BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Church Chair Industries, Inc.

Phone: (800) 331-5411Fax: (706) 291-9277View Additional Phone Numbers7007 New Calhoun Highway, Northeast, RomeGA 30161 Send email to Church Chair Industries, Inc.http://www.churchchair.comView Additional Web Addresses! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Church Chair Industries, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Church Chair Industries, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Church Chair Industries, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
09/22/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered 50 chairs on March 24, 2014. It's July 22nd. No chairs. No response as to delivery...except maybe mid August.
After 4 attempts to get someone to answer to even place the order on March 30, 2014 I placed an order for 50 chairs and spoke with ************ I received an email from *** stating we need to pay half by check and not credit card with a copy of the quote. We paid $1,866.89 - check ***** on March 31st. Check cleared the bank. (Chair Quote #XXXXX). ******* stated that the delivery date would by the end of April or early May. I called four times and left messages to get a status check on delivery after May. I never got a return call. I did speak to a person twice and they promised to call back with the information. One call the lady told me they were closed for two weeks for July 4th holiday. I never got a return call. Today, I called and I spoke to a women and she told me we would not have our chairs until mid August...maybe the 11th. She was unfriendly, like I was bothering her and I was in the wrong for asking about the status of our chairs. I pressed to get an exact date. She said they would call us when they get here. I asked if when the driver would be leaving and she said August 11th. I told her we couldn't possible have the chairs on the 11th if the driver was leaving on the 11th. I asked if the drivers are restricted in the number of hours they drive since ** is clear across the *** from ****** She said yes. So I told her that the estimate would be three days before they could get to ***** with restricted driving hours. So it won't be until the 18th of August.
Only after this call did we search BBB. As you can imagine, we are quite disappointed and not sure we will ever get our chairs and of course, we are sure we wouldn't get our money back either based on their history of complaints!
We are keeping our hopes that we will get the chairs...but with the stack of complaint you already have...here is another one.

Desired Settlement
If we don't get the chairs...we want a refund! We will be monitoring this situation closely.

Business Response
We are sorry for the delay in delivery of your chair order. They did ship today by ************ ******* **** and they will be contacting you. I know you've had multiple orders in the past and hope you consider us for any of your future chair needs.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I will only accept their reply based on the actual delivery. I guess the next few days will determine the truth of their response. And we will never order from them again! It took a month just to reply from the complaint..and they didn't even call. Very dissatisfied with their lack of service and professionalism.

Final Consumer Response
We finally received our chairs but will not use this company again.

01/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not get refund for chairs we ordered but did not receive.
Since we ordered 100 chairs October 16, 2013, we had to cancel the order because the company did not keep any promises of delivery dates (about 4). When we asked for a refund we were told that they only refund once a month. On December 13, 2013, I was told that a refund was ordered. As of today, January 9, 2014, no refund has been received. When I call I am told we will get back to you. Our church, ***** ********** ******* Church, paid $5,720.00 and have only received promises. We want our money back now!

Desired Settlement
***** ********** ******* Church, paid $5,720.00 we want our money back now!

Business Response
Order was received October 21, 2013. Our lead time is approximately 10-14 weeks depending on fabric availability. The 14th week would have been January 27, 2014. His fabric had been ordered but not received by us at this time, plus we were in our Christmas rush and shipping as many orders as possible. The order was cancelled 12/12/13, and a refund requested. We were within our lead time. The refund check was mailed 1/13/14.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

09/18/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Placed a down payment on chairs in March 2013, over twice as long to receive. Will not provide full refund of deposit even though they are at fault.
Ordered 40 Chairs in March 2013.(Took that long because they could not provide fabric samples for 70 days) Notified by company order was being shipped in May. Not received, spent 3 months waiting, contacting every two weeks or so. Chairs had not been produced all summer long. Notified they were being put in production in July, as of August 30, still not guaranteed that they were made, just another promise they were being shipped next week. I told ******** at the company, with whom I have had many conversations - that if the chairs were not received by August 12 or on a truck, I was going to cancel. I was told they were in production that week and being shipped, but today they still have not shipped and they cannot guarantee they are in production either. I have had a cashier's check for over $2000 for the balance waiting since May. When I asked for a full refund, they refused to provide it, said it is not company policy. Their quote says there is a 25% hold back after first week of order, however, it also says their lead time is 10-14 weeks. It has now been 23-24 weeks and we do not have our product. Spoke with president of the company who was rude and refused to accommodate. Tried to say chairs were being shipped next week, but I have heard this for over 3 months.

Desired Settlement
All we want is a full refund of all of our monies. We made a deposit of $1473.75 in March. This is what we want back and expeditiously.

Business' Initial Response
We did speak with *** at ***** of ***** ********** in ********* ** on several occasions and it is true we had issues with getting this truckload completed and delivered for multiple reasons (mostly out of our control). *** did agree to take delivery and they were delivered the first part of September, 2013. Regretfully, we were 2 chairs short. *** has asked for this to be refunded instead of delivered and this will be sent to them this week.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/24/2013Delivery Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture Manufacturers, Manufacturers & Producers

Additional Information

top

On November 12, 2010, the company filed for reorganization under Chapter 11 of the federal Bankruptcy Act, case number 10-44413 .

This permits the company to continue to operate with court supervision while developing a plan of reorganization.

Those with monetary claims against the company are advised to obtain a Proof of Claim form by writing to Georgia Northern Bankruptcy Court CM/ECF, 600 E 1st St # 304, Rome, GA, 30161 for resubmission to that court.

The case number should be entered on the form.

BBB file opened: 05/06/1994Business started: 01/01/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State/GA
315 West Tower 2 Martin Luther King, Jr. Dr
Atlanta, GA 30334
(478) 207-2440

BBB records show a license number of K121021 for this company, issued by Secretary of State/GA.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daryl Skaggs (CEO)Customer Contact: Ms Ramona Hudgins (President)Ms Rebecca Morgan (CFO)
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Furniture Manufacturers, Manufacturers & Producers

Products & Services

This company is an industry leader in the manufacture of quality steel and wood stack chairs.


On November 19, 2010, BBB received the following statement from Church Chair Industries regarding all open complaints, "Please contact Church Chair regarding your order or your refund." We have sent this company response to all consumer that have a pending complaint.

As of July 2010, complaints against Church Chair have risen. Complaints allege non-delivery or long delays in delivery of merchandise. A spokesperson for Church Chair Industries states, they are having some production delays due to their fabric manufacturers delays. Spokesperson said that their lead time should be changed on their webpage but that would be for management consideration.

Alternate Business Names
Church Chair Industries

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Church Chair Industries, Inc.

7007 New Calhoun Highway, Northeast

Rome, GA 30161

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7007 New Calhoun Highway, Northeast 

    Rome, GA 30161(800) 331-5411
    (800) 331-5411
    (706) 234-4924
    (706) 234-4924
    Fax: (706) 291-9277
    Fax: (706) 290-1061
    Fax: (706) 291-9277
    Fax: (706) 290-1061

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chattanooga, TN serving Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Church Chair Industries, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (706) 235-0115
  • (706) 234-4924

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (706) 290-1061
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.churchchairsdirect.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Furniture Manufacturers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

On November 12, 2010, the company filed for reorganization under Chapter 11 of the federal Bankruptcy Act, case number 10-44413 .

This permits the company to continue to operate with court supervision while developing a plan of reorganization.

Those with monetary claims against the company are advised to obtain a Proof of Claim form by writing to Georgia Northern Bankruptcy Court CM/ECF, 600 E 1st St # 304, Rome, GA, 30161 for resubmission to that court.

The case number should be entered on the form.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.