BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Chattanooga Property Management, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (423) 208-9444Fax: (888) 517-5420View Additional Phone Numbers7598 Nashville Street, RinggoldGA 30736 Send email to Chattanooga Property Management, LLChttp://www.chattanoogapm.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Chattanooga Property Management, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Chattanooga Property Management, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Chattanooga Property Management, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
01/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
we secured a property with the CPM on Dec 10 2015 and from day one we had problems with the rental.
Over the 12 months we resided on the property they leased us there were problems ranging from illegal mold, unhealthy conditions, leaking propane gas into our sons bedroom, he had to miss school for a week due to illness caused by this and they did nothing to fix it. When the heating unit finally broke, that was when they sent someone to investigate and the unit had to be replaced. The repairman informed us that we were in terrible danger the two months they had done nothing. Over the months they never repaired certain areas of the home due to conflicts with the owners. We finally gave notice after 12 months of living there. We moved out of the state and they told us they would release us from the lease and send us a refund of our deposit. Now they are claiming we still are in a lease for two months and are refusing to return or refund anything.

Desired Settlement
we want a full refund of our 1,300 deposit

Business Response
Point 1: Lease began 12/20/14 and ends 2/29/16
Point 2: Tenants vacated 11/30/15 - 3 months short of the end of their lease
Point 3: We responded to EVERY maintenance request that the tenant put in, which can be verified with documentation from vendors and our maintenance team
Point 4: The gas leak was at a fireplace valve, and was capped off (to stop the leak) as soon as it was reported/found, until such time the repair could be made; the original leaking area was later repaired/replaced and the gas was restored to the fireplace
Point 5: No mold has ever been found at the property, during the tenants' occupancy or since; there was some mildew under a bathroom cabinet from a leaking drain, which we corrected
Point 6: Tenants gave notice after living at the property for 10.5 months, to vacate at the end of November, which was still 3 months shy of the end of the lease
Point 7: I am the ONLY person in our office with authorization to release a tenant from their lease prior to its expiration date, and I did NOT do so
Point 8: The tenant is upset because they signed a contract that they did not live up to, and there are financial charges for breaking that contract

12/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
CPM charged me a cleaning fee for my townhouse they rented for me after I had notified them in writing that I would take care of having the townhouse cleaned myself. Furthermore, they allege that after I had the townhouse cleaned that the tenant claimed it needed more cleaning. Instead of notifying me, since I said I had the townhome cleaned, they called their own service to come out and clean the townhouse. After a number of email exchanges with them, it became apparent why they called their own service out to clean the townhome instead of letting me call my own service back out to correct the problem. It was because they were the owners of the cleaning service they called out, and they called them out to be able to charge me an additional $125 fee. In the email exchanges I had with them, CPM management stated they did not know why the cleaning service had been called out, nor could they produce a request from the tenant for the cleaning. The invoice they gave for the cleaning said it was for a whole house cleaning, which was completely incorrect. That was never corrected, and neither was the fee for it removed, nor corrected.
Unethical business practices like this need to be stopped and also need to be publicized to the general public, so others can choose a more reputable and ethical property management service.

Desired Settlement
Refund of the charges for the cleaning service.

Business Response
The property was turned over to us to move a tenant into the very next day. There was no time to do a final walk-thru or determine if the home was up to our standards for move-in.
Having seen the property prior to this, with Mr. ***** still in the residence, we felt relatively comfortable that there should not be any major issues. That turned out not to be the case.
The new tenant called the day she was moving in to complain about the cleanliness of the property, painting issues, and other concerns.
Our management agreement authorizes us to contract for cleaning (and other services, if needed).
Our management agreement fully discloses that we may have an ownership or financial interest in other companies that we do business with, which is required by law.
We have acted in good faith and in accordance with our management documents. The cleaning was requested by the tenant, and was performed at the property, to the satisfaction of the tenant.
Furthermore, we made an effort to work with the owner to resolve the paint issues the tenant had complained about, and upon coordinating a date with the tenant for Mr. *****'s preferred painter to visit the home to view the tenants' concerns, Mr. ***** then refused to pursue the remedy, stating that it had taken too long to schedule with the tenant.
At that point, we promptly initiated a letter to Mr. *****, and mailed it to the last known address we had on file (which was the property address we managed, as no updated information had been provided to our office), indicating our intent to terminate our relationship with Mr. ***** due to his unwillingness to resolve the issues with the property managed by our company.
We learned earlier today (11/7/13) that Mr. ***** had not received the termination letter, presumably because there was no forwarding order with the post office to forward his mail to him. We have communicated via email today, advising that we will no longer manage the property, as he refuses to maintain it to the standard that we require.
At this point, as a conciliatory token, we will refund half of the cleaning fee, as we close out the account and end our agreement for Mr. *****.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The management company plainly says above that cleaning would be performed "if needed". I inspected the cleaning after I had it done for this property and it was satisfactory. The management company does not know if it was needed or not, because they did not check the property to see if it was needed. You can't do everything a tenant asks for just because they want it done. Furthermore, concerning the paining issue, my tenant said the management company was harassing her by calling her three times a day after she had told them she was away on business. The management company nearly ran my tenant off by harassing her with telephone calls. The entire cleaning fee needs to be refunded.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate Management, Real Estate Services, Real Estate

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/14/2009Business started: 12/15/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State/TN
312 8th Avenue North 6th Floor, Snodgrass Tower
Nashville, TN 37243-0001
(615) 741-2286

Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN
500 James Robertson Parkway Davy Crockett Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-1204
(615) 741-2241
http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce

Georgia Real Estate Commission
229 Peachtree St NE Ste 1000
Atlanta, GA 30303-1605
(404) 646-3916
http://www.grec.state.ga.us

Ringgold City Hall
150 Tennessee Street
Ringgold, GA 30736
(706) 935-3061
http://www.cityofringgold.com

Hamilton County Business License
(423) 209-6500

BBB records show a license number of 617784 for this company, issued by Secretary of State/TN.

BBB records show a license number of 261211 for this company, issued by Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN. Their web address is http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce. Real Estate Firm.

BBB records show a license number of H-62860 for this company, issued by Georgia Real Estate Commission. Their web address is http://www.grec.state.ga.us.

BBB records show a license number of 257791 for this company, issued by Georgia Real Estate Commission. Their web address is http://www.grec.state.ga.us. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2017. Melanie Butler-Broker.

Their web address is http://www.cityofringgold.com. The expiration date of this license is 02/28/2014.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Melanie Butler (Broker/Partner)Mr. Jeff Bryson (Partner)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Real Estate Management, Real Estate Services, Real Estate

Products & Services

This company offers residential real estate management/maintenance.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Chattanooga Property Management, LLC

7598 Nashville Street

Ringgold, GA 30736

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 7598 Nashville Street 

    Ringgold, GA 30736

  • P.O. Box 28257 

    Chattanooga, TN 37424

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chattanooga, TN serving Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Chattanooga Property Management, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 275-1048
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Real Estate Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.