BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/11/2008

Bassett Furniture Direct

Phone: (423) 296-8393Fax: (423) 296-83872100 Hamilton Pl Ste 24, ChattanoogaTN 37421-6019 Send email to Bassett Furniture Direct

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/11/2008

BBB has determined that Bassett Furniture Direct meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bassett Furniture Direct's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bassett Furniture Direct

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
07/08/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/23/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

My leather motion chair recliner started flaking and making a noise in the power control. I was told it was not covered even with extended warranty.
Bought 11/20/2011. 3964-P21MV RAF Motion Chair with power when I am looking at it (****). Salesperson, ******, a new sales rep. She said the leather would last as long as my last one, which was over 30 years. Paid in full by check. Total for sectional $5811.66 with extended warranty. My chair started flaking on the leather after 2-1/2 yrs. Called Bassett and they said their customer service rep would call me. *** called me and said that normal wear and tear on leather was 1 year and I would need to call Bassett direct to see if they would do something with the extended warranty. She also said that the power control should be covered but did not respond back. I asked for Bassett's number and they did not give it to me. I called again and talked to my new sales rep which is **** ******** and she said that they were not going to do anything. I have spent thousands of dollars since for a new bedroom suite and a temper-pedic mattress and this is how they treat a customer? I bought Bassett thinking it was high quality and they would be great to work with.

Desired Settlement
I just want them to replace the chair which cost $840.00.

Business Response
We have worked with the people at the factory regarding this issue. They are sending us a new power mechanism and are paying for installation. In fact the new mechanism is showing to be delivered to us on June 10. We will schedule install after that.
Regarding the leather issue. Since it was purchased in 2011 the warranty is expired. Mrs. ****** is a very good customer of ours and we appreciate her business. The group that she purchased at that time is no longer being made and the old inventory has been depleted some time back. The factory people has recommended a company called ******* ********* for Mrs. ****** to contact regarding the leather issues. Our customer service manager, *** ****** says that Mrs. ****** is aware of this.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture-Retail, Furniture Manufacturers, Furniture Designers & Custom Builders

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 06/16/1999Business started: 01/01/1974
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Hamilton County Business License
(423) 209-6500

BBB records show a license number of 6423 for this company, issued by Hamilton County Business License.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Ellis (Manager)Mr. Kenneth Webster
Number of Employees


Business Category

Furniture-Retail, Furniture Manufacturers, Furniture Designers & Custom Builders

Products & Services

This company specializes in furniture and accessories.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bassett Furniture Direct

2100 Hamilton Pl Ste 24

Chattanooga, TN 37421-6019

To | From


1 Locations

  • 2100 Hamilton Pl Ste 24 

    Chattanooga, TN 37421-6019Fax: (423) 296-8387

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chattanooga, TN serving Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bassett Furniture Direct is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Furniture-Retail


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.