no longer eligible for an internship.

2. While we do not guarantee internships for our students or employment for our graduates, we do provide Career Services assistance to students while they are enrolled and after they graduate. In our school's Catalog, the receipt of which Mr. **** acknowledged at the time of his enrollment, the Career Services section states in pertinent part:

The school's career services as specified below, are available to students and interested graduates, but the school does not make any promise or representation whatsoever to any student or graduate: (1) that the student or graduate will obtain any employment, whether full-time, part-time, upon graduation, during school, related to his or her education or otherwise; or (2) regarding any career opportunity, position, salary level and/or job title in any employment that the student or graduate may obtain, whether during school or upon graduation. No employment information or career service provided by the school to any student or graduate will be considered by the student or graduate, either expressly or impliedly, as any: (a) guarantee or promise of employment; (b) likelihood of employment; (c) indication of the level of employment or compensation any student or graduate may expect; or (d) indication of the types or job titles of positions for which students or graduates may qualify. Students and graduates are encouraged to not place restrictions on their job search endeavors regarding location, starting salary or specific benefits, as doing so may similarly restrict employment options and opportunities. Any employment that a student or graduate may obtain with the help of the school's career services will, in all probability and likelihood, be at an entry-level position.

3. Mr. ****'s record indicates he was working in his field of study as a Security Guard at ****** ****** at the time of his graduation in December 2011. As stated in the Catalog, "Alumni are also welcome to contact the Career Services Department for information on career opportunities." Director of Career Services (DOCS) ******* ***** assisted Mr. **** with his resume in November 2012, January 2013, and most recently in April 2013. In February 2013, **** ***** sent Mr. **** an email with a list of potential employment opportunities in the Criminal Justice field and recommended that he submit an application to G4S for a Security Officer position. **** ***** also worked with Mr. **** on interviewing techniques and job searches.

As a result of our review, we are unable to substantiate that Mr. **** was told by **** ***** or any other staff member that Career Services assistance was only provided to currently enrolled students or that Mr. **** was promised an internship while a student or employment after graduation. The record demonstrates that Mr. **** has continued to receive assistance from our Career Services Department after his December 2011 graduation. As Mr. **** is a valued alumnus, we are committed to providing the assistance offered by our Career Services Department, and **** ***** is contacting Mr. **** so that we may continue to assist him in his job search. We are unable, however, to refund Mr. ****'s loans to his lenders or waive his tuition as he has requested.

Thank you again for allowing us to address Mr. ****'s concerns. Please contact me if you have any questions or need additional information.

Respectfully,


**** ******
Director
ITT Technical Institute-Chattanooga


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Industry Comparison| Chart

Schools-Academic-Colleges & Universities.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.