BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Kemper Select

Find a Location

Phone: (423) 296-7700Fax: (423) 296-7567View Additional Phone Numbers5600 Brainerd Rd., Suite. 1A, ChattanoogaTN 37411-5336 Send email to Kemper Selecthttp://kemperselect.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Kemper Select is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Kemper Select's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Kemper Select's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Kemper Select

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
12/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I haven't heard anything from this company since, 10/19/13 and it seems there avoiding taking responsibility for the damage caused by there client.
The accident was on 10/19/13 and I haven't received any contact since the last conversation with the adjuster. I was told, I would receive an email of the claim but, never received it. This company never came to even look at the damage. So how could they possibly be able to properly investigate it. It seems there helping there client to not take responsibility for the damage they caused in the hit and run. No other attempts have been made by phone, mail, or discussed with me. They haven't even taken the time to follow up with me. My car still hasn't been repaired and I should not be the one fixing it. It wasn't my fault and there client FAILED TO STOP AND PROVIDE INFORMATION which is an offense. It's almost been a month since, the incident occurred.

Desired Settlement
I would like my vehicle repaired for the damage which there client caused. I would like an email or a letter sent explaining what is going on with the claim and what they have did to try to resolve it. I also would like someone to come out and actually look at the damage. Just because they claim to not have a good contact number for there client isn't a good enough reason for them to not do there job.

Business Response
Received a 1-pg. (faxed) response letter from Unitrin County Mutual Insurance Company to the complaint filed by ******** ******;

w/1-pg. Kemper response letter to Rashanda ****** denying claim.

All of the above will be scanned into BBB System;

Sending above to the customer via USPS.

10/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Customer service at Kemper is the worst that I have ever experienced; they are inconsistent and blatantly lie to their customers.
On 8/15/2013, I called to cancel my auto insurance policy but because the renewal was effective that day, they were electronically processing the down payment of $696 and was told the they were unable to reverse it because it hadn't posted yet. I asked the agent if I could call the following Monday, pay for the days that I was covered through Monday and have the $696 refunded because I would need it for the down payment on another policy and he said yes, that would be no problem. Then on 8/19/2013, the following Monday, I called and was told that I wouldn't be able to do that and because I needed the money that they had already taken out, we came to the agreement that perhaps I should cancel my policy effective 8/30/2013 so that while they were processing the refund for the difference in my premium (because I had OVERPAID), I would not have a lapse in coverage. In that same phone call, I also requested to remove my boyfriend from the policy effective 8/20/2013 since he was acquiring his own policy. A couple of hours later,I called Kemper back as we had decided to keep by boyfriend on the policy after all since it would only be 12 before the policy was to be cancelled. I was told that we needed to answer questions in order to add someone to the policy because my policy had been cancelled earlier that day. I asked them, "First of all, if my boyfriend is still on the policy as of today, how is that adding someone onto the policy? We were just calling to let you know that we would like to keep it as is." Their response was they couldn't make any changes to a cancelled policy unless we answered some underwriting questions. I told them that the policy is in effect until 8/30/2013 so how can you tell me that it is cancelled? They stated,"You called to cancel it today." I told them that it wasn't supposed to be cancelled until the 30th of August so does that mean I am not covered until the 30th? The agent stated that it was cancelled but was in effect until the 30th. How can it be cancelled and in effect at the same time? I was concerned because, if God forbid, something happened between now an the 30th, I wanted to ensure that I had insurance. I asked for a manager and was told that there was no manager their right now, only a supervisor and she told me the same thing, "It's cancelled but is in effect until 8/30/2013." We went round and round and told her the cust. svc. rep stated the manager wasn't there and she stated, "Oh yes, the manager is here." I asked to speak to her and she stated that she wasn't there. I told her you just said she was there. And the supervisor had the audacity to say, "I didn't say that!" I was done, long story short, I left it as is and she stated that I should be receiving the refund. I called today, 8/26/2013 to follow up and see when I should be expecting the refund since I had in fact overpaid. The cust. svc. rep today stated that when the policy has been cancelled, we will process the refund. I was told on the very first call on the 19th that it was processing from then on and would be receiving the check within 7-10 days, hence the cancellation being effective 8/30/2013 so I would have the money to pay for the new policy. I have had many issues with Kemper. My boyfriend has been on the policy since 2007 and they have been receiving payment for the premium with him on the policy since then, but when it came time to cover a claim with him involved, evn though on the declaration page it states that he is an insured driver, because we are not legally married they denied the claim. THEY WILL ACCEPT PAYMENT BUT WILL NOT COVER THE CLAIM. THEY HAVE MY OVERPAYMENT, BUT BECAUSE I HAVE SCHEDULED THE CANCELLATION, THEY WON'T PROCESS THE REFUND UNTIL THE VERY LAST DAY. They need to train their representatives to be on the same page. BTW, funny, their website has no information on cancellation of policy. Again, other issues with them, I'm just tired of dealing with them.

Desired Settlement
Honestly, I just want what is rightfully mine, my refund. They had a payment deducted from my account so they could get their money in a timely matter, but when I wanted my money back in a timely matter, they were unable to do it electronically and refuse to process it until the very last day that I am a client, even if it is an OVERPAYMENT, $696 for 17 days?

For the other case with my boyfriend, we have consulted with an attorney.

06/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cancellation of homeowners' insurance before expiration date even though bill was paid in full.
Account_Number: HXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Desired Settlement: Replacement
Reinstatement of coverage.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance, Insurance-Homeowners, Insurance-Auto

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/29/1991Business started: 09/01/1974
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN
500 James Robertson Parkway Davy Crockett Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-1204
(615) 741-2241
http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce

BBB records show a license number of 41760 for this company, issued by Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN. Their web address is http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce. MERASTAR INS CO LICENSED, UNCONDITIONAL TN STOCK PROPERTY & CASUALTY.

Business Management

An announcment on 03/06/07 states that Merastar will be purchased by Unitrin, Inc. headquartered in Chicago, IL. Donald G. Southwell is the CEO for Unitrin, Inc.

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Linda Furrate (Executive Assistant)Mr. Tim Cox (Director, Sales & Customer Service)
Number of Employees

60

Business Category

Insurance, Insurance-Homeowners, Insurance-Auto

Products & Services

This firm offers P & C Insurance, Auto, Home, Umbrella and Boat Insurance.

Alternate Business Names
Merastar Insurance Company, Inc., Unitrin Direct Preferred Insurance

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Kemper Select

5600 Brainerd Rd., Suite. 1A

Chattanooga, TN 37411-5336

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 5600 Brainerd Rd., Suite. 1A 

    Chattanooga, TN 37411-5336

  • PO Box 223687 

    Dallas, TX 75222-3687

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chattanooga, TN serving Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Kemper Select is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 637-2782
  • (423) 296-7400
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Insurance

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.